yes, therapy helps!
The Ortega Lara case, 532 days in a zulo: an interview with Dr. José Cabrera

The Ortega Lara case, 532 days in a zulo: an interview with Dr. José Cabrera

May 10, 2021

The kidnapping of José Antonio Ortega Lara (1958, Montuenga, Spain) by the terrorist group ETA shocked an entire country.

Ortega Lara was a humble Spanish prison official who was kidnapped in January 1996, by a commando of the terrorist organization ETA (Euskadi Ta Askatasuna). He was surprised near his car, in the garage of his own house, when he was about to move to his place of work. At that moment, two individuals, at gunpoint, forced him to enter a kind of sarcophagus located in the trunk of a van. In complete darkness, he was transferred to a hiding place from which he would not leave in a long time.

Obliged to remain in a hole for 532 endless days

Soon after, the terrorist group announced the authorship of the kidnapping in the state media. He asked, in exchange for the release of Ortega, that the prisoners of the organization be brought closer to the prisons of the Basque Country . Requirement that, as expected, was ignored by the Ministry of the Interior, then directed by Jaime Mayor Oreja.


The Spanish State did not accede to the claims of the terrorists, so Ortega Lara was indefinitely detained in an underground hole built in an abandoned industrial warehouse in the town of Guipuzcoa. Mondragón . Locked in that dark cage, Ortega Lara remained living, unable to leave even a moment, in a space where he could barely move, with terrible humidity, without any contact with the outside and with the constant threat that the terrorists decided to execute him. Although all the circumstances seemed to play against a desperate and increasingly squalid Ortega Lara, the police managed to narrow the siege on the authors of his kidnapping and captivity, to the point where the captors confessed the location of the hiding place where Ortega Lara remained. He was released in July 1997, a year and a half after the day he was abducted.


Documentary about the Ortega Lara case

If you want to know all the details of the case and the experiences lived by José Antonio Ortega Lara, do not miss this documentary made by TeleMadrid .

Interview with Dr. José Cabrera Forneiro, forensic psychiatrist

One of the people who knows this case best is Dr. José Cabrera Forneiro, a well-known forensic psychiatrist and a regular in the media of our country.

With him we wanted to share a conversation about the case of José Antonio Ortega Lara, not only because of the social impact it caused but also because of everything related to the mental health of an individual who literally had to endure hell in life. Dr. Cabrera is one of the people who knows best what happened and what the kidnapped had to live, and does not hide the torrent of emotions that we all suffer when recalling this gruesome event in the History of Spain.


Bertrand Regader: Good morning, Doctor Cabrera. It is an honor to be able to share this space with you in order to analyze the kidnapping case of Ortega Lara. Twenty years have passed since José Antonio Ortega Lara was kidnapped and held by ETA. How did Spanish society live those moments? What are your personal feelings when you remember this murky episode?

Doctor José Cabrera : Spanish society endures everything, especially when the news is in the media and "far from us". That episode was experienced as a further addition to the cloud of attacks, threats and extortion of the moment, we would say that it was almost lived as in a state of anesthesia, and it was more the energy that the Security Forces and bodies overturned and the media that the social fabric

My personal sensation was of disgust towards some merciless kidnappers who fought for an unjust cause by beating a simple official.

We are talking about a person who was held against his will in an uninhabitable area, without the possibility of leaving and knowing that, most likely, ETA was going to kill him one day or another. How does a human being face an existence with these terrible conditions and what psychological characteristics helped Ortega Lara to endure so long?

The human being throughout history has endured the most terrible torments, punishments, revenges and situations, voluntarily or involuntarily, you just have to apply the instinct of survival and find a meaning to stay alive.

In the case of Mr. Ortega Lara, there were three conditions that helped him: he was a believer, he had a family that he wanted and wanted to see again, and he was a methodical man with a great inner life, these three were the pivots of your survival

In an interview granted to TeleMadrid, Ortega Lara confessed to having planned his suicide through several mechanisms, although he never managed to press that button. Is it normal for this to happen in cases of prolonged kidnappings?

Suicide always arises in the face of a final situation of despair in which suffering can not be tolerated anymore and the exit does not exist. It is a defense mechanism against sensory and affective deprivation, that is to say, "I have arrived so far".

However, experience tells us that those people who have endured an inhuman captivity almost never execute a suicide, and yet after the time these same people already released if they have ended their lives, for example the case of Primo Levi .

Happily, and after a long ordeal, the police found the whereabouts of Ortega Lara and could free him. According to the own Ortega Lara, when the civil guard that went to rescue him agreed to the zulo, the hostage believed that this individual was in reality a disguised terrorist who was going to execute him, in a kind of macabre staging. Why do you think he reacted in this way?

In a state of silence and absence of external referents, only the very idea of ​​the captive intervenes, which creates in a compensatory way a life around the few contacts he has with his captors.

In this situation Mr. Ortega Lara, who was constantly waiting for death, could not understand that suddenly appeared a person in uniform of the Civil Guard to release him, simply did not fit in his head, and simply believed that the end had come.

When he was released, Ortega Lara had lost more than 20 kilos, in addition to having the vocal cords and atrophied sense of sight. We all have in the retina the image of Ortega, scrawny and bearded, walking with the help of his family shortly after the rescue. But I guess the psychological sequels were even more terrible, and lasting.

The physical prostration of captivity tends to go back over time, it is a matter of reusing the muscles, the voice, the eyes, the senses ... but the psychological impact is something else.

The sense of impunity of their captors, the feeling of injustice towards their person, the emptiness of loneliness, the remoteness of their own, the incomprehension of the facts and the threat of permanent death, modify the personality for life turning the future into something completely new and different from what is expected in a normal life, and with that and the memories you have to keep living, that's as simple as that.

There is a lot of talk about the moral and psychological integrity of José Antonio Ortega Lara, and it's no wonder. What are the mental strengths that an individual must develop to return to "normal" after living such a calamitous situation?

The first is to understand what has happened is to say: accept that it was a criminal act of a terrorist group that caught him by chance, to avoid guilt that is not rare in these cases. The second, gradually recover from the physical consequences, little by little and in the distance from the bustle. The third, abandon yourself in the arms of the people who love you and are the key to your resistance, enjoy their mere company, simple conversations, a recount of what happened for them and that captivity deprived them.

And finally letting yourself be advised by a professional in medicine and / or psychiatry to follow a gentle treatment that recomposes the sleep-alert cycles and the discouragement generated by suffering.

Ortega Lara also said that during his captivity he spoke alone, he imagined that his wife was with him and uttered phrases out loud to her. Do you think this is useful in situations of that kind?

Yes, it is definitely very useful to create an imaginary figure to talk with, to accompany us, to keep hope and to mitigate physical loneliness.

The normal thing is to recreate the person of the closest family, and sometimes not just one but several, establish full and dense conversations that fill the endless day and say goodbye to them at bedtime.

I do not want to end the interview without asking the other side of the coin. The kidnappers, the terrorists. It only occurs to me to think that holding a person for so long, a simple official without political responsibilities and with a family ... can only be explained by the most inhuman fanaticism. Ortega usually refers to Bolinaga, the boss of the operation, as a poor bastard, an unhappy man.

They will allow me not to utter a single word about these subjects that tarnish the concept of human dignity, not a word, that they carry out their sentences in solitude and oblivion, it is more than what they offered to their victims.


Spainistan, from the Spanish Building Bubble to the Crisis (by Aleix Saló) - (English Subtitles) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'affaire Ortega Lara, 532 jours dans un zulo: entretien avec le Dr José Cabrera

L'affaire Ortega Lara, 532 jours dans un zulo: entretien avec le Dr José Cabrera

Février 18, 2019

L'enlèvement de José Antonio Ortega Lara (1958, Montuenga, Espagne) par le groupe terroriste ETA a choqué tout un pays.

Ortega Lara était un humble fonctionnaire pénitentiaire espagnol qui avait été enlevé en janvier 1996 par un commando de l'organisation terroriste ETA (Euskadi Ta Askatasuna). Il a été surpris près de sa voiture, dans le garage de sa propre maison, alors qu'il était sur le point de déménager sur son lieu de travail. À ce moment-là, deux individus, sous la menace d'un revolver, l'ont forcé à entrer dans une sorte de sarcophage situé dans le coffre d'une camionnette. Dans l'obscurité la plus totale, il a été transféré dans une cachette d'où il ne partirait pas avant longtemps.

Obligé de rester dans un trou pendant 532 jours sans fin

Peu de temps après, le groupe terroriste a annoncé la paternité de l'enlèvement dans les médias d'Etat. En échange de la libération d’Ortega, il a demandé que les prisonniers de l’organisation soient rapprochés des prisons de la prison. Pays Basque . Exigence qui, comme on pouvait s'y attendre, a été ignorée par le ministère de l'Intérieur, alors dirigé par Jaime Mayor Oreja.


L’État espagnol n’ayant pas accédé aux revendications des terroristes, Ortega Lara a été incarcéré pour une durée indéterminée dans un trou souterrain construit dans un entrepôt industriel abandonné de la ville de Guipuzcoa. Mondragón . Enfermé dans cette cage sombre, Ortega Lara est resté vivant, incapable de partir, pas même un instant, dans un espace où il pouvait à peine bouger, avec une terrible humidité, sans aucun contact avec l'extérieur et avec la menace constante que les terroristes ont décidé de l'exécuter. Bien que toutes les circonstances semblaient jouer contre Ortega Lara, un homme désespéré et de plus en plus sordide, la police a réussi à restreindre le siège des auteurs de son enlèvement et de sa captivité, au point que les ravisseurs ont avoué l'emplacement de la cachette où Ortega Lara est resté. Il a été libéré en juillet 1997, un an et demi après le jour de son enlèvement.


Documentaire sur l'affaire Ortega Lara

Si vous souhaitez connaître tous les détails de l'affaire et les expériences vécues par José Antonio Ortega Lara, ne manquez pas ce documentaire réalisé par TeleMadrid .

Entretien avec le Dr José Cabrera Forneiro, psychiatre légiste

Le Dr José Cabrera Forneiro, psychiatre légiste reconnu et habitué des médias de notre pays, est l’un des connaisseurs de cette affaire.

Avec lui, nous voulions parler du cas de José Antonio Ortega Lara, non seulement à cause de son impact social, mais aussi à cause de tout ce qui touche à la santé mentale d'un individu qui a littéralement enduré l'enfer. Le Dr Cabrera est l’une des personnes qui sait le mieux ce qui s’est passé et ce que les kidnappés ont dû vivre, et ne cache pas le torrent d’émotions que nous ressentons tous lorsque nous nous rappelons cet événement macabre de l’Histoire de l’Espagne.


Bertrand Regader: Bonjour, docteur Cabrera. C’est un honneur de pouvoir partager cet espace avec vous afin d’analyser le cas d’enlèvement d’Ortega Lara. Vingt ans ont passé depuis que José Antonio Ortega Lara a été kidnappé et détenu par ETA. Comment la société espagnole a-t-elle vécu ces moments? Quels sont vos sentiments personnels lorsque vous vous souvenez de cet épisode trouble?

Docteur José Cabrera : La société espagnole supporte tout, surtout quand les nouvelles sont dans les médias et "loin de nous". Cet épisode a été perçu comme un ajout au nuage d’attaques, de menaces et d’extorsion du moment, nous dirions qu’il était presque vécu comme dans un état d’anesthésie et que c’était davantage l’énergie que les forces de sécurité et les corps renversaient le tissu social

Mon sentiment personnel était le dégoût envers des ravisseurs sans merci qui se sont battus pour une cause injuste en battant un simple fonctionnaire.

Nous parlons d'une personne qui a été retenue contre son gré dans une zone inhabitable, sans possibilité de partir et sachant que, très probablement, l'ETA allait le tuer un jour ou l'autre. Comment un être humain est-il confronté à une existence dans ces conditions terribles et quelles caractéristiques psychologiques ont aidé Ortega Lara à supporter si longtemps?

L’être humain, au cours de son histoire, a enduré les tourments, punitions, vengeances et situations les plus terribles, que ce soit volontairement ou non, il vous suffit d’appliquer l’instinct de survie et de trouver le sens de rester en vie.

Dans le cas de M. Ortega Lara, trois conditions l’avaient aidé: c’était un croyant, il avait une famille qu’il voulait et voulait revoir, et c’était un homme méthodique avec une grande vie intérieure, ces trois étaient les pivots de votre survie

Dans une interview accordée à TeleMadrid, Ortega Lara a avoué avoir planifié son suicide par plusieurs mécanismes, bien qu'il n'ait jamais réussi à appuyer sur ce bouton. Est-ce normal que cela se produise en cas d'enlèvement prolongé?

Le suicide survient toujours face à une situation finale de désespoir dans laquelle la souffrance ne peut plus être tolérée et où la sortie n'existe pas. C'est un mécanisme de défense contre la privation sensorielle et affective, c'est-à-dire "je suis arrivé jusqu'à présent".

Cependant, l'expérience nous dit que les personnes qui ont subi une captivité inhumaine ne se suicident presque jamais, et pourtant, après le moment où ces mêmes personnes ont déjà été libérées si elles ont mis fin à leurs jours, par exemple Primo Levi .

Heureusement et après une longue épreuve, la police a retrouvé le lieu où se trouvait Ortega Lara et a pu le libérer. Selon le propre Ortega Lara, lorsque la garde civile qui l'a secouru a accepté le zulo, l'otage a cru que cet individu était en réalité un terroriste déguisé qui allait l'exécuter, dans une sorte de mise en scène macabre. Pourquoi pensez-vous qu'il a réagi de cette façon?

En état de silence et d’absence de référents extérieurs, seule l’idée même du captif intervient, ce qui crée de manière compensatoire une vie autour des quelques contacts qu’il a avec ses ravisseurs.

Dans cette situation, M. Ortega Lara, qui attendait constamment la mort, ne pouvait pas comprendre que soudainement apparue une personne en uniforme de la Garde civile pour le relâcher, ne lui tienne tout simplement pas la tête et croie simplement que la fin est arrivée.

Lors de sa libération, Ortega Lara avait perdu plus de 20 kilos, en plus d'avoir les cordes vocales et un sens de la vue atrophié. Nous avons tous dans la rétine l'image d'Ortega, maigre et barbu, marchant avec l'aide de sa famille peu de temps après le sauvetage. Mais je suppose que les séquelles psychologiques ont été encore plus terribles et durables.

La prostration physique de la captivité a tendance à remonter dans le temps, il s'agit de réutiliser les muscles, la voix, les yeux, les sens ... mais l'impact psychologique est autre chose.

Le sentiment d'impunité de leurs ravisseurs, le sentiment d'injustice à l'égard de leur personne, le vide de la solitude, l'éloignement, l'incompréhension des faits et la menace de mort permanente, modifient la personnalité pour la vie transformant l'avenir en quelque chose de complètement nouveau et différent de ce à quoi on s'attend dans une vie normale, et avec cela et les souvenirs que vous devez conserver, c'est aussi simple que cela.

On parle beaucoup de l'intégrité morale et psychologique de José Antonio Ortega Lara, et ce n'est pas étonnant. Quelles sont les forces mentales qu'un individu doit développer pour revenir à la "normale" après avoir vécu une situation aussi catastrophique?

La première consiste à comprendre ce qui s'est passé, c'est à dire: accepter que c'est un acte criminel d'un groupe terroriste qui l'a attrapé par hasard, afin d'éviter une culpabilité qui n'est pas rare dans ces cas-là. La seconde, récupère progressivement des conséquences physiques, petit à petit et au loin de l'agitation. Le troisième, abandonnez-vous dans les bras des gens qui vous aiment et sont la clé de votre résistance, profitez de leur simple compagnie, de simples conversations, d'un récit de ce qui leur est arrivé et de la captivité qui les a privés.

Et enfin, vous laisser conseiller par un professionnel de la médecine et / ou de la psychiatrie de suivre un traitement en douceur qui recompose les cycles d’alerte sommeil et le découragement généré par la souffrance.

Ortega Lara a également déclaré que durant sa captivité, il avait parlé seul, il avait imaginé que sa femme était avec lui et avait prononcé des phrases à voix haute. Pensez-vous que cela soit utile dans des situations de ce genre?

Oui, il est certainement très utile de créer une figure imaginaire avec laquelle parler, nous accompagner, garder espoir et atténuer la solitude physique.

La chose normale est de recréer la personne de la famille la plus proche, et parfois pas un, mais plusieurs, d'établir des conversations complètes et denses qui remplissent la journée sans fin et leur disent au revoir au coucher.

Je ne veux pas terminer l'entretien sans demander le revers de la médaille. Les ravisseurs, les terroristes. Il ne me vient à l'esprit que de penser que détenir une personne pendant si longtemps, un simple fonctionnaire sans responsabilités politiques et avec une famille ... ne peut s'expliquer que par le fanatisme le plus inhumain. Ortega se réfère généralement à Bolinaga, le responsable de l'opération, comme un pauvre bâtard, un homme malheureux.

Ils me permettront de ne pas dire un mot de ces sujets qui ternissent le concept de dignité humaine, pas un mot, qu’ils exécutent leurs peines dans la solitude et l’oubli, c’est plus que ce qu’ils ont offert à leurs victimes.


Entre sheila et sylvie ortega munos c'est la guerre | Qui est la compagne de Gérard Depardieu (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes