yes, therapy helps!
The insula: anatomy and functions of this part of the brain

The insula: anatomy and functions of this part of the brain

October 16, 2021

At this point it is already known by the vast majority of the population that the human brain is divided into four cerebral lobes.

With a simple image of the brain we would be able to locate a large number of parts of the brain. However, there is a very relevant structure that can remain hidden from visual observation, taking into account that it is located at a certain depth behind one of the main grooves of the brain. This structure is the so-called insula.

What is the insula?

Also considered as the fifth cerebral lobe, the insula is a structure of the cerebral cortex located in the depth of the Sylvian fissure, at the point where the temporal, parietal and frontal lobes converge, being delimited by their respective opercula.


The insula is part of the mesocortex, or paralimbic system, together with the orbitofrontal and other structures. It is a connection center between the limbic system and the neocortex, participating in many different functions, either directly or indirectly.

Components of the insula

The insula is not only a uniform structure that performs homogeneously the same functions, but also different parts of this structure are responsible for various tasks . Specifically, the insula is divided into anterior and posterior insula, separated both parts by the central insular groove.

The posterior region of the insula is mainly innervated with somatosensory neurons, which are what create a "map" of the position sensations related to the different parts of the body. with which the participation of this region will be linked more with control of the viscera and internal organs.


The anterior part of this brain structure has a greater connection with the limbic system, its functionality being more oriented to the emotional integration of experiences and perceptions as a unitary and global sensation.

Main functions of the insula

Let's see some of the main functions of the insular region.

As we have seen, the insula influences a large number of basic and superior processes (related to abstract thinking and decision making), and is an element of great importance for the proper functioning and even the survival of the organism. In this sense, the research carried out in the field of neurosciences shows that the island participates in the following processes .

1. Perception of taste and smell

The sense of taste has its primary primary sensory area at the lower end of the insula and in the parietal cortex. It is at this point where the taste information becomes conscious, appearing as a private and subjective experience but related to the elements of the environment that we savor.


It has also been observed that the insula participates in the perception of smell, although this sense tends to have a neural network dispersed throughout the encephalon.

2. Visceral control and somatoperception

The insula also has an important role in the regulation of viscera and organs . Specifically, it has been observed that its experimental manipulation produces important variations in blood pressure and heart rate. It also participates in the sensations coming from the digestive system, also participating in the management of this system and the respiratory system.

3. Vestibular function

The vestibular function, which refers to the body's balance and the control of the body in relation to space, also presents afferences to the insular region, being a relevant nucleus in its conscious perception. Thus, thanks to the insula a healthy person is able to know what position each of the main parts of his body occupies at all times.

4. Integration of emotional and perceptive information

The insula, as mentioned before, acts as an association zone between very different observations , especially in regard to the association between perception and emotion.

So, thanks in part to this brain region we learn from our experiences, since we link pleasant or unpleasant subjective sensations to what we do and say and, in this way, we associate behaviors with consequences through what we perceive.

5. Involvement in addictions: craving and craving

Due to its relationship and its connections with the limbic system, the link of the insula with the cerebral reward system has been explored. Research has shown that this structure intervenes in the processes of addiction to certain drugs, contributing to maintain the addictive behavior.

This relationship is due to the involvement of the insular region with the integration between emotion and cognition , being especially involved in the phenomenon of craving or intense desire for consumption.

6. Empathy and emotional recognition

Earlier we have seen that the insula has great connections with the limbic system. In this regard, recent investigations have indicated that this region of the cerebral cortex presents a key role in the ability to recognize emotions and of empathy. Thus, it has been shown that those individuals without insula have much less recognition, especially in regard to emotions of joy and surprise, as well as pain.

In fact, it has been suggested that the deficits found are very similar to some cases of autism, borderline personality disorder and behavioral problems, which could lead to investigations regarding the functioning of this brain area in certain disorders.

Bibliographic references:

  • Allen, G.V .; Saper, C.B .; Hurley, K.M. & Cechetto, D.F. (1991). Localization of visceral and limbic connections in the insular cortex of the rat. J Comp Neurol; 311: 1-16
  • Craig, A.D .; Reiman, E.M .; Evans, A. & Bushnell, M.C. (nineteen ninety six). Functional imaging of an illusion of pain. Nature; 384: 258-260
  • Duque, J.E .; Hernán, O. and Devia, A. (2004). The insular lobe. A lobe of visceral cortical processing. Acta Neurol. Colom. Vol 20, 2
  • Guenot, M .; Isnard, J. & Sindou, M. (2004) Surgical anatomy of the insula. Adv Tech Stand Neurosurg; 29: 265-288
  • Guyton, A. C. and Hall, J. E. (2008): Treatise on Medical Physiology (11th ed.). Madrid, Elsevier.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrird: MacGrawHill
  • Kivity, S .; Ortega-Hernández, O.D. & Shoenfeld, Y. (2009). Olfaction a window to the mind. Isr Med Assoc J; 11: 238-43
  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw, I. (2006). Human neuropsychology Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House
  • Manes, F. and Niro, M. (2014). Use the brain Buenos Aires: Planet.
  • Netter, F. (1989). Nervous system. Anatomy and physiology Volume 1.1. Barcelona: Salvat
  • Ostrowsky, K .; Isnard, J .; Ryvlin, P .; Guénot, M .; Fischer, C. & Mauguière, F. (2000). Functional Mapping of the insular cortex: clinical implication in temporal lobe epilepsy. Epilepsy; 41: 681-6
  • Pedrosa-Sánchez, M .; Escosa-Bagé, M .; García-Navarrete, E. and Sola, R.G. (2003). Reil insula and drug-resistant epilepsy. Rev. Neurol .; 36 (1): 40-44
  • Snell, R.S. (1999). Clinical Neuroanatomy. Buenos Aires: Editorial Medica Panamericana, S.A: 267.
  • Türe, U .; Yasargil, D.C.H .; Al-Mefty, O. & Yasargil, M.G. (1999). Topographic anatomy of the insular region. J Neurosurg; 90: 720-33.
  • Varnavas, G.G. & Grand, W. (1999). The insular cortex: morphological and vascular anatomic characteristics. Neurosurgery; 44: 127-38

Introduction: Neuroanatomy Video Lab - Brain Dissections (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'insula: anatomie et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

L'insula: anatomie et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Juin 20, 2022

À ce stade, la grande majorité de la population sait déjà que le cerveau humain est divisé en quatre lobes cérébraux.

Avec une simple image du cerveau, nous pourrions localiser un grand nombre de parties du cerveau. Cependant, il existe une structure très pertinente qui peut rester cachée de l'observation visuelle, en tenant compte du fait qu'elle se situe à une certaine profondeur derrière l'un des sillons principaux du cerveau. Cette structure est ce qu'on appelle l'insula.

Quelle est l'insula?

Également considérée comme le cinquième lobe cérébral, l'insula est une structure du cortex cérébral située dans la profondeur de la fissure de Sylvian, au point de convergence des lobes temporal, pariétal et frontal, délimités par leurs opercules respectifs.


L'insula fait partie du mésocortex, ou système paralimbique, avec les structures orbitofrontale et autres. C’est un centre de connexion entre le système limbique et le néocortex, participant à de nombreuses fonctions différentes, directement ou indirectement.

Composants de l'insula

L’insula est non seulement une structure uniforme qui remplit de manière homogène les mêmes fonctions, mais aussi différentes parties de cette structure sont responsables de diverses tâches . Plus précisément, l'insula est divisée en insula antérieure et postérieure, séparées des deux parties par le sillon insulaire central.

La région postérieure de l'insula est principalement innervée de neurones somatosensoriels, qui créent une "carte" des sensations de position liées aux différentes parties du corps. avec lequel la participation de cette région sera davantage liée au contrôle des viscères et des organes internes.


La partie antérieure de cette structure cérébrale a un lien plus étroit avec le système limbique, sa fonctionnalité étant davantage orientée vers l'intégration émotionnelle d'expériences et de perceptions en tant que sensation unitaire et globale.

Fonctions principales de l'insula

Voyons quelques-unes des principales fonctions de la région insulaire.

Comme nous l'avons vu, l'insula influence un grand nombre de processus fondamentaux et supérieurs (liés à la pensée abstraite et à la prise de décision) et constitue un élément de grande importance pour le bon fonctionnement et même la survie de l'organisme. En ce sens, les recherches menées dans le domaine des neurosciences montrent que l'île participe aux processus suivants .

1. Perception du goût et de l'odorat

Le sens du goût a sa principale zone sensorielle primaire à l'extrémité inférieure de l'insula et dans le cortex pariétal. C’est à ce stade que l’information gustative devient consciente et apparaît comme une expérience privée et subjective, mais liée aux éléments de l’environnement que nous savourons.


Il a également été observé que l'insula participe à la perception de l'odorat, bien que ce sens ait tendance à avoir un réseau neuronal dispersé dans tout l'encéphale.

2. Contrôle viscéral et somatoperception

L’insula joue également un rôle important dans la régulation des viscères et des organes . En particulier, il a été observé que sa manipulation expérimentale produisait des variations importantes de la pression artérielle et du rythme cardiaque. Il participe également aux sensations provenant du système digestif, participant également à la gestion de ce système et du système respiratoire.

3. Fonction vestibulaire

La fonction vestibulaire, qui fait référence à l'équilibre du corps et au contrôle du corps par rapport à l'espace, présente également des afférences à la région insulaire, constituant un noyau important dans sa perception consciente. Ainsi, grâce à l'insula, une personne en bonne santé est en mesure de connaître la position qu'occupe chacune des parties principales de son corps à tout moment.

4. Intégration de l'information émotionnelle et perceptive

L'insula, comme mentionné précédemment, agit comme une zone d'association entre des observations très différentes , en particulier en ce qui concerne l'association entre la perception et l'émotion.

Donc, grâce en partie à cette région cérébrale, nous tirons des leçons de nos expériences, car nous associons des sensations subjectives agréables ou désagréables à ce que nous disons et faisons et, de cette manière, nous associons des comportements avec des conséquences à travers ce que nous percevons.

5. Implication dans les dépendances: envie et envie

En raison de sa relation et de ses connexions avec le système limbique, le lien de l'insula avec le système de récompense cérébrale a été exploré. Des recherches ont montré que cette structure intervenait dans les processus de dépendance à certaines drogues, contribuant à maintenir le comportement de dépendance.

Cette relation est due à l'implication de la région insulaire dans l'intégration entre émotion et cognition , étant particulièrement impliqué dans le phénomène de envie ou désir intense de consommation.

6. Empathie et reconnaissance émotionnelle

Nous avons vu précédemment que l'insula entretient d'excellentes relations avec le système limbique. À cet égard, des enquêtes récentes ont montré que cette région du cortex cérébral joue un rôle clé dans la capacité de reconnaître les émotions et d'empathie. Ainsi, il a été démontré que les personnes sans insula ont beaucoup moins de reconnaissance, en particulier en ce qui concerne les émotions de joie et de surprise, ainsi que la douleur.

En fait, il a été suggéré que les déficits constatés sont très similaires à certains cas d'autisme, de trouble de la personnalité limite et de problèmes de comportement, ce qui pourrait conduire à des enquêtes sur le fonctionnement de cette région cérébrale dans certains troubles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Allen, V.V .; Saper, C.B .; Hurley, K.M. & Cechetto, D.F. (1991). Localisation des connexions viscérales et limbiques dans le cortex insulaire du rat. J Comp Neurol; 311: 1-16
  • Craig, D.A .; Reiman, E.M .; Evans, A. & Bushnell, M.C. (1996). Imagerie fonctionnelle d'une illusion de douleur. La nature; 384: 258-260
  • Duque, J.E .; Hernán, O. et Devia, A. (2004). Le lobe insulaire. Un lobe de traitement cortical viscéral. Acta Neurol. Colom. Vol 20, 2
  • Guenot, M .; Isnard, J. & Sindou, M. (2004) Anatomie chirurgicale de l'insula. Adv Tech Stand Neurosurg; 29: 265-288
  • Guyton, A. C. et Hall, J. E. (2008): Treatise on Medical Physiology (11 e éd.). Madrid, Elsevier.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrird: MacGrawHill
  • Kivity, S .; Ortega-Hernández, O.D. & Shoenfeld, Y. (2009). Olfaction une fenêtre sur l'esprit. Isr Med Assoc J; 11: 238-43
  • Kolb, B. & Wishaw, I. (2006). Neuropsychologie humaine Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine
  • Manes, F. et Niro, M. (2014). Utiliser le cerveau Buenos Aires: Planète.
  • Netter, F. (1989). Système nerveux. Anatomie et physiologie Volume 1.1. Barcelone: ​​Salvat
  • Ostrowsky, K .; Isnard, J .; Ryvlin, P .; Guénot, M .; Fischer, C. & Mauguière, F. (2000). Cartographie fonctionnelle du cortex insulaire: implication clinique dans l'épilepsie du lobe temporal. L'épilepsie 41: 681-6
  • Pedrosa-Sánchez, M .; Escosa-Bagé, M .; García-Navarrete, E. et Sola, R.G. (2003). Reil insula et épilepsie résistante aux médicaments. Rev. Neurol. 36 (1): 40-44
  • Snell, R.S. (1999). Neuroanatomie clinique. Buenos Aires: Éditorial Medica Panamericana, S.A: 267.
  • Türe, U .; Yasargil, D.C.H .; Al-Mefty, O. et Yasargil, M.G. (1999). Anatomie topographique de la région insulaire. J Neurosurg; 90: 720-33.
  • Varnavas, G.G. & Grand, W. (1999). Le cortex insulaire: caractéristiques anatomiques morphologiques et vasculaires. Neurochirurgie; 44: 127-38

Régions fonctionnelles du cerveau (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes