yes, therapy helps!
The language theory of Sapir-Whorf

The language theory of Sapir-Whorf

November 27, 2021

Traditionally, the human being has understood language as a means of communication through which it is possible to establish a link with the world and allows us to express what we think or feel.

This conception sees language as a means of expressing what is already inside. But nevertheless, for the Sapir-Whorf language theory, this has a much greater importance , having a much more important role when it comes to organizing, thinking or even perceiving the world.

And is that while the relationship between thought and language has been a field of study that has received much interest from psychologists and linguists, few theories have gone so far when relating these two worlds.


  • Related article: "The 16 types of language (and their characteristics)"

When the language configures the thought

According to Sapir-Whorf's theory of language, human communication at the verbal level, the use of language in human beings, It is not limited to express our mental contents . For this theory, language plays a very important role in shaping our way of thinking and even our perception of reality, determining or influencing our vision of the world.

In this way, the grammatical categories in which language classifies the world that surrounds us makes us adhere to a concrete way of thinking, reasoning and perceiving, being this linked to the culture and communicative context in which we are immersed as long childhood In other words, the structure of our language It makes us tend to use concrete interpretive structures and strategies.


Likewise, Sapir-Whorf's theory of language establishes that each language has its own terms and conceptualizations that can not be explained in other languages. This theory emphasizes the role of the cultural context when it comes to offering a framework in which to elaborate our perceptions, so that we are capable of observe the world within socially imposed margins .

Some examples

For example, the Eskimo people are accustomed to living in cold environments with lots of snow and ice, possessing in their language the ability to discriminate between different types of snow. In comparison with other peoples, this helps them to be much more aware of the nature and context in which they live, being able to perceive nuances of reality that a Westerner escapes.

Another example can be seen in some tribes in whose language there are no references to time. These individuals have severe difficulties in conceptualizing time units . Other peoples do not have words to express certain colors, such as orange.


A final, much more recent example can be given with the term umami, Japanese concept that refers to a flavor derived from the concentration of glutamate and that for other languages ​​does not have a specific translation, being difficult to describe for a Western person.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Noam Chomsky's theory of language development"

Two versions of the Sapir-Whorf theory

With the passing of time and the criticisms and demonstrations that seemed to indicate that the effect of language on thought is not as modulating of perception as initially stipulated theory, the language theory of Sapir-Whorf has undergone some subsequent modifications . That is why we can talk about two versions of this theory.

1. Strong hypothesis: linguistic determinism

The initial vision of Sapir-Whorf's theory of language had a very deterministic and radical vision regarding the role of language. For the strong Whorfian hypothesis, language completely determines our judgment , capacity of thought and perception, giving them form and being able to consider even that thought and language are in essence the same.

Under this premise, a person whose language does not contemplate a certain concept will not be able to understand it or distinguish it. As an example, a town that has no word for the color orange will not be able to distinguish one stimulus from another whose only difference is color. In the case of those who do not include temporal notions in their speech, they will not be able to distinguish between what happened a month ago and what happened twenty years ago, or between present, past or future.

Evidences

Several subsequent studies have shown that the language theory of Sapir-Whorf is not correct, at least in its deterministic conception , performing experiments and investigations that reflect their falsity at least partially.

The ignorance of a concept does not imply that it can not be created within a specific language, something that under the premise of the strong hypothesis would not be possible.Although it is possible that a concept does not have a specific correlation in another language, it is possible to generate alternatives.

Following with the examples of previous points, if the strong hypothesis were correct the towns that do not have a word to define a color they would not be able to distinguish between two equal stimuli except in that aspect , since they could not perceive the differences. However, experimental studies have shown that they are fully capable of distinguishing these stimuli from others of different color.

Similarly, we may not have a translation for the term umami, but if we are able to detect that it is a flavor that leaves a velvety sensation in the mouth, leaving a prolonged and subtle aftertaste.

Likewise, other linguistic theories, such as that of Chomsky, have studied and indicated that although language is acquired through a long learning process, there are partially innate mechanisms that before language emerges as such allows to observe communicative aspects and even the existence of concepts in babies, being common to most known peoples.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Linguistic intelligence: what is it and how can it be improved?"

2. Weak hypothesis: linguistic relativism

The initial deterministic hypothesis was, over time, modified by the evidence that the examples used to defend it were not completely valid or demonstrated a total determination of thought by language.

However, the language theory of Sapir-Whorf has been developed in a second version, according to which, although the language does not determine per se thought and perception, but yes is an element that helps to shape and influence in the type of content that receives the most attention.

For example, it is proposed that the characteristics of the spoken language may influence the way in which certain concepts are conceived or in the attention that receive certain nuances of the concept to the detriment of others.

Evidences

This second version has found some empirical demonstration, since it reflects that the fact that a person has difficulty conceptualizing a certain aspect of reality due to the fact that their language does not contemplate it does not focus on these aspects.

For example, while a Spanish speaker tends to pay close attention to verbal tense, others such as Turkish tend to focus on who performs the action, or English in spatial position. In this way, each language favors highlighting specific aspects , which when acting in the real world can cause slightly different reactions and responses. For example, it will be easier for the Spanish speaker to remember when something has happened than where, yes, you are asked to remember it.

It can also be observed when classifying objects. While some people will use the form to catalog objects, others will tend to associate things with their material or color.

The fact that there is no specific concept in language means that although we are able to perceive it, we tend not to pay attention to it. If for us and our culture is not important if what happened happened a day ago or a month ago, if you ask us directly for when it happened it will be difficult to give an answer as it is something we have never thought about. Or if they present something with a strange characteristic, such as a color we have never seen before, it may be perceived but it will not be decisive when making distinctions unless the coloring is an important element in our thinking.

Bibliographic references:

  • Parra, M. (s.f.). The Sapir-Whorf hypothesis. Department of Linguistics, National University of Colombia.
  • Sapir, E. (1931). Conceptual categories in primitive languages. Science.
  • Schaff, A. (1967). Language and Knowledge Editorial Grijalbo: Mexico.
  • Whorf, B.L. (1956). Language, Thought and Reality. The M.I.T. Press, Massachussetts.

Does language shape how we think? Linguistic relativity & linguistic determinism -- Linguistics 101 (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des langues de Sapir-Whorf

La théorie des langues de Sapir-Whorf

Mai 16, 2022

Traditionnellement, l'être humain a compris le langage comme un moyen de communication grâce auquel il est possible d'établir un lien avec le monde et nous permet d'exprimer ce que nous pensons ou ressentons.

Cette conception considère le langage comme un moyen d’exprimer ce qui est déjà à l’intérieur. Cependant, pour la théorie de la langue Sapir-Whorf, cela a une importance beaucoup plus grande , jouant un rôle beaucoup plus important dans l’organisation, la réflexion ou même la perception du monde.

Et c’est que si la relation entre la pensée et le langage a été un domaine d’étude qui a suscité un vif intérêt de la part des psychologues et des linguistes, peu de théories ont été jusqu’à présent en rapportant ces deux mondes.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 types de langage (et leurs caractéristiques)"

Quand la langue configure la pensée

Selon la théorie du langage de Sapir-Whorf, la communication humaine au niveau verbal, l'utilisation du langage chez l'homme, Il n'est pas limité à exprimer notre contenu mental . Pour cette théorie, le langage joue un rôle très important dans la définition de notre façon de penser et même dans notre perception de la réalité, déterminant ou influençant notre vision du monde.

Ainsi, les catégories grammaticales dans lesquelles la langue classe le monde qui nous entoure nous font adhérer à une manière concrète de penser, de raisonner et de percevoir, ce lien étant lié au contexte culturel et communicatif dans lequel nous sommes immergés. longue enfance En d'autres termes, la structure de notre langue Cela nous amène à utiliser des structures et des stratégies d'interprétation concrètes.


De même, la théorie du langage de Sapir-Whorf établit que chaque langue a ses propres termes et conceptualisations qui ne peuvent pas être expliqués dans d'autres langues. Cette théorie met l'accent sur le rôle du contexte culturel lorsqu'il s'agit d'offrir un cadre dans lequel élaborer nos perceptions, afin que nous puissions observer le monde dans les marges socialement imposées .

Quelques exemples

Par exemple, les Esquimaux sont habitués à vivre dans des environnements froids avec beaucoup de neige et de glace, possédant dans leur langue la capacité de faire la distinction entre les différents types de neige. En comparaison avec d'autres peuples, cela les aide à être beaucoup plus conscients de la nature et du contexte dans lequel ils vivent, à pouvoir percevoir les nuances de la réalité qu'un Occidental échappe.

Un autre exemple peut être vu dans certaines tribus dont la langue ne fait pas référence au temps. Ces personnes ont sévère difficultés à conceptualiser les unités de temps . D'autres peuples n'ont pas de mots pour exprimer certaines couleurs, telles que l'orange.


Un dernier exemple beaucoup plus récent peut être donné avec le terme umami, concept japonais qui fait référence à une saveur dérivée de la concentration de glutamate et qui, pour les autres langues, n’a pas de traduction spécifique, étant difficile à décrire pour un Occidental.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie du développement du langage de Noam Chomsky"

Deux versions de la théorie de Sapir-Whorf

Au fil du temps et avec les critiques et les démonstrations qui semblaient indiquer que l’effet du langage sur la pensée n’est pas aussi modulateur de la perception que la théorie initialement stipulée, la théorie linguistique de Sapir-Whorf a subi quelques modifications ultérieures . C'est pourquoi nous pouvons parler de deux versions de cette théorie.

1. Hypothèse forte: déterminisme linguistique

La vision initiale de la théorie du langage de Sapir-Whorf avait une vision très déterministe et radicale du rôle du langage. Pour la forte hypothèse Whorfienne, la langue détermine complètement notre jugement , capacité de pensée et de perception, en leur donnant forme et en pouvant considérer que même la pensée et le langage sont essentiellement les mêmes.

Selon cette hypothèse, une personne dont le langage ne considère pas un certain concept ne pourra pas le comprendre ni le distinguer. Par exemple, une ville qui ne connaît pas la couleur orange ne pourra pas distinguer un stimulus d’un autre dont la seule différence est la couleur. Ceux qui n'incluent pas de notions temporelles dans leur discours ne pourront pas faire la distinction entre ce qui s'est passé il y a un mois et ce qui s'est passé il y a vingt ans, ou entre le présent, le passé et l'avenir.

Des preuves

Plusieurs études ultérieures ont montré que la théorie des langues de Sapir-Whorf n'est pas correct, du moins dans sa conception déterministe , effectuant des expériences et des investigations qui reflètent au moins partiellement leur fausseté.

L'ignorance d'un concept n'implique pas qu'il ne puisse pas être créé dans une langue spécifique, ce qui, sous l'hypothèse de l'hypothèse forte, ne serait pas possible.Bien qu'il soit possible qu'un concept n'ait pas de corrélation spécifique dans une autre langue, il est possible de générer des alternatives.

En suivant les exemples de points précédents, si l'hypothèse forte était correcte, les villes qui n'ont pas de mot pour définir une couleur ils ne seraient pas en mesure de distinguer deux stimuli égaux sauf dans cet aspect , puisqu'ils ne pouvaient pas percevoir les différences. Cependant, des études expérimentales ont montré qu’ils sont parfaitement capables de distinguer ces stimuli de ceux de couleur différente.

De même, nous n'avons peut-être pas de traduction pour le terme umami, mais si nous sommes en mesure de détecter qu'il s'agit d'un arôme qui laisse une sensation veloutée dans la bouche, laissant un arrière-goût prolongé et subtil.

De même, d’autres théories linguistiques, telles que celle de Chomsky, ont étudié et indiqué que, bien que la langue soit acquise au terme d’un long processus d’apprentissage, il existe des mécanismes partiellement innés qui, avant que la langue ne se matérialise, permettent d’observer les aspects de la communication concepts chez les bébés, étant communs à la plupart des peuples connus.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'intelligence linguistique: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment peut-on l'améliorer?"

2. Hypothèse faible: le relativisme linguistique

L'hypothèse déterministe initiale a été modifiée au fil du temps par la preuve que les exemples utilisés pour la défendre n'étaient pas complètement valides ou démontraient une détermination totale de la pensée par la langue.

Cependant, la théorie des langues de Sapir-Whorf a été développée dans une deuxième version, selon laquelle, bien que la langue ne détermine pas en soi pensée et perception, mais oui est un élément qui aide à façonner et à influencer dans le type de contenu qui reçoit le plus d'attention.

Par exemple, il est proposé que les caractéristiques de la langue parlée puissent influer sur la façon dont certains concepts sont conçus ou sur l’attention qui reçoit certaines nuances du concept au détriment d’autres.

Des preuves

Cette deuxième version a trouvé une démonstration empirique, car elle montre que le fait qu’une personne ait de la difficulté à conceptualiser un certain aspect de la réalité du fait que son langage ne l’envisage pas ne se concentre pas sur ces aspects.

Par exemple, si un hispanophone a tendance à porter une attention particulière au temps verbal, d'autres, comme le turc, ont tendance à se focaliser sur l'auteur de l'action ou l'anglais en position spatiale. De cette façon, chaque langue favorise les aspects spécifiques qui, dans le monde réel, peuvent provoquer des réactions et des réactions légèrement différentes. Par exemple, il sera plus facile pour l'espagnol de se rappeler quand quelque chose s'est passé plutôt que de savoir où, oui, il vous est demandé de vous en souvenir.

Il peut également être observé lors de la classification des objets. Alors que certaines personnes utiliseront le formulaire pour cataloguer des objets, d'autres auront tendance à associer des éléments à leur matériau ou à leur couleur.

Le fait qu'il n'y ait pas de concept spécifique dans le langage signifie que même si nous sommes capables de le percevoir, nous avons tendance à ne pas y prêter attention. Si pour nous et notre culture n’importons pas si ce qui s’est passé il ya un jour ou un mois, si vous nous demandez directement ce qui s’est passé, il sera difficile de donner une réponse car c’est une chose à laquelle nous n’avons jamais pensé. Ou s'ils présentent quelque chose avec une caractéristique étrange, telle qu'une couleur que nous n'avons jamais vue auparavant, cela peut être perçu mais cela ne sera pas décisif pour faire des distinctions à moins que la couleur ne soit un élément important de notre pensée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Parra, M. (s.f.). L'hypothèse de Sapir-Whorf. Département de linguistique, Université nationale de Colombie.
  • Sapir, E. (1931). Catégories conceptuelles dans les langues primitives. Science.
  • Schaff, A. (1967). Langue et connaissance Editorial Grijalbo: Mexique.
  • Whorf, B.L. (1956). Langue, pensée et réalité. Le M.I.T. Presse, Massachussetts.

L'hypothèse de SAPIR-WHORF et l'analyse socio-linguistique (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes