yes, therapy helps!
The Kinsey scale of sexuality: are we all bisexual?

The Kinsey scale of sexuality: are we all bisexual?

June 24, 2021

Many cognitive psychologists believe that the human being has a clear tendency to perceive and interpret reality in the simplest possible way.

According to this vision about our mind, we like to classify things into good and bad , we judge people very quickly during the first minutes in which we know them, and we only consider the nuances in special cases, when the situation requires it.

Kinsey scale: reformulating our sexual orientation

When we consider the sexual condition of people, we consider two categories: homosexuality and heterosexuality, which can be combined to form bisexuality. But nevertheless... To what extent is this way of classifying sexual tendencies true to reality? Is there such a clear and definite differentiation between homosexuality and heterosexuality?


A man called Alfred Kinsey He broke this dualistic conception of sexual orientations by proposing a model according to which there are many intermediate degrees between heterosexuality and homosexuality. This gradualism was embodied in what is now known as Kinsey scale .

Questioning dichotomous sexuality

From feminism and gender studies associated with anthropology, the idea that, historically, sexual orientation has been understood as something understandable from two positions: heterosexuality and homosexuality, one being the negation of the other, is defended a lot. These two sexual options would be inventions, artifacts created by culture and not sustained in biology.


However, during the first half of the twentieth century biologist and sexologist Alfred Kinsey inflicted serious injuries to this dichotomous conception of sexuality. The motives? For 15 years, he conducted an extensive study that led him to conclude that the ideas of homosexual, bisexual and heterosexual are too corseted and limiting .

Quite simply, the people he included in his research did not easily fit into the patterns of heterosexuality: the intermediate states of sexual orientation were much more frequent than expected. Thus, according to Kinsey, there is a whole range of sexual orientation, a scale of various degrees ranging from pure heterosexuality to pure homosexuality, passing through several intermediate categories.

In short, the Kinsey scale shattered the qualitative classification to enter a quantitative description in which things are measured as the temperature is measured with a thermometer. The idea is that we can all have a bisexual part, more or less obvious , and that, rather than defining our identity, is a simple preference with thresholds or limits that are not always too clear.


The history of the Kinsey scale

If this conception of sexuality is provocative today, you can imagine what the defense of the Kinsey scale meant during the 40s and 50s . The study, which was based on thousands of questionnaires passed on to a wide variety of men and women, raised a great controversy and aroused harsh opposition from conservative institutions. However, precisely that made his ideas spread quickly throughout the world, and his writings and reflections were translated into many languages.

The so-called Kinsey report, divided into the books Sexual Behavior of Man (1948) and Sexual Behavior of Women (1953), threw out data that at that time questioned what was known about human sexuality and the very nature of gender.

Based on the information given by 6,300 men and 5,940 women, Kinsey concluded that pure heterosexuality is extremely rare or, directly, almost non-existent , and that should only be taken as an abstract concept that would serve to build a scale with two extremes. The same thing happened with pure homosexuality, although this idea was not so unacceptable for obvious reasons.

This meant that the masculine and feminine identity had been constructed as part of a fiction, and that many behaviors that were considered "deviant" were, in fact, normal.

How is this scale?

The scale devised by Kinsley has 7 levels of heterosexuality to homosexuality , and includes the category in which people who do not experiment with sexuality would go.

These degrees are the following:

0. Exclusively heterosexual

1. Predominantly heterosexual, incidentally homosexual.

2. Predominantly heterosexual, but more than incidentally homosexual.

3. Equally homosexual and heterosexual.

4. Predominantly homosexual, rather than incidentally heterosexual.

5. Predominantly homosexual, incidentally heterosexual.

6. Exclusively homosexual.

X. No sex.

Another conception of the human mind

Kinsey's scale offered at the time a different perspective on what the human mind is, specifically in relation to sexuality. Traditionally the sexual division of labor and gender roles have favored a very dichotomous vision of what it means to be a man and a woman , and this line of investigation questioned this very closed classification.

Therefore, over the years, gender studies have taken the influences of this scale to indicate to what extent heteronormativity, which places heterosexuality at the center of what is considered normal, is a social construction that is too simplifying and unjustified, which serves to exert social pressure on minorities located outside this normalized sexual orientation.

The Kinsey scale, today

Kinsey did not make a scale of seven degrees because he believed that this number of steps reflected the functioning of sexuality, but because I thought it was a good way to measure something that is actually fluid and has no discontinuities .

That is why his work had a strong impact on Western philosophy, changing our way of understanding sexual orientations and having a positive impact on movements for equality and the fight against discrimination against homosexual people. However, the debate about what is the nature of sexual orientations and whether it is practical to understand them as a continuum or as stagnant categories is still very much alive.

In fact, this debate has not been a purely scientific one, since the social and political implications of the Kinsey scale of sexuality make it seen as an ideological tool.

Conservatives consider that it is a threat to the values ​​of the traditional nuclear family and a tool of gender ideology (although in reality the Kinsey scale can be defended without being attached to this scheme of thought) and the LGTBI collectives see in it a good conceptual framework from which you can study sexuality in a less rigid way than usual.

Modifying the approach to the study of homosexuality

In addition, this scale of sexual orientations downplays the idea of ​​pure homosexuality and heterosexuality, reducing them to entelechies, which makes the social pressure to fit in these two categories decrease . In any case, the Kinsey scale has helped set a precedent; the phenomenon to be studied is no longer homosexuality, seen as an anomaly or a deviation from what was considered to be "the natural".

Now what is investigated is the way in which homosexuality and heterosexuality interact, the relationship between them. Before, we only studied a rarity, but today what we are trying to understand is a continuum with two poles.


Human Sexuality is Complicated... (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'échelle Kinsey de la sexualité: sommes-nous tous bisexuels?

L'échelle Kinsey de la sexualité: sommes-nous tous bisexuels?

Janvier 22, 2022

De nombreux psychologues cognitifs pensent que l'être humain a clairement tendance à percevoir et à interpréter la réalité de la manière la plus simple possible.

Selon cette vision de notre esprit, nous aimons classer les choses en bien et en mal , nous jugeons les gens très rapidement pendant les premières minutes où nous les connaissons, et nous ne considérons les nuances que dans des cas particuliers, lorsque la situation l'exige.

Échelle de Kinsey: reformuler notre orientation sexuelle

Lorsque nous considérons la condition sexuelle des personnes, nous considérons deux catégories: l'homosexualité et l'hétérosexualité, qui peuvent être combinées pour former la bisexualité. Cependant... Dans quelle mesure cette manière de classer les tendances sexuelles est-elle fidèle à la réalité? Existe-t-il une différenciation aussi nette et nette entre l'homosexualité et l'hétérosexualité?


Un homme appelé Alfred Kinsey Il a brisé cette conception dualiste des orientations sexuelles en proposant un modèle selon lequel il existe de nombreux degrés intermédiaires entre l'hétérosexualité et l'homosexualité. Ce gradualisme était incarné dans ce que l’on appelle maintenant Échelle de Kinsey .

Questionner la sexualité dichotomique

Du féminisme et des études de genre associées à l’anthropologie, l’idée que, historiquement, l’orientation sexuelle a été comprise comme compréhensible à partir de deux positions: l’hétérosexualité et l’homosexualité, l’une étant la négation de l’autre, est beaucoup défendue. Ces deux options sexuelles seraient des inventions, des artefacts créés par la culture et non maintenus en biologie.


Cependant, au cours de la première moitié du vingtième siècle, le biologiste et sexologue Alfred Kinsey infligea de sérieuses blessures à cette conception dichotomique de la sexualité. Les raisons? Pendant 15 ans, il a mené une vaste étude qui l’a amené à conclure que les idées d'homosexuel, bisexuel et hétérosexuel sont trop corset et limitant .

En termes simples, les personnes qu'il a incluses dans ses recherches ne cadraient pas facilement avec les schémas de l'hétérosexualité: les états intermédiaires d'orientation sexuelle étaient beaucoup plus fréquents que prévu. Ainsi, selon Kinsey, il existe toute une gamme d’orientation sexuelle, une échelle de degrés allant de l’hétérosexualité pure à l’homosexualité pure, en passant par plusieurs catégories intermédiaires.

En bref, l'échelle de Kinsey a brisé la classification qualitative pour entrer une description quantitative dans laquelle les choses sont mesurées comme la température est mesurée avec un thermomètre. L'idée est que nous pouvons tous avoir une partie bisexuelle, plus ou moins évidente et que, plutôt que de définir notre identité, il s’agit d’une simple préférence avec des seuils ou des limites qui ne sont pas toujours claires.


L'histoire de l'échelle de Kinsey

Si cette conception de la sexualité est provocante aujourd'hui, vous pouvez imaginer ce que la défense de l'échelle de Kinsey signifiait au cours des années 40 et 50 . L’étude, fondée sur des milliers de questionnaires transmis à une grande variété d’hommes et de femmes, a suscité une vive controverse et suscité une vive opposition de la part des institutions conservatrices. Cependant, précisément, ses idées se propagèrent rapidement dans le monde entier et ses écrits et réflexions furent traduits dans de nombreuses langues.

Le soi-disant rapport Kinsey, divisé en deux ouvrages, Sexual Behavior of Man (1948) et Sexual Behavior Behavior of Women (1953), contenait des données qui remettaient en question des données qui remettaient en question ce que l’on savait de la sexualité humaine et de la nature même du genre.

Sur la base des informations fournies par 6 300 hommes et 5 940 femmes, Kinsey a conclu que l'hétérosexualité pure est extrêmement rare ou presque inexistante , et cela ne devrait être pris que comme un concept abstrait qui permettrait de construire une échelle à deux extrêmes. La même chose s’est produite avec l’homosexualité pure, bien que cette idée n’ait pas été aussi inacceptable pour des raisons évidentes.

Cela signifiait que l'identité masculine et féminine avait été construite dans le cadre d'une fiction et que de nombreux comportements considérés comme "déviants" étaient, en réalité, normaux.

Comment est cette échelle?

La balance conçue par Kinsley a 7 niveaux d'hétérosexualité à l'homosexualité , et inclut la catégorie dans laquelle iraient les personnes qui n’expérimentent pas la sexualité.

Ces diplômes sont les suivants:

0. Exclusivement hétérosexuel

1. À prédominance hétérosexuelle, accessoirement homosexuelle.

2. À prédominance hétérosexuelle, mais plus qu'incidemment homosexuelle.

3. Également homosexuel et hétérosexuel.

4. À prédominance homosexuelle plutôt qu'incidemment hétérosexuelle.

5. À prédominance homosexuelle, accessoirement hétérosexuelle.

6. Exclusivement homosexuel.

X. Pas de sexe.

Une autre conception de l'esprit humain

L'échelle de Kinsey offrait à l'époque une perspective différente de ce qu'est l'esprit humain, en particulier en ce qui concerne la sexualité. Traditionnellement la division sexuelle du travail et les rôles de genre ont favorisé une vision très dichotomique de ce que signifie être un homme et une femme , et cette ligne d’enquête remettait en cause ce classement très fermé.

Par conséquent, au fil des ans, les études de genre ont utilisé l'influence de cette échelle pour indiquer à quel point l'hétéronormativité, qui place l'hétérosexualité au centre de ce qui est considéré comme normal, est une construction sociale trop simpliste et injustifié, qui sert à exercer une pression sociale sur les minorités situées en dehors de cette orientation sexuelle normalisée.

L'échelle de Kinsey, aujourd'hui

Kinsey n'a pas fait une échelle de sept degrés parce qu'il croyait que ce nombre d'étapes reflétait le fonctionnement de la sexualité, mais parce que Je pensais que c'était un bon moyen de mesurer quelque chose qui est en réalité fluide et ne présente pas de discontinuités .

C'est pourquoi son travail a eu un impact important sur la philosophie occidentale, en modifiant notre façon de comprendre les orientations sexuelles et en ayant un impact positif sur les mouvements pour l'égalité et la lutte contre la discrimination à l'égard des personnes homosexuelles. Cependant, le débat sur la nature des orientations sexuelles et sur la possibilité de les comprendre en tant que continuum ou en tant que catégories stagnantes est toujours d'actualité.

En réalité, ce débat n’a pas été purement scientifique, car les implications sociales et politiques de l’échelle de Kinsey sur la sexualité en font un outil idéologique.

Les conservateurs considèrent qu'il s'agit d'une menace pour les valeurs de la famille nucléaire traditionnelle et d'un outil d'idéologie de genre (bien qu'en réalité, l'échelle de Kinsey puisse être défendue sans être attachée à ce schéma de pensée) et les collectifs LGTBI y voient un bon cadre conceptuel à partir duquel vous pouvez étudier la sexualité de manière moins rigide que d’habitude.

Modifier l'approche de l'étude de l'homosexualité

En outre, cette échelle d’orientations sexuelles minimise l’idée d’homosexualité pure et d’hétérosexualité, les réduisant à des entéléchies, fait diminuer la pression sociale pour entrer dans ces deux catégories . En tout cas, l’échelle de Kinsey a permis de créer un précédent; le phénomène à étudier n'est plus l'homosexualité, considérée comme une anomalie ou un écart par rapport à ce qui était considéré comme "le naturel".

Maintenant, ce qui est étudié, c'est la manière dont l'homosexualité et l'hétérosexualité interagissent, la relation entre eux. Avant, nous n’étudions qu’une rareté, mais aujourd’hui nous essayons de comprendre continuum avec deux pôles.


Let's Talk About Sex: Crash Course Psychology #27 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes