yes, therapy helps!
The main causes of depression

The main causes of depression

June 24, 2021

One of the most well-known and common mental disorders in our society is depression. Although this mood disorder is widely known, there is often little talk about its causes.

What is depression?

Depression is an affective disorder through which pain and psychological distress are expressed . This includes both psychic and somatic symptoms, so that in order to diagnose and apply the appropriate treatment it is essential to evaluate the patient's environment (family, work, sentimental or conjugal situation ...).

Depression is an acute clinical disorder that affects the brain. It goes beyond feeling "sunken" or "sad" some days, you have to differentiate sadness from depression. The essential difference is that sadness is a natural response to a painful stimulus, this expression of emotionally manifested pain is a necessary response mechanism. However, if the sadness lasts over time becoming chronic, without or with apparent cause and with a severe modularity, affecting the normal functioning of the patient in all areas of their daily lives, then we are referring to a depression.


Depression is not a natural response but it is a pathology that can lead to disability . Epidemiological studies reveal that, for example, in the United States, 20% of the population suffers from this disease.

What are the causes of depression?

The main causes of depression are due to genetic factors (genetic predisposition), which is why It is very important to evaluate if the patient has a family history .

Likewise, depressive symptoms can also be due to physiological factors, as well as to the personal situation and environmental causes. Next, we will explain each of these factors.

1. Genetic factors

If the presence of a history of depression is present in the immediate family (parents and / or siblings), this can increase the chances of suffering from this disease from 25% to 30% . There are studies with monozygotic twins (from a single zygote that divides in two after fertilization) that show that in one of the brothers the probability of suffering from depression increases up to 50% in the case of antecedents in the other. The probability, however, is considerably reduced in twins (dizygotic twins), up to 25% less.


As science advances in the field of genetics, have been found genes related to the predisposition that an individual is more or less susceptible to depression (as for example: SERTs short serotonin transporter gene). It is estimated that up to 214 genes may be involved with the risk of suffering from depression.

2. Physiological factors

Depression is related to the decrease of a neurotransmitter called serotonin , specifically in the dendrites that transmit the impulses of the axon of one neuron to the soma of another. For this reason psychiatrists sometimes use a group of drugs, the selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, whose function, mainly, is to increase the predisposition of the serotonergic levels of patients with depression, the most famous of them undoubtedly the one It is marketed under the Prozac brand whose active ingredient is fluoxetine.


Other medications can also be used, such as anxiolytics that act on another neurotransmitter: GABA (γ-aminobutyric acid), anxiety is considered to be the sister of depression and they are generally linked to a greater or lesser extent according to the picture, anxiolytic medications such as benzodiazepines are those that are most commonly prescribed.

Among other causes are the endocrine disorders , these are another of the most frequent causes with which depression is associated, among which diabetes and hyperthyroidism stand out.

3. Personal factors

It is proven that the prevalence of this disease is significantly higher in the case of women, especially during pregnancy and postpartum (DPP) due to hormonal variations.

Postpartum depression (PPD) is defined as a transient disorder that occurs between two and four days after delivery and that disappears spontaneously in a period of two weeks. There are two types of PPD, depression babyblues and the depressive disorder itself.

In medicine it is called babyblues to Mild impairment in the mood of the mother, with mild depressive symptoms . It is manifested by lack of concentration, anxiety, sadness, but above all by an instability of humor with great tendency to crying. It does not require treatment since it disappears spontaneously in a short time.

But nevertheless, In the case of PPD, the symptoms manifest at 12 weeks and present a more acute picture , both psychological and physical symptoms may occur, for example in the first case feelings of worthlessness, suicidal ideation or thoughts related to death may occur, and in the case of physical symptoms, these may include headache and intestinal discomfort between others. In this case if medical treatment is required.

Age is also a determining factor . The period between 35 and 45 years, is the highest incidence of this disease. Although it is also worth noting the depression in minors, mainly in the period of puberty and adolescence, age in which we experience very important hormonal changes while psychologically we define ourselves as people. In the case of depressive behaviors during childhood, it is necessary to pay more attention since it may have a manifestation very different from that of adults and is sometimes camouflaged under other types of disorders, however it is extremely important to pay special attention to the area family.

4. Environmental factors

Environmental causes are considered all those external stimuli that influence the person and that can act as catalysts of depression .

Negative situations, family and / or work, can produce stress and trigger depression, especially if the person has a history of alcohol dependence or drug use. The scarce relationship with other people, as well as the difficulty of communication and isolation are key factors that enhance the probability of an individual developing a depression.


10 Causes of Depression EVERYONE Needs To Know (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les principales causes de la dépression

Les principales causes de la dépression

Février 21, 2019

La dépression est l'un des troubles mentaux les plus connus et les plus répandus dans notre société. Bien que ce trouble de l'humeur soit largement connu, on en parle souvent peu.

Qu'est-ce que la dépression?

La dépression est un trouble affectif par lequel se manifestent la douleur et la détresse psychologique. . Cela inclut à la fois les symptômes psychiques et somatiques, de sorte que pour diagnostiquer et appliquer le traitement approprié, il est essentiel d'évaluer l'environnement du patient (famille, travail, situation sentimentale ou conjugale ...).

La dépression est un trouble clinique aigu qui affecte le cerveau. Il ne suffit pas de se sentir «enfoncé» ou «triste» certains jours, il faut différencier la tristesse de la dépression. La différence essentielle est que la tristesse est une réponse naturelle à un stimulus douloureux, cette expression de douleur manifestée émotionnellement est un mécanisme de réponse nécessaire. Cependant, si la tristesse persiste avec le temps, devenant chronique, sans cause apparente et avec une modularité sévère, affectant le fonctionnement normal du patient dans tous les domaines de sa vie quotidienne, on parle alors de dépression.


La dépression n'est pas une réponse naturelle, mais une pathologie pouvant conduire à un handicap . Des études épidémiologiques révèlent que, par exemple, aux États-Unis, 20% de la population souffre de cette maladie.

Quelles sont les causes de la dépression?

Les principales causes de dépression sont dues à des facteurs génétiques (prédisposition génétique), raison pour laquelle Il est très important d'évaluer si le patient a des antécédents familiaux. .

De même, les symptômes dépressifs peuvent aussi être dus à des facteurs physiologiques, à la situation personnelle et aux causes environnementales. Ensuite, nous expliquerons chacun de ces facteurs.

1. Facteurs génétiques

Si des antécédents de dépression sont présents dans la famille proche (parents et / ou frères et sœurs), cette peut augmenter les chances de souffrir de cette maladie de 25% à 30% . Des études portant sur des jumeaux monozygotes (d'un seul zygote qui se divise en deux après la fécondation) montrent que chez l'un des frères, la probabilité de souffrir de dépression augmente jusqu'à 50% pour les antécédents chez l'autre. La probabilité est toutefois considérablement réduite chez les jumeaux (jumeaux dizygotiques), jusqu'à 25% de moins.


À mesure que la science progresse dans le domaine de la génétique, ont été trouvés des gènes liés à la prédisposition qu'un individu est plus ou moins sensible à la dépression (comme par exemple: gène court du transporteur de la sérotonine SERT). On estime que jusqu'à 214 gènes pourraient être impliqués dans le risque de dépression.

2. Facteurs physiologiques

La dépression est liée à la diminution d'un neurotransmetteur appelé sérotonine , en particulier dans les dendrites qui transmettent les impulsions de l’axone d’un neurone au soma d’un autre. Pour cette raison, les psychiatres utilisent parfois un groupe de médicaments, les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine, dont la fonction principale est d’augmenter la prédisposition des niveaux sérotoninergiques chez les patients souffrant de dépression, le plus célèbre d'entre eux étant sans doute celui Il est commercialisé sous la marque Prozac dont le principe actif est la fluoxétine.


D'autres médicaments peuvent également être utilisés, tels que les anxiolytiques agissant sur un autre neurotransmetteur: le GABA (acide γ-aminobutyrique), l'anxiété est considérée comme la sœur de la dépression et ils sont généralement liés dans une mesure plus ou moins grande selon l'image, les médicaments anxiolytiques tels que les benzodiazépines. ceux qui sont le plus souvent prescrits.

Parmi les autres causes sont les troubles endocriniens sont une autre des causes les plus fréquentes de dépression, parmi lesquelles le diabète et l’hyperthyroïdie.

3. Facteurs personnels

Il est prouvé que la prévalence de cette maladie est significativement plus élevée chez les femmes, en particulier pendant la grossesse et après l'accouchement (DPP) en raison de variations hormonales.

La dépression post-partum (DPP) est définie comme un trouble transitoire qui survient entre deux et quatre jours après l'accouchement et qui disparaît spontanément en une période de deux semaines. Il existe deux types de DPP, la dépression babyblues et le trouble dépressif lui-même.

En médecine on l'appelle babyblues un Légère altération de l'humeur de la mère, accompagnée de symptômes dépressifs légers . Cela se manifeste par un manque de concentration, de l'anxiété, de la tristesse, mais surtout par une instabilité de l'humour avec une grande tendance à pleurer. Il ne nécessite pas de traitement car il disparaît spontanément en peu de temps.

Cependant, Dans le cas de la DPP, les symptômes se manifestent à 12 semaines et présentent un tableau plus aigu , des symptômes à la fois psychologiques et physiques peuvent survenir, par exemple dans le premier cas, des sentiments d'inutilité, des idées suicidaires ou des pensées de décès peuvent apparaître, et dans le cas de symptômes physiques, ils peuvent inclure maux de tête et malaises intestinaux d'autres Dans ce cas, si un traitement médical est nécessaire.

L'âge est aussi un facteur déterminant . La période entre 35 et 45 ans, est la plus forte incidence de cette maladie. Il convient également de noter la dépression chez les mineurs, principalement au cours de la période de la puberté et de l’adolescence, âge auquel nous subissons des changements hormonaux très importants, alors que nous nous définissons psychologiquement en tant que personnes. Dans le cas de comportements dépressifs pendant l'enfance, il est nécessaire de prêter plus d'attention, car ils peuvent avoir une manifestation très différente de celle des adultes et sont parfois camouflés sous d'autres types de troubles. Cependant, il est extrêmement important de porter une attention particulière à la région. la famille

4. Facteurs environnementaux

Les causes environnementales sont considérées tous les stimuli externes qui influencent la personne et peuvent agir comme catalyseurs de la dépression .

Les situations négatives, familiales et / ou professionnelles, peuvent générer du stress et déclencher une dépression, en particulier si la personne a des antécédents de dépendance à l'alcool ou de drogue. Les relations rares avec les autres personnes, ainsi que la difficulté de communication et d'isolement, sont des facteurs clés qui augmentent la probabilité qu'une personne développe une dépression.


Les trois principales causes de la dépression (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes