yes, therapy helps!
The next female Viagra may not be a drug

The next female Viagra may not be a drug

January 22, 2022

Female sexuality has been ignored for much of history , and that also shows in the scientific progress that has been made on the subject. A paradigmatic case is that of sexual enhancers: there is not yet a version of Viagra for women that can be compared to its male counterpart in terms of efficacy and lightness of side effects.

However, this could be changing now, with the appearance on stage of an alternative that consists of a type of intervention not based on drugs and that acts directly on the brain.

The fiasco of Addyi

Not so long ago that the pill that was unofficially called "female Viagra" began to be commercialized.


Its real name is Addyi, and although the press spread its properties with enthusiasm, it did not take long to be very ineffective when it came to increasing sexual desire, and it has also been seen that its side effects are too intense to consider this product a hopeful alternative.

These disappointing results have meant that many researchers have decided to tackle the problem from scratch, without taking too many things for granted. One of the methods of sexual enhancement for women that is being tested and that offers more promising results is, for example, a tool that is not even based on the release of an active ingredient through pills. In this case, the key is to stimulate parts of the brain by signals that act through the scalp and the bones of the skull.


Viagra for women, acting directly on the brain

This promising tool has two different variants, although both are based on the use of electric shocks on parts of the brain related to the experimentation of pleasure and the reward system, all without surgery.

An occasional help to feel more desire

One of these two tools is called Direct Current Stimulation (DCS) and consists of placing a device on the head, which sends a diffuse electrical signal for about 20 minutes over strategically chosen areas of the brain.

This stimulation does not serve by itself to experience greater sexual desire; its function is to make a greater variety of stimuli collected by the senses be appreciated as sexually suggestive . That is, the DCS serves to predispose.


An option to increase libido in women permanently

The second option that is working to intervene in the lack of sexual desire in women is called Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS). This is a tool that began being studied basically as a resource to treat depression resistant to therapies (being effective in such problems). Basically, the TMS involves the creation of a magnetic field around the head by which areas of the brain are stimulated that are related to the reward system. All this, without pain.

Specifically, it enhances the activity of those brain regions that react to pleasure and in general, that which is perceived as a reward (and which we therefore want to repeat). It is precisely these areas that show less activity than normal in women who notice that they perceive a problem in their lack of sexual desire.

In this way, TMS allows those areas of the brain that remain in an unusually low activation state in women with a lack of sexual desire to become activated as they do in most people, but without crossing that threshold. That is, there would be no risk of going over and generating the opposite problem.

The results obtained through the use of this technique are very promising. Through an experiment whose results have been published in PLoS ONE and in which 20 men and women participated, it was found that the TMS caused the activation patterns of the parts of the brain that mediate the appearance of pleasure to be significantly more intense.

Stimulate the brain, but without drugs

Both methods of brain stimulation have many advantages. Unlike treatment with drugs, they go to the root of the problem without going through the metabolism of substances circulating in the blood, and therefore their side effects should be much lower.

Further, these two options in development pose different approaches . The TMS is used with the aim of introducing long-term changes in the functioning of the brain after going through a series of sessions in the clinic, while the DCS proposes an instantaneous solution whose effects only last a few minutes, just as the Conventional Viagra

Of course, there will always be a debate about whether the lack of sexual desire is in itself a clinical problem or not; It may be that the problem is not of the person.However, that discussion can not overshadow the fact that developing solutions for those women who want to increase their sexual desire is beneficial.


Acupuncture Treatments : Acupuncture for Erectile Dysfunction (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La prochaine femme Viagra peut ne pas être un médicament

La prochaine femme Viagra peut ne pas être un médicament

Janvier 22, 2022

La sexualité féminine a été ignorée pendant une grande partie de l'histoire , et cela se voit aussi dans les progrès scientifiques réalisés sur le sujet. Un cas paradigmatique est celui des stimulants sexuels: il n’existe pas encore de version de Viagra pour femme qui puisse être comparée à son homologue masculine en termes d’efficacité et de légèreté des effets secondaires.

Cependant, cela pourrait changer maintenant, avec l’apparition sur le stade d’une alternative qui consiste en un type d’intervention non basée sur la drogue et qui agit directement sur le cerveau.

Le fiasco d'Addyi

Il n'y a pas si longtemps, la pilule appelée officieusement "Viagra féminin" a commencé à être commercialisée.


Son vrai nom est Addyi et, bien que la presse ait répandu ses propriétés avec enthousiasme, il n’a pas fallu longtemps pour qu’il devienne très inefficace face à l’augmentation du désir sexuel et on a également constaté que ses effets secondaires étaient trop intenses pour envisager ce produit. une alternative prometteuse.

Ces résultats décevants ont amené de nombreux chercheurs à s’attaquer au problème sans prendre trop de choses pour acquis. L'une des méthodes d'amélioration de la sexualité pour les femmes testées et offrant des résultats plus prometteurs est, par exemple, un outil qui n'est même pas basé sur la libération d'un principe actif par le biais de pilules. Dans ce cas, la clé est de stimuler des parties du cerveau par des signaux qui agissent à travers le cuir chevelu et les os du crâne.


Viagra pour les femmes, agissant directement sur le cerveau

Cet outil prometteur a deux variantes différentes, bien que les deux sont basés sur l'utilisation de chocs électriques sur des parties du cerveau liées à l'expérimentation du plaisir et le système de récompense, le tout sans chirurgie.

Une aide occasionnelle pour ressentir plus de désir

L’un de ces deux outils s’appelle Stimulation par courant continu (DCS) consiste à placer un dispositif sur la tête, qui envoie un signal électrique diffus pendant environ 20 minutes sur des zones du cerveau choisies de manière stratégique.

Cette stimulation ne sert pas à elle seule à faire l'expérience d'un plus grand désir sexuel; sa fonction est de faire en sorte qu'une plus grande variété de stimuli recueillis par les sens soit perçue comme sexuellement suggestive . C'est-à-dire que le DCS sert à prédisposer.


Une option pour augmenter durablement la libido chez les femmes

La deuxième option visant à lutter contre le manque de désir sexuel chez les femmes est appelée stimulation magnétique transcrânienne (SMT). C’est un outil qui a commencé à faire l’objet d’une étude fondamentale en tant que ressource pour traiter la dépression résistante aux thérapies (qui est efficace dans de tels problèmes). Fondamentalement, le TMS implique la création d'un champ magnétique autour de la tête par lequel les zones du cerveau qui sont liées au système de récompense sont stimulées. Tout ça sans douleur.

Plus précisément, il renforce l'activité des régions du cerveau qui réagissent au plaisir et, en général, à ce qui est perçu comme une récompense (et que nous souhaitons par conséquent répéter). Ce sont précisément ces domaines qui montrent moins d'activité que la normale chez les femmes qui s'aperçoivent qu'elles perçoivent un problème en raison de leur manque de désir sexuel.

De cette manière, le TMS permet aux zones du cerveau qui restent dans un état d'activation inhabituellement bas chez les femmes sans désir sexuel de s'activer comme elles le font chez la plupart des gens, mais sans dépasser ce seuil. Autrement dit, il n’y aurait aucun risque de passer outre et de générer le problème opposé.

Les résultats obtenus en utilisant cette technique sont très prometteurs. Grâce à une expérience dont les résultats ont été publiés dans PLoS ONE et à laquelle 20 hommes et femmes ont participé, il a été constaté que le TMS entraînait une intensification significative des schémas d'activation des parties du cerveau responsables de l'apparition du plaisir.

Stimuler le cerveau, mais sans drogue

Les deux méthodes de stimulation cérébrale présentent de nombreux avantages. Contrairement au traitement médicamenteux, ils vont au fond du problème sans passer par le métabolisme des substances circulant dans le sang et leurs effets secondaires devraient donc être beaucoup moins importants.

En outre, ces deux options en développement posent des approches différentes . Le TMS est utilisé dans le but d'introduire des changements à long terme dans le fonctionnement du cerveau après une série de séances en clinique, tandis que le DCS propose une solution instantanée dont les effets ne durent que quelques minutes, tout comme le Viagra conventionnel

Bien sûr, il y aura toujours un débat pour savoir si le manque de désir sexuel est en soi un problème clinique ou non; Il se peut que le problème ne soit pas de la personne.Cependant, cette discussion ne peut occulter le fait que le développement de solutions pour les femmes qui souhaitent augmenter leur désir sexuel est bénéfique.

Articles Connexes