yes, therapy helps!
The maximum time of concentration of children according to their age

The maximum time of concentration of children according to their age

October 4, 2022

Attention is a fundamental mental capacity for survival by allowing us to attend to the various environmental stimuli. The human being is able to fix it in concrete stimuli during more or less prolonged periods of time, so that it can capture the information pertinent to this stimulation with greater precision and extract the maximum possible data from it.

But the period that we can devote to pay attention to something is not always the same , but it depends on the state of development of the brain. And it is that the different mental faculties are developed and expanded throughout the growth, as it happens with the concentration.


In this article we will see approximately what is the maximum time of concentration of children according to their age , in children up to eight years.

  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Attention and concentration

Attention is, as we have said, a basic and essential capacity since it makes possible center cognitive resources on external stimulation and activate the organism to act accordingly to it. It is the ability to direct, maintain or shift awareness towards one or a group of stimuli.

There are many aspects that can be explored regarding the concept of attention, since it includes a great variety of different aspects and processes such as alertness and activation capacity or orientation towards stimuli . Among these different aspects we can find concentration.


Concentration is understood as the aspect of attention devoted to keep your attention fixed on a specific stimulus, ignoring the existence of distractors (other possible stimuli that could interfere with the focused element). We are therefore faced with the ability to fix the attention of the individual in a sustained manner.

Concentrating on something allows you to be able to visualize and obtain the maximum possible information regarding the element in question and the application of our voluntary cognitive resources to the service of contemplating, understanding, processing or working on the stimulus in question. Thus, we can study something or stay doing a specific activity for more or less long periods of time.

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

Evolution of concentration in the child: maximum times according to age

The ability to concentrate is not something that remains unchanged. There can be different types of elements that make a certain person stay more or less pending a stimulation.


Strong distractions, the existence or absence of motivation, the emotional connection with the stimulus in question or the degree of novelty or routine that supposes are elements to take into account. But apart from that, the maximum capacity of concentration varies throughout life , either by evolutionary development or by environmental or acquired aspects.

In terms of development, to be able to concentrate, it is necessary that our brain has reached an adequate level of maturation. Throughout our childhood the brain continues to grow and develop , allowing little by little that the different cognitive capacities appear and expand. In this way, little by little, the time a child is able to focus attention on something will vary and grow as his brain develops. The ability to concentrate tends to increase between three and five minutes per year of age until its stabilization in adulthood.

Below we indicate an approximate calculation of the time that children up to eight years can maintain concentration. These times establish an interval of average , because each person develops at their own pace and there may be subjects that can have a greater or lesser performance at the time of concentrating.

1. First year of life

It is estimated that during the first year of life the concentration capacity of a baby can be increased little by little until it is maintained between two and five minutes. In this age children they do not stop observing everything and change their focus quickly , unable to concentrate for more than a few minutes.

2. Second year of life

In the second year of life children continue to develop their ability to concentrate, practically doubling the time compared to the previous year. In this way, they can keep it between four and eight or even ten minutes .

3. Third year of life

With three years of life, the ability to concentrate can reach the quarter hour, being common to reach or exceed ten minutes.Up to this age, the concentration is practically maintained while the topic to be treated causes them a real interest, usually losing it in the presence of distracting stimuli. Voluntary attention would begin to emerge and to train after three or four years.

4. Fourth year of life

From that age on, the attention span can increase up to twenty minutes, although even children whose capacity is around eight minutes would enter the average.

5. Fifth year of life

Studies show that during the fifth year of life the concentration can be maintained between ten and twenty-five minutes approximately .

6. Sixth year of life

Concentrating with six years of age is possible, specifically between twelve and thirty minutes due to the greater evolutionary development of the brain.

7. Seventh year of life

Children with seven years of age have a capacity for attention and concentration that is estimated to last on average between twelve to thirty-five minutes .

8. Eighth year of life

With eight years of age, it has been observed that the majority of the population can focus their attention between sixteen and forty minutes of time .

Factors to be considered from the approximate data

The data previously reflected make us see approximately (remember that each child will have their own maturational rhythm, so that the above data is only an average of what would be expected) the attention capacity that infants can have as throughout its development period.

This can serve as a reference when it comes to establish different educational guidelines and not over-demand minors an attention that they may not yet be able to provide because they need more cerebral maturation. In this way, breaks or activity changes can be established that break the attentional focus and lead to another aspect or activity (whether or not it focuses on the same subject).

For example, during a class the teacher can expose a topic and then make them do exercises, so that the attention goes from the exposure to the activity. The ability to concentrate, in this sense, would allow more or less adequate follow-up depending on the age of the subject.

It must be taken into account, however, that the aforementioned times refer to sustained attention or continuous concentration in a single element over time, without factors such as emotion or motivation coming into play. More interactive elements that call your interest as games or movies they can be taken care of more easily and suppose that the children concentrate more and for more time to them. This can also be used to promote learning.

In addition, the concentration can be trained with different types of exercises, but we must try not to overload or overload the children since this can cause that they feel unmotivated, insecure and that diminishes his self-esteem.

Bibliographic references:

  • Caraballo, A. (s.f.). The concentration time of children according to their age [Online]. Available at: //www.guiainfantil.com/blog/educacion/aprendizaje/el-tiempo-de-concentracion-de-los-ninos-segun-su-edad/
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.

Parenting | Secret Of Brain Development In Children (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le temps maximum de concentration des enfants en fonction de leur âge

Le temps maximum de concentration des enfants en fonction de leur âge

Avril 22, 2019

L'attention est une capacité mentale fondamentale pour la survie en nous permettant d'assister aux différents stimuli environnementaux. L'être humain est capable de le fixer dans des stimuli concrets pendant des périodes de temps plus ou moins longues, de manière à pouvoir capturer avec plus de précision les informations relatives à cette stimulation et en extraire le maximum de données possible.

Mais la période que nous pouvons consacrer à faire attention à quelque chose n'est pas toujours la même , mais cela dépend de l’état de développement du cerveau. Et c'est que les différentes facultés mentales se développent et se développent tout au long de la croissance, comme cela se produit avec la concentration.


Dans cet article, nous verrons approximativement ce qui est le temps maximum de concentration des enfants en fonction de leur âge chez les enfants de moins de huit ans.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Attention et concentration

L’attention est, comme nous l’avons dit, une capacité de base essentielle, car elle permet centrer les ressources cognitives sur la stimulation externe et activer l'organisme pour agir en conséquence. Il s’agit de la capacité à diriger, maintenir ou modifier la prise de conscience vers un stimulus ou un groupe de stimuli.

La notion d'attention peut être explorée sous de nombreux aspects, car elle englobe une grande variété d'aspects et de processus différents tels que vigilance et capacité d'activation ou orientation vers les stimuli . Parmi ces différents aspects, nous pouvons trouver la concentration.


La concentration est comprise comme l'aspect d'attention consacré à concentrez votre attention sur un stimulus spécifique, en ignorant l'existence de distracteurs (autres stimuli possibles pouvant interférer avec l'élément ciblé). Nous sommes donc confrontés à la capacité de retenir l'attention de l'individu de manière durable.

Se concentrer sur quelque chose vous permet de pouvoir visualiser et obtenir le maximum d'informations possible concernant l'élément en question et l’application de nos ressources cognitives volontaires au service de la contemplation, de la compréhension, du traitement ou du travail sur le stimulus en question. Ainsi, nous pouvons étudier quelque chose ou continuer à faire une activité spécifique pendant des périodes plus ou moins longues.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Evolution de la concentration chez l'enfant: durées maximales en fonction de l'âge

La capacité de concentration n'est pas quelque chose qui reste inchangé. Il peut y avoir différents types d’éléments qui font qu’une personne donnée reste plus ou moins en attente d’une stimulation.


Les fortes distractions, l’existence ou l’absence de motivation, le lien affectif avec le stimulus en question ou le degré de nouveauté ou de routine supposé sont des éléments à prendre en compte. Mais à part ça, la capacité maximale de concentration varie au cours de la vie , soit par développement évolutif, soit par des aspects environnementaux ou acquis.

En termes de développement, pour pouvoir se concentrer, il est nécessaire que notre cerveau ait atteint un niveau de maturation suffisant. Au cours de notre enfance, le cerveau continue de croître et de se développer , permettant peu à peu que les différentes capacités cognitives apparaissent et se développent. De cette manière, petit à petit, le moment où un enfant sera capable de se concentrer sur quelque chose variera et grandira avec le développement de son cerveau. La capacité de concentration a tendance à augmenter entre trois et cinq minutes par an jusqu'à sa stabilisation à l'âge adulte.

Nous indiquons ci-dessous un calcul approximatif du temps pendant lequel les enfants de moins de huit ans peuvent rester concentrés. Ces temps établissent un intervalle de moyenne , parce que chaque personne évolue à son rythme et que certains sujets peuvent avoir une performance plus ou moins grande au moment de la concentration.

1. Première année de vie

On estime que pendant la première année de vie, la capacité de concentration d'un bébé peut être progressivement augmentée jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit maintenue entre deux et cinq minutes. Dans cet âge les enfants ils n'arrêtent pas de tout observer et changent rapidement de focus , incapable de se concentrer plus de quelques minutes.

2. Deuxième année de vie

Au cours de la deuxième année de vie, les enfants continuent à développer leur capacité de concentration, doublant pratiquement le temps par rapport à l'année précédente. De cette façon, ils peuvent le garder entre quatre et huit ou même dix minutes .

3. Troisième année de vie

Avec trois ans de vie, la capacité de concentration peut atteindre le quart d’heure, alors qu’elle atteint ou dépasse 10 minutes.Jusqu'à cet âge, la concentration est pratiquement maintenue alors que le sujet à traiter leur suscite un réel intérêt, le perdant généralement en présence de stimuli gênants. Une attention volontaire commencerait à émerger et de former après trois ou quatre ans.

4. Quatrième année de vie

À partir de cet âge, l’attention peut augmenter jusqu’à vingt minutes, bien que même les enfants de huit minutes environ entrent dans la moyenne.

5. Cinquième année de vie

Des études montrent qu’au cours de la cinquième année de vie, la concentration peut être maintenue entre dix et vingt-cinq minutes environ .

6. Sixième année de vie

Se concentrer avec l'âge de six ans est possible, en particulier entre douze et trente minutes en raison du développement évolutif plus important du cerveau.

7. Septième année de vie

Les enfants âgés de sept ans ont une capacité d'attention et de concentration qui devrait durer en moyenne entre douze et trente-cinq minutes .

8. Huitième année de vie

À l'âge de huit ans, il a été observé que la majorité de la population peut se concentrer entre seize et quarante minutes de temps .

Facteurs à prendre en compte à partir des données approximatives

Les données précédemment reflétées font que nous voyons environ (rappelez-vous que chaque enfant aura son propre rythme de maturation, de sorte que les données ci-dessus ne représentent qu'une moyenne de ce à quoi on pourrait s'attendre), la capacité d'attention que les enfants peuvent avoir. tout au long de sa période de développement.

Cela peut servir de référence en matière de établir des directives pédagogiques différentes et ne pas surcharger les mineurs une attention qu’ils ne sont peut-être pas encore en mesure de fournir car ils ont besoin de plus de maturation cérébrale. De cette manière, il est possible d’établir des pauses ou des changements d’activité brisant l’attention et conduisant à un autre aspect ou activité (qu’il s’agisse ou non du même sujet).

Par exemple, pendant un cours, l'enseignant peut exposer un sujet et lui demander ensuite de faire des exercices pour que l'attention soit portée à l'exposition. La capacité de concentration, dans ce sens, permettrait un suivi plus ou moins adéquat en fonction de l'âge du sujet.

Il faut toutefois tenir compte du fait que les temps mentionnés ci-dessus font référence à une attention soutenue ou à une concentration continue dans un seul élément au fil du temps, sans facteurs tels que l'émotion ou la motivation. Plus d'éléments interactifs qui vous intéressent en tant que jeux ou films ils peuvent être pris en charge plus facilement et supposent que les enfants se concentrent davantage et plus de temps pour eux. Cela peut également être utilisé pour promouvoir l'apprentissage.

De plus, il est possible d’entraîner la concentration avec différents types d’exercices, mais il faut éviter de surcharger les enfants, car cela peut causer qu'ils se sentent démotivés, peu sûrs et cela diminue son estime de soi.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Caraballo, A. (s.f.). Le temps de concentration des enfants en fonction de leur âge [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.guiainfantil.com/blog/educacion/aprendizaje/el-tiempo-de-concentracion-de-los-ninos-segun-su-edad/
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid

8 jeux à découvrir pour stimuler la concentration d'une personne âgee/ Alzheimer (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes