yes, therapy helps!
The importance of concentration and focus of attention in sport

The importance of concentration and focus of attention in sport

May 4, 2024

One of the many factors that influence the performance of any sport is concentration . Moreover, this process has acquired over the years a crucial importance to achieve great sporting successes. We talk about the conquest of championships, medals and world records; the athletes who have managed to reach the top of any sport have managed to direct their attention exclusively to the task , obviating any external distraction.

This enormous importance of targeting athletes has not gone unnoticed by sports psychologists, who have tried to know in depth the different psychological and contextual aspects that influence the concentration n , in view of trying to improve sports performance.


Concentration and sports performance: cause and effect

That said, I think we must insist that concentration is a process that proportionally improves sports performance, and that therefore maximizes the chances of success within any discipline . The more concentration you have in any task, the better you will develop it, and therefore, you will get better results.

Concept of concentration

A good definition of concentration can be as follows: the ability of a person to centralize their attention in a sustained and constant manner for a prolonged period of time, in an activity or task, ignoring situations or external circumstances.


Concentration, then, is mainly a form of selective attention that allows us to process the information that interests us, ignoring the other factors or external circumstances that surround us. The exact concept is the focus of attention; center all our senses on the task we are doing.

Some examples of focus of attention

To try to graphically explain the concept of focalization of attention we can resort to a series of illustrative examples. For example, the footballer who focuses on what he controls; in his ability to get ahead of the opponent in an accurate dribble, or in correctly kicking the ball for that shot ends in a goal. Or we could also think of the tennis player who focuses his attention on hitting the ball well, or his anticipation of the rival tennis player hitting the ball and being able to make a good hit.


In addition, focused attention is commonly assigned to a sports jargon; phrases like "I played the whole game very concentrated", "I lost my concentration and I could not recover it again", "after the first failure I lost concentration", this last one very usual in soccer players. In short, recurring phrases in the sports world that they are a clear sign that concentration is an aspect that plays a decisive role in sports competition.

The lack of concentration

Concentration is essential in sports, and its deficit in any individual who practices a sport discipline can cost many mistakes. That is why lack of concentration is considered one of the biggest problems of the sport and .

To try to mitigate the harmful effects of the lack of concentration in the sport, the coaches use a series of strategies. Although the motivation and the activation can be very positive elements for the athlete at the time of maintaining an adequate concentration and therefore a good performance, the technical professionals of the world of sport have detected that the presence of sports psychologists can help avoid mistakes due to lack of concentration .

Sports psychologists

In sports like soccer, Many sports psychologists work specifically to consolidate behavior patterns that they facilitate that the player remains with all his senses in the game during all the party. It may seem an easy task, however, to ensure that the player understands that to maintain concentration must ignore factors such as the referee's performance, the conditions of the field, weather conditions and ultimately several factors that can not control, evading of its purpose and distract it, it is really complicated.

A widely used strategy is visualization or mental rehearsal, a task that consists mainly of the athlete mentally reproducing each step to make during the activity, coming to feel those sensations so characteristic when in competition.

When the athlete reaches the maximum concentration, enters what experts call flow state, in which the individual is so involved in what he is doing that he keeps his attention without being disturbed by any situation or circumstance.

Do not focus solely on concentration

The maximum concentration is reproduced naturally and automatically, without the need to focus our attention on the concentration itself, that is, that task that has become automatic must be executed in a way that does not require focusing attention on each of the steps or elements that make up the task, but should focus on what is going to happen and let it happen.

To conclude, it must be clarified that all kinds of sports have their methodology and progress . Undoubtedly, one of the factors that have more relevance when it comes to improving in any discipline, is concentration. Consequently, knowledge of several strategies that allow us to enhance this ability will allow any athlete to achieve better records and results.


Concentration and focus in Sport and Performance Psychology (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'importance de la concentration et de l'attention du sport

L'importance de la concentration et de l'attention du sport

Mars 29, 2020

L’un des nombreux facteurs qui influencent la performance de tout sport est la concentration . De plus, ce processus a acquis au fil des ans une importance cruciale pour réussir de grands succès sportifs. Nous parlons de la conquête des championnats, des médailles et des records du monde; les athlètes qui ont réussi à atteindre le sommet de n'importe quel sport ont réussi à porter leur attention exclusivement sur la tâche , évitant toute distraction externe.

Cette énorme importance de cibler les athlètes n’est pas passée inaperçue des psychologues du sport, qui ont essayé de connaître en profondeur les différents aspects psychologiques et contextuels qui influencent la concentration n , en vue d'essayer d'améliorer les performances sportives.


Concentration et performance sportive: cause et effet

Cela dit, je pense que nous devons insister sur le fait que la concentration est un processus qui améliore proportionnellement les performances sportives et que, par conséquent, maximise les chances de succès dans n'importe quelle discipline . Plus vous êtes concentré dans une tâche, plus vous la développerez et, par conséquent, vous obtiendrez de meilleurs résultats.

Concept de concentration

Une bonne définition de la concentration peut être la suivante: la capacité d'une personne à centraliser son attention de manière soutenue et constante pendant une période de temps prolongée, dans une activité ou une tâche, en ignorant des situations ou des circonstances extérieures.


La concentration est donc principalement une forme d’attention sélective qui nous permet de traiter les informations qui nous intéressent, en ignorant les autres facteurs ou circonstances externes qui nous entourent. Le concept exact est le centre d'attention; centrer tous nos sens sur la tâche que nous accomplissons.

Quelques exemples d'attention

Pour tenter d'expliquer graphiquement le concept de focalisation de l'attention, nous pouvons recourir à une série d'exemples illustratifs. Par exemple, le footballeur qui se concentre sur ce qu’il contrôle; dans sa capacité à devancer son adversaire avec un dribble précis, ou à taper correctement dans le ballon pour que le tir se termine par un but. Nous pourrions aussi penser au joueur de tennis qui concentre son attention sur le fait de bien frapper la balle, ou à son anticipation de voir le joueur de tennis rival frapper la balle et être capable de réussir un bon coup.


En outre, une attention focalisée est généralement attribuée à une jargon sportif; des phrases comme "J'ai joué tout le match très concentré", "J'ai perdu ma concentration et je ne pouvais plus le récupérer", "après le premier échec, j'ai perdu ma concentration", ce dernier très habituel chez les joueurs de football. En bref, des phrases récurrentes dans le monde du sport qui ils sont un signe clair que la concentration est un aspect qui joue un rôle déterminant en compétition sportive.

Le manque de concentration

La concentration est essentielle dans le sport et son déficit chez tout individu pratiquant une discipline sportive peut coûter de nombreuses erreurs. C'est pour ça que le manque de concentration est considéré comme l'un des plus gros problèmes du sport e .

Pour tenter d'atténuer les effets néfastes du manque de concentration dans le sport, les entraîneurs utilisent une série de stratégies. Bien que la motivation et l'activation puissent être des éléments très positifs pour l'athlète au moment de maintenir une concentration adéquate et donc une bonne performance, les professionnels techniques du monde du sport ont détecté que la présence de psychologues du sport peut aider à éviter les erreurs dues au manque de concentration .

Psychologues du sport

Dans des sports comme le football, De nombreux psychologues du sport travaillent spécifiquement à la consolidation des comportements qu'ils facilitent que le joueur reste avec tous ses sens dans le jeu pendant toute la fête. Cela peut sembler une tâche facile, cependant, de faire en sorte que le joueur comprenne que pour maintenir sa concentration, il faut ignorer des facteurs tels que la performance de l'arbitre, les conditions du terrain, les conditions météorologiques et finalement plusieurs facteurs qui ne peuvent pas être maîtrisés, de son but et le distraire, il est vraiment compliqué.

Une stratégie largement utilisée est la visualisation ou répétition mentale, une tâche qui consiste principalement à reproduire mentalement chaque étape à effectuer pendant l’activité, pour ressentir les sensations qui caractérisent la compétition.

Lorsque l'athlète atteint la concentration maximale, il entre dans ce que les experts appellent l'état de flux, dans lequel l'individu est tellement impliqué dans ce qu'il fait qu'il garde son attention sans être dérangé par aucune situation ou circonstance.

Ne vous concentrez pas uniquement sur la concentration

La concentration maximale est reproduite naturellement et automatiquement, sans qu'il soit nécessaire de concentrer notre attention sur la concentration elle-même, c'est-à-dire que la tâche devenue automatique doit être exécutée de manière à ne pas nécessiter l'attention concentrée sur chacun des éléments. étapes ou des éléments qui composent la tâche, mais devraient se concentrer sur ce qui va se passer et le laisser se produire.

Pour conclure, il faut préciser que toutes sortes de sports ont leur méthodologie et leurs progrès . La concentration est sans aucun doute l'un des facteurs les plus pertinents pour améliorer une discipline. Par conséquent, la connaissance de plusieurs stratégies nous permettant d’améliorer cette capacité permettra à tout athlète d’obtenir de meilleurs records et résultats.


La puissance de l'Intention (Documentaire) (Mars 2020).


Articles Connexes