yes, therapy helps!
The main types of sociology

The main types of sociology

November 27, 2021

Sociology is a young science . As soon as one reads who their authors are considered "classics", they realize that the oldest ones are from the beginning of the 19th century.

Among them, Auguste Comte, Herbert Spencer, Karl Marx, Émile Durkheim and Max Weber stand out, among others. In this article, I review very briefly what are some classifications of types of sociology that can be found regularly in this field. However, due to the early age of the discipline, although there are certain consensus, in a wide range of areas there are still disagreements, some even vital to the discipline.

I am talking about questions as if statistical techniques can help us explain satisfactorily or not social phenomena; whether it is "sensible" to use theories of behavior instead of "structural" theories; or if sociology can or can be considered a science like the others, or on the contrary it is destined to be always relegated to the background, for whatever reason.


If we generalize to the areas to which these questions belong, we will see that their response will influence much of how we do research later: what techniques and type of models should we use to explain properly? Are individuals important when it comes to constituting and explaining social phenomena, as well as their different states? Due to the complexity of these phenomena, should we relegate ourselves to not having the same explanatory capacity as other sciences? At this point, physics or biology hardly pose questions of this kind, at least as I have formulated them. These constant discussions make the classifications that you use here change, or that, in fact, are already changing .


Three approaches to see sociology

I will use three different criteria useful to give a general "image" of the discipline from different angles: sociology according to the methodology used; according to the social phenomenon to which it refers; and according to the theoretical conception of "social phenomenon".

Due to reasons of space, I do not focus on explaining in depth each type in particular. For this, at the end of the article, references are proposed that may allow those interested to know a little more.

1. Types of sociology by its methodology

When it comes to researching and falsifying hypotheses, sociology has generally relied on techniques that can be classified into qualitative and quantitative.

1.1. Of qualitative techniques

Qualitative techniques are designed to study everything that requires data that is very difficult to quantify and that at least they are epistemologically subjective. We are talking about ideas, perceptions, reasons, and signs that have meanings. Many times qualitative techniques are used to explore topics for which there are few data, to face future research with quantitative techniques.


In fact, these types of techniques are usually linked to research that is interested in study the phenomenology of subjects with respect to a social fact . For example, we can ask how identity is lived and understood in a particular social group. The in-depth interview, discussion groups and ethnography all represent techniques that have usually been linked to this field. Another qualitative technique used a lot in history is, for example, the historical narrative.

As usual, the sample of individuals of these techniques is usually much smaller than that of quantitative techniques , because they follow different logics. For example, in the case of qualitative ones, one of the key objectives is to reach a saturation of the discourse, a point where new interviews do not provide more relevant data than those already provided. In a statistical technique, for its part, the result of not reaching a certain number of necessary sampling means, almost, the use of any statistical technique.

1.2. Of quantitative techniques

Within quantitative techniques we can distinguish between two major fields: that of statistics and that of artificial simulation.

The first is the classic in sociology. Along with qualitative techniques, statistics has been and continues to be one of the most used . It has its meaning: in sociology, collective phenomena are studied, that is, phenomena that can not be reduced to a single individual. Statistics provides a series of techniques that allow describing variables that belong to the set of individuals, while allowing to study associations between different variables, and apply certain techniques in order to predict.

Thanks to the increasingly widespread field of Big Data and the Machine Learning , statistical techniques have had a certain type of revitalization. This particular field is undergoing a "revolution", both inside and outside the academy, from which the social sciences hope to deal with enormous amounts of data that allow us to better define the description of social phenomena.

The other great area, that of artificial simulation, is relatively new and less known. The approach and applicability of these techniques is different depending on which one is considered. For example, the Dynamics of Systems allows to study the relations between collectivities applying some models of differential equations that model the aggregate behavior together with other aggregates. Another technique, that of the Multi-Agent Simulation Models, allows the programming of artificial individuals that, by following rules, generate the social phenomenon that is intended to be studied from a modeling that takes into account individuals, their properties and essential rules. , and the environment, with no need to introduce differential equations.

Because it is considered that this type of simulation techniques, despite being quite different , allow to better study Complex Systems (such as social phenomena) (Wilensky, U .: 2015). Another simulation technique widely used in demography, for example, is that of Microsimulation.

It is important to add to this point that both the Big Data revolution and the application of simulation techniques, as they serve to study social systems, are now known as "Computational Social Science" (for example, Watts, D .: 2013).

2. Types of sociology by field of study

By field of study, the types of sociology can be classified, above all, by the following topics:

  • Sociology of work . For example: the study of the working conditions of workers in industrial Catalonia of the nineteenth century.
  • Sociology of Education . For example: the study of social income inequalities in educational performance.
  • Sociology of the genre . For example: the comparative study of the day's activities between men and women.

To these three great themes, very general in themselves, are added others, such as studies of social mobility and social classes (Wright, E .: 1979); the studies of fiscal behavior (Noguera, J. et al .: 2014); the studies of social segregation (Schelling, T .: 1971); the studies of the family (Flaqué, Ll .: 2010); the studies of public policies and the Welfare State (Andersen, G.-E .: 1990); the studies of social influence (Watts, D .: 2009); the studies of organizations (Hedström, P. & Wennberg, K .: 2016); the studies of social networks (Snijders, T. et al .: 2007); etc.

While some areas of study are well defined, the frontier of many others clearly touches other areas. For example, one could apply a view of the sociology of organizations to a typical study of the sociology of education. The same is true, for example, when applying the study of social networks to areas such as the sociology of work.

It should be noted, finally, that although sociology has been quite isolated throughout the 20th century, now the borders that separate it from other social sciences, from economics to anthropology and always bordering on psychology, are increasingly more blurry, with interdisciplinary collaboration becoming the norm instead of the exception.

3. Types of sociology by theoretical field of the concept "social phenomenon"

One of the fields where sociologists disagree most vividly with each other is the one that defines and interprets what social phenomena are and cause, as well as what their possible effects on societies are.

Simplifically, today we could find three positions that serve to define types of sociology or ways of understanding sociology: structuralism, constructionism and analytical sociology .

3.1. Structuralism

Although structuralism has had different meanings according to the moment and the person who has used it, in sociology generally this term is understood in the sense of "structures" of society that exist by themselves beyond the individual and that affect him causally directly, normally without this being aware of its effect.

This vision corresponds to the proposal of Émile Durkheim, one of the classics of the discipline, and that can be summarized in that "the whole is more than the sum of its parts", a principle that can also be found in Gestalt psychology. This view, then, considers that social phenomena exist, in some way, beyond the individuals themselves, and their scope of action on them is absolute and direct. For that reason, this perspective has received the qualification of "holist".This vision of social phenomena, very summarized here, has been the most popular in the last century, and currently it is still the most widespread within the discipline.

3.2. Constructionism

The constructionist vision is also one of the most widespread in the discipline. Although there may be constructionist visions in almost all areas of sociology, it is also characterized as being quite "independent".

The constructionist vision is largely influenced by the discoveries made by cultural anthropology. These showed that, Although certain conceptions can prevail in a society, they do not have to do it in the same way in other societies . For example, European society may have a certain conception of what art is, what is good or bad, what is the role of the State, and so on, and that Indian society has a completely different one. Which is the real one, then? Both and none.

In this sense, constructionism would say that many of the things that seem as solid as nature actually depend on human acceptance. The most extreme position of this current, which we could call constructivism (Searle, J .: 1995), would say that everything is a social construction insofar as it is understood and conceptualized by the word (which is, of course, something created by and for humans). In that sense, things like science, or the ideas of truth and certainty, would also be social constructions, which would imply that they depend solely and exclusively on the human being.

3.3. Analytical sociology

The analytical position, on the other hand, besides being the most recent, exists as an answer to both structuralism and constructivism . It is, by far, the least adopted position within the discipline.

Very briefly, this position aims to conceptualize social phenomena as complex systems formed by individuals, whose actions in interaction with other individuals make up the causes of the emergence of social phenomena.

In fact, this perspective places special emphasis on uncovering the causal mechanisms that generate social phenomena. That is, the concrete actions of individuals who, at the macro level, generate the phenomenon we wish to explain. It is common to read that this position has the interest of offering black-box free explanations, or explanations that detail the exact processes from which the social phenomena we see occur.

In addition, analytical sociology, a term by which it has gained fame in recent decades (Hedström, P .: 2005, Hedström, P. & Bearman, P .: 2010, Manzo, G .: 2014, among others), clearly bets by the use of artificial simulation techniques from which social phenomena can be better studied, understood (again) as complex systems.

As a last point, to say that analytical sociology wants to advance sociology by making it as similar to the rest of the sciences as possible in terms of certain aspects of the research process (such as promoting the use of models and clearly betting on the mathematical-formal expression or, in its absence, the computational one).

The relative of the boundaries between types of sociology

A note is necessary, here: it should be noted that, although the differences between the different areas are quite clear and evident, and although generally the individuals within each group share certain basic premises, these are not completely homogeneous within themselves .

For example, in the structuralist positions there are clearly people in favor of different conceptions of constructionism. In the analytical position, on the other hand, not everyone shares certain causal relationships between the different levels (the social and the individual phenomenon).

To go beyond

A reference author who has tried to classify the social sciences from different criteria is Andrew Abbot, in Methods of Discovery: Heuristics for the Social Sciences. The book is written with a pedagogical and clear style, and allows an idea not only of sociology and its different types, but also of the other social sciences. Very useful to introduce yourself in the subject.

Concluding

The conclusion we can reach is that we can find types of sociology according to (1) the method they use; (2) according to the field of study in which they focus; (3) and according to the theoretical position that frames them in a position within the discipline. We could say that points (1) and (2) are consistent with other sciences. Point (3), however, seems to be the fruit of the discipline's early age. We are talking about that, depending on whether one is in one position or another, could affirm things that are impossible or contrary to another point of view, a fact that gives the feeling that none is right and that, ultimately, the Feeling of "progress" within the discipline is little or no.

But nevertheless, Thanks to the advancement of certain methodologies, sociology, together with other social sciences, are increasingly able to study social phenomena better , as well as to propose better hypotheses that can be better contrasted and that may have greater validity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Flaquer, Ll .: "Family policies in Spain within the framework of the European Union" in Lerner, S. & Melgar, L .: Families in the 21st century: Different Realities and Public Policies. Mexico: National Autonomous University of Mexico. 2010: 409-428.
  • Noguera, J. et al .: Tax compliance, rational choice, and social influence: an agent-based model. Revue Française de Sociologie. 2014. 55 (4): 449-486.
  • Schelling, T .: Dynamic models of segregation. Journal of Mathematical Sociology. 1971. 1: 143-186.
  • Snijders, T. et al .: "Modeling the co-evolution of networks and behavior" in Montfort, K. et al .: Longitudinal models in behavioral and related sciences. 2007: 41-47.
  • Watts, D .: Computational social science. Exciting progress and future directions. The Bridge: Winter 2013.
  • Watts, D. & Dodds, P .: "Threshold models of social influence" in Hedström, P. & Bearman, P .: The Oxford Handbook of Analytical Sociology. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2009: 475-497.
  • Esping-Andersen, G .: The three worlds of welfare capitalism. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press. 1990.
  • Hedström, P .: Dissecting the Social. On the Principles of Analytical Sociology. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 2005
  • Hedström, P. & Bearman, P .: The Oxford Handbook of Analytical Sociology. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2009
  • Manzo, G .: Actions and Networks: More on the Principles of Analytical Sociology. Wiley 2014.
  • Wilensky, U. & Rand, W .: An Introduction to Agent-Based Modeling. Massachusetts: MIT Press books. 2015
  • Wright, E. O .: Class, crisis, and the state. London: New Left Books. 1978

How We Got Here: Crash Course Sociology #12 (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les principaux types de sociologie

Les principaux types de sociologie

Août 8, 2022

La sociologie est une science jeune . Dès que l'on lit ceux qui sont considérés comme des "classiques" par leurs auteurs, ils s'aperçoivent que les plus anciens datent du début du XIXe siècle.

Parmi eux, Auguste Comte, Herbert Spencer, Karl Marx, Émile Durkheim et Max Weber se distinguent, entre autres. Dans cet article, je passe en revue très brièvement les classifications des types de sociologie que l’on trouve régulièrement dans ce domaine. Cependant, en raison du jeune âge de la discipline, bien qu’il existe un certain consensus, il existe encore des désaccords dans un grand nombre de domaines, dont certains sont même vitaux pour la discipline.

Je parle de questions comme si les techniques statistiques pouvaient nous aider à expliquer de manière satisfaisante ou non les phénomènes sociaux; s'il est "raisonnable" d'utiliser des théories du comportement plutôt que des théories "structurelles"; ou si la sociologie peut ou peut être considérée comme une science comme les autres, ou au contraire, elle est destinée à être toujours reléguée au second plan, pour une raison quelconque.


Si nous généralisons aux domaines auxquels ces questions appartiennent, nous verrons que leur réponse influencera en grande partie notre façon de faire de la recherche: quelles techniques et quels types de modèles devrions-nous utiliser pour expliquer correctement? Les individus sont-ils importants lorsqu'il s'agit de constituer et d'expliquer des phénomènes sociaux, ainsi que leurs différents états? En raison de la complexité de ces phénomènes, devrions-nous nous contenter de ne pas avoir la même capacité explicative que les autres sciences? À ce stade, la physique ou la biologie ne posent guère de problèmes de ce type, du moins tels que je les ai formulés. Ces discussions constantes font que les classifications que vous utilisez ici changent, ou qu’elles changent déjà .


Trois approches pour voir la sociologie

J'utiliserai trois critères différents utiles pour donner une "image" générale de la discipline sous différents angles: sociologie selon la méthodologie utilisée; selon le phénomène social auquel il se réfère; et selon la conception théorique du "phénomène social".

Pour des raisons d'espace, je ne cherche pas à expliquer en profondeur chaque type en particulier. Pour cela, à la fin de l'article, des références sont proposées qui pourraient permettre aux personnes intéressées d'en savoir un peu plus.

1. Types de sociologie par sa méthodologie

En matière de recherche et de falsification d’hypothèses, la sociologie s’appuie généralement sur des techniques que l’on peut classer en qualitatives et quantitatives.

1.1. Des techniques qualitatives

Techniques qualitatives sont conçus pour étudier tout ce qui nécessite des données très difficiles à quantifier et qu’au moins ils soient épistémologiquement subjectifs. Nous parlons d'idées, de perceptions, de raisons et de signes qui ont un sens. Souvent, des techniques qualitatives sont utilisées pour explorer des sujets pour lesquels il existe peu de données, afin de faire face aux recherches futures avec des techniques quantitatives.


En fait, ces types de techniques sont généralement liées à la recherche qui s’intéresse à la étudier la phénoménologie des sujets par rapport à un fait social . Par exemple, nous pouvons demander comment l'identité est vécue et comprise dans un groupe social particulier. L'entretien approfondi, les groupes de discussion et l'ethnographie représentent tous des techniques généralement associées à ce domaine. Une autre technique qualitative très utilisée dans l'histoire est, par exemple, le récit historique.

Généralement l'échantillon d'individus de ces techniques est généralement beaucoup plus petit que celui des techniques quantitatives , car ils suivent des logiques différentes. Par exemple, dans le cas des entretiens qualitatifs, l’un des objectifs clés est d’atteindre une saturation du discours, un point où les nouveaux entretiens ne fournissent pas des données plus pertinentes que celles déjà fournies. Dans une technique statistique, quant à lui, le fait de ne pas atteindre un certain nombre d'échantillons nécessaires signifie presque l'utilisation d'une technique statistique quelconque.

1.2. De techniques quantitatives

Au sein des techniques quantitatives, on peut distinguer deux domaines principaux: celui de la statistique et celui de la simulation artificielle.

Le premier est le classique en sociologie. Avec des techniques qualitatives, les statistiques ont été et continuent d’être l’un des plus utilisés . Cela a son sens: en sociologie, on étudie des phénomènes collectifs, c'est-à-dire des phénomènes qui ne peuvent être réduits à un seul individu. Les statistiques fournissent une série de techniques permettant de décrire des variables appartenant à l'ensemble des individus, tout en permettant d'étudier les associations entre différentes variables et d'appliquer certaines techniques pour prédire.

Grâce au domaine de plus en plus répandu de Big Data et le Apprentissage machine , les techniques statistiques ont connu un certain type de revitalisation. Ce domaine particulier connaît une "révolution", tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de l'académie, à partir de laquelle les sciences sociales espèrent traiter d'énormes quantités de données permettant de mieux définir la description des phénomènes sociaux.

L’autre grand domaine, celui de la simulation artificielle, est relativement nouveau et moins connu. L'approche et l'applicabilité de ces techniques sont différentes selon celle qui est considérée. Par exemple, la Dynamique des systèmes permet d’étudier les relations entre les collectivités en appliquant certains modèles d’équations différentielles modélisant le comportement des agrégats ainsi que d’autres agrégats. Une autre technique, celle des modèles de simulation multi-agents, permet de programmer des individus artificiels qui, en suivant des règles, génèrent le phénomène social qu’il est prévu d’étudier à partir d’une modélisation prenant en compte les individus, leurs propriétés et leurs règles essentielles. et l’environnement, sans avoir besoin d’introduire d’équations différentielles.

Pour cela on considère que ce type de techniques de simulation, bien que très différent , permettent de mieux étudier les systèmes complexes (tels que les phénomènes sociaux) (Wilensky, U.: 2015). Une autre technique de simulation largement utilisée en démographie, par exemple, est la microsimulation.

Il est important d'ajouter à ce propos que la révolution du Big Data et l'application des techniques de simulation, utilisées pour étudier les systèmes sociaux, sont désormais appelées "sciences sociales computationnelles" (par exemple, Watts, D.: 2013).

2. Types de sociologie par domaine d'étude

Selon le domaine d’étude, les types de sociologie peuvent être classés avant tout selon les thèmes suivants:

  • Sociologie du travail . Par exemple: l'étude des conditions de travail des travailleurs de la Catalogne industrielle du XIXe siècle.
  • Sociologie de l'éducation . Par exemple: l’étude des inégalités de revenus sociaux dans les résultats scolaires.
  • Sociologie du genre . Par exemple: l'étude comparative des activités de la journée entre hommes et femmes.

A ces trois grands thèmes, très généraux en eux-mêmes, s'ajoutent d'autres, tels que les études de mobilité sociale et de classes sociales (Wright, E.: 1979); les études de comportement fiscal (Noguera, J. et al.: 2014); les études sur la ségrégation sociale (Schelling, T.: 1971); les études de la famille (Flaqué, Ll.: 2010); les études sur les politiques publiques et l'État providence (Andersen, G.-E.: 1990); les études d'influence sociale (Watts, D.: 2009); les études d'organisations (Hedström, P. & Wennberg, K.: 2016); les études de réseaux sociaux (Snijders, T. et al.: 2007); etc.

Bien que certains domaines d'étude soient bien définis, la frontière de nombreux autres touche clairement d'autres domaines. Par exemple, on pourrait appliquer une vision de la sociologie des organisations à une étude typique de la sociologie de l'éducation. Il en va de même, par exemple, lorsqu’on applique l’étude des réseaux sociaux à des domaines tels que la sociologie du travail.

Il convient de noter enfin que si la sociologie a été assez isolée tout au long du XXe siècle, les frontières qui la séparent des autres sciences sociales, de l’économie à l’anthropologie en passant par la psychologie, sont de plus en plus plus floue, la collaboration interdisciplinaire devenant la norme au lieu de l’exception.

3. Types de sociologie par champ théorique du concept de "phénomène social"

L'un des domaines où les sociologues sont en désaccord le plus frappant est celui qui définit et interprète ce que sont et sont les phénomènes sociaux, ainsi que leurs effets possibles sur les sociétés.

Simplement, nous pourrions trouver aujourd'hui trois positions qui servent à définir des types de sociologie ou des manières de comprendre la sociologie: structuralisme, constructionnisme et sociologie analytique .

3.1. Structuralisme

Bien que le structuralisme ait eu différentes significations en fonction du moment et de la personne qui l’a utilisé, en sociologie en général ce terme est compris dans le sens de "structures" de la société qui existent par elles-mêmes au-delà de l'individu et qui l’affectent de manière causale directement, normalement sans que cela soit conscient de son effet.

Cette vision correspond à la proposition d'Émile Durkheim, l'un des classiques de la discipline, et se résume en ce que "le tout est plus que la somme de ses parties", principe que l'on retrouve également dans la psychologie gestaltiste. Ce point de vue considère donc que les phénomènes sociaux existent, d’une certaine manière, au-delà des individus eux-mêmes et que leur champ d’action sur eux est absolu et direct. Pour cette raison, cette perspective a reçu la qualification de "holiste".Cette vision des phénomènes sociaux, très résumée ici, a été la plus populaire du siècle dernier et reste actuellement la plus répandue dans la discipline.

3.2. Constructionnisme

La vision constructionniste est également l'une des plus répandues dans la discipline. Bien qu'il puisse exister des visions constructionnistes dans presque tous les domaines de la sociologie, cette dernière est également qualifiée de "tout à fait indépendante".

La vision constructionniste est largement influencée par les découvertes de l'anthropologie culturelle. Ceux-ci ont montré que Bien que certaines conceptions puissent prévaloir dans une société, elles ne sont pas obligées de le faire de la même manière dans d'autres sociétés . Par exemple, la société européenne peut avoir une certaine conception de ce qu'est l'art, de ce qui est bon ou mauvais, de quel rôle joue l'État, etc., et de ce que la société indienne en est complètement différente. Quel est le vrai, alors? Les deux et aucun.

En ce sens, le constructionnisme dirait que beaucoup des choses qui semblent aussi solides que la nature dépendent en réalité de l'acceptation humaine. La position la plus extrême de ce courant, que nous pourrions appeler le constructivisme (Searle, J.: 1995), dirait que tout est une construction sociale dans la mesure où il est compris et conceptualisé par le mot (qui est, bien sûr, créé par et pour les humains). En ce sens, des éléments comme la science ou les idées de vérité et de certitude seraient également des constructions sociales, ce qui impliquerait qu'elles dépendent uniquement et exclusivement de l'être humain.

3.3. Sociologie analytique

La position analytique, en revanche, en plus d’être la plus récente, existe en tant que réponse au structuralisme et au constructivisme . C'est de loin la position la moins adoptée dans la discipline.

Très brièvement, cette position vise à conceptualiser les phénomènes sociaux en tant que systèmes complexes formés par des individus, dont les actions en interaction avec d'autres individus constituent les causes de l'émergence de phénomènes sociaux.

En fait, cette perspective met un accent particulier sur la découverte des mécanismes causaux qui génèrent des phénomènes sociaux. C'est-à-dire les actions concrètes d'individus qui, au niveau macro, génèrent le phénomène que nous souhaitons expliquer. Il est courant de lire que cette position présente l’intérêt d’offrir des explications gratuites en boîte noire, ou des explications détaillant les processus exacts à l’origine des phénomènes sociaux observés.

En outre, la sociologie analytique, un terme qui lui a valu sa renommée au cours des dernières décennies (Hedström, P.: 2005, Hedström, P. & Bearman, P.: 2010, Manzo, G.: 2014, entre autres), parie clairement en utilisant des techniques de simulation artificielles à partir desquelles les phénomènes sociaux peuvent être mieux étudiés, compris (encore) comme des systèmes complexes.

En dernier point, dire que la sociologie analytique veut faire progresser la sociologie en la rendant aussi semblable que possible au reste des sciences en termes de certains aspects du processus de recherche (tels que la promotion de l'utilisation de modèles et la mise claire sur la expression mathématique-formelle ou, en son absence, informatique).

Le relatif des frontières entre les types de sociologie

Une note est nécessaire ici: il convient de noter que, bien que les différences entre les différentes zones soient assez claires et évidentes, et que, généralement, les membres de chaque groupe partagent certains principes de base, ceux-ci ne sont pas complètement homogènes en eux-mêmes .

Par exemple, dans les positions structuralistes, il y a clairement des gens favorables à différentes conceptions du constructionnisme. Dans la position analytique, en revanche, tout le monde ne partage pas certaines relations de causalité entre les différents niveaux (le phénomène social et le phénomène individuel).

Aller au-delà

Andrew Abbot est un auteur de référence qui a tenté de classer les sciences sociales selon différents critères. Méthodes de découverte: l'heuristique pour les sciences sociales. Le livre est écrit dans un style clair et pédagogique et permet de se faire une idée non seulement de la sociologie et de ses différents types, mais aussi des autres sciences sociales. Très utile pour vous présenter dans le sujet.

En conclusion

La conclusion à laquelle nous pouvons aboutir est que nous pouvons trouver des types de sociologie selon (1) la méthode qu’ils utilisent; (2) selon le domaine d'études dans lequel ils se concentrent; (3) et selon la position théorique qui les encadre dans une position au sein de la discipline. Nous pourrions dire que les points (1) et (2) sont compatibles avec d’autres sciences. Le point (3) semble cependant être le fruit du jeune âge de la discipline. Nous parlons de cela, selon que l’on est dans une position ou une autre, on peut affirmer des choses impossibles ou contraires à un autre point de vue, un fait qui donne le sentiment qu’aucun n’a raison et que, finalement, le Le sentiment de "progrès" au sein de la discipline est peu ou pas.

Cependant, Grâce à l’avancement de certaines méthodologies, la sociologie, ainsi que d’autres sciences sociales, sont de plus en plus en mesure d’étudier de mieux en mieux les phénomènes sociaux. , ainsi que de proposer de meilleures hypothèses qui peuvent être mieux contrastées et qui peuvent avoir une plus grande validité.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Flaquer, Ll.: "Les politiques familiales en Espagne dans le cadre de l'Union européenne" dans Lerner, S. & Melgar, L.: Les familles au XXIe siècle: réalités et politiques publiques différentes. Mexique: Université nationale autonome du Mexique. 2010: 409-428.
  • Noguera, J. et al.: Conformité fiscale, choix rationnel et influence sociale: un modèle basé sur les agents. Revue Française de Sociologie. 2014. 55 (4): 449-486.
  • Schelling, T.: Modèles dynamiques de ségrégation. Journal of Mathematical Sociology. 1971. 1: 143-186.
  • Snijders, T. et al.: "Modélisation de la co-évolution des réseaux et du comportement" dans Montfort, K. et al.: Modèles longitudinaux en sciences du comportement et connexes. 2007: 41-47.
  • Watts, D.: Science sociale computationnelle. Progrès intéressants et orientations futures. Le pont: hiver 2013.
  • Watts, D. & Dodds, P.: "Modèles de seuil d'influence sociale" dans Hedström, P. & Bearman, P: Oxford Handbook of Analytical Sociology. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2009: 475-497.
  • Esping-Andersen, G.: Les trois mondes du capitalisme de bien-être. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press. 1990
  • Hedström, P.: Dissecting the Social. Sur les principes de sociologie analytique. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 2005
  • Hedström, P. & Bearman, P.: The Oxford Handbook of Analytical Sociology. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2009
  • Manzo, G.: Actions et réseaux: Pour en savoir plus sur les principes de sociologie analytique. Wiley 2014
  • Wilensky, U. & Rand, W.: Introduction à la modélisation à base d'agents. Massachusetts: livres de presse du MIT. 2015
  • Wright, E. O.: Classe, crise et l'état. Londres: New Left Books. 1978

SOCIOLOGY - Max Weber (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes