yes, therapy helps!
The paradigm struggle in Psychology

The paradigm struggle in Psychology

October 5, 2022

Traditionally, the field of psychology has become more like a battlefield than to a cumulative field of scientific knowledge. The contenders of that battle have been varying throughout its relatively short history. And I say relative, because psychology has always been, since the beginning of civilizations, although evidently, has not always been considered under that term.

Innatists, situationists, interactionists, behavioral, cognitive, humanistic, psychodynamic ... the struggle between the fervent followers of one or another paradigm of psychological knowledge has been diverse in terms of approach origins, but has never been exempt from conceptual mistrust the followers of a given paradigm arouse the affirmations or considerations of the followers of others.


  • Related article: "The 7 main streams of Psychology"

A theoretical and practical battlefield

Currently, from my humble perspective as an eclectic impartial observer, I believe that we are witnessing the recent majority contest, between the so-called cognitive-behavioral approach against the heir approach of humanism , that is, positive psychology. Perhaps I rush into such an observation, but I find it frequent to find detractors of the positive approach defended by Seligman, Csikszentmihalyi, Dyer or Davidson among others, against the classic cognitive-behavioral approach of authors and researchers such as Skinner, Thorndike, Ellis and Beck among others.


As if it were a short circuit, there are many who are quick to point out the advantages and / or limitations of one approach over the other, trying to validate their firm convictions about the correct way of approaching the different objectives of the field of psychology. .

Once again, it happens that we immerse ourselves in eternal internal disputes , about who is in possession of the absolute "truth", as if this one was not willing to leave with those, who in the exercise of their profession, apply some or other techniques in favor of the achievement of certain type of results (health , welfare, performance, etc). In the end, this kind of systematic disputes, far from being useful to produce knowledge, acts as a burden for the development of this exciting discipline.

The eclectic vision of Psychology

If I have learned something during the years that I have been practicing as a psychologist, truths can take many forms. Psychology is a "living science" that grows and evolves parallel to the rate at which the societies to which it tries to offer answers grow and evolve and, in short, even the truth takes a back seat when the objective is limited to the development of a more practical sense of existence.


Pray the Latin affirmation, attributed among others to Julio Cesár or to Napoleón himself, Divide et impera (Divide and conquer) and it is paradoxical that the very division between the students of the human mind , come precisely from themselves. It seems that participating in collective efforts to better understand how we think and feel does not necessarily translate into a greater capacity to apply those principles to the way in which, individually, we adopt a useful and constructive attitude towards theories and methodological tools of others.

In short, neuropsychological data apart (which seem to placate at a stroke any dispute as to the functioning of the brain), as observers, scholars and auditors of the functioning of the mind, we have the moral responsibility to unite and remain strong facing internal conceptual frictions and external interests, which may destabilize the ultimate goal of our professional mission, which is to offer the society in which we live, the questions and answers necessary to achieve their existential purposes .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Eclecticism in Psychology: 6 advantages and disadvantages of this form of intervention"

Social Influence: Crash Course Psychology #38 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La lutte de paradigme en psychologie

La lutte de paradigme en psychologie

Décembre 7, 2022

Traditionnellement le domaine de la psychologie est devenu plus comme un champ de bataille qu’à un champ cumulatif de connaissances scientifiques. Les prétendants à cette bataille ont varié au cours de son histoire relativement courte. Et je dis relative, car la psychologie a toujours été, depuis le début des civilisations, même si évidemment, n'a pas toujours été considérée sous ce terme.

Innatistes, situationnistes, interactionnistes, comportementaux, cognitifs, humanistes, psychodynamiques ... la lutte entre les fervents adeptes de l'un ou l'autre paradigme de la connaissance psychologique a été diverse en termes d'approches d'origine, mais n'a jamais été exempte de méfiance conceptuelle. les adeptes d'un paradigme donné suscitent les affirmations ou les considérations des adeptes des autres.


  • Article connexe: "Les 7 principaux courants de la psychologie"

Un champ de bataille théorique et pratique

Actuellement, de mon humble point de vue d’observatrice impartiale et éclectique, je pense que nous assistons au récent conflit de la majorité, entre la soi-disant approche cognitivo-comportementale contre l'approche héritière de l'humanisme c'est-à-dire la psychologie positive. Je me précipite peut-être dans une telle observation, mais je trouve fréquemment que des détracteurs de l'approche positive défendue par Seligman, Csikszentmihalyi, Dyer ou Davidson, entre autres, contre l'approche classique du comportement cognitif des auteurs et des chercheurs tels que Skinner, Thorndike, Ellis et Beck parmi d'autres


Comme s'il s'agissait d'un circuit court, nombreux sont ceux qui n'hésitent pas à souligner les avantages et / ou les limites d'une approche par rapport à l'autre, en essayant de valider leurs convictions fermes quant à la manière correcte d'aborder les différents objectifs du domaine de la psychologie. .

Encore une fois, il arrive que nous nous immergeons dans des conflits internes éternels , à propos de qui est en possession de la "vérité" absolue, comme si celui-ci n’était pas disposé à partir avec ceux qui, dans l’exercice de leur profession, appliquent certaines ou d’autres techniques en faveur de la réalisation de certains types de résultats (santé , bien-être, performance, etc.). En fin de compte, ce type de différends systématiques, loin d’être utile pour produire des connaissances, constitue un fardeau pour le développement de cette discipline passionnante.

La vision éclectique de la psychologie

Si j'ai appris quelque chose au cours des années que j'ai exercées en tant que psychologue, les vérités peuvent prendre de nombreuses formes. La psychologie est une "science vivante" qui grandit et évolue parallèlement à la vitesse à laquelle les sociétés auxquelles elle tente d'apporter des réponses grandissent et évoluent et, en définitive, même la vérité passe au second plan lorsque l'objectif est limité au développement d'un sens plus concret de l'existence.


Priez l'affirmation latine, attribuée entre autres à Julio Cesár ou à Napoléon lui-même, Divide et impera (Diviser pour régner) et il est paradoxal que la division même entre les étudiants de l'esprit humain , viennent justement d’eux-mêmes. Il semble que participer aux efforts collectifs pour mieux comprendre nos pensées et nos sentiments ne se traduit pas nécessairement par une plus grande capacité à appliquer ces principes à la manière dont, individuellement, nous adoptons une attitude utile et constructive à l'égard des théories et des outils méthodologiques. des autres.

En bref, les données neuropsychologiques à part (qui semblent apaiser d'un coup tout différend sur le fonctionnement du cerveau), en tant qu'observateurs, savants et auditeurs du fonctionnement de l'esprit, nous avons la responsabilité morale de nous unir et de rester forts faire face à des frictions conceptuelles internes et à des intérêts externes, susceptibles de déstabiliser le but ultime de notre mission professionnelle, qui est d'offrir à la société dans laquelle nous vivons les questions et réponses nécessaires pour atteindre leurs objectifs existentiels .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'éclectisme en psychologie: 6 avantages et inconvénients de cette forme d'intervention"

Cours 6 Épisode 3 - Psychologie sociale (3) - Autres techniques (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes