yes, therapy helps!
The myth of Sisyphus and its punishment: the torture of a meaningless life

The myth of Sisyphus and its punishment: the torture of a meaningless life

January 22, 2022

Sisyphus is a famous character from the mythology of Ancient Greece belonging to the Homeric tradition, created around the eighth century BC. C. However, its history has transcended in the socio-cultural context of Hellenic history, because it has reached our days as one of the most important narrations linked to the importance of finding meaning in the things we do and, in general, in our lives

In the following pages we will review briefly what is the myth of Sisyphus and the stone , and in what way it can be interpreted from existentialist and humanist philosophy.

  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

Who was Sisyphus?

Sisyphus was, according to Greek mythology, the first king of the city of Éfira, currently known as Corinth . Appears characterized in the Odyssey and the Iliad as an ambitious and cruel ruler, who did not hesitate to use violence to stay in power and avoid losing influence to his adversaries, which led him to kill several people. In addition, he did not feel blushing when deceiving people and, in general, he was described as making him fulfill the characteristics of classic tricksters.


Certainly, having almost total control of a large territory and governing it was not unusual at that stage of Hellenic history, but Sisyphus had the misfortune to impose his will in violation of the rules that Zeus imposed on mortals. According to some versions of the myth, Sisyphus accused Zeus of kidnapping a nymph, while others point out that he crossed the limits by killing several travelers. At the moment in which Thanatos, death, went to look for the Greek king by order of Zeus , Sisyphus deceived the one who had to take him to the underworld by placing the chains and shackles that were destined to be used in him, so that he could not die until Ares intervened.


When the time came, the story did not end with Sisyphus staying in the underworld. True to his wicked and deceitful nature, the Greek king had asked his wife not to perform the typical rituals in honor of the dead, so that Sisyphus had an excuse to ask to return to the world of mortals to punish her. This desire was satisfied by Ares, but Sisyphus refused to return to the domain of death , so bringing him back meant causing new annoyances to the gods. There began the famous punishment of the great stone.

  • Maybe you're interested: "What are the origins of philosophy? The first thinkers"

The punishment of the Greek king: drag a stone

The penalty that Sisyphus had to fulfill was not based on physical pain, or exactly on humiliation. It was based, in any case, on the fact of experiencing first-hand the nonsense.


The punishment consisted of push a large rounded stone from the base of a mountain to its top to, once there, see how it fell rolling again to the starting point. According to some versions of the myth of Sisyphus, this punishment was (or, rather, is) practically eternal.

The pain of lack of meaning in life

As we have said, Sisyphus is a man who did not exist beyond the framework of narratives that structured the belief system of a large part of ancient Greek society. But even if it only belongs to the field of myths and fictions, his figure has something that is easy to identify even in the contemporary era. Because his story tells us about the tragedy of living an absurd , something that does not lead to anything.

The story of Sisyphus connects very well with existentialist philosophy , which in turn has greatly influenced the humanistic paradigm of psychology. This set of philosophers are characterized by worrying about the phenomenological aspect of the experiences, that is, what is subjective, private and non-transferable to other people, linked to the consciousness of each one and to the sensations that can not be expressed totally by the words .

That is why the way in which we give meaning to life, which is an aspect of life that can not be exhausted by naming it through language, is something very much explored by existentialists. And that is why one of the most important existentialist thinkers, Albert Camus , he dedicated to that piece of Greek mythology a book: The myth of Sisyphus.

  • Related article: "The existentialist theory of Albert Camus"

Camus and the myth of Sisyphus

For Camus, the main philosophical question that must be addressed is: what is the aspect of life that makes it worth living? Or, more succinctly: What is it that makes suicide not the option that seduces us the most? Circumstantial pleasure can invade our consciousness at a given moment, but in itself it does not make our lives worthwhile. What can make it worthwhile, on the other hand, is to make our actions fit into a vital project that makes sense.

But another of the usual premises from which the existentialists start is that life itself has no meaning. This is so because to assume that yes it does it would be to accept also that beyond the own one of the things there is something more, a story that structures and vertebla the reality; but this does not happen. Reality is simply, it exists, and nothing else . That is why, for Camus, it is oneself who must embrace the project of giving meaning to life, and not fall into the trap of adopting an existence like the one Sisyphus had by dragging the stone up and down again and again.


The Philosophy of Albert Camus - Absurd (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le mythe de Sisyphe et son châtiment: le supplice d'une vie sans signification

Le mythe de Sisyphe et son châtiment: le supplice d'une vie sans signification

Mai 16, 2022

Sisyphe est un personnage célèbre de la mythologie de la Grèce antique appartenant à la tradition homérique, créée autour du VIIIe siècle av. C. Cependant, son histoire s’est transcendée dans le contexte socioculturel de l’histoire hellénique, car c’est devenu l’une de nos narrations les plus importantes, liée à l’importance de trouver un sens à ce que nous faisons et en général à notre des vies

Dans les pages suivantes, nous passerons brièvement en revue quel est le mythe de Sisyphe et de la pierre et comment elle peut être interprétée à partir de la philosophie existentialiste et humaniste.

  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

Qui était Sisyphe?

Sisyphe était, selon la mythologie grecque, le premier roi de la ville d'Éfira, actuellement connue sous le nom de Corinthe . Apparaît dans l'Odyssée et l'Iliade comme un dirigeant ambitieux et cruel, qui n'a pas hésité à utiliser la violence pour rester au pouvoir et à ne pas perdre l'influence de ses adversaires, ce qui l'a conduit à tuer plusieurs personnes. En outre, il ne se sentait pas rougir lorsqu'il trompait les gens et, en général, il était décrit comme le faisant remplir les caractéristiques des escrocs classiques.


Certes, avoir le contrôle presque total d'un grand territoire et le gouverner n'était pas inhabituel à ce stade de l'histoire hellénique, mais Sisyphe eut le malheur d'imposer sa volonté en violation des règles que Zeus imposait aux mortels. Selon certaines versions du mythe, Sisyphe a accusé Zeus d'avoir enlevé une nymphe, tandis que d'autres soulignent qu'il a franchi les limites en tuant plusieurs voyageurs. Au moment où Thanatos, la mort, est allé chercher le roi grec par ordre de Zeus , Sisyphe a trompé celui qui devait l'emmener aux enfers en plaçant les chaînes et les fers destinés à être utilisés en lui, afin qu'il ne puisse pas mourir avant l'intervention d'Ares.


Quand le moment est venu, l'histoire ne s'est pas terminée avec le séjour de Sisyphe dans le monde souterrain. Fidèle à sa nature perverse et trompeuse, le roi grec avait demandé à sa femme de ne pas accomplir les rituels typiques en l'honneur des morts, de sorte que Sisyphe avait une excuse pour demander de retourner dans le monde des mortels pour la punir. Ce désir a été satisfait par Ares, mais Sisyphe a refusé de retourner au domaine de la mort donc le ramener signifiait causer de nouveaux ennuis aux dieux. Là commença le fameux châtiment de la grande pierre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Quelles sont les origines de la philosophie? Les premiers penseurs"

Le châtiment du roi grec: traîner une pierre

La peine que Sisyphe devait accomplir n'était pas basée sur la douleur physique, ni sur l'humiliation. En tout état de cause, elle reposait sur le fait de faire l'expérience directe du non-sens.


La punition consistait en poussez une grande pierre arrondie de la base d'une montagne à son sommet une fois là-bas, voyez comment il est tombé à nouveau au point de départ. Selon certaines versions du mythe de Sisyphe, cette punition était (ou plutôt est) pratiquement éternelle.

La douleur du manque de sens dans la vie

Comme nous l’avons dit, Sisyphe est un homme qui n’existait pas au-delà du cadre narratif structurant le système de croyances d’une grande partie de la société grecque antique. Mais même s'il n'appartient qu'au domaine des mythes et des fictions, sa figure a quelque chose de facile à identifier, même à l'époque contemporaine. Parce que son histoire nous parle de la tragédie de vivre une absurde , quelque chose qui ne mène à rien.

L'histoire de Sisyphe se connecte très bien avec la philosophie existentialiste , ce qui à son tour a grandement influencé le paradigme humaniste de la psychologie. Ces philosophes se caractérisent par l’inquiétude de l’aspect phénoménologique des expériences, c’est-à-dire ce qui est subjectif, privé et incessible, lié à la conscience de chacun et aux sensations que les mots ne peuvent exprimer totalement .

C’est pourquoi la manière dont nous donnons un sens à la vie, qui est un aspect de la vie qui ne peut être épuisé en le nommant par le langage, est très explorée par les existentialistes. Et c'est pourquoi l'un des plus importants penseurs existentialistes, Albert Camus , il a dédié à ce morceau de la mythologie grecque un livre: Le mythe de Sisyphe.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie existentialiste d'Albert Camus"

Camus et le mythe de Sisyphe

Pour Camus, la principale question philosophique à laquelle il faut répondre est la suivante: quel aspect de la vie vaut-il la peine de vivre? Ou, plus succinctement: Qu'est-ce qui fait que le suicide n'est pas l'option qui nous séduit le plus? Le plaisir circonstanciel peut envahir notre conscience à un moment donné, mais en soi il ne rend pas nos vies valables. En revanche, ce qui peut en valoir la peine, c’est d’intégrer nos actions dans un projet vital qui a du sens.

Mais un autre des prémisses habituelles à la base des existentialistes est que la vie elle-même n’a pas de sens. En effet, supposer que oui, c’est accepter aussi qu’au-delà de la propre chose, il ya quelque chose de plus, une histoire qui structure et fait de la vertèbre une réalité; mais cela n'arrive pas. La réalité est simplement, elle existe et rien d'autre . C’est pourquoi, pour Camus, c’est soi-même qui doit accepter le projet de donner un sens à la vie et ne pas tomber dans le piège d’adopter une existence semblable à celle que Sisyphe avait en traînant la pierre encore et encore.


Les Enfers et Styx - Mythos Grec - Hors Série - #01 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes