yes, therapy helps!
The Logotherapy of Viktor Frankl: theory and techniques

The Logotherapy of Viktor Frankl: theory and techniques

May 21, 2022

The logotherapy was developed by Viktor Frankl , one of the main representatives of existential analysis. In these interventions, which aim to achieve vital meaning, existentialist philosophy had a great influence.

In this article we will describe the principles and basic techniques of speech therapy, as well as the types of neuroses that exist according to Viktor Frankl. Among them the most important is the nogenic neurosis, which was the focus of interest of this author.

  • Related article: "Viktor Frankl: biography of an existential psychologist"

The speech therapy of Viktor Frankl

Viktor Emil Frankl (1905-1997) was a neurologist and psychiatrist Austrian who was born in a Jewish family. In 1944 he, his wife, his parents and his brother were sent to concentration camps; When the war was over, Frankl was the only one who was still alive.


Frankl developed his theory and his psychological therapy from his experiences as a prisoner, although he had already begun to create them beforehand. In 1959 he published his key book, "Man in search of meaning", where he described his model: the logotherapy.

Logotherapy is part of the existential analysis , a type of therapy with a marked philosophical character that focuses on the search of vital meaning in the existential vacuum, causing psychological, emotional and physical symptoms. The influence of Kierkegaard, Heidegger and Husserl is notable in Frankl's work.

According to Frankl, people we can always give meaning to our lives , regardless of the circumstances in which we find ourselves; This search for meaning constitutes the main vital motivation. In addition we always have a certain degree of freedom, since we can decide at least what attitude we adopt in the face of adversity.


  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

Theory of the human being: suffering and meaning

Frankl considered that the human experience has three dimensions: somatic or physical, mental and spiritual. According to this author, the origin of the psychological alterations is the lack of strength of the spiritual dimension , as well as meaning in life.

He described three types of values ​​that led to meaning and, therefore, to happiness: values ​​of creation, related to work and contribution to society, those of experience (interaction with people and experience of sensations) and attitudes , which have to do with overcoming suffering.

For Frankl The cause of mental disorders is the meaning we give to suffering , and not the discomfort in itself. This basic approach was opposed to the reductionism of behaviorism of the time and anticipated cognitivist approaches.


Types of neurosis according to Frankl

Frankl described various types of neurosis depending on the causes that provoke them. Among them, the noogenic neurosis stands out, a focus of interest in speech therapy.

1. Noogenic

The logotherapy is specific for the noogenic neurosis , which arises as a consequence of the existential vacuum, of the non-satisfaction of the human spiritual dimension. When a person fails to give meaning to their suffering, they feel hopelessness and a sense of loss of vital meaning; Frankl calls this situation nonogenous neurosis.

2. Collective

Neuroses of this type affect a large number of people who share the same culture and / or were born at a certain time. He defined four attitudes as collective neuroses: fatalism (believing that everything has external causes), fanaticism (idealizing one's beliefs and not tolerating the rest), lack of attention to the future and conformity or "collectivist thought".

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Meditation as a remedy against fanaticism"

3. Sunday

Many people try to make sense of their lives through work and the frenetic pace of the week. When the weekend, holidays or retirement arrive and there is free time, they appear feelings of apathy, boredom and existential emptiness ; In Frankl's theory this is known as Sunday neurosis and is considered a type of depression.

  • Related article: "Emotional vacuum: when we lack something that we can not explain"

4. Unemployment

The neurosis of unemployment is similar to that of Sunday, but it lasts longer. When a person has no occupation or work tends to experience a state of apathy and feelings of worthlessness for lack of vital goals.

5. Psychogenic, reactive, somatogenic and psychosomatic

This classification refers to the factors that cause the alteration. Psychogenic neuroses have psychological causes, such as attitudes, while reactive ones are due to an intense response of the organism to the presence of somatic or psychological symptoms.

The somatogenic neuroses they are due to biological dysfunctions , such as hyperthyroidism or excessive reactivity of the nervous system. Finally, Frankl called "psychosomatic neuroses" physical symptoms triggered by psychological factors; in this category included asthma.

Logotherapy techniques

The goal of speech therapy is to help the client give meaning to his life. For this, according to Frankl, the therapist must use the following techniques.

1. Socratic dialogue

The Socratic dialogues consist of challenging the client's interpretations of different events (ie, their belief system) through questions based on logic. The Socratic dialogue was adopted by cognitively oriented psychotherapists , as Aaron Beck, and constitutes one of the fundamental pillars of cognitive restructuring.

2. De-reflection

Some people lend a excessive attention to your goals or your problems , which generates anxiety and interferes with life; Frankl called the first case "hyperintention" and the second as "hyperreflection." The technique of de-reflection consists of redirecting this attention in an adequate and functional way.

3. Confrontation

Confrontation is a basic technique of psychotherapy in general. Is about make the client see inconsistencies and the inadequacy of certain behaviors and attitudes so that you can be aware of them and modify them.

4. Paradoxical intention

Frankl called "paradoxical intention" a technique consisting of making the client intensify his symptoms in new contexts, promoting that the symptom loses its functionality . In other words, it is intended that the client intentionally provokes what he fears, so that a logical, often humorous, contradiction is generated.

At present the paradoxical intention is considered an effective technique to handle different problems, for example insomnia of conciliation. It works because, when the person happens to want an event that normally causes anxiety or other negative emotions to occur, such associated consequences do not occur.


Viktor Frankl: Logotherapy and Man's Search for Meaning (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La logothérapie de Viktor Frankl: théorie et techniques

La logothérapie de Viktor Frankl: théorie et techniques

Avril 26, 2019

La logothérapie a été développée par Viktor Frankl , un des principaux représentants de l'analyse existentielle. Dans ces interventions, qui visent à atteindre un sens vital, la philosophie existentialiste a eu une grande influence.

Dans cet article, nous décrirons les principes et les techniques de base de l’orthophonie, ainsi que les types de névroses existant selon Viktor Frankl. Parmi ceux-ci, le plus important est la névrose nogénique, qui était le centre d'intérêt de cet auteur.

  • Article connexe: "Viktor Frankl: biographie d'un psychologue existentiel"

L'orthophonie de Viktor Frankl

Viktor Emil Frankl (1905-1997) était neurologue et psychiatre Autrichien né dans une famille juive. En 1944, son épouse, ses parents et son frère sont envoyés dans des camps de concentration. À la fin de la guerre, Frankl était le seul qui soit encore en vie.


Frankl a développé sa théorie et sa thérapie psychologique à partir de son expérience de prisonnier, bien qu'il ait déjà commencé à les créer. En 1959, il publie son ouvrage intitulé "L'homme en quête de sens", dans lequel il décrit son modèle: la logothérapie.

La logothérapie fait partie de l'analyse existentielle , type de thérapie à caractère philosophique marqué, axée sur la recherche d’une signification vitale dans le vide existentiel, provoquant des symptômes psychologiques, émotionnels et physiques. L'influence de Kierkegaard, Heidegger et Husserl est notable dans les travaux de Frankl.

Selon Frankl, les gens on peut toujours donner un sens à nos vies , peu importe les circonstances dans lesquelles nous nous trouvons; Cette recherche de sens constitue la principale motivation vitale. De plus, nous avons toujours un certain degré de liberté, car nous pouvons au moins décider quelle attitude adopter face à l'adversité.


  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

Théorie de l'être humain: souffrance et sens

Frankl considérait que l'expérience humaine avait trois dimensions: somatique ou physique, mentale et spirituelle. Selon cet auteur, l'origine des modifications psychologiques est le manque de force de la dimension spirituelle , ainsi que le sens de la vie.

Il a décrit trois types de valeurs qui ont conduit au sens et donc au bonheur: les valeurs de la création, liées au travail et à la contribution à la société, celles de l'expérience (interaction avec les gens et expérience des sensations) et les attitudes. , qui ont à voir avec surmonter la souffrance.

Pour Frankl La cause des troubles mentaux est le sens que nous donnons à la souffrance et pas le malaise en soi. Cette approche fondamentale s'opposait au réductionnisme du behaviorisme de l'époque et aux approches cognitivistes anticipées.


Types de névrose selon Frankl

Frankl a décrit divers types de névrose en fonction des causes cela les provoque. Parmi eux, la névrose noogénique se distingue, un centre d'intérêt en orthophonie.

1. Noogénique

La logothérapie est spécifique à la névrose noogène , qui résulte du vide existentiel, de la non-satisfaction de la dimension spirituelle humaine. Lorsqu'une personne n'arrive pas à donner un sens à sa souffrance, elle ressent un désespoir et un sentiment de perte de sens vital; Frankl appelle cette situation la névrose nonogène.

2. collective

Les névroses de ce type touchent un grand nombre de les gens qui partagent la même culture et / ou sont nés à une certaine heure. Il a défini quatre attitudes comme des névroses collectives: le fatalisme (croire que tout a des causes externes), le fanatisme (idéaliser ses convictions et ne pas tolérer le reste), le manque d'attention portée à l'avenir et le conformisme ou "pensée collectiviste".

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "La méditation en tant que remède contre le fanatisme"

3. dimanche

Beaucoup de gens essaient de donner un sens à leur vie par le travail et le rythme effréné de la semaine. Quand le week-end, les vacances ou la retraite arrivent et qu'il y a du temps libre, ils apparaissent sentiments d'apathie, d'ennui et de vide existentiel ; Dans la théorie de Frankl, cela s'appelle la névrose du dimanche et est considéré comme un type de dépression.

  • Article connexe: "Vide émotionnel: quand il nous manque quelque chose que nous ne pouvons pas expliquer"

4. Chômage

La névrose du chômage est semblable à celle du dimanche, mais elle dure plus longtemps. Lorsqu'une personne n'a pas d'activité professionnelle ou de travail, elle a tendance à éprouver un état d'apathie et un sentiment d'inutilité faute d'objectifs vitaux.

5. Psychogène, réactif, somatogène et psychosomatique

Cette classification fait référence aux facteurs qui provoquent la modification. Les névroses psychogènes ont des causes psychologiques, telles que les attitudes, tandis que les réactives sont dues à une réaction intense de l'organisme à la présence de symptômes somatiques ou psychologiques.

Les névroses somatogènes ils sont dus à des dysfonctionnements biologiques comme l'hyperthyroïdie ou une réactivité excessive du système nerveux. Enfin, Frankl a appelé "névroses psychosomatiques" des symptômes physiques déclenchés par des facteurs psychologiques; dans cette catégorie inclus l'asthme.

Techniques de logothérapie

L’orthophonie a pour objectif d’aider le client à donner un sens à sa vie. Pour cela, selon Frankl, le thérapeute doit utiliser les techniques suivantes.

1. dialogue socratique

Les dialogues socratiques consistent à interroger le client sur l'interprétation de différents événements (c'est-à-dire son système de croyances) au moyen de questions fondées sur la logique. Le dialogue socratique était adopté par des psychothérapeutes à orientation cognitive comme Aaron Beck, et constitue l’un des piliers fondamentaux de la restructuration cognitive.

2. la réflexion

Certaines personnes prêtent un une attention excessive à vos objectifs ou vos problèmes , qui génère de l'anxiété et interfère avec la vie; Frankl a qualifié le premier cas d '"hyperintention" et le second "d'hyperréflection". La technique de la réflexion consiste à rediriger cette attention de manière adéquate et fonctionnelle.

3. la confrontation

La confrontation est une technique de base de la psychothérapie en général. Il s'agit de faire voir au client les incohérences et l'inadéquation de certains comportements et attitudes pour que vous puissiez en prendre conscience et les modifier.

4. Intention paradoxale

Frankl a qualifié "d'intention paradoxale" une technique consistant à obliger le client à intensifier ses symptômes dans de nouveaux contextes, promouvoir que le symptôme perd sa fonctionnalité . En d’autres termes, il est prévu que le client provoque intentionnellement ce qu’il craint, afin de générer une contradiction logique, souvent humoristique.

Actuellement, l'intention paradoxale est considérée comme une technique efficace pour traiter différents problèmes, par exemple l'insomnie de la conciliation. Cela fonctionne parce que, lorsque la personne veut un événement qui cause normalement de l’anxiété ou d’autres émotions négatives, de telles conséquences ne se produisent pas.


Applying Logotherapy in Your Life and Practice (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes