yes, therapy helps!
The meaning of dreams according to Jungian psychology

The meaning of dreams according to Jungian psychology

May 6, 2021

From ancient times to the present day, different cultures have considered dreams as a gateway to a magical dimension that allows us to predict the future or communicate with spirits or other immaterial entities. Many of these beliefs are still part of contemporary popular culture even in the West .

In the year 1900 the creator of psychoanalysis Sigmund Freud published his book The Interpretation of Dreams, introducing his study into modern science and not as a form of communication with metaphysical entities, but as the symbolic expression of the unconscious of individuals .

From Freud's pioneering research on dreams, methodologies and conceptualizations related to the interior of some psychological schools were developed, such as the individual psychology of Alfred Adler or the psychology of Gestalt; However, the Jungian analytical psychology of Carl Gustav Jung is probably the perspective that has come to place greater emphasis on the interpretation of dreams as a fundamental part of the psychotherapeutic process. Let's see how the subject of dreams is addressed from this school.


What is the origin of dreams?

In Jungian psychology, dreams are considered as products of nature ; emanations of that creative force that is implicit in the conformation of the cells, in the tissues of the leaves of the trees, in our skin and in the cultural and artistic expressions. They are therefore attributed an intrinsic wisdom that is expressed through symbolic images.

For the Swiss psychiatrist Carl Jung, creator of analytical psychology, this creative force makes use of the impressions of the day before, the diurnal remains and our vital experiences to build the images and stories of our dreams.


The matrix of dreams: the archetypes of the collective unconscious

According to Jung, the Freudian approach to the unconscious as a reservoir of repressed sexual desires was not enough to account for those contents that do not relate to the personal history of individuals.

Jung realized that frequently in the delusions and hallucinations of his psychiatric patients, as well as in the dreams of people in general, themes, stories and characters emerged spontaneously, once examined and interpreted, they came to bear a surprising similarity with the mythological narratives that have accompanied humanity in different times and places. Jung argued that such similarity can not always be attributed to a direct or indirect contact between the individual and these ideas during their daily acts, so he inferred that these stories and symbols emerge from a common creative source, which he called the collective unconscious .


The typical motifs of mythological narratives, delusions and dreams they are for Jung symbolic expressions of universal patterns of behavior and the meaning we humans inherited as a species, which he called archetypes.

The archetypes are considered the psychic correlates of the biological instincts and function as mechanisms of self-regulation, integration and promotion of psychic development. They are also seen as containers and transmitters of wisdom common to all humanity.

Dreams as a representation of the archetype of the hero

The archetypal myth of the hero's journey (humble and miraculous birth, individual called to a mission, encounter with the master, interaction with allies and adversaries, trials, fight against evil, descent to the underworld, treasure meeting, marriage with the princess etc.) that is found in the structure of many ancient and contemporary stories, it is considered the symbolic manifestation of the process of psychic transformation that all individuals they are driven to perform throughout their lives.

This transformation is directed to the unfolding of the singular potentials of each individual, to the experience of his most genuine personality, of his vocation, of his singular contribution to the world. Accompanying this process of transformation, called the process of individuation, is the goal that Jungian psychotherapy proposes.

From the Jungian theory, variations and fragments of the mythical narrative of the hero are represented every night in our dreams by means of the way in which the archetypes are incarnated in the individuals, that is, the affective complexes.

Dreams as personification of affective complexes

The complexes are a set of ideas and thoughts with a strong emotional charge that are formed from personal experiences related to the theme of some archetype.The paternal complex, for example, is nourished by the personal and singular experiences that we have had with our own father and with other father figures, always under the background of the archetype of the universal "father".

Always according to Jung, the complexes are the constitutive elements of our psyche and behave like sub-personalities that are activated in certain circumstances of the external or internal world. Thus, an emotion disproportionate to the context (jealousy, desire for power, envy, falling in love, fear of failure or success) could be the indication that we are acting under the influence of a complex, and that our interaction with reality find mediated by this. The intensity in the activation of a complex conditions the degree of subjectivity that we project in people and external circumstances in a given situation.

The role of complexes

The complexes have the ability to personify themselves in our dreams , and they are constituted according to Jung in the writers, directors, actors and scenes of our oneiric world.

While we dream, we can then converse a wise old man represented by some professor or teacher that we admire; we are confronted with our shadow under the clothes of some acquaintance or neighbor who is irritating to us; We received a miraculous help from a silent childhood companion. The archetype of the shaman or healer may be represented by a doctor or by our therapist.

We have erotic relations with contemporary heroes or heroines. We cross obstacles, flee from murderers, we are victims and victimizers; we fly, we climb sacred mountains; we get lost in labyrinths, the house is destroyed in an earthquake, we survive floods, we die and sometimes we are reborn with another body; We return again and again to the university or school to present an exam of some subject that has remained pending. All experiences as real as those of waking life.

It is considered then that in most times the characters and situations of our dreams represent aspects of ourselves that need to be integrated and recognized.

A constant crossing

From Jungian psychology, dreams are the dramatization of our journey to the depths, in search of our treasure, of our most genuine being. It is in a series of dreams, rather than in an isolated dream, where the different stages of that journey are shown.

Further, Jung realized that the process of psychic transformation, also expressed in the myth of the hero, also had correspondences in the descriptions of the alchemical transformation , whose images sometimes also emerged spontaneously in dreams.

What are the dreams for?

According to Jung's ideas, dreams allow us to access the symbolic and profound meaning of our life experiences . They would be a symbol, in the sense of re-union, bridge, with the unique needs of the psyche, and that is why Jung believed that they transmit possible paths of action before the questions that have accompanied humanity since its inception.

In Jungian psychology, therapeutic work with dreams is seen as a tool that helps in the identification of our complexes and their gradual awareness. From this current it is believed that working with dreams helps to recognize patterns of behavior and relationships that may be problematic.

How do dreams act?

For Jungian psychology, the psyche functions as a self-regulated system with a tendency towards the balance of opposing elements (conscious-unconscious, light-darkness, feminine-masculine) in increasingly complex and integrated states. Dreams, like any other expression of the unconscious, such as symptoms, they would have a purpose and function within that process of integration and psychic evolution .

In view of the above, Jungian psychology does not focus on the origin of dreams, for example, some repressed desire, but on its purpose. That is to say, it is questioned about what a particular dream seeks to influence in relation to the psychic development of people.

The archetypal dreams

Dreams whose archetypal images are more evident and which find it difficult to find personal associations were called by Jung as great dreams. According to his ideas, great dreams or archetypal dreams usually precede vital circumstances that involve great qualitative transformations such as adolescence, maturity, marriage, a serious illness or death.

Archetypal dreams can sometimes be more related to collective phenomena than with the subjective life of people.

How are dreams interpreted?

A characteristic of dreams is that they are confusing and irrational . However, for Jungian psychology, dreams do not disguise, veil or censor the contents they transmit, as Freudian psychoanalysis considers it, but they express deep, complex and paradoxical knowledge that is unattainable to rational approximation through metaphors, analogies and correspondences of their images.

By expressing oneself through a symbolic language, its translation or interpretation is necessary. Jung considered that dreams fulfill their function even if we do not remember or understand them, but that their study and interpretation increases and accelerates their effectiveness.

Beyond the literal

The interpretation of dreams implies an opening to the symbolic consciousness , also called poetic, which allows access to the deep dimension of events, both the internal and external world, beyond its literalness. This idea is maintained throughout the phases of dream interpretation that are described below.

The contextualization

Bearing in mind that the unconscious is considered a compensating factor for our conscious attitudes, the first step to interpret a dream from Jungian psychology is the contextualization , which consists of inquiring about the thoughts, values ​​and feelings of the dreamer with respect to the themes related to the dream.

The associations

Later we proceed to identify the personal significations and associations that evoke to the dreamer the images of his dream.

The fact that the images of a dream have an individual significance according to the personal history of each person, is reason why from the Jungian perspective the use of dictionaries of dream meanings is discouraged .

Although there are typical reasons in dreams, these must be addressed from the particular context of each individual. The schematized meanings, instead of broadening the comprehension gaze, usually limit and literalize what is quite toxic.

The amplification

The contextualization and identification of personal meanings provides the basis for choosing symbolic material from mythology, folklore and art that may be conducive to amplifying the sense of dream.

The amplification consists of go to images of universal symbology related to sleep , contributing meanings that broaden the comprehensive framework of our personal dramas and that offer possible paths of action based on human experience accumulated over thousands of years.

A synthesis

Afterwards, we try to make a synthesis of the multiple meanings that have emerged during the process. In response to the polysemic nature of dreams, interpretations they are provided as tentative hypotheses that can be more or less confirmed through a series of dreams .

The role of the therapist

In addition to using knowledge in mythology, folklore, comparative religions and village psychology, Jung considered that to properly interpret dreams, the analysts had to undergo a didactic analysis in order that their own complexes did not interfere in the interpretations of your patients' dreams. The interpretation of dreams is an activity that is carried out jointly between the analyst and the patient and only makes sense within the framework of this interaction.

In the early stages of a Jungian analysis the therapist usually has a more active role in this activity, but it is expected that the openness and permeability to the contents of the unconscious is one of the learning that the patients are unfolding throughout the analysis. The symbolic perspective that allows us to understand the messages of our dreams is then considered a resource that patients can count on once the psychotherapeutic process has ended.

Bibliographic references:

  • Franz, M-L (1984). About dreams and death. Barcelona: Editorial Kairós.
  • Franz, M.-L. ., & Boa, F. (1997). The road of dreams: Dr. Marie-Louise von Franz in conversations with Fraser Boa. Santiago de Chile: Cuatro Vientos Editorial.
  • Jung, C. G. (1982). Psychic energetics and essence of the dream. Barcelona: Paidós.
  • Jung, C. G. (1990a). The relationships between the Self and the Unconscious. Barcelona: Editorial Paidós.
  • Jung, C. G. (1991a). Archetypes and collective unconscious. Barcelona: Editorial Paidós
  • Jung, C. G. (2001). The complexes and the unconscious. Barcelona: Editorial Alliance

Carl Jung's 9 Rules of Dream Interpretation (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La signification des rêves selon la psychologie jungienne

La signification des rêves selon la psychologie jungienne

Mai 16, 2022

De l'Antiquité à nos jours, différentes cultures ont considéré les rêves comme une passerelle vers une dimension magique qui nous permet de prédire l'avenir ou de communiquer avec des esprits ou d'autres entités immatérielles. Nombre de ces croyances font encore partie de la culture populaire contemporaine, même en Occident. .

En 1900, le créateur de la psychanalyse Sigmund Freud publia son livre The Interpretation of Dreams, introduisant son étude dans la science moderne et non comme une forme de communication avec des entités métaphysiques, mais comme expression symbolique de l'inconscient des individus .

À partir des recherches pionnières de Freud sur les rêves, des méthodologies et conceptualisations liées à l'intérieur de certaines écoles psychologiques ont été développées, telles que la psychologie individuelle d'Alfred Adler ou la psychologie de Gestalt; Cependant, la psychologie analytique jungienne de Carl Gustav Jung est probablement la perspective qui a fini par mettre davantage l'accent sur l'interprétation du rêve en tant que partie fondamentale du processus psychothérapeutique. Voyons comment cette matière aborde le sujet des rêves.


Quelle est l'origine des rêves?

En psychologie jungienne, les rêves sont considérés comme des produits de la nature ; des émanations de cette force créatrice implicite dans la conformation des cellules, dans les tissus des feuilles des arbres, dans notre peau et dans les expressions culturelles et artistiques. On leur attribue donc une sagesse intrinsèque exprimée par des images symboliques.

Pour le psychiatre suisse Carl Jung, créateur de psychologie analytique, cette force créatrice utilise les impressions de la veille, les restes diurnes et nos expériences vitales pour construire les images et les histoires de nos rêves.


La matrice des rêves: les archétypes de l'inconscient collectif

Selon Jung, l'approche freudienne de l'inconscient en tant que réservoir de désirs sexuels réprimés ne suffisait pas pour rendre compte de ces contenus qui ne se rapportent pas à l'histoire personnelle des individus.

Jung s'est rendu compte que, souvent dans les délires et les hallucinations de ses patients psychiatriques, ainsi que dans les rêves des gens en général, des thèmes, des histoires et des personnages apparaissaient spontanément, une fois examinés et interprétés, ils présentaient une similitude surprenante. avec les récits mythologiques qui ont accompagné l'humanité à différents moments et en différents lieux. Jung a fait valoir que cette similitude ne peut pas toujours être attribuée à un contact direct ou indirect entre l'individu et ces idées au cours de ses actes quotidiens. Il en a donc déduit que ces récits et symboles émergeaient d'une source créatrice commune, qu'il a appelée l'inconscient collectif. .


Les motifs typiques des récits mythologiques, des délires et des rêves ils sont pour Jung des expressions symboliques de modèles de comportement universels et le sens que nous, les humains, avons hérité en tant qu’espèce, qu’il a appelée archétypes.

Les archétypes sont considérés comme les corrélats psychiques des instincts biologiques et fonctionnent comme des mécanismes d'autorégulation, d'intégration et de promotion du développement psychique. Ils sont également considérés comme des conteneurs et des transmetteurs de la sagesse commune à toute l'humanité.

Le rêve comme représentation de l'archétype du héros

Le mythe archétypal du voyage du héros (naissance humble et miraculeuse, individu appelé à une mission, rencontre avec le maître, interaction avec des alliés et des adversaires, épreuves, lutte contre le mal, descente aux enfers, rencontre avec un trésor, mariage avec la princesse etc.) que l’on retrouve dans la structure de nombreuses histoires anciennes et contemporaines, il est considéré comme la manifestation symbolique du processus de transformation psychique que tous les individus ils sont poussés à se produire tout au long de leur vie.

Cette transformation est dirigée vers le développement des potentiels singuliers de chaque individu, vers l'expérience de sa personnalité la plus authentique, de sa vocation, de sa contribution singulière au monde. Ce processus de transformation, appelé processus d'individuation, est l'objectif que propose la psychothérapie jungienne.

D'après la théorie jungienne, les variations et les fragments du récit mythique du héros sont représentés chaque nuit dans nos rêves au moyen de la manière dont les archétypes sont incarnés dans les individus, c'est-à-dire les complexes affectifs.

Le rêve comme personnification de complexes affectifs

Les complexes sont un ensemble d’idées et de pensées à forte charge émotionnelle formées à partir d’expériences personnelles liées au thème d’un archétype.Le complexe paternel, par exemple, est nourri par les expériences personnelles et singulières que nous avons vécues avec notre propre père et avec d’autres figures paternelles, toujours sous l’arrière-plan de l’archétype du "père" universel.

Toujours selon Jung, les complexes sont les éléments constitutifs de notre psyché et se comportent comme des sous-personnalités qui sont activés dans certaines circonstances du monde externe ou interne. Ainsi, une émotion disproportionnée par rapport au contexte (jalousie, désir de pouvoir, envie, tomber amoureux, peur de l'échec ou du succès) pourrait indiquer que nous agissons sous l'influence d'un complexe et que notre interaction avec la réalité trouver médiée par cela. L'intensité dans l'activation d'un complexe conditionne le degré de subjectivité que nous projetons chez les personnes et les circonstances extérieures dans une situation donnée.

Le rôle des complexes

Les complexes ont la capacité de se personnifier dans nos rêves , et ils sont constitués selon Jung dans les écrivains, réalisateurs, acteurs et scènes de notre monde onirique.

Pendant que nous rêvons, nous pouvons ensuite converser avec un vieil homme sage représenté par un professeur ou un enseignant que nous admirons; nous sommes confrontés à notre ombre sous les vêtements d'une connaissance ou d'un voisin qui nous énerve; Nous avons reçu l'aide miraculeuse d'un compagnon d'enfance silencieux. L'archétype du chaman ou du guérisseur peut être représenté par un médecin ou par notre thérapeute.

Nous avons des relations érotiques avec des héros ou des héroïnes contemporains. Nous franchissons des obstacles, fuyons des meurtriers, nous sommes des victimes et des agresseurs; nous volons, nous montons des montagnes sacrées; on se perd dans des labyrinthes, la maison est détruite par un tremblement de terre, on survit aux inondations, on meurt et parfois on renaît avec un autre corps; Nous revenons encore et encore à l'université ou à l'école pour présenter un examen d'une matière restée en suspens. Toutes les expériences aussi réelles que celles de la vie éveillée.

On considère alors que dans la plupart du temps les personnages et les situations de nos rêves représentent des aspects de nous-mêmes qui doivent être intégrés et reconnus.

Une traversée constante

De la psychologie jungienne, les rêves sont la dramatisation de notre voyage dans les profondeurs, à la recherche de notre trésor, de notre être le plus authentique. C'est dans une série de rêves, plutôt que dans un rêve isolé, que sont présentées les différentes étapes de ce voyage.

En outre, Jung s'est rendu compte que le processus de transformation psychique, également exprimé dans le mythe du héros, avait également des correspondances dans les descriptions de la transformation alchimique. , dont les images sont parfois aussi apparues spontanément dans les rêves.

A quoi servent les rêves?

Selon les idées de Jung, les rêves nous permettent d’accéder au sens symbolique et profond de nos expériences de vie . Ils seraient un symbole, au sens de la réunion, pont, avec les besoins uniques de la psyché, et c’est pourquoi Jung croyait qu’ils transmettaient des pistes d’action possibles avant les questions qui ont accompagné l’humanité depuis sa création.

Dans la psychologie jungienne, le travail thérapeutique avec les rêves est considéré comme un outil facilitant l'identification de nos complexes et leur prise de conscience progressive. À partir de ce courant, on pense que le fait de travailler avec des rêves aide à reconnaître les schémas de comportement et les relations qui peuvent être problématiques.

Comment agissent les rêves?

Pour la psychologie jungienne, le psychisme fonctionne comme un système auto-régulé avec une tendance à l'équilibre des éléments opposés (conscient-inconscient, clair-obscur, féminin-masculin) dans des états de plus en plus complexes et intégrés. Les rêves, comme toute autre expression de l’inconscient, tels que les symptômes, ils auraient un but et fonctionneraient dans ce processus d'intégration et d'évolution psychique .

Au vu de ce qui précède, la psychologie jungienne ne s'intéresse pas à l'origine du rêve, par exemple à un désir réprimé, mais à son objectif. C'est-à-dire que l'on s'interroge sur ce qu'un rêve particulier cherche à influencer en relation avec le développement psychique des personnes.

Les rêves archétypaux

Les rêves dont les images archétypales sont plus évidentes et qui ont du mal à trouver des associations personnelles ont été qualifiés par Jung de grands rêves. Selon ses idées, de grands rêves ou rêves archétypaux précèdent généralement des circonstances vitales impliquant de grandes transformations qualitatives telles que l'adolescence, la maturité, le mariage, une maladie grave ou la mort.

Les rêves archétypaux peuvent parfois être davantage liés à des phénomènes collectifs qu'avec la vie subjective des gens.

Comment les rêves sont-ils interprétés?

Une caractéristique des rêves est qu'ils sont déroutants et irrationnels . Cependant, pour la psychologie jungienne, les rêves ne masquent pas, ne masquent pas et ne censurent pas les contenus qu’ils transmettent, comme le considère la psychanalyse freudienne, mais ils expriment des connaissances profondes, complexes et paradoxales qui sont inaccessibles à une approximation rationnelle par le biais de métaphores et correspondances de leurs images.

En s'exprimant à travers un langage symbolique, sa traduction ou son interprétation est nécessaire. Jung considérait que les rêves remplissaient leur fonction même si nous ne nous en souvenions pas et ne les comprenions pas, mais que leur étude et leur interprétation augmentaient et accéléraient leur efficacité.

Au-delà du littéral

L'interprétation des rêves implique une ouverture à la conscience symbolique , également appelé poétique, qui permet d’accéder à la dimension profonde des événements, à la fois du monde interne et du monde externe, au-delà de sa littéralité. Cette idée est maintenue tout au long des phases d’interprétation des rêves décrites ci-dessous.

La contextualisation

Gardant à l'esprit que l'inconscient est considéré comme un facteur de compensation pour nos attitudes conscientes, la première étape pour interpréter un rêve de la psychologie jungienne est la contextualisation , qui consiste à se renseigner sur les pensées, les valeurs et les sentiments du rêveur en ce qui concerne les thèmes liés au rêve.

Les associations

Plus tard nous procédons pour identifier les significations personnelles et les associations cela évoque au rêveur les images de son rêve.

C’est la raison pour laquelle les images d’un rêve ont une signification individuelle en fonction de leur histoire personnelle. du point de vue jungien, l'utilisation de dictionnaires de significations oniriques est découragée .

Bien qu'il existe des raisons typiques dans les rêves, celles-ci doivent être abordées dans le contexte particulier de chaque individu. Les significations schématisées, au lieu d’élargir le regard de compréhension, limitent et littéralisent généralement ce qui est assez toxique.

L'amplification

La contextualisation et l'identification des significations personnelles fournissent la base pour choisir un matériau symbolique de la mythologie, du folklore et de l'art susceptible de contribuer à amplifier le sens du rêve.

L'amplification consiste en aller aux images de la symbologie universelle liée au sommeil , apportant des significations qui élargissent le cadre global de nos drames personnels et qui offrent des pistes d’action possibles basées sur l’expérience humaine accumulée au cours de milliers d’années.

Une synthèse

Ensuite, nous essayons de faire une synthèse des significations multiples qui sont apparues au cours du processus. En réponse à la nature polysémique des rêves, des interprétations ils sont fournis en tant qu'hypothèses provisoires qui peuvent être plus ou moins confirmées par une série de rêves .

Le rôle du thérapeute

En plus d'utiliser ses connaissances dans la mythologie, le folklore, les religions comparées et la psychologie de village, Jung considérait que pour interpréter correctement les rêves, les analystes ont dû subir une analyse didactique afin que leurs propres complexes ne se mêlent pas des interprétations des rêves de vos patients. L'interprétation des rêves est une activité qui est exercée conjointement par l'analyste et le patient et n'a de sens que dans le cadre de cette interaction.

Au début de l'analyse jungienne, le thérapeute joue généralement un rôle plus actif dans cette activité, mais on s'attend à ce que l'ouverture et la perméabilité au contenu de l'inconscient soient l'un des apprentissages que les patients développent tout au long de l'analyse. La perspective symbolique qui nous permet de comprendre les messages de nos rêves est alors considérée comme une ressource sur laquelle les patients peuvent compter une fois le processus psychothérapeutique terminé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Franz, M-L (1984). À propos des rêves et de la mort. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Kairós.
  • Franz, M.-L. ., & Boa, F. (1997). La route des rêves: Marie-Louise von Franz en conversation avec Fraser Boa. Santiago du Chili: Cuatro Vientos Editorial.
  • Jung, C.G. (1982). Energétique psychique et essence du rêve. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.
  • Jung, C.G. (1990a). Les relations entre le moi et l'inconscient. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Paidós.
  • Jung, C.G. (1991a). Archétypes et inconscient collectif. Barcelone: ​​Éditorial Paidós
  • Jung, C.G. (2001). Les complexes et l'inconscient. Barcelone: ​​Alliance Éditoriale

Jung ou la totalité de l'homme futur 4 : L'inconscient, le rêve (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes