yes, therapy helps!
The importance of practicing Mindfulness and compassion together

The importance of practicing Mindfulness and compassion together

May 6, 2021

In the Buddhist tradition, Mindfulness and compassion are considered the two wings of the bird of wisdom , and it is thought that both are essential to be able to fly, so they are practiced together and reinforce each other.

To practice compassion, mindfulness is necessary, because we have to be able to become aware of one's own suffering and that of others, without judgment, attachment or rejection, to feel compassion towards the person who suffers.

But, above all, in order to carry out compassionate practices there is a need for minimum levels of attention obtained through the practice of mindfulness (García Campayo and Demarzo, 2015). Some of the first practices of compassion, such as mindfulness in compassionate breathing and compassionate body scan, pretend to be developing mindfulness and diminish the wandering of the mind, while associating with a compassionate attitude of base.


The link between mindfulness and compassion

It is known that the practice of mindfulness represented by the two main intervention protocols developed, the program Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) (Birnie et al, 2010) and the program Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) (Kuyken et al 2010), increase compassion. These programs do not specifically teach compassion, but implicit messages are sent about the importance of being compassionate and kind to oneself and their mental processes when talking about the compassionate attitude, an element that is core to the practice of mindfulness.

However, when the two interventions are associated, compassion therapy brings to mindfulness the conjugation with the mental processes that are behind the social commitment to try to make the world better, and the individual commitment to establish bonds of attachment and affection when we're suffering. Compassion is a broader concept than mindfulness and, in fact, studies point to the possibility that it may be a more effective treatment than mindfulness in some specific pathologies, such as depression (and in disorders related to self-image). , guilt and self-criticism), in addition to interventions focused on increasing psychological well-being in healthy subjects.


The differences between both practices

Focusing on the psychobiology that gives rise to mindfulness and compassion, there are great differences between both practices.

While the mental processes most linked to mindfulness generate a form of metacognition and regulation of attention related to the activity of the prefrontal middle regions and is therefore a recent evolutionary achievement (Siegel 2007), compassion is much more ancestral, and linked to the system of care of mammals. It involves substances such as oxytocin and other hormones related to the feeling of secure attachment, and also to neuronal systems and networks linked to love and affiliation (Klimecki et al 2013). The following table summarizes what each of the two therapies provides.

Table: Specific contributions of mindfulness and compassion therapies


MINDFULNESS COMPASSION
Ask the respondentWhat is the experience here and now?What do you need now to feel good and lessen suffering?
objectiveBecome aware of the real experience and accept its natureComfort the subject in the face of suffering, understanding that primary pain is inherent to human beings
Risk of each therapy if it does not balance with the otherAccepting the discomfort of the subject, forgetting their needs, focusing exclusively on experience. Eternal lack of motivation and ethical and compassionate attitude towards oneself and towards the worldDo not accept the experience of primary suffering (which is inevitable and inherent to human nature). Do not focus on the here and now, on the real nature of things, and focus exclusively on looking to feel better in the future

In conclusion

The experience of self-pity may seem paradoxical: On the one hand, present suffering is experienced with acceptance, but at the same time it is intended to diminish future suffering .


Both objectives are not incompatible, but complementary: the first (the acceptance mindfulness of the experience of suffering) is the recognition of human nature, and the second is the way forward (compassion) before the reality of the first.

Bibliographic references:

  • Birnie K, Speca M, Carlson LE. Exploring self-compassion and empathy in the context of Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction (MBSR). Stress and Health 2010; 26, 359-371.
  • García Campayo J, Demarzo M. Mindfulness manual. Curiosity and acceptance Barcelona: Siglantana, 2015.
  • Klimecki OM, Leiberg S, Lamm C, Singer T. Functional neural plasticity and associated changes in positive affect after compassion training.Cereb Cortex 2013; 23: 1552-61.
  • Kuyken W, Watkins E, Holden E, White K, Taylor RS, Byford S, et al. How does mindfulness-based cognitive therapy work? Behavior Research and Therapy 2010; 48, 1105-1112.
  • Siegel D. The mindful brain. New York: Norton, 2007.

The Practice of Mindfulness and Compassion | Dharma Talk by Thich Nhat Hanh, 2012.10.14 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'importance de pratiquer la pleine conscience et la compassion ensemble

L'importance de pratiquer la pleine conscience et la compassion ensemble

Mars 7, 2021

Dans la tradition bouddhiste, La pleine conscience et la compassion sont considérées comme les deux ailes de l'oiseau de la sagesse , et on pense que les deux sont essentiels pour pouvoir voler, ils sont donc pratiqués ensemble et se renforcent mutuellement.

Pour pratiquer la compassion, la pleine conscience est nécessaire, car nous devons être capables de prendre conscience de sa propre souffrance et de celle des autres, sans jugement, sans attachement ni rejet, pour ressentir de la compassion pour la personne qui souffre.

Mais, avant tout, pour mener à bien des pratiques empreintes de compassion, il est nécessaire de porter une attention minimale à la pratique de la pleine conscience (García Campayo et Demarzo, 2015). Certaines des premières pratiques de compassion, telles que la pleine conscience dans la respiration compatissante et scan corporel compatissant, prétendre développer l'attention et diminuer l'errance de l'esprit tout en s'associant à une attitude compatissante de base.


Le lien entre l'attention et la compassion

On sait que la pratique de la pleine conscience représentée par les deux principaux protocoles d’intervention développés, le programme Réduction du stress basée sur la conscience (MBSR) (Birnie et al, 2010) et le programme Thérapie cognitive basée sur la conscience (MBCT) (Kuyken et al 2010), augmenter la compassion. Ces programmes n'enseignent pas spécifiquement la compassion, mais des messages implicites sont envoyés sur l'importance de faire preuve de compassion et de gentillesse envers soi-même et envers leurs processus mentaux lorsqu'ils parlent de l'attitude de compassion, élément essentiel de la pratique de la pleine conscience.

Cependant, lorsque les deux interventions sont associées, la thérapie par compassion amène à la conscience la conjugaison avec les processus mentaux qui sous-tendent l'engagement social à essayer d'améliorer le monde et l'engagement individuel d'établir des liens d'attachement et d'affection lorsque Nous souffrons La compassion est un concept plus large que la pleine conscience et, en fait, des études suggèrent qu'il pourrait être un traitement plus efficace que la pleine conscience dans certaines pathologies spécifiques, telles que la dépression (et les troubles liés à l'image de soi). culpabilité et autocritique), ainsi que des interventions axées sur l’amélioration du bien-être psychologique chez des sujets en bonne santé.


Les différences entre les deux pratiques

En se concentrant sur la psychobiologie qui engendre la pleine conscience et la compassion, il existe de grandes différences entre les deux pratiques.

Alors que les processus mentaux les plus liés à la vigilance génèrent une forme de métacognition et une régulation de l'attention liées à l'activité des régions intermédiaires préfrontales et constituent donc un exploit évolutif récent (Siegel 2007), la compassion est beaucoup plus ancestrale et liés au système de soins des mammifères. Il s'agit de substances telles que l'ocytocine et d'autres hormones liées au sentiment d'attachement sécurisé, ainsi qu'aux systèmes et réseaux neuronaux liés à l'amour et à l'affiliation (Klimecki et al 2013). Le tableau suivant résume ce que chacune des deux thérapies fournit.

Tableau: Contributions spécifiques des thérapies de pleine conscience et de compassion


DÉFINITION COMPASSION
Demander au répondantQuelle est l'expérience ici et maintenant?De quoi avez-vous besoin maintenant pour vous sentir bien et réduire la souffrance?
ObjectifPrendre conscience de l'expérience réelle et accepter sa natureRéconforter le sujet face à la souffrance, sachant que la douleur première est inhérente à l'être humain
Risque de chaque traitement s'il ne s'équilibre pas avec l'autreAccepter l'inconfort du sujet, oublier ses besoins, se concentrer exclusivement sur l'expérience. Eternelle manque de motivation et d'attitude éthique et compatissante envers soi-même et le monde.N'acceptez pas l'expérience de souffrance primaire (inévitable et inhérente à la nature humaine). Ne vous concentrez pas sur l'ici et maintenant, sur la vraie nature des choses, mais uniquement sur le souci de vous sentir mieux dans le futur.

En guise de conclusion

L’expérience de l’apitoiement sur soi peut sembler paradoxale: D'un côté, la souffrance présente est vécue avec acceptation, mais en même temps, elle est destinée à atténuer la souffrance future. .


Les deux objectifs ne sont pas incompatibles, mais complémentaires: le premier (l'acceptation de l'expérience de la souffrance) est la reconnaissance de la nature humaine et le second est la voie à suivre (la compassion) avant la réalité du premier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Birnie K, Speca M, Carlson LE. Explorer la compassion et l'empathie de soi dans le contexte de la réduction du stress basée sur la pleine conscience (MBSR). Stress et santé 2010; 26, 359-371.
  • García Campayo J, manuel de Demarzo M. Mindfulness. Curiosité et acceptation Barcelone: ​​Siglantana, 2015.
  • Klimecki OM, S Leiberg, C Lamm, Singer T. Plasticité neurale fonctionnelle et changements associés dans l'affect positif après la formation de compassion.Cereb Cortex 2013; 23: 1552-161.
  • Kuyken, W., Watkins, E., Holden, E., White, Taylor, RS, Byford, S. et al. Comment fonctionne la thérapie cognitive basée sur la pleine conscience? Recherche et thérapie comportementales 2010; 48,1105-1112.
  • Siegel D. Le cerveau conscient. New York: Norton, 2007.

POURQUOI MÉDITER ? | Comment lutter contre le STRESS (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes