yes, therapy helps!
The month of birth indicates the risk of suffering from some diseases

The month of birth indicates the risk of suffering from some diseases

July 14, 2024

Some researchers believe that the month in which we are born is related to trends that mark our health and our way of relating to the environment . This type of theories emphasize the importance of the stimuli that are received during the months of gestation and the first days after birth, and this sequence of stimuli could be different depending on the period of the year they cover.

The month of birth indicates the risk of suffering from some diseases

In line with this type of hypothesis, a group of researchers from Columbia University set out to investigate whether there is a correlation between the month of birth and the risk of having a list of diseases. Their conclusions seem to correspond to what they wanted to demonstrate and have been recently published in Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association.


Statistics things

This team of researchers used the existing information in databases as a raw material and searched Correlations between the moment of birth and the propensity to each disease by applying an algorithm.

The analysis of statistical data served to verify that, of the 1,688 diseases presented by the sample (1,749,400 people born between 1985 and 2013 registered in databases in New York), 55 were related to the month of birth of the group of individuals . In addition, of those 55 correlations between time of birth and risk of illness, 19 have already been found in previous studies and 20 are related to those 19.


Months and diseases

The correlations of risk of illness found are, for each month of birth, the following:

1. January : cardiomyopathy and hypertension.

2. February : lung or bronchial cancer.

3. March : arrhythmias, heart failure and mitral valve disorder.

4. April : angina

5. May : there was no greater risk of suffering from any disease due to the fact of being born in this month.

6. June : Pre-infarction syndrome.

7. July asthma

8. August : As the group of those born in May, there was no special risk of suffering from any disease.

9. September : vomiting

10. October : sexually transmitted diseases, chest infections and insect bites.


11. November : arrhythmia, mitral valve disorder and lung cancer.

12. December : only bruises.

Do not let the alarms go off!

It is convenient to assume these data with a critical sense. As has already been said a thousand times, Correlation does not mean causality , and there is nothing to indicate that the fact of being born in one month or another means that we all have some of these diseases in a latent state, waiting to manifest themselves.

This study simply uses the month of birth as a criterion to predict the frequency with which certain diseases occur in the group born at each time of the year. However, it is not a case study: it focuses on a collective phenomenon that can only be interpreted as a tendency that can only appear in very large groups of people.

Bibliographic references:

  • Boland, M.R., Shahnn, Z., Madigan, D., Hripsack, G. and Tatonetti, N. P. (2015). Birth Month Affects Lifetime Disease Risk: A Phenome-Wide Method. Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, online consultation. doi: //dx.doi.org/10.1093/jamia/ocv046

Can your birth month predict disease risk? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le mois de naissance indique le risque de souffrir de certaines maladies

Le mois de naissance indique le risque de souffrir de certaines maladies

Mai 16, 2022

Certains chercheurs pensent que le mois de notre naissance est lié aux tendances qui marquent notre santé et notre manière de nous relier à l'environnement . Ce type de théories insiste sur l’importance des stimuli reçus au cours des mois de gestation et des premiers jours qui suivent la naissance. Cette séquence de stimuli peut être différente selon la période de l’année qu’ils couvrent.

Le mois de naissance indique le risque de souffrir de certaines maladies

Conformément à ce type d’hypothèse, un groupe de chercheurs de l’Université de Columbia s’est efforcé de déterminer s’il existait une corrélation entre le mois de naissance et le risque d’avoir une liste de maladies. Leurs conclusions semblent correspondre à ce qu’elles voulaient démontrer et ont été publiées récemment dans Journal de l'American Medical Informatics Association.


Choses statistiques

Cette équipe de chercheurs a utilisé les informations existantes dans les bases de données comme matière première et a recherché Corrélations entre le moment de la naissance et la propension à chaque maladie en appliquant un algorithme.

L'analyse des données statistiques a permis de vérifier que, sur les 1 688 maladies présentées par l'échantillon (1 749 400 personnes nées entre 1985 et 2013 et enregistrées dans des bases de données à New York), 55 étaient liées au mois de naissance du groupe de personnes . En outre, sur ces 55 corrélations entre le moment de la naissance et le risque de maladie, 19 ont déjà été trouvées dans des études précédentes et 20 sont liées à ces 19.


Mois et maladies

Les corrélations de risque de maladie constatées sont, pour chaque mois de naissance, les suivantes:

1. Janvier : cardiomyopathie et hypertension.

2. Février : cancer du poumon ou des bronches.

3. Mars : arythmies, insuffisance cardiaque et trouble de la valve mitrale.

4. Avril : l'angine

5. Mai : il n'y avait pas plus de risque de souffrir d'une maladie en raison du fait d'être né dans ce mois.

6. Juin : Syndrome pré-infarctus.

7. Juillet l'asthme

8. Août : En tant que groupe de personnes nées en mai, il n’existait aucun risque particulier de souffrir de la maladie.

9. Septembre : vomissements

10. Octobre : maladies sexuellement transmissibles, infections de la poitrine et piqûres d’insectes.


11. Novembre : arythmie, trouble de la valve mitrale et cancer du poumon.

12. Décembre : seulement des ecchymoses.

Ne laissez pas les alarmes se déclencher!

Il est commode d'assumer ces données avec un sens critique. Comme on l'a déjà dit mille fois, Corrélation ne signifie pas causalité et rien n’indique que le fait d’être né dans un mois ou un autre signifie que certaines de ces maladies sont à l’état latent et attendent de se manifester.

Cette étude utilise simplement le mois de naissance comme critère pour prédire la fréquence à laquelle certaines maladies surviennent dans le groupe des personnes nées à chaque moment de l'année. Cependant, il ne s’agit pas d’une étude de cas: il s’agit d’un phénomène collectif qui ne peut être interprété que comme une tendance qui ne peut apparaître que dans de très grands groupes de personnes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Boland, M. R., Shahnn, Z., Madigan, D., Hripsack, G. et Tatonetti, N. P. (2015). Mois de naissance affecte le risque de maladie à vie: Une méthode à l'échelle du phénome. Journal de l'American Medical Informatics Association, consultation en ligne. doi: //dx.doi.org/10.1093/jamia/ocv046

Un bébé est mort après que sa maman lui ait appliqué ce remède très populaire ! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes