yes, therapy helps!
The KiVa method, an idea that is ending bullying

The KiVa method, an idea that is ending bullying

May 6, 2021

In Spain, 70% of school children of 15 years have been victims or executioners (in many cases, both) of bullying, both in person and through new technologies.

Experts point out that this type of harassment exists in all human societies , and have asked schools to accept the problem in order to study and implement measures aimed at preventing it where it may appear and make it disappear where it exists.

The KiVa method is one of the most promising proposals in this regard .

Related Posts:

  • "The 11 types of violence (and the kinds of aggression)"
  • "The 7 types of gender violence (and characteristics)"

The origins of the KiVa method

Finland is a country that allocates great resources to education, since the latter is considered a state issue of great relevance. In recent years the Nordic country has proposed to end school harassment and improve the educational system in its different aspects .


The reflection of this is that Finland has achieved in recent years the worthy first place in higher education, primary education and training in the Global Competitiveness Index (ICG) thanks to the importance given to education in recent times. All measures aimed at education have helped to create a powerful workforce with the right skills to adapt to a constantly changing socio-economic context that has caused high levels of technological development.

The Finnish educational system: one of the best in the world

Finland is currently one of the most creative and innovative nations of the U.E and the world, ranking second in the ranking, (the first place is held by Switzerland). At the moment when the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) elaborated the PISA report, the Nordic country got the top positions in education .


However, the Finnish education system is not perfect: Finland also suffers the disastrous epidemic of school bullying. With what tool do you solve bullying in Finland? Well with the KiVa program .

The KiVa program

The term KiVa arises from the union of the words "Kiusaamista Vastaan" (in Finnish, against bullying).

Thanks to this proposal, Finland is managing to eradicate bullying. This method is applied in 90% of the basic education schools , and its success is such that it has become an essential tool when evaluating and choosing any center of the Finnish educational system, both to work, in the case of teachers, and to study, in the case of students.

The experimentation stage

The KiVa program was created at the proposal of the Finnish government and the educational community; "The project began to be introduced randomly in Finnish schools," explains Christina Salmivalli, professor of Psychology and one of the inventors of the program.


Years later a study was conducted (one of the largest in the country, by the way) to see how the program evolved and the impact it had on students. The results were apotheosis: the KiVa program had diminished all types of harassment in the institutes and colleges. The siege of bullying had begun to work. In fact, bullying disappeared in 80% of schools . Spectacular figures that, logically, have aroused the interest of the international educational community.

Long-term results against bullying

After a year the researchers realized that the number of children and adolescents who suffered from bullying had decreased by 41%. But the method not only solved the problem but the program also enhanced the comfort of the students and the motivation of these when studying, shooting through this way the good grades.

The Embassy of Finland in Madrid states that 98 percent of the 1,000 schools that collaborated in the program in 2009 believed that school life had improved significantly during the first year in which the KiVa method was applied, something that many studies confirm.

Such is the success of the program that the KiVa method has received the European Crime Prevention Prize in 2009, among others.

One of the best ways to understand the potential of this KiVa program against bullying is through an example. At the Karamzin school they had a serious problem of bullying, so the KiVa program was launched at the school during 2008: During the first year of implementation, school bullying was reduced by 60% .

How does the KiVa method work?

The method used in the KiVa program is not to focus on the dialectic of confrontation between victim and stalker (or treat the victim to be more extraverted or try to change the stalker to develop empathy) but is based on acting on the student witnesses who laugh at such a situation.

In many cases, these viewers internalize that what happens is normal, even fun, even if they have a different underlying opinion. What is intended to be done through the method is to influence these spectators so that they do not participate indirectly in the harassment . If this is achieved, the harasser, who needs recognition to continue bullying, stops harassing because it does not bring him any benefit.

In short, the program is based on trying to prevent spectators from laughing at the young people who are the aggressor in the harassment. Simple, but effective.

The details of the program

In the KiVa program, students are instructed in about 20 classes at 7, 10 and 13 years (key ages in the child's development) to identify the different forms of bullying. In this way they are already aware from very small.

There are ten syllabuses and assignments that are made throughout the course and where moral values ​​such as empathy and respect for others are taught. A lot of resources are used: lectures, videogames, manuals for teachers, surveillance at recess, feature films ... even a virtual mailbox to report if they are witnesses or victims of bullying.

The KiVa team

In every school, the director chooses a KiVa team composed of three adults who detect and investigate cases of school harassment r .

First, they determine if the harassment is punctual or continuous. Then they talk to the victim to reassure her. Later they talk with the stalkers to sensitize them and with the witnesses, who are the cornerstone of the program, in this way they reduce school bullying.

The potential of the method

This drastic change in a series of Finnish schools can give an idea of ​​the qualitative changes at the social level that this type of programs could have not only in schools, but in the different cultural strata of adults educated by these methods.

If already from the earliest stages we are educated to not passively support acts of violence of this kind, it is conceivable that the mentality of adults also changes in many ways. Only time will tell if this kind of sudden cultural changes come to occur . The repercussions of the KiVa program can go far beyond the fight against bullying, they can be the seed for a more just, united and cohesive society.


Anti-Bullying Learning and Teaching Resource (ALTER) Catholic Education Office, Wollongong (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La méthode KiVa, une idée qui met fin à l'intimidation

La méthode KiVa, une idée qui met fin à l'intimidation

Janvier 21, 2023

En Espagne, 70% des écoliers de 15 ans ont été victimes ou bourreaux (dans de nombreux cas, les deux) de brimades, à la fois en personne et par le biais des nouvelles technologies.

Les experts soulignent que ce type de harcèlement existe dans toutes les sociétés humaines et ont demandé aux écoles d’accepter le problème afin d’étudier et de mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à le prévenir là où il pourrait apparaître et à le faire disparaître là où il existe.

La méthode KiVa est l’une des propositions les plus prometteuses à cet égard. .

Articles liés:

  • "Les 11 types de violence (et les types d'agression)"
  • "Les 7 types de violence de genre (et caractéristiques)"

Les origines de la méthode KiVa

La Finlande est un pays qui consacre d’importantes ressources à l’éducation, cette dernière étant considérée comme une question d’État d’une grande pertinence. Ces dernières années le pays nordique a proposé de mettre fin au harcèlement scolaire et d'améliorer le système éducatif sous ses différents aspects .


Le reflet de cela est que la Finlande a obtenu ces dernières années la première place digne de l’enseignement supérieur, de l’enseignement primaire et de la formation dans le secteur de l’éducation. Indice de compétitivité mondiale (ICG) grâce à l’importance accordée à l’éducation ces derniers temps. Toutes les mesures en faveur de l’éducation ont permis de créer une main-d’œuvre puissante dotée des compétences nécessaires pour s’adapter à un contexte socio-économique en constante évolution qui a entraîné de hauts niveaux de développement technologique.

Le système éducatif finlandais: l'un des meilleurs au monde

La Finlande est actuellement l’un des pays les plus créatifs et les plus novateurs des États-Unis et du monde, se classant au deuxième rang du classement (la première place est occupée par la Suisse). Au moment où l’OCDE (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques) a élaboré le Rapport PISA, le pays nordique a obtenu les premières positions dans l'éducation .


Cependant, le système éducatif finlandais n'est pas parfait: la Finlande souffre également de l'épidémie catastrophique d'intimidation scolaire. Avec quel outil résolvez-vous l'intimidation en Finlande? Bien avec le programme KiVa .

Le programme KiVa

Le terme KiVa provient de l'union des mots "Kiusaamista Vastaan" (en finnois, contre le harcèlement).

Grâce à cette proposition, la Finlande parvient à éliminer le harcèlement. Cette méthode est appliquée dans 90% des écoles d'éducation de base et son succès est tel qu’il est devenu un outil essentiel pour évaluer et choisir n’importe quel centre du système éducatif finlandais, tant pour travailler, dans le cas des enseignants, que pour étudier, dans le cas des étudiants.

La phase d'expérimentation

Le programme KiVa a été créé sur proposition du gouvernement finlandais et du monde de l’éducation; "Le projet a commencé à être introduit au hasard dans les écoles finlandaises", explique Christina Salmivalli, professeure de psychologie et inventrice du programme.


Des années plus tard, une étude (l'une des plus importantes du pays, soit dit en passant) a été réalisée pour déterminer l'évolution du programme et son impact sur les étudiants. Les résultats étaient clairs: le programme KiVa avait atténué tous les types de harcèlement dans les instituts et les collèges. Le siège de l'intimidation avait commencé à fonctionner. En fait l'intimidation a disparu dans 80% des écoles . Des figures spectaculaires qui, logiquement, ont suscité l’intérêt de la communauté éducative internationale.

Résultats à long terme contre l'intimidation

Après un an, les chercheurs ont compris que le nombre d’enfants et d’adolescents victimes d’intimidation avait diminué de 41%. Mais la méthode a non seulement résolu le problème, mais le programme a également amélioré le confort des étudiants et la motivation de ceux-ci lorsqu'ils étudient, tirant de cette manière les bonnes notes.

L’ambassade de Finlande à Madrid déclare que 98% des 1 000 écoles qui ont collaboré au programme en 2009 pensaient que la vie scolaire s'était nettement améliorée pendant la première année d'application de la méthode KiVa, ce que de nombreuses études confirment.

Le succès du programme est tel que la méthode KiVa a reçu le prix Prix ​​européen de la prévention du crime en 2009, entre autres.

Un exemple est l'un des meilleurs moyens de comprendre le potentiel de ce programme KiVa contre l'intimidation. À l'école de Karamzin, ils avaient un grave problème d'intimidation. Le programme KiVa a donc été lancé à l'école en 2008: Au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre, l'intimidation à l'école a été réduite de 60% .

Comment fonctionne la méthode KiVa?

La méthode utilisée dans le programme KiVa n’est pas de mettre l’accent sur la dialectique de la confrontation victime / harceleur (ou de traiter la victime pour qu’elle soit plus extravertie ou d’essayer de changer le harceleur pour développer l’empathie) les étudiants témoins qui rient d'une telle situation.

Dans de nombreux cas, ces téléspectateurs comprennent que ce qui se passe est normal, voire amusant, même s'ils ont une opinion sous-jacente différente. Le but de cette méthode est d’influencer ces spectateurs pour qu’ils ne participent pas indirectement au harcèlement. . Si cela est réalisé, le harceleur, qui a besoin d'être reconnu pour continuer à faire de l'intimidation, cesse de le faire parce que cela ne lui apporte aucun avantage.

En bref, le programme vise à empêcher les spectateurs de se moquer des jeunes agresseurs du harcèlement. Simple mais efficace.

Les détails du programme

Dans le programme KiVa, les élèves suivent une vingtaine de cours à 7, 10 et 13 ans (âges clés du développement de l'enfant) pour identifier les différentes formes de brimades. De cette façon, ils sont déjà conscients de très petite.

Il y a dix programmes et tâches assignés tout au long du cours et où sont enseignées des valeurs morales telles que l'empathie et le respect des autres. De nombreuses ressources sont utilisées: conférences, jeux vidéo, manuels pour les enseignants, surveillance pendant les récréations, longs métrages, voire même une boîte aux lettres virtuelle pour signaler aux témoins ou aux victimes d’actes d’intimidation.

L'équipe KiVa

Dans chaque école, le directeur choisit une équipe KiVa composée de trois adultes qui détectent et enquêtent sur des cas de harcèlement scolaire. r .

Premièrement, ils déterminent si le harcèlement est ponctuel ou continu. Ensuite, ils parlent à la victime pour la rassurer. Plus tard, ils discutent avec les harceleurs pour les sensibiliser et avec les témoins, qui sont la pierre angulaire du programme, afin de réduire les brimades à l’école.

Le potentiel de la méthode

Ce changement radical dans une série d'écoles finlandaises peut donner une idée des changements qualitatifs sur le plan social que ce type de programmes pourrait avoir non seulement dans les écoles, mais également dans les différentes couches culturelles d'adultes éduqués selon ces méthodes.

Si dès le début nous sommes éduqués pour ne pas supporter passivement de tels actes de violence, il est concevable que la mentalité des adultes change également de nombreuses manières. Seul le temps nous dira si ce genre de changements culturels soudains se produira . Les répercussions du programme KiVa peuvent aller bien au-delà de la lutte contre le harcèlement, elles peuvent être le germe d'une société plus juste, unie et cohérente.


Le calvaire du médecin qui aida la CIA à traquer Ben Laden (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes