yes, therapy helps!
The Imaginary Reworking and Reprocessing Therapy (TRIR)

The Imaginary Reworking and Reprocessing Therapy (TRIR)

May 19, 2024

One of the most powerful tools that people who go to psychological therapy have to improve their mental health is the imagination . Through this resource, psychotherapists can access together with the patient to their dysfunctional schemes, to memories of negative experiences that have generated a harmful emotional impact on their person.

In this article we are going to talk about one of the Imaginary Reworking Therapy and Reprocessing , which includes some of the most complex and experiential techniques within psychological therapy, which, when well used (requires improvisational skills and therapeutic skills), can help many people turn the page and adopt more adaptive points of view in relation to their past.


It should be noted that, unlike other experiential techniques little scientifically contrasted, this therapy has shown its effectiveness for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. Specifically, it has been shown to be effective for those patients with high levels of anger, hostility and guilt in relation to the trauma experienced.

What is Imaginary Reworking Therapy and Reprocessing?

Imaginary reprocessing therapy and reprocessing (TRIR) was originally designed to treat adults who have been sexually abused in childhood. It was proposed by Smucker and Dancu (1999, 2005), although today there are different variants (see Arntz and Weertman, 1999 and Wild and Clark, 2011) to address various problems.


The TRIR gives prominence to the emotions, impulses and needs experienced by the patient when reliving the trauma in the imagination . The trauma is not denied: the patient corrects the situation in his imagination so that in this he is now able to express his feelings and act according to his needs, something that at the time was not possible (due to his vulnerability or helplessness, or simply, for being in shock).

It is a combination of imaginal exposure, domain imagination (in which the patient adopts a more active role-protagonist) and cognitive restructuring focused on trauma. The main objectives of the imaginal reprocessing and reprocessing are:

  • Reduce anxiety, images and repetitive memories of the trauma / emotionally negative situation.
  • Modifying maladaptive schemes related to the abuse (feeling of impotence, of dirt, of inherent evil).

Why is it recommended to use the TRIR?

The most effective therapies for treating traumatic memories have in common a component of imaginal exposure. Traumatic memories, especially childhood memories, are encoded primarily in the form of images of high emotional intensity, which are very difficult to access by purely linguistic means. It is necessary to activate the emotions to access them and be able to elaborate and process them in a more adaptive way. In short, imagination has a more powerful impact than verbal processing on negative and positive emotions .


In what cases can it be used?

In general, it has been used to a greater extent in those people who have suffered some trauma in their childhood (child sexual abuse, child abuse, bullying) and who, as a consequence, have developed Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

But nevertheless, can be used in all those people who have experienced negative experiences in childhood / adolescence -not necessarily traumatic- that have had a negative impact on the development of their person. For example, situations of negligence (not being attended to properly), not having met their psychological needs in childhood (of affection, security, feeling important and understood, validated as a person ...).

It is also used in cases of Social Phobia, since these people usually present recurrent images linked to memories of traumatic social events (feeling of being humiliated, rejected or having made a fool of themselves), which occurred at the beginning of the disorder or during its worsening.

It is also used in people with Personality Disorders, such as Borderline Personality Disorder or Evasive Personality Disorder.

Variants and phases of this psychotherapeutic model

The two best-known variants of the TRIR are Smucker and Dancu (1999) and Arntz and Weertman (1999).

1. Variant of Smucker and Dancu (1999)

  • Imagination Exhibition Phase : consists in representing in the imagination, with closed eyes, the whole traumatic event, as it appears in reviviscences and nightmares. The client must verbalize loudly and in the present tense what he is experiencing: sensory details, feelings, thoughts, actions.
  • Imaginary Rework Phase : the client returns to visualize the beginning of the abuse scene, but now includes in the scene his "adult I" (of the present) that comes to help the child (that is his I of the past that suffered the abuse). The role of the "adult self" is to protect the child, expel the perpetrator and drive the child to a safe place. The patient must decide the strategies to use (that's why it's called domain imagination). The therapist guides him throughout the process, although in a non-directive way.
  • Imagination phase of "Nurturing" . Through questions, the adult is induced to interact directly in the imagination with the traumatized child and sustain it (through hugs, reassurance, promises to stay with him and take care of him). When it is considered that the client can be prepared to conclude the imagination of "nurturing", he is asked if he has anything else to say to the child before finishing the imagination.
  • Post-imagination reprocessing phase : it seeks to promote the linguistic processing of the work done in the imagination and reinforce the positive alternative representations (visual and verbal) created during the domain imagination.

2. Variant of Arntz and Weertman (1999)

This variant consists of 3 phases (very similar to those of Smucker and Dancu) but it differs from Smucker's in 2 things:


  • It is not necessary to imagine all the traumatic memory , but can only imagine until the patient understands that something terrible is going to happen (this is very important in the face of traumas related to child sexual abuse). Reworking can begin at this time and the patient does not have to remember the details of the trauma and related emotions.
  • In the third phase, the new course of events is seen from the perspective of the child instead of that of the adult , which allows new emotions to emerge from the evolutionary level in which the trauma occurred. In this way, patients come to understand the perspective of the child, who really little or nothing could do to avoid the situation of abuse. This third phase is very useful to work the feelings of guilt ("I could have stopped him", "I could have said he did not want"), in short, feel that something could have been done differently than what was done.

Learning New Things About Ourselves | Sanders Sides (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie imaginaire de retravaillage et de retraitement (TRIR)

Thérapie imaginaire de retravaillage et de retraitement (TRIR)

Juin 30, 2022

L’imagination est l’un des outils les plus puissants dont disposent les personnes qui suivent une thérapie psychologique pour améliorer leur santé mentale. . Grâce à cette ressource, les psychothérapeutes peuvent accéder avec le patient à leurs schémas dysfonctionnels, aux souvenirs d'expériences négatives qui ont généré un impact émotionnel néfaste sur leur personne.

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de l’un des Thérapie imaginaire de reprise et de retraitement , qui inclut certaines des techniques les plus complexes et expérimentales de la thérapie psychologique, qui, lorsqu'elles sont bien utilisées (requiert des compétences d'improvisation et des compétences thérapeutiques), peuvent aider de nombreuses personnes à tourner la page et à adopter un point de vue plus adaptatif en ce qui concerne leur passé


Il convient de noter que, contrairement aux autres techniques expérimentales peu contrastées scientifiquement, cette thérapie a montré son efficacité pour le trouble de stress post-traumatique. En particulier, il s’est avéré efficace chez les patients présentant des niveaux élevés de colère, d’hostilité et de culpabilité en relation avec le traumatisme subi.

Qu'est-ce que la thérapie et le retraitement imaginaires?

La thérapie de retraitement et de traitement imaginaire (TRIR) a été conçue à l’origine pour traiter les adultes victimes de sévices sexuels dans l’enfance. Smucker et Dancu (1999, 2005) l'ont proposé, bien qu'il existe aujourd'hui différentes variantes (voir Arntz et Weertman, 1999 et Wild et Clark, 2011) pour résoudre divers problèmes.


Le TRIR met en évidence les émotions, les pulsions et les besoins ressentis par le patient lorsqu'il ressuscite le traumatisme dans son imagination. . Le traumatisme n'est pas nié: le patient corrige la situation dans son imagination pour pouvoir exprimer ses sentiments et agir en fonction de ses besoins, ce qui n'était pas possible à l'époque (en raison de sa vulnérabilité ou de son impuissance, ou simplement pour être en état de choc).

C'est une combinaison d'exposition imaginale, d'imagination de domaine (dans laquelle le patient adopte un rôle plus actif) et de restructuration cognitive axée sur le traumatisme. Les principaux objectifs du retraitement et du retraitement imaginaux sont les suivants:

  • Réduisez l'anxiété, les images et les souvenirs répétitifs de la situation de traumatisme / émotionnellement négatif.
  • Modification des schémas inadaptés liés à l'abus (sentiment d'impuissance, de saleté, de mal inhérent).

Pourquoi est-il recommandé d'utiliser le TRIR?

Les thérapies les plus efficaces pour traiter les souvenirs traumatiques ont en commun une composante d'exposition imaginale. Les souvenirs traumatiques, en particulier les souvenirs d’enfance, sont principalement codés sous forme d’images à haute intensité émotionnelle, auxquelles il est très difficile d’accéder par des moyens purement linguistiques. Il est nécessaire d'activer les émotions pour y accéder et pouvoir les élaborer et les traiter de manière plus adaptative. En bref, l'imagination a un impact plus puissant que le traitement verbal sur les émotions négatives et positives .


Dans quels cas peut-il être utilisé?

En général, il a été davantage utilisé chez les personnes ayant subi un traumatisme dans leur enfance (abus sexuel sur un enfant, maltraitance d'un enfant, intimidation) et qui, en conséquence, ont développé un trouble de stress post-traumatique.

Cependant, peut être utilisé chez toutes les personnes ayant vécu des expériences négatives durant l'enfance / l'adolescence - pas nécessairement traumatisantes - qui ont eu un impact négatif sur le développement de leur personne. Par exemple, des situations de négligence (ne pas être soigné correctement), ne pas avoir répondu à leurs besoins psychologiques dans l’enfance (affection, sécurité, sentiment d’importance et de compréhension, validation en tant que personne, etc.).

Il est également utilisé dans les cas de phobie sociale, car ces personnes présentent généralement des images récurrentes liées à des souvenirs d'événements sociaux traumatisants (sentiment d'humiliation, de rejet ou de ridicule), qui se sont produits au début ou à l'aggravation de la maladie.

Il est également utilisé chez les personnes atteintes de troubles de la personnalité, tels que le trouble de la personnalité limite ou le trouble de la personnalité évasif.

Variantes et phases de ce modèle psychothérapeutique

Les deux variantes les plus connues du TRIR sont Smucker et Dancu (1999) et Arntz et Weertman (1999).

1. Variante de Smucker et Dancu (1999)

  • Phase d'exposition Imagination : consiste à représenter dans l'imaginaire, les yeux fermés, tout l'événement traumatique, tel qu'il apparaît dans les reviviscences et les cauchemars. Le client doit verbaliser à haute voix et au présent ce qu'il expérimente: détails sensoriels, sentiments, pensées, actions.
  • Phase de reprise imaginaire : le client revient pour visualiser le début de la scène de la maltraitance, mais inclut maintenant dans la scène son "adulte I" (du présent) qui vient en aide à l'enfant (c'est son moi du passé qui a subi la maltraitance). Le rôle du "moi adulte" est de protéger l'enfant, d'expulser l'auteur du crime et de le conduire dans un endroit sûr. Le patient doit décider des stratégies à utiliser (c'est pourquoi il est appelé domaine imagination). Le thérapeute le guide tout au long du processus, bien que de manière non directive.
  • Phase d'imagination de "Nourrir" . Par des questions, l'adulte est amené à interagir directement dans l'imaginaire avec l'enfant traumatisé et à le maintenir (étreintes, rassurantes, promesses de rester avec lui et de prendre soin de lui). Lorsqu'il est considéré que le client peut être prêt à conclure son imagination de "nourrir", il lui est demandé s'il a autre chose à dire à l'enfant avant de terminer son imagination.
  • Phase de retraitement post-imaginaire : elle vise à promouvoir le traitement linguistique du travail effectué dans l’imaginaire et à renforcer les représentations alternatives positives (visuelles et verbales) créées au cours du domaine imaginaire.

2. Variante d'Arntz et Weertman (1999)

Cette variante comporte 3 phases (très similaires à celles de Smucker et Dancu) mais elle diffère de Smucker par 2 choses:


  • Il n'est pas nécessaire d'imaginer toute la mémoire traumatique , mais peut seulement imaginer que le patient comprenne que quelque chose de terrible va se passer (ceci est très important face aux traumatismes liés aux abus sexuels sur enfants). Le remaniement peut commencer à ce moment-là et le patient n'a pas à se souvenir des détails du traumatisme et des émotions associées.
  • Dans la troisième phase, le nouveau cours des événements est vu du point de vue de l’enfant et non de celui de l’adulte. , ce qui permet à de nouvelles émotions de sortir du niveau évolutif dans lequel le traumatisme s'est produit. De cette manière, les patients en viennent à comprendre le point de vue de l'enfant, que peu ou rien ne pouvait faire pour éviter la situation de maltraitance. Cette troisième phase est très utile pour travailler les sentiments de culpabilité ("J'aurais pu l'arrêter", "J'aurais pu dire qu'il ne voulait pas"), en bref, sentir que quelque chose aurait pu être fait différemment de ce qui a été fait.

Words at War: Barriers Down / Camp Follower / The Guys on the Ground (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes