yes, therapy helps!
The Martha Mitchell effect: the real overcomes the imagination

The Martha Mitchell effect: the real overcomes the imagination

June 12, 2024

If we talk about someone who thinks they are trying to kill him, that the police have his phone tapped or that he knows a truth that other people want to silence, it is easy for us to think that it is about someone with some kind of delusional disorder .

But sometimes some of these people are counting something real that ends up being mistakenly considered as a product of the mind and imagination. We are talking about cases where there has been the Martha Mitchell effect whose name is based on a true story.

  • You may be interested: "Delirious disorder (paranoid psychosis): causes, symptoms and treatment"

Delirium in psychopathology

To understand the Martha Mitchell effect well, it is necessary first of all to reflect on what a delirium is.


Delirium is one of the most studied symptoms in what refers to the psychopathology part of the content of thought. It is understood as such or those ideas and false beliefs and unlikely that the subject holds with total conviction despite the evidence may be against them.

Are extravagant ideas and beliefs , sustained by the subject with great vehemence, lived as true and unchangeable that cause in the individual a great discomfort and anguish.

The contents of delirium are important, since they are closely linked at a symbolic level with the patient's fears and vital experiences, as well as cultural aspects that have influenced him to have a certain mentality. Some examples include the idea of being persecuted or controlled , that the phenomena that occur are directed towards the subject, that our partner is unfaithful to us, that someone is totally in love with us, that we have deformities or that we are dead and in decomposition or that those around us are impostors who pretend to be our peers


How does delirium originate?

Why delusions arise is something that does not yet have a clear answer. However, some of the main hypotheses state that it is a cognitive elaboration and more or less structured which aims to respond to an anomalous perception. The cognitive process carried out by those who suffer from them may be biased, but it may also be normal.

That makes in some cases establish a limit between the real and the delirious can be more complex than it appears. And is that although its characteristics are usually visible and are strange from the outside, the truth is that if the facts are observed from the perception of the subject can have coherence and logic (After all it is not impossible for someone to watch us to rob us or to be unfaithful, for example). That is why it is possible to identify a real event as delirium. It's what happens in the so-called Martha Mitchell effect.


  • Related article: "The 12 most curious and shocking types of delusions"

The Martha Mitchell effect

Martha Mitchell effect is understood as the situation in which professionals in psychology and / or psychiatry come to the conclusion that a specific event reported by the patient is the product of delirium or an altered state of consciousness, this event being true.

The events in question usually refer to events with low probability of occurrence, implausible and with a high level of implausibility, little shared by the social environment and with emphasis on the perception of the phenomenon as something self-referential and directed towards the person. Clear examples of this are the ideas of being persecuted by criminal gangs, being watched by the government or having information of great importance that someone wants to silence.

Martha Mitchell and the Watergate case

The name of this effect is based on a real case. Martha Mitchell was the wife of state Attorney General John Mitchell, in the time of Richard Nixon . I was also a campaign assistant. This woman was well known in her time for her unstable personality, frequent outbursts of tone and for a presumable problem with drinking.

Martha Mitchell also denounced on numerous occasions different irregularities produced by the administration, including corruption and alleged espionage. However, their allegations were ignored when they were considered to have delusions or other problems due to a mental illness.

Time later, the scandal of the Watergate case would come to light . All the people who had humiliated Martha trying to stigmatize her with the weight of mental illness had made a clear mistake. While some of the irregularities he mentioned were not proven, many of the corruptions that had been taken by delusions or even by attempts to attract attention turned out to have a real basis.

Why is it produced?

The reasons why the Martha Mitchell effect occurs are mainly its resemblance to delusions: the facts reported are implausible and often refer to aspects difficult to evaluate objectively.

Further, it is more likely that this diagnostic error will be reached if the person in question has certain characteristics that make it more likely that it is a delirious perception or interpretation of reality.

For example, a person with a psychotic disorder already diagnosed, an individual who has previously had delusions, a subject with a histrionic personality or someone who is addicted to substances with hallucinogenic effects. These are aspects that favor that in principle harmless facts can be processed in a distorted manner.


John Paul DeJoria's Top 10 Rules For Success (@johnpauldejoria) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'effet Martha Mitchell: le réel dépasse l'imagination

L'effet Martha Mitchell: le réel dépasse l'imagination

Août 8, 2022

Si nous parlons de quelqu'un qui pense qu'ils essaient de le tuer, que la police a son téléphone mis sur écoute ou qu'il connaît une vérité que d'autres personnes veulent faire taire, il est facile pour nous de penser qu'il s'agit de quelqu'un avec une sorte de trouble délirant .

Mais parfois, certaines de ces personnes comptent quelque chose de réel qui finit par être considéré à tort comme un produit de l'esprit et de l'imagination. Nous parlons de cas où il y a eu l'effet Martha Mitchell dont le nom est basé sur une histoire vraie.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Trouble délirant (psychose paranoïaque): causes, symptômes et traitement"

Délire en psychopathologie

Pour bien comprendre l’effet Martha Mitchell, il faut d’abord réfléchir à ce qu’est un délire.


Le délire est l’un des symptômes les plus étudiés en quoi se réfère à la psychopathologie une partie du contenu de la pensée. Il est compris en tant que telle ou ces idées et croyances fausses et peu probable que le sujet tienne avec une conviction totale malgré les preuves pouvant être contre lui.

Ils sont idées et croyances extravagantes , soutenu par le sujet avec une grande véhémence, vécu comme un vrai et immuable qui cause à l'individu un grand malaise et une grande angoisse.

Les contenus du délire sont importants, car ils sont étroitement liés sur le plan symbolique aux peurs et aux expériences vitales du patient, ainsi qu'aux aspects culturels qui l'ont amené à adopter une certaine mentalité. Quelques exemples incluent l’idée de être persécuté ou contrôlé , que les phénomènes qui se produisent sont dirigés vers le sujet, que notre partenaire nous infidèle, que quelqu'un est totalement amoureux de nous, que nous avons des malformations ou que nous sommes morts et en décomposition ou que ceux qui nous entourent sont des imposteurs qui prétendent être nos pairs


D'où vient le délire?

Pourquoi les délires surviennent est quelque chose qui n'a pas encore de réponse claire. Cependant, certaines des hypothèses principales affirment que c'est une élaboration cognitive et plus ou moins structurée qui vise à répondre à une perception anormale. Le processus cognitif mené par ceux qui en souffrent peut être biaisé, mais il peut aussi être normal.

Cela fait parfois établir une limite entre le réel et le délire peut être plus complexe qu'il n'y parait. Et est-ce bien que ses caractéristiques sont généralement visibles et sont étranges de l'extérieur, la vérité est que si les faits sont observés à partir de la perception du sujet peuvent avoir une cohérence et une logique (Après tout, il n'est pas impossible pour quelqu'un de nous regarder de nous voler ou d'être infidèle, par exemple). C'est pourquoi il est possible d'identifier un événement réel comme un délire. C'est ce qui se passe dans le soi-disant effet Martha Mitchell.


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de délires les plus curieux et les plus choquants"

L'effet Martha Mitchell

L’effet Martha Mitchell est compris comme la situation dans laquelle des professionnels de la psychologie et / ou de la psychiatrie arrivent à la conclusion qu’un événement particulier rapporté par le patient est le produit d’un délire ou d’un état de conscience altéré, cet événement étant vrai

Les événements en question se réfèrent généralement à des événements à faible probabilité d'occurrence, invraisemblable et très invraisemblable, peu partagée par l'environnement social et en mettant l'accent sur la perception du phénomène comme quelque chose d'auto-référentiel dirigé vers la personne. Des exemples clairs de ceci sont les idées d'être persécuté par des gangs criminels, d'être surveillé par le gouvernement ou d'avoir des informations d'une grande importance que quelqu'un veut faire taire.

Martha Mitchell et l'affaire Watergate

Le nom de cet effet est basé sur un cas réel. Martha Mitchell était l'épouse du procureur général de l'État, John Mitchell, au temps de Richard Nixon . J'étais aussi un assistant de campagne. Cette femme était bien connue à l'époque pour sa personnalité instable, ses éclats de ton fréquents et son problème présumé de consommation d'alcool.

Martha Mitchell a également dénoncé à de nombreuses reprises différentes irrégularités commises par l'administration, notamment de corruption et d'espionnage présumé. Cependant, leurs allégations ont été ignorées quand ils ont été considérés comme ayant des idées délirantes ou d'autres problèmes en raison d'une maladie mentale.

Peu de temps après, le scandale de l'affaire Watergate serait révélé . Toutes les personnes qui avaient humilié Martha en essayant de la stigmatiser sous le poids de la maladie mentale avaient clairement commis une erreur. Bien que certaines des irrégularités qu’il a mentionnées n’aient pas été prouvées, bon nombre des corruptions provoquées par des illusions ou même par des tentatives d’attirer l’attention se sont avérées réellement fondées.

Pourquoi est-il produit?

L’effet Martha Mitchell est principalement dû à sa ressemblance avec des idées délirantes: les faits rapportés sont invraisemblables et font souvent référence à des aspects difficiles à évaluer objectivement.

En outre, il est plus probable que cette erreur de diagnostic soit atteinte si la personne en question a certaines caractéristiques qui rendent plus probable qu'il s'agisse d'une perception ou d'une interprétation délirante de la réalité.

Par exemple, une personne présentant un trouble psychotique déjà diagnostiqué, une personne qui a déjà eu des idées délirantes, un sujet ayant une personnalité histrionique ou une personne dépendante de substances aux effets hallucinogènes. Ce sont des aspects qui favorisent le principe que les faits inoffensifs puissent être traités de manière déformée.


Plaquettes de frein : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #1 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes