yes, therapy helps!
The main causes of sleep disorders

The main causes of sleep disorders

December 3, 2022

We all know the importance of having a good night's sleep and even then many of us have often lost sleep. Sometimes premeditated and others simply involuntarily. Sleep disorders are, today, one of the most common , having a considerable flood in the population.

40% of the Spanish population suffers from one of these disorders and 10% suffer from chronic disease. There are 100 types of sleep disorders registered by the World Health Organization (WHO). These include insomnia (reduced sleeping capacity), hypersomnia (excessively prolonged and deep sleep), parasomnias (conduct disorder during sleep with brief episodes of awakening), sleepwalking (automatic motor activities while remains unconscious), sleep paralysis (transient inability to perform any type of voluntary movement during the transition period between the sleep and wake state), etc.


  • Related article: "Avoid the effects of insomnia with these 5 basic keys"

What are sleep disorders?

Sleep disorders, as their name suggests, are significant sleep problems. They can be alterations to fall asleep and remain asleep, problems to stay awake and inrush of sleep, so that a normal rhythm of sleep is not allowed.

What are the causes of sleep disorders?

There is a close relationship between sleep disorders and quality of life, physical and psychiatric health. Some of these sleep disorders are caused by cardiovascular, hormonal, metabolic, neurological diseases and those that cause pain. In addition, we must add those caused by psychiatric diseases such as anxiety and depression. Pregnancy and menopause can also cause sleep problems, such as insomnia, a condition that, as we mentioned earlier, reduces the ability to sleep.


Among other causes that prevent adequate sleep, are the abuse of medication, bad sleep habits, excessive work and use of electronic devices before going to sleep. However, genetic predispositions always play a significant role.

1. Drug abuse

There are medications that affect sleep, such as beta-blocker (used to treat hypertension and arrhythmias), by inhibiting the nocturnal secretion of the hormone melatonin responsible for the regulation of sleep and circadian clock of the same, produces nightmares and night awakenings. Corticosteroids (used to treat inflammation of blood vessels and muscles, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, allergic reactions ...) exhausts the adrenal glands thus keeping the body awake and the mind stimulated , in addition to SSRI antidepressants, alpha-blockers, statins ...


2. Bad sleep habits

Having a good sleep hygiene is essential to lead a healthy and productive life, so you have to learn to have a good sleep habit. We must avoid going to bed very late and not sleeping long enough to recover the energies spent. The consequences of not having a good habit of sleep are fatigue and fatigue, in some cases triggering a state of worry at the time of wanting to sleep that makes it impossible for us to sleep.


3. Excessive work and new technologies

One of the causes that appears more frequently in our lives is the excess of work, which causes more stress, affecting the quality of sleep and causing more difficulties to be able to reconcile it. Not only does excessive work deprive us of a quality dream but the excessive use of new technologies (such as mobile phones, tablets, televisions and computers) excite our nervous system so much during the day to day can get to misfit the internal clock and alter the hormones that help you fall asleep.

Author: Natalia Matusiak


Signs of a Sleep Disorder? (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les principales causes des troubles du sommeil

Les principales causes des troubles du sommeil

Novembre 27, 2022

Nous connaissons tous l'importance de bien dormir la nuit et beaucoup d'entre nous ont souvent perdu le sommeil. Parfois prémédité et d'autres simplement involontairement. Les troubles du sommeil sont, aujourd'hui, l'un des plus communs , ayant une inondation considérable dans la population.

40% de la population espagnole souffre d'un de ces troubles et 10% d'une maladie chronique. L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) a enregistré 100 types de troubles du sommeil. Insomnie (capacité de sommeil réduite), hypersomnie (sommeil excessivement prolongé et profond), parasomnies (trouble des conduites pendant le sommeil avec brefs épisodes de réveil), somnambulisme reste inconscient), paralysie du sommeil (incapacité transitoire à effectuer tout type de mouvement volontaire pendant la période de transition entre l'état de sommeil et l'état de veille), etc.


  • Article connexe: "Évitez les effets de l'insomnie avec ces 5 clés de base"

Quels sont les troubles du sommeil?

Les troubles du sommeil, comme leur nom l'indique, sont des problèmes de sommeil importants. Il peut s'agir de modifications pour s'endormir et rester endormi, de problèmes de rester éveillé et d'appels de sommeil, de sorte qu'un rythme de sommeil normal n'est pas autorisé.

Quelles sont les causes des troubles du sommeil?

Il existe une relation étroite entre les troubles du sommeil et la qualité de vie, la santé physique et psychiatrique. Certains de ces troubles du sommeil sont causés par des maladies cardiovasculaires, hormonales, métaboliques, neurologiques et ceux qui causent de la douleur. À cela s’ajoutent celles causées par des maladies psychiatriques telles que l’anxiété et la dépression. La grossesse et la ménopause peuvent également causer des problèmes de sommeil, tels que l'insomnie, une affection qui, comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, réduit la capacité de dormir.


L'abus de médicaments, les mauvaises habitudes de sommeil, le travail excessif et l'utilisation de dispositifs électroniques avant de s'endormir sont parmi les causes empêchant de dormir suffisamment. Cependant, les prédispositions génétiques jouent toujours un rôle important.

1. Abus de drogues

Certains médicaments affectant le sommeil, tels que les bêta-bloquants (utilisés pour traiter l'hypertension et les arythmies), en inhibant la sécrétion nocturne de la mélatonine, une hormone responsable de la régulation du sommeil et de son horloge circadienne, produisent des cauchemars et des réveils nocturnes. Les corticostéroïdes (utilisés pour traiter l'inflammation des vaisseaux sanguins et des muscles, la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, le lupus, les réactions allergiques ...) épuisent les glandes surrénales gardant ainsi le corps éveillé et l'esprit stimulé , en plus des antidépresseurs ISRS, des alpha-bloquants, des statines ...


2. mauvaises habitudes de sommeil

Avoir une bonne hygiène de sommeil est essentiel pour mener une vie saine et productive. Vous devez donc apprendre à bien dormir. Il faut éviter de se coucher très tard et ne pas dormir assez longtemps pour récupérer les énergies dépensées. Les conséquences de ne pas avoir une bonne habitude de sommeil sont la fatigue et la fatigue, provoquant dans certains cas un état d'inquiétude au moment de vouloir dormir qui nous empêche de dormir.


3. Travail excessif et nouvelles technologies

L’une des causes les plus fréquentes de notre vie est l’excès de travail, qui provoque plus de stress, affecte la qualité du sommeil et rend plus difficile sa réconciliation. Non seulement le travail excessif nous prive d'un rêve de qualité, mais l'utilisation excessive des nouvelles technologies (telles que les téléphones portables, les tablettes, les téléviseurs et les ordinateurs) excite tellement notre système nerveux au cours de la journée. peut arriver à inadapté l'horloge interne et modifiez les hormones qui vous aident à vous endormir.

Auteur: Natalia Matusiak


Les causes des différents types d'insomnies / Noura Marashi (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes