yes, therapy helps!
The influence of child sexual abuse in cases of teen suicide

The influence of child sexual abuse in cases of teen suicide

May 6, 2021

We are at a time when more and more cases of sexual abuse in childhood are coming to light, it might even seem that there is a boom in this type of abuse, although what really happens is that they are becoming more visible.

According to the studies, around 7.4% of men and 19.2% of women have been victims of this type of abuse , although these figures can not be taken as determinants due to the high number of cases that are not reported.

Sexual abuse in childhood: a silenced reality

Contrary to what is believed, the most frequent sexual abuse of minors are committed within the family nucleus and by a person with whom the child has an affectionate and trusting relationship.


The studies also reveal that in a high percentage of cases the abuses are carried out within a context of play, of which the adult is used so that the children participate without being aware of the implications of these behaviors and that is why, in In many cases, these behaviors go unnoticed by the rest of the family members, who are unaware of the facts.

The effects of having suffered sexual abuse in childhood

But what involvement can sexual abuse have in childhood?

The studies carried out for this purpose inform us that p symptoms may appear both in the short and long term and that these symptoms They can affect all facets of the child's life.


Although it is considered that around 30% of the victims of sexual abuse do not present associated symptoms, the rest of the victims usually present a series of short and long-term problems among which are anxiety, depression, low self-esteem, feelings of guilt, stigmatization, problems of attention and concentration, problems to relate, sleep disorders, uninhibited sexual behavior, suicidal ideas and suicide attempts, among other symptoms, that over time and if they persist can be aggravated until the appearance of depressive and bipolar disorders, post-traumatic stress disorders, borderline personality disorders and self-destructive and self-injurious behaviors (Pereda, 2009).

Suicides: figures and data

One of the most serious consequences given the intentionality to end one's life, is suicide. Around 50% of men sexually abused and 67% of women have or have had suicidal ideation and a considerable percentage of them have tried to end their lives (11% of women and 4% of men).


More on this topic: "Suicides: data, statistics and associated mental disorders"

But are there any data that supports this claim? The answer is yes. Studies regarding adolescent suicide are scarce due to the social impact they have since, as in the case of sexual abuse, they are problematic that remain underlying and do not easily come to light, but already in 1991 Cirillo and Blasco argued that victims of sexual abuse who had not felt heard or protected had tendencies to exhibit self-aggressive behaviors that could lead to suicide.

Another study reveals that mistreatment, without distinction of category, in childhood is associated with suicide in adults at a rate of 5.53% and that the severity of abuse could even influence the beginning and frequency of these attempts, seemingly there is a correlation between attempts and suicide attempts and the time elapsed since the abuses occurred, since these behaviors appeared around 2 years after having suffered them (González-Forteza, Ramos Lira, Vignau Brambila and Ramírez Villarreal, 2001 ).

Several conclusions

Seeing these figures It seems clear that there is an important correlation between having suffered sexual abuse in childhood and making suicide attempts in adolescence .

Although it is not the only cause that motivates them, since the studies that are based only on attempts of adolescent suicide present as risk factors for this type of behaviors, in addition to the abuses in childhood, the existence of family dysfunction , anxious-depressive symptoms and behavioral problems. Even so, the data are alarming and reveal the enormous consequences both psychological and physical that may be suffered by people abused during the childhood stage.

Bibliographic references:

  • González-Forteza, C., Ramos Lira, L., Vignau Brambila, L. B. and Ramirez Villareal, C. (2001). Sexual abuse and suicidal intent associated with depressive distress and suicidal ideation of adolescents. Mental Health Mexico, 24, N.6, Dec.
  • Larraguibel, M .; González, P .; Martínez, V .; Valenzuela, R. (2000). Risk factors of suicidal behavior in children and adolescents. Chilean pediatric journal, 71, 3.Mayo.
  • Páramo Castillo, D., Chávez Hernández, A. M. (2007) Child abuse and suicide in the State of Guanajuato. Mental Health, 30, nº3, May-June. P. 59-67.
  • Pereda, N., (2009). Initial psychological consequences of child sexual abuse. Papers of the psychologist, 30 (2), pp135-144.
  • Pereda, N., (2010). Long-term psychological consequences of child sexual abuse. Papers of the psychologist, 31 (2), pp. 191-201.

How Being Sexually Molested As A Child Shapes A Person As An Adult (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'influence de l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les cas de suicide chez les adolescents

L'influence de l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans les cas de suicide chez les adolescents

Mai 22, 2019

Nous sommes à une époque où de plus en plus de cas d’abus sexuels durant l’enfance se font jour, on pourrait même penser que ce type d’abus est en plein essor, bien que ce qui se passe réellement est qu’ils deviennent plus visibles.

Selon les études, environ 7,4% d'hommes et 19,2% de femmes ont été victimes de ce type de violence , bien que ces chiffres ne puissent pas être considérés comme déterminants en raison du nombre élevé de cas non signalés.

Abus sexuels dans l'enfance: une réalité réduite au silence

Contrairement à ce que l'on croit, les abus sexuels de mineurs les plus fréquents sont commis dans le noyau familial et par une personne avec qui l'enfant a une relation affectueuse et confiante.


Les études révèlent également que dans un pourcentage élevé de cas, les abus sont perpétrés dans un contexte de jeu, dans lequel l'adulte est utilisé de manière à ce que les enfants participent sans être conscients des conséquences de ces comportements. Dans de nombreux cas, ces comportements ne sont pas remarqués par le reste des membres de la famille, qui ignorent les faits.

Les effets d'avoir subi des abus sexuels dans l'enfance

Mais quelle implication peut avoir l'abus sexuel dans l'enfance?

Les études réalisées à cet effet nous informent que p symptômes peuvent apparaître à court et à long terme et que ces symptômes Ils peuvent affecter toutes les facettes de la vie de l'enfant.


Bien que l'on estime qu'environ 30% des victimes d'abus sexuel ne présentent pas de symptômes associés, le reste des victimes présente généralement une série de problèmes à court et à long terme, parmi lesquels l'anxiété, la dépression, estime de soi, sentiment de culpabilité, stigmatisation, problèmes d’attention et de concentration, problèmes de relation, troubles du sommeil, comportement sexuel non inhibé, idées suicidaires et tentatives de suicide, entre autres symptômes, qui peut s’aggraver avec le temps, même s’ils persistent apparition de troubles dépressifs et bipolaires, de troubles de stress post-traumatiques, de troubles de la personnalité limites et de comportements autodestructeurs et auto-préjudiciables (Pereda, 2009).

Suicides: chiffres et données

Le suicide est l'une des conséquences les plus graves compte tenu de l'intention de mettre fin à ses jours. Environ 50% des hommes abusés sexuellement et 67% des femmes ont ou ont eu des idées suicidaires et un pourcentage considérable d'entre elles ont tenté de mettre fin à leurs jours (11% de femmes et 4% d'hommes).


Plus sur ce sujet: "Suicides: données, statistiques et troubles mentaux associés"

Mais existe-t-il des données qui corroborent cette affirmation? La réponse est oui. Les études sur le suicide chez les adolescents sont rares en raison de leur impact social car, comme dans le cas des abus sexuels, elles posent des problèmes qui restent sous-jacents et ne se révèlent pas facilement. Cependant, déjà en 1991, Cirillo et Blasco ont affirmé que Les victimes d'abus sexuel qui ne s'étaient pas senties entendues ou protégées avaient tendance à manifester des comportements auto-agressifs pouvant conduire au suicide.

Une autre étude révèle que, dans l’enfance, les mauvais traitements, sans distinction de catégorie, sont associés au suicide chez les adultes à un taux de 5,53% et que la gravité de la maltraitance pourrait même influer sur le début et la fréquence de ces tentatives. il existe une corrélation entre les tentatives et les tentatives de suicide et le temps écoulé depuis les abus, ces comportements étant apparus environ deux ans après les avoir subis (González-Forteza, Ramos Lira, Vignau Brambila et Ramírez Villarreal, 2001). ).

Plusieurs conclusions

En voyant ces chiffres Il semble clair qu'il existe une corrélation importante entre avoir été victime d'abus sexuel dans l'enfance et avoir tenté de se suicider à l'adolescence. .

Bien que ce ne soit pas la seule cause qui les motive, puisque les études qui se basent uniquement sur des tentatives de suicide chez des adolescents présentent comme facteurs de risque pour ce type de comportements, en plus des abus commis durant l’enfance, l’existence de dysfonctionnements familiaux. , symptômes anxieux-dépressifs et problèmes de comportement. Malgré tout, les données sont alarmantes et révèlent les énormes conséquences psychologiques et physiques que peuvent subir les personnes maltraitées pendant l'enfance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • González-Forteza, C., L. Ramos, L., Vignau Brambila, L. et C. Ramirez Villareal (2001). Abus sexuel et intention suicidaire associés à une détresse dépressive et aux idées de suicide des adolescents. Santé mentale Mexique, 24, N.6, déc.
  • Larraguibel, M .; González, P .; Martínez, V .; Valenzuela, R. (2000). Facteurs de risque du comportement suicidaire chez les enfants et les adolescents. Journal chilien de pédiatrie, 71, 3. Mayo.
  • Páramo Castillo, D., Chávez Hernández, A.M. (2007). Enfants maltraités et suicidés dans l'État de Guanajuato. Santé mentale, 30, nº3, mai-juin. P. 59-67.
  • Pereda, N. (2009). Conséquences psychologiques initiales des abus sexuels sur enfants. Papers of the psychologist, 30 (2), p.135-144.
  • Pereda, N. (2010). Conséquences psychologiques à long terme des abus sexuels sur enfants. Papers of the psychologist, 31 (2), p. 191-201.

Sex trafficking isn't what you think it is | Meghan Sobel | TEDxMileHighWomen (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes