yes, therapy helps!
The MOSST program: a new treatment for schizophrenia

The MOSST program: a new treatment for schizophrenia

June 14, 2024

One of the problematic centers presented by schizophrenic persons is related to severe difficulties in the area of ​​interpersonal and social interaction . Positive symptoms (hallucinations or delusions), negative symptoms (difficulties in affective expression) and disorganization in language and behavior interfere very unfavorably in the daily performance in the personal, family, professional or social of the patient.

In this article we will see what is one of the tools to improve the quality of the relationship between people with schizophrenia and their social environment. This is the MOSST program: Training in Social Skills oriented towards Metacognition .


  • Related article: "What is schizophrenia? Symptoms and treatments"

Current psychological interventions in schizophrenia

Psychological interventions that have traditionally shown greater efficacy have been aimed at fostering social skills and promoting a behavioral repertoire that allows the person to develop a competent role both in the personal and in the community context. Thus, multi-component cognitive-behavioral interventions that include elements such as learning coping strategies and problem solving , behavioral tests, modeling, training in self-control and self-instruction, learning cognitive strategies and family psychoeducational interventions have proved their superiority in effectiveness in multiple investigations compared to other types of interventions where the components are worked on separately.


However, although Social Skills Training (EHS) is considered an essential part of the intervention in schizophrenia and is highly recommended in very diverse clinical contexts, according to Almerie (2015), it seems that the difficulty to apply the strategies worked during the session in the real context of the patient, the so-called capacity for generalization, compromises the effectiveness indexes of this type of treatment.

On the other hand, authors such as Barbato (2015) have shown that a fundamental deficit element refers to the difficulties at metacognitive level presented by schizophrenic people , that is, the ability to reflect and analyze one's own thoughts, feelings, attitudinal and behavioral intentions and those of others and the representation that these patients make of their daily reality.


  • Perhaps you are interested: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

What competences are worked?

Nowadays the main treatments in schizophrenia are well derived from behavior modification techniques in order to improve the psychosocial functioning of the person and decrease positive symptoms or, in a more novel way, focus on working social cognition skills to achieve greater understanding and more competence in interpersonal functioning and understanding of the mental and emotional states involved in this type of interactions.

According to the theoretical proposal of Lysaker et al. (2005) four are the basic processes of metacognition:

  • Self-reflexivity : think about one's mental states.
  • Differentiation: thinking about the mental states of others.
  • Decentralization: understand that there are other perspectives in the interpretation of reality apart from one's own.
  • Domain: integrate subjective information more broadly and adaptively.

Focusing on the promotion of the indicated skills and continuing with the proposals of Lysaker (2011), who worked on the application of a type of psychotherapy based on optimizing the power of self-reflection, or Moritz and Woodward (2007), which focused their interventions in getting patients to identify incorrect or skewed repertoires of reasoning, Ottavi et al. (2014) have developed the MOSST program (Training in Social Skills oriented to Metacognition).

Components of the MOSST program

This novel and promising initiative presents many elements in common to the main EHS and described above, although it tries to give greater emphasis to the power of generalization of the contents worked in therapy, to promote the understanding and expression of metacognitive phenomena, in addition to giving more weight to the use of the technique of modeling and role-playing .

Conditions of application

Regarding its particularities, first of all, the application of the program is carried out in a hierarchical manner, so that the simplest skills are initially addressed (for example, recognizing one's thoughts - Self-reflexivity) and, subsequently, progressing towards the training of more complex capabilities related to the Domain component.

On the other hand, the physical space where the sessions take place must be free of interruptions or interfering sounds. The environment should be relaxed and playful but safe for patients, therefore, the therapists are active agents participating, expressing self-revelations and positively validating the attendees. All this favors the establishment of a positive link between the members of the patient group and the therapists , or metacognitive facilitators (FM), who guide them in the sessions.

On a practical level, this program is designed for outpatients presenting a stable symptomatological profile without neurological diagnosis or mental retardation . The groups are made up of 5-10 people and the 90-minute sessions take place weekly. In each of them a different skill is worked. The following are included in the program:

  • Greet others
  • Listen to others .
  • Ask for information.
  • Start and end conversations.
  • Keep conversations .
  • Receive and give praise.
  • Make and reject requests.
  • Commit and negotiate.
  • Suggest activities .
  • Make constructive criticism.
  • Respond to negative reviews.
  • Apologize .
  • Express unpleasant feelings
  • Express positive feelings

The sessions are divided into two different parts. In the first place, a practice of self-reflection is performed remembering some concrete situation and answering some questions to enhance their metacognitive evocation in patients. Later the same process is performed on a live role representation and about the hearing of a narration, both issued by the therapists.

In the second block of the session a second staging is carried out by the participants, after preparation of the specific skill to be practiced, and ends with a discussion of the evaluation of the metacognitive states experienced or observed by the members of the group during the representation.

By way of conclusion: the effectiveness of MOSST

Otavii et al. (2014) have found promising results after the application of the MOSST in small groups both in patients with chronic schizophrenia and in subjects with incipient psychotic episodes .

Subsequently, once the adaptation of the program to Spanish was completed, Inchausti and his team of collaborators (2017) have corroborated the results obtained by Ottavi, achieving a high level of acceptance by patients and a high rate of therapeutic efficacy. This is transmitted in an increase in the performance of interpersonal activities, an improvement in social relations and a decrease in disruptive or aggressive behavior .

Despite all the above, due to the novelty of the proposal, Inchausti indicates the need to carry out more studies that rigorously validate what has been found by the researchers mentioned to date.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ottavi, P., D'Alia, D., Lysaker, P., Kent, J., Popolo, R., Salvatore, G. & Damaggio, G. (2014a). Metacognition-oriented social skills training for individuals with long term schizophrenia: methodology and clinical illustration. Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy, 21 (5), 465-473. doi: 10.1002 / cpp. 1850
  • Inchausti, F., García-Poveda, N.V., Prado-Abril, J., Ortuño-Sierra, J., Gainza-Tejedor, I. (2017). Training in social skills oriented to metacognition (MOSST): Theoretical framework, work methodology and description of treatment for patients with schizophrenia. Papers of the Psychologist 2017, vol. 38 (3), pp. 2014-212.

Schizophrenia Symptoms : What Is Schizophrenia? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le programme MOSST: un nouveau traitement de la schizophrénie

Le programme MOSST: un nouveau traitement de la schizophrénie

Janvier 24, 2024

L’un des centres problématiques présentés par les schizophrènes est lié à la graves difficultés dans le domaine des interactions interpersonnelles et sociales . Les symptômes positifs (hallucinations ou délires), les symptômes négatifs (difficultés d'expression affective) et la désorganisation du langage et du comportement nuisent considérablement à la performance quotidienne du patient sur le plan personnel, familial, professionnel ou social.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quel est l'un des outils permettant d'améliorer la qualité des relations entre les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie et leur environnement social. C’est le programme MOSST: Formation en compétences sociales orientée vers la métacognition .


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la schizophrénie? Symptômes et traitements"

Interventions psychologiques actuelles dans la schizophrénie

Les interventions psychologiques qui ont toujours montré une plus grande efficacité visaient à développer les compétences sociales et à promouvoir un répertoire comportemental permettant à la personne de développer un rôle compétent à la fois dans le contexte personnel et communautaire. Ainsi, les interventions cognitivo-comportementales à composantes multiples qui incluent des éléments tels que apprendre des stratégies d'adaptation et de résolution de problèmes , les tests comportementaux, la modélisation, la formation à la maîtrise de soi et à l’auto-instruction, l’apprentissage de stratégies cognitives et les interventions psychoéducatives familiales ont prouvé leur supériorité en efficacité dans de nombreuses enquêtes par rapport à d’autres types d’interventions dans lesquelles les composants sont traités séparément.


Cependant, bien que la formation d’aptitudes sociales (EHS) soit considérée comme une partie essentielle de l’intervention contre la schizophrénie et qu’elle soit fortement recommandée dans des contextes cliniques très divers, selon Almerie (2015), il semble que la difficulté à Les stratégies élaborées au cours de la séance dans le contexte réel du patient, appelée capacité de généralisation, compromettent les indices d'efficacité de ce type de traitement.

D’autre part, des auteurs tels que Barbato (2015) ont montré qu’un élément fondamental du déficit fait référence aux difficultés au niveau métacognitif présentées par les schizophrènes , c’est-à-dire la capacité de réfléchir et d’analyser ses propres pensées, sentiments, intentions de comportement et de comportement et celles des autres et la représentation que ces patients font de leur réalité quotidienne.


  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

Quelles sont les compétences travaillées?

Actuellement les principaux traitements de la schizophrénie sont bien dérivés des techniques de modification du comportement afin d'améliorer le fonctionnement psychosocial de la personne et de réduire les symptômes positifs ou, d'une manière plus nouvelle, de mettre l'accent sur les compétences cognitives sociales de travail afin de parvenir à une meilleure compréhension et à davantage de compétences dans le fonctionnement interpersonnel et la compréhension du états mentaux et émotionnels impliqués dans ce type d'interactions.

Selon la proposition théorique de Lysaker et al. (2005) quatre sont les processus de base de la métacognition:

  • Auto-réflexivité : penser à ses états mentaux.
  • Différenciation: penser aux états mentaux des autres.
  • Décentralisation: comprenez qu'il existe d'autres perspectives dans l'interprétation de la réalité en dehors de la sienne.
  • Domaine: intégrer les informations subjectives de manière plus large et adaptative.

Mettre l'accent sur la promotion des compétences indiquées et poursuivre les propositions de Lysaker (2011), qui a travaillé sur l'application d'un type de psychothérapie basée sur l'optimisation du pouvoir de l'auto-réflexion, ou de Moritz et Woodward (2007), qui ont concentré leurs interventions pour amener les patients à identifier des répertoires de raisonnement incorrects ou biaisés, Ottavi et al. (2014) ont développé le programme MOSST (Formation en compétences sociales orientée vers la métacognition).

Composantes du programme MOSST

Cette initiative nouvelle et prometteuse présente de nombreux éléments communs aux principaux EHS et décrits ci-dessus, bien qu'elle tente de mettre davantage l'accent sur le pouvoir de généralisation des contenus travaillés en thérapie, afin de promouvoir la compréhension et l'expression des phénomènes métacognitifs, en plus de donner plus de poids à l’utilisation de la technique de la modélisation et du jeu de rôle .

Conditions d'application

En ce qui concerne ses particularités, tout d’abord, l’application du programme s’effectue de manière hiérarchique, de sorte que les compétences les plus simples soient initialement abordées (par exemple, reconnaître ses pensées - réflexivité de soi) et, par la suite, progresser vers la formation de capacités plus complexes liées au composant de domaine.

D'autre part, l'espace physique dans lequel les sessions ont lieu doit être exempt d'interruptions ou de bruits parasites. L'environnement doit être détendu et ludique, mais sécurisé pour les patients. Par conséquent, les thérapeutes sont des agents actifs qui participent, expriment leurs auto-révélations et valident positivement les participants. Tout cela favorise la mise en place d’un lien positif entre les membres du groupe de patients et les thérapeutes , ou animateurs métacognitifs (FM), qui les guident dans les séances.

Sur le plan pratique, ce programme est conçu pour les patients ambulatoires présentant un profil symptomatologique stable sans diagnostic neurologique ni retard mental . Les groupes sont composés de 5 à 10 personnes et les sessions de 90 minutes ont lieu toutes les semaines. Dans chacun d'eux, une compétence différente est travaillée. Les éléments suivants sont inclus dans le programme:

  • Saluer les autres
  • Écouter les autres .
  • Demander information.
  • Commencez et terminez les conversations.
  • Tenir des conversations .
  • Recevez et félicitez.
  • Faire et rejeter des demandes.
  • Engagez-vous et négociez.
  • Proposer des activités .
  • Faire des critiques constructives.
  • Répondre aux critiques négatives.
  • Excuser .
  • Exprimer des sentiments désagréables
  • Exprimer des sentiments positifs

Les sessions sont divisées en deux parties différentes. En premier lieu, une pratique d'auto-réflexion est réalisée, rappelant une situation concrète et répondant à des questions visant à améliorer leur évocation métacognitive chez les patients. Plus tard le même processus est exécuté sur une représentation de rôle en direct et sur l'audition d'une narration, toutes deux publiées par les thérapeutes.

Dans la deuxième partie de la séance, les participants effectuent une deuxième mise en scène, après préparation de la compétence spécifique à exercer, et se terminent par une discussion sur l’évaluation des états métacognitifs vécus ou observés par les membres du groupe pendant représentation

En guise de conclusion: l'efficacité de MOSST

Otavii et al. (2014) ont trouvé des résultats prometteurs après l'application du MOSST en petits groupes à la fois chez les patients atteints de schizophrénie chronique et chez les sujets présentant des épisodes psychotiques débutants .

Par la suite, une fois l'adaptation du programme à l'espagnol achevée, Inchausti et son équipe de collaborateurs (2017) ont corroboré les résultats obtenus par Ottavi, atteignant un niveau élevé d'acceptation par les patients et d'efficacité thérapeutique. Cela se traduit par une augmentation de la performance des activités interpersonnelles, une amélioration des relations sociales et une diminution du comportement perturbateur ou agressif .

En dépit de tout ce qui précède, en raison de la nouveauté de la proposition, Inchausti souligne la nécessité de mener davantage d’études validant de manière rigoureuse les conclusions des chercheurs mentionnés à ce jour.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ottavi, P., D'Alia, D., Lysaker, P., Kent, J., Popolo, R., Salvatore, G. et Damaggio, G. (2014a). Formation aux compétences sociales axée sur la métacognition pour les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie à long terme: méthodologie et illustration clinique. Psychologie clinique et psychothérapie, 21 (5), 465-473. doi: 10.1002 / cpp. 1850
  • Inchausti, F., García-Poveda, N.V., Prado-Abril, J., Ortuño-Sierra, J., Gainza-Tejedor, I. (2017). Formation aux compétences sociales orientées vers la métacognition (MOSST): cadre théorique, méthodologie de travail et description du traitement des patients atteints de schizophrénie. Papers of the Psychologist 2017, vol. 38 (3), pp. 2014-212.

Schizophrenia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Janvier 2024).


Articles Connexes