yes, therapy helps!
The high psychological cost of giving too much for a relationship

The high psychological cost of giving too much for a relationship

June 24, 2021

When we are asked to describe what it feels like to experience love, most of us say, not without reason, that it goes far beyond words.

The infatuation comes accompanied by a hormonal torrent , and in a way, our brain reacts as if we consumed a drug every time that person is close.

But in the foundations of couple relationships there is not only a cascade of hormones: there are also expectations . It is a component of the affective life that can be expressed in words, since they are simple ideas, about how it is or how a courtship should be.

However, despite being in the realm of words, we often ignore our own expectations, and that is precisely what can cause them to become a mental trap. And is that expectations can transform us into slaves of our own relationship, to the point where the person who gives without receiving is always us .


  • Related article: "How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight"

Asymmetric relationships and their effects

Before understanding the role that expectations play in all this, we can stop to see what it is that makes To try too hard for a relationship cause so much discomfort

If something characterizes asymmetric relationships, that is, those in which it is always the same person who strives and sacrifices himself, it is a mixture of fatigue, stress and impotence. Fatigue is due to the fact that, materially and psychologically, Making the relationship "work" always depends only on us . There is no one at our side in an experience that, paradoxically, has its reason for being in the fact of sharing something exciting.


This does not mean only that we will make efforts to face difficult situations, but that it will also be up to us to decide at all times what decision to make, to choose the least bad option so that courtship one step further forward without having solved the underlying problem and knowing that it will reappear sooner or later. It is this last that generates stress: the anticipatory anxiety of knowing that we have only achieved momentary relief.

Impotence goes hand in hand with despair , and in them there is a paradox: the expectations that cause these sensations are, at the same time, the lens through which we examine our love problem to see if we can find a way out.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Infidelity: the second most important problem in relationships"

Why expectations can create an emotional quagmire

To understand what is the psychological impact of giving everything for a relationship, you have to understand that the expectations about a courtship will always be there . Having beliefs about what a commitment of this kind will be or how it should be allows us to make it gain meaning, to point in one direction. That means that asymmetric relationships in which someone is constantly sacrificed by the other person do not appear simply because of the existence of those expectations.


How is the problem born, then? People who bet too much on a relationship do so in part because they have a value system in which the pure sacrifice is seen as something good, dignifying . From this perspective, situations of constant exploitation and abuse of power by our partner not only do not warn us that we are in a toxic relationship, but give more reasons to continue sacrificing for it, to continue testing that ability of sacrifice without yielding to adversity.

In these trap-relationships the problem is that the long history of personal sacrifices made for the relationship to work is a reason to continue doing so indefinitely. It is a loop , a phenomenon in which the causes of this constant betting on the relationship are, at the same time, the effect of continuing to do so at the expense of our health.

Why do we sacrifice ourselves in this way for the relationship?

We have already seen that the asymmetric relationships in which one person gives everything and the other hardly strives are due in large part to the effect that certain expectations have on us: in particular, the expectation of continue forward despite adversity that can arise, whatever they may be and without thinking too much about their anticipation.

But ... what psychological mechanisms explain that we can behave in such an absurd way in one of the most important areas of our lives? Fundamentally it is one that is called "cognitive dissonance".

Cognitive dissonance and sacrifices that never end

Cognitive dissonance is a feeling of discomfort that appears when we have in mind two ideas or beliefs that contradict each other and to those who give importance. To make that feeling unpleasant (and that can become an obsession that occupies our attention constantly), one of the ideas must "win" to the other.

However, this battle of beliefs almost never comes to an end through the use of reason . In fact, we usually do odd jobs "to make the cognitive dissonance go away.

For example, in the case of asymmetric relations, these ideas are usually the following:

  • Real relationships do not end, and you have to sacrifice for them.
  • That discomfort that the relationship produces is avoidable.

In this belief struggle, it could be said that the second option is more attractive, since it offers a way out and is linked to a sense of well-being. And, nevertheless, many people opt for the first one. Why? Because it's the one that makes that our beliefs and our vision of things wobble less .

In case of assuming that a relationship in which another person does not put on their part is not a relationship that suits us, we would have to face many other cognitive dissonances, because our self-image would have been very touched: it would be demonstrated that this sacrifice for something that has formed part of one's identity has not made sense and we should build a new vision of things that allows us to feel good about ourselves and our decisions.

  • Related article: "Cognitive dissonance: the theory that explains self-deception"

The earlier you cut, the better

That is why it is important to detect situations in which our expectations act as a prison for our emotional life .

Even though relationships are a thing of more than one person, cognitive dissonance does let us be the ones who boycott us , transforming the discomfort produced by unhealthy expectations into a reason to keep betting on that source of discomfort.


10 Psychology Problems Caused by Parenting Behavior (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le coût psychologique élevé de donner trop pour une relation

Le coût psychologique élevé de donner trop pour une relation

Août 8, 2022

Lorsqu'on nous demande de décrire ce que ressent l'expérience de l'amour, la plupart d'entre nous disent, non sans raison, que cela va bien au-delà des mots.

L'engouement vient accompagné d'un torrent hormonal et d’une certaine manière, notre cerveau réagit comme si nous consommions une drogue chaque fois que cette personne est proche.

Mais dans les fondements des relations de couple, il n'y a pas qu'une cascade d'hormones: il y a aussi des attentes . C'est une composante de la vie affective qui peut être exprimée avec des mots, puisqu'il s'agit d'idées simples, de ce que c'est ou de ce qu'une cour devrait être.

Cependant, bien que nous soyons dans le domaine des mots, nous ignorons souvent nos propres attentes, et c’est précisément ce qui peut les amener à devenir un piège mental. Et est-ce que les attentes peuvent nous transformer en esclaves de notre propre relation, au point où la personne qui donne sans recevoir est toujours nous .


  • Article connexe: "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids"

Relations asymétriques et leurs effets

Avant de comprendre le rôle que jouent les attentes dans tout cela, nous pouvons nous arrêter pour voir ce qui fait que Essayer trop fort pour une relation causer tant de malaise

Si quelque chose caractérise les relations asymétriques, c'est-à-dire celles dans lesquelles c'est toujours la même personne qui s'efforce et qui se sacrifie, c'est un mélange de fatigue, de stress et d'impuissance. La fatigue est due au fait que, matériellement et psychologiquement, Faire en sorte que la relation fonctionne ne dépend que de nous . Il n'y a personne à nos côtés dans une expérience qui, paradoxalement, a sa raison d'être dans le fait de partager quelque chose d'excitant.


Cela ne signifie pas seulement que nous allons faire des efforts pour faire face aux situations difficiles, mais qu'il nous appartiendra également de décider à tout moment de la décision à prendre, de choisir la moins mauvaise option. afin que la cour soit un pas en avant sans avoir résolu le problème sous-jacent et en sachant qu'il réapparaîtra tôt ou tard. C'est ce dernier qui génère du stress: l'angoisse anticipative de savoir que nous n'avons obtenu qu'un soulagement momentané.

L'impuissance va de pair avec le désespoir et il existe en eux un paradoxe: les attentes à l’origine de ces sensations sont en même temps la lentille à travers laquelle nous examinons notre problème d’amour pour voir si nous pouvons trouver une issue.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "L'infidélité: le deuxième problème le plus important dans les relations"

Pourquoi les attentes peuvent créer un bourbier émotionnel

Pour comprendre quel est l’impact psychologique de tout donner pour une relation, il faut comprendre que les attentes concernant une cour seront toujours là . Avoir des convictions sur ce que sera un tel engagement ou comment il devrait être, nous permet de le faire gagner du sens, de le pointer dans une direction. Cela signifie que les relations asymétriques dans lesquelles une personne est constamment sacrifiée par une autre personne n'apparaissent pas simplement en raison de l'existence de ces attentes.


Comment est né le problème, alors? Les personnes qui parient trop sur une relation le font en partie parce qu’elles ont un système de valeurs dans lequel le sacrifice pur est vu comme quelque chose de bon, de digne . Dans cette perspective, les situations d'exploitation constante et d'abus de pouvoir de la part de notre partenaire non seulement ne nous avertissent pas que nous sommes dans une relation toxique, mais donnent plus de raisons de continuer à faire des sacrifices pour cela, de continuer à tester cette capacité. de sacrifice sans céder à l'adversité.

Dans ces relations-pièges, le problème est que la longue histoire de sacrifices personnels pour la relation au travail est une raison pour continuer à le faire indéfiniment. C'est une boucle , un phénomène dans lequel les causes de ce pari constant sur la relation sont, en même temps, l’effet de continuer à le faire aux dépens de notre santé.

Pourquoi nous sacrifions-nous de cette manière pour la relation?

Nous avons déjà vu que les relations asymétriques dans lesquelles une personne donne tout et que l’autre cherche à peine sont dues en grande partie à l’effet de certaines attentes sur nous: en particulier, l’attente de continuer à avancer malgré l'adversité cela peut survenir, quels qu’ils soient et sans trop réfléchir à leur anticipation.

Mais… quels mécanismes psychologiques expliquent que nous pouvons nous comporter de manière aussi absurde dans l'un des domaines les plus importants de notre vie? Fondamentalement, c'est ce qu'on appelle "la dissonance cognitive".

Dissonance cognitive et sacrifices qui ne finissent jamais

La dissonance cognitive est une sensation de gêne qui apparaît lorsque nous avons à l’esprit deux idées ou croyances qui se contredisent et à ceux qui donnent de l'importance. Pour rendre ce sentiment désagréable (et cela peut devenir une obsession qui occupe notre attention en permanence), l'une des idées doit «gagner» à l'autre.

Cependant, cette bataille de croyances ne finit presque jamais par l'usage de la raison . En fait, nous faisons habituellement des petits boulots "pour faire disparaître la dissonance cognitive.

Par exemple, dans le cas de relations asymétriques, ces idées sont généralement les suivantes:

  • Les relations réelles ne se terminent pas et vous devez faire des sacrifices pour elles.
  • Ce malaise que produit la relation est évitable.

Dans cette lutte de croyances, on pourrait dire que la deuxième option est plus attrayante, car elle offre une issue et est liée à une sensation de bien-être. Et, néanmoins, beaucoup de gens optent pour le premier. Parce que? Parce que c'est celui qui fait que nos croyances et notre vision des choses vacillent moins .

Si nous supposions qu'une relation dans laquelle une autre personne ne s’engage pas n’est pas une relation qui nous convient, nous devrions faire face à de nombreuses autres dissonances cognitives, car notre image de soi aurait été très touchée: il serait démontré que a formé une partie de l'identité n'a pas de sens et nous devrions construire une nouvelle vision des choses qui nous permet de nous sentir bien dans notre peau et dans nos décisions.

  • Article connexe: "Dissonance cognitive: la théorie qui explique l'auto-illusion"

Plus tôt vous coupez, mieux c'est

C’est pourquoi il est important de détecter les situations dans lesquelles nos attentes agissent comme une prison pour notre vie émotionnelle .

Même si les relations sont plus d'une personne, la dissonance cognitive ne Soyons ceux qui nous boycottent , transformant le malaise produit par des attentes malsaines en une raison de continuer à parier sur cette source de malaise.


7 signes alarmants que votre relation est toxique, selon les thérapeutes de couple (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes