yes, therapy helps!
The intervention in Psychomotor: what is this discipline?

The intervention in Psychomotor: what is this discipline?

September 21, 2022

Psychomotricity is the discipline that studies the relationship between the psyche and the motor ability of the human being

Born during the twentieth century by the hand of authors such as neurologist Ernest Dupré or psychologist Henry Wallon, let's see what this area of ​​study really consists of and how interventions in the child population are made concrete. Also, we will review other concepts related to Psychomotricity, such as the fundamentals of motor development and the definition of what is known as "body schema".

  • Related article: "Psychology of Development: main theories and authors"

Basic principles of Psychomotricity

The discipline of psychomotricity is based on theoretical premises on how to understand the different types of development in the human being. As to the perspective of psychological development , it is assumed that the subject is in continuous interaction with the environment in which it develops; on the point of view of motor development, it is affirmed that there is a relationship between the motor and psychological functions (cognitive, emotional, social) of each person; on the part of sensory development it is understood that there is a link between the senses and the integral maturation of the individual.


Another of the fundamental theoretical principles is based on recognizing that the correct construction of the body schema favors the development of psycho-cognitive abilities . In addition, it is validated that the body is the key aspect of contact with external reality, which is produced by the movement of that.

On the other hand, it is assumed as an inseparable element the motor behavior with respect to the behavior of the same individual, which interacts with the environment, enabling the development of complex capacities. Finally, a last fundamental idea would grant a decisive role of language in the process of psychic development of each subject.

  • You may be interested: "The development of personality during childhood"

Determining factors in motor development

The motor development consists of a continuous process that begins already from the embryonic phase and that does not stop until the individual reaches maturity, adopting very different rhythms depending on each subject although following the same sequence in all the stages that compose it. One of the first samples that take place in it refers to the expression of innate reflexes that little by little disappear to later transform into voluntary and controlled movements of a different nature.


This is possible from the fact that the myelination process is carried out and is being completed and is being established in the layers of the cerebral cortex (which regulate these voluntary actions), so that each time the movement is refined and refined. in all its coordinated aspects.

Among the factors that determine motor development, three types can be distinguished: prenatal, perinatal and postnatal . Among the first, aspects such as characteristics and maternal habits (age, diet, presence of diseases, hereditary characteristics, etc.) that can negatively affect the fetus during pregnancy are relevant. At the time of delivery complications can occur during the extraction, which can lead to episodes of anoxia or brain injury (perinatal factors).

Regarding the postnatal factors, they are multiple, although it is mainly attended to: the level of physical and neurological maturation , the nature of the stimulation and experiences to which it is subjected, the type of food, the environment, the types of care and hygiene, the existence of affective behaviors by significant figures, etc. As mentioned above, physical development is very closely related to psychological, emotional, behavioral and social, with which the result obtained from the combination of all of them will be decisive for the child.


  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

What is meant by body schema?

The concept of body schema is defined as the knowledge that an individual possesses over his own body , which includes a full awareness of it both at rest and in movement, about the relationship between the set of elements that compose it and the connection of all this to the space or context that surrounds it (physical And social). In this way, both the emotional self-perception (mood or own attitudes) and the heteroperception that others maintain towards a subject are also relevant aspects in the configuration of the body schema.

As equivalent expressions or alternative forms of denominating the corporal scheme there are also binomials such as Body Image, Body Consciousness, Postural Scheme, Image of oneself or Image of the Body Self. Different authors such as Wallon, Le Boülch, Acaen and Ajuriaguerra or Frostig have made their own contributions to define the concept of body schema, although unanimously they all converge on the idea of the bideccional influence subject-environment (physical and social) and the individual's conscience of their own body.

One of the most relevant proposals is the one made by Bryan J. Cratty, whose classification of the determinant components of the body schema is novel and interesting to influence the influence of cognitive aspects in the configuration of that. So, for Cratty, the components of the Body Scheme would:

  • Knowledge and recognition of the Body Plans.
  • Knowledge and recognition of the Parts of the Body.
  • Knowledge and recognition of the Body Movements.
  • Knowledge and recognition of Laterality.
  • Knowledge and recognition of Directional Movements.

Integrating learning

Regarding the development of the body scheme is assumed that it is as the child is incorporating the set of learning that will allow greater cognitive-affective-social competence of itself and the environment when the conformation of this body image occurs of itself differentiated from that of others and the context that surrounds it. That is why it is said that in the first years of life it is when the individual personality is structured and that from this point it makes possible the awareness of the self in space and time with respect to everything that is alien to it.

More specifically, the evolution of the formation of the body scheme begins in the first months of life at the level of reflex reactions, which are transforming in other types of more elaborate movements as the baby, in the second year of life, is exploring and knowing the environment. This is facilitated by their growing capacity for autonomous movement.

After three years and until the end of childhood changes occur at the cognitive level so that the child is substituting the subjectivity of the understanding of the outside world for a more elaborate analytical-rational capacity. Finally, approximately 12 years is when the establishment and awareness of the body scheme is completed.

  • You may be interested: "How does emotional development occur in childhood?"

Psychomotor skills in the stage of Early Childhood Education

In the most recent decades the Spanish educational system has been incorporating as relevant some contents of disciplines that had traditionally gone unnoticed (or simply had not been investigated about them yet), as is the case of Psychomotricity.

Even so, there is still a long way to go to achieve this interest in a universal way in all current areas and society. This is due to the fact that the historically established idea that the only learning that is relevant to teach is instrumental or productive, overlooking that these are often influenced by others more expressive.

Thus, the deficit in areas such as the perceptive, cognitive, emotional organization, etc., that allow a psychological balance and an adequate capacity to adapt to the changing environment, can lead to a result of school failure if it is not corrected in time. In the specific case of Psychomotricity, there are investigations that relate the existence of manifest learning difficulties such as dyslexia, dysgraphia, expressive language disorders or arithmetic calculus that are derived from problematic sensory integration or deficits in the perceptual visual or auditory organization (and body, indirectly) of the individual.

More globally, the conformation of personality and intelligence they also start from an adequate structuring of the "I" differentiated from the "external world", which requires a correct assimilation of contents related to the psychomotor skills that make it possible. This is also comparable to the achievement of a satisfactory psychophysiological development, since the coordination and successful execution of the physical movements of an individual is one of the purposes that are worked on in Psychomotricity.

The importance of global development in children

For all the above, and by way of summary, it could be said that the need to teach Psychomotor content in the early childhood education stage lies in the facilitation in the scope of a global and integral development of the child (physical-motor co-ordination-, affective, social, intellectual), in the establishment of one's own identity, in the promotion of self-awareness of oneself, in favoring the acquisition of school learning and in the attainment of satisfactory social relations (increased linguistic competence), in the acquisition of a sufficient competence of autonomy, self-efficacy, self-concept, etc., and in the development of affective and emotional capacities.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lázaro, A. (2010). New experiences in psychomotor education (2nd Edition Revised and extended). Ed. Miras: Zaragoza.
  • Llorca Llinares, M. (2002). An educational proposal through the body and movement. Ed Aljibe: Málaga.

6 month Old Baby Typical and Atypical Development (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'intervention en psychomoteur: quelle est cette discipline?

L'intervention en psychomoteur: quelle est cette discipline?

Juillet 23, 2019

La psychomotricité est la discipline qui étudie la relation entre le psychisme et la capacité motrice. de l'être humain

Né au XXe siècle sous la direction d’auteurs tels que le neurologue Ernest Dupré ou le psychologue Henry Wallon, voyons en quoi consiste réellement ce domaine d’étude et concrétise les interventions dans la population infantile. Nous examinerons également d'autres concepts liés à la psychomotricité, tels que les principes fondamentaux du développement moteur et la définition de ce que l'on appelle un "schéma corporel".

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du développement: théories principales et auteurs"

Principes de base de la psychomotricité

La discipline de la psychomotricité repose sur des prémisses théoriques expliquant comment comprendre les différents types de développement chez l’être humain. Comme pour la perspective du développement psychologique , on suppose que le sujet est en interaction continue avec l'environnement dans lequel il évolue; du point de vue du développement moteur, il est affirmé qu'il existe une relation entre les fonctions motrices et psychologiques (cognitives, émotionnelles, sociales) de chaque personne; en ce qui concerne le développement sensoriel, on comprend qu'il existe un lien entre les sens et la maturation intégrale de l'individu.


Un autre des principes théoriques fondamentaux est basé sur la reconnaissance que la construction correcte du schéma corporel favorise le développement des capacités psycho-cognitives . De plus, il est validé que le corps est l'aspect clé du contact avec la réalité externe, qui est produit par le mouvement de celui-ci.

D'autre part, le comportement moteur par rapport au comportement du même individu, qui interagit avec l'environnement, est supposé comme élément indissociable, ce qui permet le développement de capacités complexes. Enfin, une dernière idée fondamentale attribuerait un rôle décisif au langage dans le processus de développement psychique de chaque sujet.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance"

Facteurs déterminants dans le développement moteur

Le développement moteur consiste en un processus continu qui commence dès la phase embryonnaire et ne s'arrête pas avant que l'individu n'atteigne sa maturité, adoptant des rythmes très différents selon les sujets, tout en suivant la même séquence dans toutes les étapes qui le composent. L’un des premiers échantillons qui s’y trouve fait référence à l'expression de réflexes innés qui disparaissent peu à peu transformer plus tard en mouvements volontaires et contrôlés de nature différente.


Cela est possible du fait que le processus de myélinisation est en cours, qu’il s’achève et s’établit dans les couches du cortex cérébral (qui régissent ces actions volontaires), de sorte que chaque mouvement soit affiné et affiné. dans tous ses aspects coordonnés.

Parmi les facteurs qui déterminent le développement moteur, on distingue trois types: prénatal, périnatal et postnatal . Parmi les premiers, des aspects tels que les caractéristiques et les habitudes maternelles (âge, régime alimentaire, présence de maladies, caractéristiques héréditaires, etc.) pouvant affecter négativement le fœtus pendant la grossesse sont pertinents. Au moment de l'accouchement, des complications peuvent survenir pendant l'extraction, ce qui peut entraîner des épisodes d'anoxie ou des lésions cérébrales (facteurs périnatals).

En ce qui concerne les facteurs postnatals, ils sont multiples bien qu’il soit principalement tenu compte: du niveau de maturation physique et neurologique , la nature de la stimulation et des expériences auxquelles il est soumis, le type de nourriture, l’environnement, les types de soins et d’hygiène, l’existence de comportements affectifs de manière significative, etc. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le développement physique est très étroitement lié aux aspects psychologique, émotionnel, comportemental et social, avec lesquels le résultat obtenu de la combinaison de tous sera déterminant pour l'enfant.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Qu'entend-on par schéma du corps?

Le concept de schéma corporel est défini comme la connaissance qu'un individu possède sur son propre corps , qui inclut une conscience totale au repos et en mouvement, de la relation entre l’ensemble des éléments qui le composent et la connexion de tout cela à l’espace ou au contexte qui l’entoure (physique et sociale). De cette manière, la perception de soi émotionnelle (humeur ou attitudes personnelles) et la perception erronée que les autres entretiennent envers un sujet sont également des aspects pertinents de la configuration du schéma corporel.

En tant qu'expressions équivalentes ou formes alternatives de dénomination du schéma corporel, il existe également des binômes tels que Image corporelle, Conscience corporelle, Schéma postural, Image de soi ou Image du soi corporel. Différents auteurs tels que Wallon, Le Boülch, Acaen et Ajuriaguerra ou Frostig ont apporté leurs propres contributions pour définir le concept de schéma corporel, bien qu’ils convergent tous à l’unanimité vers l’idée de le sujet-environnement d'influence bideccional (physique et social) et la conscience individuelle de son propre corps.

L'une des propositions les plus pertinentes est celle de Bryan J. Cratty, dont la classification des composantes déterminantes du schéma corporel est nouvelle et intéressante pour influer sur l'influence des aspects cognitifs dans la configuration de celui-ci. Donc, pour Cratty, les composantes du schéma corporel serait:

  • Connaissance et reconnaissance des plans corporels.
  • Connaissance et reconnaissance des parties du corps.
  • Connaissance et reconnaissance des mouvements du corps.
  • Connaissance et reconnaissance de la latéralité.
  • Connaissance et reconnaissance des mouvements directionnels.

Intégrer l'apprentissage

En ce qui concerne le développement du schéma corporel, on suppose que c'est comme l'enfant incorpore l'ensemble d'apprentissage qui permettra une plus grande compétence cognitive-affective-sociale de lui-même et de l'environnement lorsque la conformation de cette image corporelle se produit de lui-même différencié de celui des autres et du contexte qui l’entoure. C’est pourquoi on dit que dans les premières années de la vie il est quand la personnalité individuelle est structurée et qu'à partir de ce moment, cela rend possible la prise de conscience de soi dans l'espace et dans le temps par rapport à tout ce qui lui est étranger.

Plus spécifiquement, l’évolution de la formation du schéma corporel commence dans les premiers mois de la vie au niveau de la réactions réflexes, qui transforment dans d'autres types de mouvements plus élaborés comme le bébé, dans la deuxième année de sa vie, explore et connaît l'environnement. Ceci est facilité par leur capacité croissante de mouvement autonome.

Après trois ans et jusqu'à la fin de l'enfance, des changements se produisent au niveau cognitif, de sorte que l'enfant substitue la subjectivité de la compréhension du monde extérieur à une capacité analytique-rationnelle plus élaborée. Enfin, il faut environ 12 ans pour que l’établissement et la connaissance du schéma corporel soient terminés.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Comment se passe le développement émotionnel dans l’enfance?"

Compétences psychomotrices au stade de l'éducation de la petite enfance

Au cours des dernières décennies, le système éducatif espagnol a incorporé de manière pertinente certains contenus de disciplines qui étaient traditionnellement passées inaperçues (ou n’avaient tout simplement pas été étudiées à ce sujet), comme c’est le cas de la psychomotricité.

Même dans ce cas, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour atteindre cet intérêt de manière universelle dans tous les domaines et dans la société. Cela est dû au fait que l'idée historiquement établie que le seul apprentissage pertinent à enseigner est instrumental ou productif, oubliant que ceux-ci sont souvent influencés par d'autres plus expressifs.

Ainsi, le déficit dans des domaines tels que l'organisation perceptive, cognitive, émotionnelle, etc., qui permettent un équilibre psychologique et une capacité adéquate à s'adapter à l'environnement en mutation, peut conduire à un échec scolaire s'il n'est pas corrigé à temps. Dans le cas spécifique de la psychomotricité, il existe des enquêtes sur l'existence de manifestes difficultés d'apprentissage tels que la dyslexie, la dysgraphie, les troubles du langage expressif ou le calcul arithmétique qui découlent d'une intégration sensorielle problématique ou de déficits dans l'organisation visuelle ou auditive perceptuelle (et le corps, indirectement) de l'individu.

Plus globalement, la conformation de la personnalité et de l'intelligence ils partent également d'une structuration adéquate du «je» différencié du «monde extérieur», ce qui nécessite une assimilation correcte des contenus liés aux compétences psychomotrices qui le rendent possible. Ceci est également comparable à l’atteinte d’un développement psychophysiologique satisfaisant, la coordination et l’exécution réussie des mouvements physiques d’un individu étant l’un des objectifs poursuivis en psychomotricité.

L'importance du développement mondial chez les enfants

Pour tout ce qui précède, et en résumé, on pourrait dire que la nécessité d’enseigner le contenu psychomoteur au stade de l’éducation de la petite enfance réside dans la la portée d'un développement global et intégral de l'enfant (coordination physique-motrice, affective, sociale, intellectuelle), dans l'établissement de sa propre identité, dans la promotion de la conscience de soi, dans l'acquisition de l'apprentissage scolaire et dans l'établissement de relations sociales satisfaisantes (compétences linguistiques accrues), dans l’acquisition d’une compétence suffisante en matière d’autonomie, d’efficacité personnelle, de concept de soi, etc., et dans le développement de capacités affectives et émotionnelles.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lázaro, A. (2010). Nouvelles expériences en éducation psychomotrice (2e édition révisée et étendue). Ed. Miras: Saragosse.
  • Llorca Llinares, M. (2002). Une proposition éducative à travers le corps et le mouvement. Ed Aljibe: Malaga.

vidéo Symposium "La santé durable : santé physique et lutte contre le vieillissement par Guy Roulier (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes