yes, therapy helps!
The non-pharmacological treatment of dementia: does it work?

The non-pharmacological treatment of dementia: does it work?

May 24, 2022

Dementias are neurodegenerative disorders of generally organic origin that are characterized by the progressive loss of mental faculties generated by the degeneration of neuronal tissue.

Although these are chronic, progressive and generally irreversible disorders, different treatments and therapies have been developed that allow delaying the process and improving the autonomy and functionality of the person on a day-to-day basis. Some of them are pharmacological, while others are part of non-pharmacological therapies or treatments of dementia . Do these treatments work? Throughout this article we will make a brief reflection on it.


  • Related article: "Types of dementia: the 8 forms of loss of cognition"

What are non-pharmacological therapies?

Non-pharmacological therapies are referred to any set of techniques, strategies and treatments dedicated to the improvement or overcoming of a disorder or illness without resorting during its application to the use of pharmacological elements . The element of these therapies that contribute to the improvement of the patient is the interaction between the professional and the patient and the different techniques and strategies used by the former.

These types of therapies are based on and extracted from scientific knowledge, being precise that they are validated and replicable and that they are capable of generating a significant benefit or benefit in the subject in which they are applied. It is important to bear in mind that although these therapies are non-pharmacological in themselves, they are often accompanied by a pharmacological treatment (whether this is the main one or used as a support system for non-pharmacological treatment), contributing to the success of the other. These types of treatments do not apply to anyone, given that a diagnosis is required for its implementation .


In addition to the theory, these interventions must take into account the values, beliefs and experiences of the patient and environment, being these fundamental elements at the time of whether or not there is a therapeutic success in most cases in which they apply.

All the contributions of medicine that do not require chemical agents in the form of drugs (for example, the ablation of parts of the organism, dialysis, laser treatments), those of psychology (both clinic and health as in other areas) and other disciplines related to the field of health such as occupational therapy, speech therapy or physiotherapy .

It is possible to apply them to a large number of areas, disorders and alterations, ranging from the application of coadjuvant treatments with pharmacology in the case of chronic diseases such as diabetes to the application of psychological therapy in different mental disorders or the recovery of functions of a subject after suffering brain injuries.


  • You may be interested: "A neurodegenerative disease that affects many people in their old age."

Non-pharmacological treatment of dementia

One of the fields of application where non-pharmacological treatments are used, and in fact one of the most common, is in the treatment of dementias. Dementias are the set of alterations generated by neurodegenerative diseases usually incurable, progressive and chronic in which the subject loses one or more mental faculties over time.

We are facing disorders in which there is no curative medical treatment, focusing interventions on alleviating symptoms and delaying the loss of functions while trying to improve the functioning and autonomy of the subject by providing different strategies and trying to recover, optimize or compensate lost functions. In this ambit there are some drugs that slow the progression of the disorder (For example, in the case of Alzheimer's, tacrine and / or donepezil are used), but non-pharmacological therapies are generally much more well-known and useful.

In general, non-pharmacological therapies in the treatment of dementia focus on improving the quality of life of the patient and their capacity for autonomy, a preservation of mental functions for as long as possible, an experience less traumatic and more positive possible of the disorder, the management of fears, doubts and feelings of the patient and their environment or the learning of strategies that allow to optimize the abilities of the subject and compensate for their deficits in such a way that they imply the lowest level of disability possible.

The application of this type of therapies usually requires the collaboration of a multidisciplinary team, with the presence of areas such as psychology, medicine, occupational therapy, speech therapy and physiotherapy as well as the social field.

Therapies or treatments most used in patients with dementia

There are a large number of possible non-pharmacological interventions that can be carried out in patients with dementia, with stimulation being one of the main objectives. Some of the therapies that have been classified as non-pharmacological treatment in these patients are the following.

1. Cognitive stimulation

One of the main and best known, cognitive stimulation aims that the subject activates his mental faculties at a general level , through different activities, and their orientation is facilitated. Memory and memory, association and information processing elements are often used for this purpose.

2. Cognitive training

Strengthening and learning of operations, elements and concrete strategies to achieve the improvement of a particular cognitive skill or scope .

3. Cognitive rehabilitation

Rehabilitation focuses on processes and skills that are deteriorated or deteriorating , seeking recovery, replacement, compensation and optimization.

4. Training in daily living skills

According to the dementia advances, the subjects who suffer them will be manifesting an increasing difficulty in carrying out basic activities for their day to day, such as maintaining hygiene habits, using the telephone or even feeding or going to the bathroom. That is why training in these skills allows to strengthen the patient's autonomy .

5. Reminiscence Therapy

A type of therapy used in patients with dementia in order to help them remember and re-elaborate their experiences, strengthening them in their memory and facilitating the maintenance of a coherent vital narrative. Photos, very relevant events or songs among other elements can be used.

6. Assisted Therapy with Animals

Both in dementia and other mental disorders it has been shown that bonding with animals and especially with pets has a beneficial effect in the mental and social functioning of the patient, while improving their motivation and affectivity. A wide variety of animals can be used, the use of dogs being very common.

  • Related article: "The benefits of dog therapy"

7. Music therapy

Music therapy is one of the non-pharmacological treatments that are used, among other areas, in dementia. Music, whether listened to passively or generated by the patients themselves, can improve cognitive functions and often serves as a reinforcement. Track rhythms, spontaneous elaborations or recognition of songs and melodies and their characteristics are some of the activities that are proposed.

8. Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy, generally of cognitive-behavioral type but it can also come from other currents and schools such as the systemic one, it can be useful not only in cognitive training but also in the treatment of emotional problems, stress management and mourning due to the loss of skills or training in skills like social ones.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

9. Phototherapy

Light therapy It is usually used in people with depressive-type problems, especially in seasonal affective disorder. It is based on exposure to different types and intensities of light with the aim of regulating circadian rhythms.

10. Relaxation

Application of relaxation techniques to relieve stress and anxiety , through breathing and muscle tension.

11. Recreational therapy

Therapy based on the use of playful activities and guided games to generate improvements in the capacities and emotional states of the patient.

12. Art therapy and expressive therapies

It is based on the elaboration of artistic elements as a mechanism for strengthen the patient's abilities and affective expression . Dance therapy, theater, painting or sculpture can be included.

13. Physical exercise and physiotherapy

The realization of exercise and the realization of massages are important elements in order to keep the patient stimulated, preserve psychomotor skills and generate pleasant bodily sensations .

14. Speech therapy

The ability to communicate is altered in a large number of dementias. The training and strengthening in this skill is very useful, helping patients to be able to express themselves correctly and improving your speech skills .

15. Occupational therapy

Discipline in which different types of occupations or activities are used (including some of the above) in order to strengthen autonomy and quality of life. Both cognitive and physical aspects are worked , ensuring that the activities carried out are linked to those carried out in the day to day of the subject.

Oriented to different focuses

When we think of non-pharmacological treatment of dementia, we usually think of the set of strategies that are used without necessarily having pharmacological agents on the patient to cause their improvement, optimization or preservation of faculties for as long as possible.

However, it must be borne in mind that although the identified patient is the main focus of attention, different techniques and non-pharmacological treatments are also applied to the rest of the elements linked to him: his family and environment and the team of professionals who attend him .

Patient

As mentioned, the patient is the main focus of attention on which treatments, both non-pharmacological and pharmacological, are applied. The previous examples of therapies and treatments are applied in this one. It's important to put attention on It is not only about preserving skills, but about improving their quality of life as much as possible . Their emotional needs must also be addressed and their motivation must be maintained.

Family / Environment

Although the patient is the one who suffers from dementia, also the environment and the loved ones of the subject they will experience a high level of suffering and doubts . Generally, some of them will act as caregivers of the subject, depending on how they are losing autonomy and abilities, and they will have to face difficult and painful situations.

Among the most common interventions are psychoeducation, training in general and specific care, support and counseling, psychotherapy (the presence of high levels of stress and in some cases emotional problems is common), assistance to support groups and the use of services such as day centers or home help. Usually, multicomponent programs that take into account elements of different branches and techniques are used, and in fact are the most effective.

Professionals

In some cases, subjects with dementia are left to the care of professionals or services to whom non-pharmacological treatment can also be applied. This is what happens with people who offer their services as caregivers, internal or external They coexist with patients and help them in their day to day or nursing homes . We could also include professionals in medicine and psychology with frequent contact with this type of patient.

The training in caring for the subject and the search for decent alternatives in those serious cases that do not involve the restriction of the person's movements are some of the elements that are part of the elements that are taught. Psychotherapy and counseling may also be required , both for those who are in contact with a patient and for those who face the process of diagnosis and treatment (at the end of the day they are facing a situation in which they see how a person gradually loses faculties).

Do they work?

There have been many studies on the functioning and effectiveness of different therapies and treatments applied in the case of dementia. Although there is the complication that studies of this type of treatment are more complicated to carry out given the high number of variables involved and the differences in the possibility of maintaining certain types of intervention, the results are favorable to its application .

Non-pharmacological treatment has been highly recommended, since it greatly improves the quality of life of the patient and their caregivers, the maintenance and improvement of the basic activities of daily life and the maintenance of a more positive affective tone in comparison with the absence of this type of treatments.

In fact, it is considered first choice treatment given that it generates an improvement in behavioral and cognitive aspects similar to that of personal pharmacology without its side effects. The most recommended is the cognitive stimulation and the preparation of advice from caregivers (whether family or professional)

Bibliographic references

  • Olazarán, J. and Muñiz, R. (2009). Map of Non-Pharmacological Therapies for Alzheimer's Type Dementias. Technical initiation guide for professionals. Maria Wolff Foundation and International Non Pharmacological Therapies Project.

Diagnosis and Management of Vascular Dementia | UCLAMDCHAT Webinars (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le traitement non pharmacologique de la démence: ça marche?

Le traitement non pharmacologique de la démence: ça marche?

Janvier 27, 2023

Les démences sont des troubles neurodégénératifs d’origine généralement organique caractérisées par la perte progressive de facultés mentales générées par la dégénérescence des tissus neuronaux.

Bien qu’il s’agisse de troubles chroniques, progressifs et généralement irréversibles, différents traitements et thérapies ont été développés pour permettre de retarder le processus et d’améliorer l’autonomie et la fonctionnalité de la personne au quotidien. Certains sont pharmacologiques, alors que d'autres font partie de thérapies ou de traitements non pharmacologiques de la démence . Ces traitements fonctionnent-ils? Tout au long de cet article, nous allons faire une brève réflexion à ce sujet.


  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: les 8 formes de perte de connaissance"

Que sont les thérapies non pharmacologiques?

Les thérapies non pharmacologiques désignent tout ensemble de techniques, stratégies et traitements dédiés à l'amélioration ou la résolution d'un trouble ou d'une maladie sans recourir, lors de son application, à l'utilisation d'éléments pharmacologiques . L'élément de ces thérapies qui contribue à l'amélioration du patient est l'interaction entre le professionnel et le patient et les différentes techniques et stratégies utilisées par le précédent.

Ces types de thérapies sont basées sur des connaissances scientifiques et sont extraites de celles-ci, en précisant qu'elles sont validées et reproductibles et qu'elles sont capables de générer un bénéfice significatif ou bénéfique pour le sujet dans lequel elles sont appliquées. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que, bien que ces thérapies soient non pharmacologiques en elles-mêmes, elles sont souvent accompagnées d'un traitement pharmacologique (qu'il soit principal ou utilisé comme système de soutien pour un traitement non pharmacologique), contribuant ainsi au succès de l'autre. Ces types de traitements ne s'appliquent à personne, étant donné que un diagnostic est nécessaire pour sa mise en œuvre .


En plus de la théorie, ces interventions doivent tenir compte des valeurs, des croyances et des expériences du patient et de son environnement, qui sont ces éléments fondamentaux au moment de déterminer s’il existe ou non un succès thérapeutique dans la plupart des cas où elles s’appliquent.

Tous les apports de médicaments ne nécessitant pas d’agents chimiques sous forme de médicaments (par exemple, l’ablation de parties de l’organisme, la dialyse, les traitements au laser), ceux de psychologie (à la fois clinique et santé comme dans d’autres domaines) et autres disciplines liées au domaine de la santé telles que l'ergothérapie, l'orthophonie ou la physiothérapie .

Il est possible de les appliquer à un grand nombre de domaines, troubles et modifications, allant de l'application de traitements coadjuvants à la pharmacologie dans le cas de maladies chroniques telles que le diabète à l'application de la thérapie psychologique à différents troubles mentaux ou à la récupération des fonctions d'un patient. sujet après avoir subi des lésions cérébrales.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Une maladie neurodégénérative qui affecte beaucoup de personnes âgées."

Traitement non pharmacologique de la démence

L'un des domaines d'application des traitements non pharmacologiques, et en fait l'un des plus courants, est le traitement des démences. Les démences sont l'ensemble des altérations générées par les maladies neurodégénératives généralement incurable, progressive et chronique dans lequel le sujet perd une ou plusieurs facultés mentales au fil du temps.

Nous sommes confrontés à des troubles pour lesquels il n’existe aucun traitement médical curatif, axés sur des interventions visant à soulager les symptômes et à retarder la perte de fonctions tout en cherchant à améliorer le fonctionnement et l’autonomie du sujet en proposant différentes stratégies et en essayant de récupérer, d’optimiser ou de compenser. fonctions perdues. Dans ce domaine il y a des médicaments qui ralentissent la progression de la maladie (Par exemple, dans le cas de la maladie d'Alzheimer, on utilise de la tacrine et / ou du donépézil), mais les thérapies non pharmacologiques sont généralement beaucoup plus connues et utiles.

En général, les thérapies non pharmacologiques dans le traitement de la démence visent à améliorer la qualité de vie du patient et sa capacité d'autonomie, à préserver les fonctions mentales le plus longtemps possible, à faire l'expérience moins traumatisants et plus positifs possibles du trouble, la gestion des peurs, des doutes et des sentiments du patient et de son environnement ou l'apprentissage de stratégies permettant d'optimiser les capacités du sujet et compenser leurs déficits de manière à ce qu'ils impliquent le niveau d'invalidité le plus bas possible

L'application de ce type de thérapies nécessite généralement la collaboration d'une équipe multidisciplinaire, avec la présence de domaines tels que la psychologie, la médecine, l'ergothérapie, l'orthophonie et la physiothérapie, ainsi que le domaine social.

Thérapies ou traitements les plus utilisés chez les patients atteints de démence

Un grand nombre d'interventions non pharmacologiques possibles peuvent être réalisées chez des patients atteints de démence, la stimulation étant l'un des objectifs principaux. Certains des traitements classés comme traitement non pharmacologique chez ces patients sont les suivants.

1. Stimulation cognitive

Un des objectifs principaux et les mieux connus de la stimulation cognitive que le sujet active ses facultés mentales à un niveau général , à travers différentes activités, et leur orientation est facilitée. La mémoire et la mémoire, les éléments d'association et de traitement de l'information sont souvent utilisés à cette fin.

2. Entraînement cognitif

Renforcement et apprentissage d'opérations, d'éléments et de stratégies concrètes pour améliorer une compétence ou une portée cognitive particulière .

3. Réhabilitation cognitive

La réhabilitation se concentre sur les processus et les compétences qui se détériorent ou se détériorent , recherche de reprise, remplacement, compensation et optimisation.

4. Formation aux compétences de la vie quotidienne

Selon les progrès de la démence, les sujets qui en souffriront éprouveront de plus en plus de difficultés à effectuer les activités de base de leur quotidien, telles que le maintien des habitudes d’hygiène, l’utilisation du téléphone, voire l’alimentation ou la toilette. C’est pourquoi la formation à ces compétences permet de renforcer l'autonomie du patient .

5. Thérapie de réminiscence

Un type de thérapie utilisé chez les patients atteints de démence afin de les aider à se rappeler et à ré-élaborer leurs expériences, en les renforçant dans leur mémoire et en facilitant le maintien d'un récit vital et cohérent. Des photos, des événements très pertinents ou des chansons parmi d'autres éléments peuvent être utilisés.

6. Thérapie assistée avec des animaux

Tant dans la démence que dans d'autres troubles mentaux il a été démontré que les liens avec les animaux, en particulier les animaux domestiques, ont un effet bénéfique dans le fonctionnement mental et social du patient, tout en améliorant sa motivation et son affectivité. Une grande variété d'animaux peut être utilisée, l'utilisation de chiens étant très courante.

  • Article connexe: "Les avantages de la thérapie par le chien"

7. Musicothérapie

La musicothérapie est l'un des traitements non pharmacologiques utilisés, entre autres domaines, dans la démence. La musique, écoutée passivement ou générée par les patients eux-mêmes, peut améliorer les fonctions cognitives et sert souvent de renforcement. Les rythmes de piste, les élaborations spontanées ou la reconnaissance de chansons et de mélodies et de leurs caractéristiques font partie des activités proposées.

8. Psychothérapie

Psychothérapie, généralement de type cognitivo-comportemental mais il peut aussi provenir d’autres courants et d’écoles comme le système, il peut être utile non seulement pour l’entraînement cognitif, mais aussi pour le traitement des problèmes émotionnels, la gestion du stress et le deuil dû à la perte de compétences compétences comme sociales.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: qu'est-ce que c'est et sur quels principes est-elle basée?"

9. Photothérapie

Luminothérapie Il est généralement utilisé chez les personnes présentant des problèmes de type dépressif, en particulier dans les troubles affectifs saisonniers. Il est basé sur une exposition à différents types et intensités de lumière dans le but de réguler les rythmes circadiens.

10. Détente

Application de techniques de relaxation soulager le stress et l'anxiété , par la respiration et la tension musculaire.

11. Thérapie récréative

Thérapie basée sur l’utilisation d’activités ludiques et de jeux guidés pour améliorer les capacités et les états émotionnels du patient.

12. Art thérapie et thérapies expressives

Il s’appuie sur l’élaboration d’éléments artistiques en tant que mécanisme de renforcer les capacités et l'expression affective du patient . Danse thérapie, théâtre, peinture ou sculpture peuvent être inclus.

13. Exercice physique et physiothérapie

La réalisation d'exercices et la réalisation de massages sont des éléments importants pour que le patient reste stimulé, préserver les aptitudes psychomotrices et générer des sensations corporelles agréables .

14. Orthophonie

La capacité de communiquer est altérée dans un grand nombre de démences. La formation et le renforcement de cette compétence sont très utiles car ils permettent aux patients de s’exprimer correctement et améliorer vos capacités de parole .

15. Ergothérapie

Discipline dans laquelle différents types de professions ou d’activités sont utilisés (y compris certaines des précédentes) pour renforcer l’autonomie et la qualité de la vie. Les aspects cognitifs et physiques sont travaillés , en veillant à ce que les activités réalisées soient liées à celles menées au jour le jour.

Orienté vers différents foyers

Lorsque nous pensons au traitement non pharmacologique de la démence, nous pensons généralement à l’ensemble des stratégies utilisées sans nécessairement avoir des agents pharmacologiques sur le patient afin d’améliorer, d’optimiser ou de préserver les facultés le plus longtemps possible.

Cependant, il faut garder à l'esprit que, bien que le patient identifié soit le centre d'attention, différentes techniques et traitements non pharmacologiques sont également appliqués au reste des éléments qui lui sont liés: sa famille et son environnement et l'équipe de professionnels qui l'accompagne. .

Patient

Comme mentionné, le patient est le centre d'attention principal sur quels traitements, à la fois non pharmacologiques et pharmacologiques, sont appliqués. Les exemples précédents de thérapies et de traitements sont appliqués dans celui-ci. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que Il ne s'agit pas seulement de préserver les compétences, mais d'améliorer leur qualité de vie autant que possible. . Leurs besoins émotionnels doivent également être pris en compte et leur motivation doit être maintenue.

Famille / Environnement

Bien que le patient soit celui qui souffre de démence, l'environnement et les êtres chers du sujet ils connaîtront beaucoup de souffrances et de doutes . En général, certains d'entre eux agiront en tant qu'aidants du sujet, en fonction de la perte d'autonomie et de leurs capacités, et devront faire face à des situations difficiles et douloureuses.

Parmi les interventions les plus courantes figurent la psychoéducation, la formation aux soins généraux et spécifiques, le soutien et le conseil, la psychothérapie (la présence de hauts niveaux de stress et, dans certains cas, de problèmes émotionnels est courante), utilisation de services tels que centres de jour ou aide à domicile. Habituellement, les programmes à plusieurs composants qui prennent en compte des éléments de différentes branches et techniques sont utilisés et sont en fait les plus efficaces.

Les professionnels

Dans certains cas, les sujets atteints de démence sont confiés à des professionnels ou à des services auxquels un traitement non pharmacologique peut également être appliqué. C’est ce qui se passe avec les personnes qui offrent leurs services en tant que soignants, internes ou externes. Ils coexistent avec les patients et les aident au quotidien ou dans les maisons de retraite . Nous pourrions également inclure des professionnels de la médecine et de la psychologie ayant des contacts fréquents avec ce type de patient.

La formation aux soins du sujet et la recherche de solutions de rechange décentes dans les cas graves qui n'impliquent pas de restriction des mouvements de la personne font partie des éléments faisant partie des éléments enseignés. Une psychothérapie et des conseils peuvent également être nécessaires , à la fois pour ceux qui sont en contact avec un patient et pour ceux qui font face au processus de diagnostic et de traitement (à la fin de la journée, ils sont confrontés à une situation dans laquelle ils voient comment une personne perd progressivement ses facultés).

Fonctionnent-ils?

Il existe de nombreuses études sur le fonctionnement et l'efficacité de différents traitements et thérapies appliqués dans le cas de la démence. Il est toutefois compliqué que les études de ce type de traitement soient plus compliquées à réaliser en raison du nombre élevé de variables impliquées et des différences dans la possibilité de maintenir certains types d'intervention, les résultats sont favorables à son application .

Le traitement non pharmacologique a été vivement recommandé, car il améliore considérablement la qualité de vie du patient et de ses soignants, le maintien et l'amélioration des activités de base de la vie quotidienne et le maintien d'un tonus affectif plus positif comparaison avec l'absence de ce type de traitement.

En fait il est considéré comme un traitement de premier choix étant donné que cela génère une amélioration des aspects comportementaux et cognitifs similaire à celle de la pharmacologie personnelle sans ses effets secondaires. Le plus recommandé est la stimulation cognitive et la préparation des conseils des soignants (qu'ils soient familiaux ou professionnels)

Références bibliographiques

  • Olazarán, J. et Muñiz, R. (2009). Carte des thérapies non pharmacologiques pour les démences de type Alzheimer. Guide d'initiation technique pour les professionnels. Fondation Maria Wolff et Projet international de thérapies non pharmacologiques.

Dossier Alzheimer : Les traitements médicamenteux - Conseils Retraite Plus (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes