yes, therapy helps!
The 'Killer of the crossbow': life and psychological portrait of a parricide

The 'Killer of the crossbow': life and psychological portrait of a parricide

January 4, 2023

One of the best-known murders in Spanish criminal history shook a small population of the Maresme. It was on February 6, 1994 when Andrés Rabadán , a young local who was 21 years old, he killed his father by shooting him three arrows with a medieval crossbow that the young man had given himself for Christmas, after what seemed to be a family dispute.

The mystery of Andrés Rabadán is solved

The young Andrés Rabadán surprised everyone by also confessing the authorship of the sabotages that they had suffered certain train lines along various stretches of the Maresme district of Barcelona, ​​which caused several convoys to derail dangerously, fortunately without leaving victims.


For months, several neighboring towns were in suspense before the constant accidents that followed one another and that by all means seemed intentional . The police, alerted by the continuous damage to the train lines, received anonymous letters that threatened more attacks, reason why one got to speculate with the possibility that it was a network of saboteurs that operated in a coordinated way. But the solution to the case was much simpler.

The modus operandi in acts of railway sabotage

The modus operandi Andres was the following: the young man approached the chosen point of the tracks (a place normally located between two neighboring towns and away from the sight of curious who could scare him), gave two twists of thread to one of the screws and then I was going. The next day, he returned to the same place, continued unscrewing the same screw; and fled again. The reason he came in this way was because he knew that if he stayed for a long time removing the screws he would expose himself to someone discovering it . His twisted plan was also to saw the rails, then masked it together with a piece of electrical tape to make it look like they had not been damaged.


The researcher specialized in criminology Francisco Pérez Abellán he maintains that "Andrés Rabadán enjoyed making ostentation of his intelligence" and that derailments were his way of attracting attention. In statements to the judge, in March 1995, Rabadán said he did not know exactly why he did it, but that he had the idea that everyone was against him, and that he was fully convinced. that nothing would happen to the passengers of the trains, since he had everything under control. Once stopped, the sabotage stopped.

Months later, parricide occurs

The reason that caused the discussion that triggered the murder of Andrés Rabadán's father was a trifle: the glass of milk that Andres had asked for was too hot . This unleashed the uncontrolled fury of the boy, who went to his room for his crossbow and unleashed a shot in the temple. When he saw that he was still alive, he put an end to his suffering by shooting two more arrows on his forehead and neck.


After committing the crime, Andrés Rabadán left on his motorcycle and ran into a policeman who patrolled the area, to whom he confessed what had happened. The agent went to the address with the boy to check if the victim was unconscious or not. He found the body lying in the kitchen, with three arrows stuck in the neck, temple and forehead. Already deceased, Andres placed a cushion under his head.

The case immediately leapt to the media, due among other things to the nature and coldness with which the parricide was perpetrated, causing a stir at the national level . In his statements before the judge, in March 1995, he explained that he did not know the consequences of shooting his father with the crossbow. But when the magistrate asked him why he shot the last arrows, the young man's response was that his father would stop suffering, since he really loved him.

Family background

The mother of Andrés Rabadán committed suicide by hanging himself when he was 8 years old. It was a submissive woman and passive, leaving three children in charge of a father who always highlighted his bad temper. When the mother of Rabadán became pregnant for the first time, the father did not want to marry her and left her to later go to live in Barcelona. Her brothers had to appear at the new address of Matías Rabadán to demand that he face his imminent fatherhood and to ask him to marry her.

Andres's older sister remembers that her mother had told her on several occasions that she wanted to separate from her father, but that she did not have the money to do so. Shortly after her death, the sister left home, leaving her two younger brothers (Andrés and José) with the father, who had several sporadic couples over the years. It was then that they moved to an isolated urbanization and Andres lost all the friendships he had . Since then he dedicated himself to wandering alone in different places, he liked to sit on the rocks and look at the sea; he felt comforted while in solitude.

In the words of Andrés himself "(...) my mind was shattered, I did not think clearly nor did I know what I wanted".

Diagnosis (s) of Andrés Rabadán

The first diagnosis that was issued certified that Andrés Rabadán suffered from paranoid delusional schizophrenia, a mental pathology whose main characteristic is that the subject dissociates from reality and creates an unreal parallel world . It also establishes a new style of thinking in the form of delusions and a new form of perception that are hallucinations. As a result, he is sentenced to 20 years in a psychiatric penitentiary. In general, one third of schizophrenias usually show a favorable prognosis for improvement.

Later, one of the forensic experts who visited him suggested the hypothesis that Andrés had suffered a Psychotic attack . This type of crisis is recognized by its sudden appearance (although there are indications that can detect when it will occur) in situations of high stress prolonged over time. The most vulnerable people to suffer a psychotic outbreak are mentally and emotionally more fragile.

The appearance of suspicious or "strange" ideas and social isolation are two very remarkable features of the psychotic outbreak. The central nervous system of the subject collapses, causing a rupture with reality temporarily. In the face of a psychotic outbreak, the psychiatric regulations to follow require that the person must be medicated for at least two years. If in this period of time you stop showing delusions or hallucinations, you will withdraw this medication.

The symptomatology of the crossbow killer

As explained by the defendant, He said he heard noises that broke suddenly and at a very high volume in his head ; he also believed that he was being persecuted by a series of individuals who conspired against him. Precisely because of this, he revealed that he kept different weapons in his house, in order to defend himself if someone attacked him. When he decided to sabotage the train tracks was after an incident he had with his bicycle, when it was almost overwhelmed by a convoy that was passing at that time. As a result, he vowed revenge.

After the murder, he said that he felt as if he were awakening from a dream and coming to his senses, which explains why he carefully placed a pillow under the head of his father's body, proof of his remorse for what happened . When the police picked up the crossbow, they saw that an arrow remained intact that did not go off. It was for Andrés.

Various speculations about his clinical profile

To diagnose schizophrenia, the requirement is that the person suffer delusions and hallucinations for more than six months ; otherwise it will be considered that it is simply a psychotic outbreak. If ten years pass without suffering any relapse, it is estimated that the outbreak has subsided, and that the chances of recurrence are low. In spite of everything, several psychiatrists argued that Andrés Rabadán did not have any mental illness.

There was also speculation that it was a case of psychopathy, given that the forensic reports were very contradictory in this regard. Psychopaths are people who know very well what one wants to hear and improvise a message that really seems spontaneous with the ultimate goal of satisfying their own interests.

According to his psychiatrist, Andrés did not point in this direction, because he often showed empathy and remorse; besides having a great circle of friends, although he would have moved away from them when moving. According to Francisco Pérez Abellán, the case of the crossbow killer would be a clear example of psychopathy, since - he argued - Rabadán managed to convince everyone that he was crazy . The difference between a psychotic and a psychopath is that the latter distinguishes without problems what he is prepared to do and, nevertheless, carries out his purpose.

Final comments

When an event has been so mediated and has caused so much social alarm for its monstrous character, both the media and society itself hurriedly try to attribute mental illness to the person who perpetrated the crime. This occurs because it is not conceived that a mentally healthy person can do something like this, with which it tends to look for a psychopathological reason that explains the reason for such a despicable fact .

In fact, people with serious psychiatric disorders commit very few murders, it is the supposedly healthy people who, under certain pressures or circumstances, can reach those extremes. What happens is that we have little capacity to recognize that, under certain conditions, we could all get to perform unimaginable acts .

Andres once said that, had he not killed his father, he would have carried out any other atrocity; showing himself equally hesitant about his recovery, even though that was what the mental health professionals who treated him during his years behind bars certified.

He was released from the Men's Penitentiary Center of Barcelona ('La Modelo') in March 2015, after serving a sentence for threats to one of the nurses of the Barcelona prison of Quatre Camins.

Bibliographic references:

  • Canal + Spain / Nanouk Films / Televisión Española (TVE). The forgiveness. History of the crossbow killer [Documentary]. Catalunya, Spain. Cameo
  • Nanouk Films / Briznormally / Televisió de Catalunya (TV3). The two lives of Andrés Rabadán (Film). Catalunya, Spain. Cameo

Álvaro Enrigue: 2016 National Book Festival (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le tueur de l'arbalète: la vie et le portrait psychologique d'un parricide

Le tueur de l'arbalète: la vie et le portrait psychologique d'un parricide

Juillet 23, 2019

L'un des meurtres les plus connus de l'histoire criminelle espagnole a secoué une petite population du Maresme. C'était le 6 février 1994 lorsque Andrés Rabadán , un jeune local qui avait 21 ans, il a tué son père en lui tirant trois flèches avec une arbalète médiévale que le jeune homme s'était donné pour Noël, après ce qui semblait être un conflit familial.

Le mystère d'Andrés Rabadán est résolu

Le jeune Andrés Rabadán a surpris tout le monde en confessant également l’auteur de la sabotages qu'ils avaient traversé certaines lignes de chemin de fer le long de divers tronçons du quartier du Maresme à Barcelone, ce qui a provoqué le déraillement dangereux de plusieurs convois, heureusement sans laisser de victimes.


Pendant des mois, plusieurs villes voisines étaient en suspens devant les accidents incessants qui se succédaient et qui paraissaient de toute façon intentionnels . La police, alertée par les dommages permanents causés aux lignes de train, a reçu des lettres anonymes menaçant de nouvelles attaques, raison pour laquelle on a pu spéculer sur la possibilité que ce soit un réseau de saboteurs opérant de manière coordonnée. Mais la solution à l'affaire était beaucoup plus simple.

Le modus operandi dans les actes de sabotage ferroviaire

Le mode opératoire Andres était le suivant: le jeune homme s’est approché du point choisi des pistes (endroit situé normalement entre deux villes voisines et à l’abri des regards des curieux qui pourraient lui faire peur), a donné deux torsades de fil à l’une des vis, puis J'allais Le lendemain, il est retourné au même endroit, a continué à dévisser la même vis; et a fui à nouveau. La raison pour laquelle il est venu de cette façon était parce que il savait que s'il restait longtemps à retirer les vis, il s'exposerait à ce que quelqu'un le découvre . Son plan tordu consistait également à scier les rails, puis à les masquer avec un morceau de ruban isolant pour donner l’impression qu’ils n’avaient pas été endommagés.


Le chercheur spécialisé en criminologie Francisco Pérez Abellán Il affirme que "Andrés Rabadán a eu plaisir à faire l'ostentation de son intelligence" et que les déraillements étaient son moyen d'attirer l'attention. Dans des déclarations au juge, en mars 1995, Rabadán a déclaré qu'il ne savait pas exactement pourquoi il l'avait fait, mais qu'il avait eu l'idée que tout le monde était contre lui et qu'il en était pleinement convaincu. que rien n'arriverait aux passagers des trains, puisqu'il contrôlait tout. Une fois arrêté, le sabotage s'est arrêté.

Des mois plus tard, le parricide se produit

La raison qui a provoqué la discussion qui a déclenché le meurtre du père d'Andrés Rabadán était une bagatelle: le verre de lait qu'Andres avait demandé était trop chaud . Cela déchaîna la fureur incontrôlée du garçon, qui alla dans sa chambre chercher son arbalète et décocha un coup de feu dans la tempe. Lorsqu'il a vu qu'il était toujours en vie, il a mis fin à ses souffrances en lançant deux autres flèches sur son front et son cou.


Après avoir commis le crime, Andrés Rabadán est parti en moto et a rencontré un policier qui patrouillait dans la zone, à qui il a confessé ce qui s'était passé. L'agent s'est rendu à l'adresse avec le garçon pour vérifier si la victime était inconsciente ou non. Il trouva le corps gisant dans la cuisine, avec trois flèches coincées dans le cou, la tempe et le front. Déjà décédé, Andres a placé un coussin sous sa tête.

L’affaire a immédiatement été relâchée dans les médias, en raison, entre autres, de la nature et de la froideur avec lesquelles le parricide était perpétré, provoquant une agitation au niveau national . Dans ses déclarations devant le juge, en mars 1995, il expliqua qu'il ne connaissait pas les conséquences du tir à l'arbalète de son père. Mais quand le magistrat lui a demandé pourquoi il avait tiré les dernières flèches, le jeune homme a répondu que son père cesserait de souffrir puisqu'il l'aimait vraiment.

Antécédents familiaux

La mère d'Andrés Rabadán s'est suicidé en se pendant à l'âge de 8 ans. C’était une femme soumise et passive, laissant trois enfants à la charge d’un père qui mettait toujours en valeur sa mauvaise humeur. Lorsque la mère de Rabadán est tombée enceinte pour la première fois, le père n'a pas voulu l'épouser et l'a laissée s'installer plus tard à Barcelone. Ses frères ont dû se présenter à la nouvelle adresse de Matías Rabadán pour lui demander de faire face à sa paternité imminente et de lui demander de l'épouser.

La sœur aînée d'Andres se souvient que sa mère lui avait dit à plusieurs reprises qu'elle souhaitait se séparer de son père, mais qu'elle n'avait pas l'argent pour le faire. Peu de temps après sa mort, la soeur a quitté la maison, laissant ses deux frères plus jeunes (Andrés et José) avec son père, qui a eu plusieurs couples sporadiques au fil des ans. C'était alors que ils ont déménagé dans une urbanisation isolée et Andres a perdu toutes les amitiés qu'il avait . Depuis lors, il se consacrait à errer seul dans différents endroits. Il aimait s'asseoir sur les rochers et regarder la mer; il se sentait réconforté dans la solitude.

Selon les mots d’Andrés lui-même "(...) mon esprit était brisé, je ne pensais pas clairement et je ne savais pas ce que je voulais".

Diagnostic (s) d'Andrés Rabadán

Le premier diagnostic émis certifiait qu'Andrés Rabadán souffrait de schizophrénie délirante paranoïaque, une pathologie mentale dont la caractéristique principale est que le sujet se dissocie de la réalité et crée un monde parallèle irréel . Il établit également un nouveau style de pensée sous la forme de délires et une nouvelle forme de perception qui sont des hallucinations. En conséquence, il est condamné à 20 ans dans un pénitencier psychiatrique. En général, un tiers des schizophrénies présentent un pronostic favorable pour une amélioration.

Plus tard, l’un des experts médico-légaux qui lui ont rendu visite a suggéré l’hypothèse selon laquelle Andrés aurait subi une épidémie psychotique . Ce type de crise est reconnu par son apparition soudaine (bien que certains indices permettent de détecter le moment où il va se produire) dans des situations de stress élevé prolongées dans le temps. Les personnes les plus vulnérables à une épidémie psychotique sont plus fragiles mentalement et émotionnellement.

L'apparition d'idées suspectes ou "étranges" et l'isolement social sont deux caractéristiques très remarquables de l'éclosion psychotique. Le système nerveux central du sujet s'effondre, provoquant une rupture temporaire avec la réalité. Face à une épidémie psychotique, les réglementations psychiatriques à suivre exigent que la personne soit traitée pour au moins deux ans. Si, au cours de cette période, vous arrêtez de montrer des illusions ou des hallucinations, vous retirerez ce médicament.

La symptomatologie du tueur à l'arbalète

Comme l'a expliqué le défendeur, Il a dit avoir entendu des bruits qui se sont brisés soudainement et à très fort volume dans sa tête. ; il croyait également qu'il était persécuté par une série d'individus qui avaient conspiré contre lui. C'est précisément pour cette raison qu'il a révélé qu'il avait gardé différentes armes chez lui afin de se défendre si quelqu'un l'attaquait. Lorsqu'il a décidé de saboter la voie ferrée, c'était après un incident survenu avec sa bicyclette, qui était presque submergée par un convoi qui passait à ce moment-là. En conséquence, il a juré de se venger.

Après le meurtre, il a eu l'impression de se réveiller d'un rêve et de retrouver ses esprits, ce qui explique pourquoi il a soigneusement placé un oreiller sous la tête du corps de son père. preuve de ses remords pour ce qui est arrivé . Lorsque les policiers ont pris l'arbalète, ils ont constaté qu'une flèche demeurait intacte et ne s'était pas détachée. C'était pour Andrés.

Diverses spéculations sur son profil clinique

Pour diagnostiquer la schizophrénie, l'exigence est que la personne souffre de délires et d'hallucinations pendant plus de six mois ; sinon, on considérera qu'il s'agit simplement d'une épidémie psychotique. Si dix années se passent sans aucune rechute, on estime que l’épidémie s’est atténuée et que les chances de récurrence sont faibles. Malgré tout, plusieurs psychiatres ont affirmé qu'Andrés Rabadán ne souffrait d'aucune maladie mentale.

Il y avait aussi des spéculations qu'il s'agissait d'un cas de psychopathie, étant donné que les rapports médico-légaux étaient très contradictoires à cet égard. Les psychopathes sont des personnes qui savent très bien ce que l'on veut entendre et qui improvisent un message qui semble vraiment spontané avec l'objectif ultime de satisfaire leurs propres intérêts.

Selon son psychiatre, Andrés ne l'a pas indiqué, car il a souvent fait preuve d'empathie et de remords. en plus d'avoir un grand cercle d'amis, même s'il se serait éloigné d'eux lors de ses déplacements. Selon Francisco Pérez Abellán, le cas du tueur à l'arbalète serait un exemple clair de psychopathie, car - a-t-il affirmé - Rabadán a réussi à convaincre tout le monde qu'il était fou . La différence entre un psychotique et un psychopathe est que ce dernier distingue sans problème ce qu'il est prêt à faire et, néanmoins, réalise son but.

Commentaires finaux

Lorsqu'un événement a été si médiatisé et a provoqué tant d'inquiétude sociale pour son caractère monstrueux, les médias et la société elle-même tentent à la hâte d'attribuer une maladie mentale à la personne qui a commis le crime. Ceci est dû au fait qu’il n’est pas conçu qu’une personne en bonne santé mentale puisse faire quelque chose comme ça, avec laquelle il a tendance à rechercher une raison psychopathologique qui explique la raison d'un fait aussi odieux .

En fait, très peu de meurtres sont commis par des personnes atteintes de troubles psychiatriques graves: ce sont les personnes supposément en bonne santé qui, sous certaines pressions ou dans certaines circonstances, peuvent atteindre ces extrêmes. Qu'est-ce qui se passe est que nous avons peu de capacité à reconnaître que, dans certaines conditions, nous pourrions tous accomplir des actes impensables .

Andres a dit un jour que, s'il n'avait pas tué son père, il aurait commis toute autre atrocité. se montrant tout aussi hésitant quant à son rétablissement, même si c'est ce que les professionnels de la santé mentale qui l'ont soigné pendant ses années derrière les barreaux ont certifié.

Il a été libéré du Centre pénitentiaire pour hommes de Barcelone («La Modelo») en mars 2015, après avoir purgé sa peine pour avoir menacé une des infirmières de la prison de Quatre Camins à Barcelone.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Canal + Espagne / Nanouk Films / Télévision Espagnole (TVE). Pardon. Histoire du tueur à l'arbalète [Documentaire]. Catalunya, Espagne. Camée
  • Nanouk Films / Briznormally / Televisió de Catalunya (TV3). Les deux vies de Andrés Rabadán (Film). Catalunya, Espagne. Camée

le Dr Harold Shipman tueur en série 2012-10-19 Jacques Pradel Stéphane Bourgoin serial killer (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes