yes, therapy helps!
The parasite that causes Toxoplasmosis controls the mind and causes psychological disorders and suicides

The parasite that causes Toxoplasmosis controls the mind and causes psychological disorders and suicides

September 10, 2022

I have read many shocking news throughout my life, but few like the one I read the other day in the magazine National Geographic . The article referred to a parasite called "Toxoplasma Gondii", which causes Toxoplasmosis.

An evolutionary biologist of Czech origin, Jaroslav Flegr, has done a lot of research to know more about how this protozoan affects human beings. This researcher has concluded that toxoplasma gondii can control our brains, increase suicide and cause mental disorders such as schizophrenia or bipolar disorder.

Toxoplasma gondii: the intelligent parasite

The cause of toxoplasmosis is one of the most interesting parasites on the planet, and can affect all warm-blooded animals, including humans. In addition, birds and insects (flies, cockroaches) can be carriers of the parasite and expand it widely. Cats are the only animals where the parasite produces eggs, which is why they are known as definitive hosts; in the rest of the animals they are called intermediate hosts because the parasite does not produce eggs.


Cats usually become infected when they eat undercooked and infected meats, for example, prey hunted in their habitat . In order for the parasite to follow its life cycle and become an adult parasite it must be lodged in the intestines of the felines. Therefore, the way to achieve it is to be ingested. And how do you get this? Studies suggest that the parasite has evolved so that it is able to "hack" neural circuits to change the behavior of rodents with such precision, that they make them lose their fear of cats (and even become excited by their smell). to make them easy prey for cats. We all know that mice and rats are the favorite prey of cats.


Toxoplasmosis in humans

Now, and in humans ... what exactly happens? Blood tests show that toxoplasmosis, in 40% and 60% of cases the parasite has entered the body of these people and producing the formation of antibodies. But how do people get infected? Well in different ways:

  • Eating undercooked or raw meat.
  • Manipulating raw meat without gloves.
  • Ingesting raw goat milk.
  • Eating fresh vegetables contaminated and not washed properly.
  • During gardening or playgrounds for children, if the sands are contaminated.
  • Drinking water contaminated with sporulated oocysts.
  • The infection does not occur touching or caressing the cat, but touching land where the cats have deposited their feces, because after 24 hours after the deposition there is a risk of infection (as long as they then put their hands in the mouth without cleaning them) .

But nevertheless, very few individuals have symptoms of the disease , because with a normal immune system anyone can counteract the parasite or simply have febrile symptoms or inflammation of the lymph nodes. Although experts say that the important problem occurs during pregnancy. The greatest risk arises when the infection is contracted during the first months of pregnancy, presenting abortions and fetal malformations.


Toxoplasmosis causes behavioral changes in humans

Although it seems that the parasite does not cause visible symptoms in most cases, there are investigations that do not affirm the same. Jaroslav Flegr, one of the first scientists to be interested in toxoplasmosis and its effects in humans, found that changes in the behavior that toxoplasmosis causes in rodents, such as changes in reaction times, lethargy, or decreased fear, also appear in infected humans .

In addition, Swedish scientists recently discovered that to travel throughout the body and reach the brain, toxoplasma gondii sequesters the same cells that are responsible for expelling foreign bodies, white blood cells. Apparently, the white blood cells produce a neurotransmitter that is responsible for reducing fear and anxiety in both rodents and humans.

Flegr himself, after analyzing the database of different hospitals, discovered that an infected individual is more than twice as likely to suffer a car accident. According to Flegr, this has to do with the reduction of the reaction time.

The relationship between toxoplasmosis and mental disorders

In 2003, Fuller Torrey, a researcher at the Stanley Medical Research Institute in Bethesda (United States), observed a relationship between schizophrenia and toxoplasma gondii . Specifically, that women with high levels of the parasite were more likely to give birth to babies who could develop schizophrenia.

The hypothesis suggests that, while for most people who are infected, toxoplasma has minor effects, for others, the changes are much more exaggerated. This idea has gained strength with subsequent studies, because other work has found that antipsychotics worked just as well as other medications used to treat this pathology, affirming, in this way, that There is a relationship between psychological disorders and toxoplasma gondii infection .

One of the causes of the relationship between toxoplasmosis and schizophrenia has been explained by a group of scientists in the United Kingdom, who in 2009 found that the parasite has two genes for the manufacture of L-DOPA, the precursor molecule of dopamine. . High levels of this neurotransmitter are associated with schizophrenia

Another study by US scientists found that, among 7,440 mental health patients, there was a significant relationship between toxoplasma infection and a type of bipolar disorder in which patients suffer a greater prevalence of depressive symptoms.

Toxoplasmosis and suicide

Studies on the relationship between toxoplasmosis and psychological problems have continued and have yielded surprising results. A study published in 2009 by the Journal of Nervous and Mental Disease affirms that there is a link between suicide and infection by this parasite. But, of course, this happened in people who already have a mental illness. Similarly, another study found that countries with high rates of toxoplasmosis infection also had high suicide rates

In Denmark, a relationship between suicide and toxoplasmosis has also been found . A joint investigation between the Danish National Hospital Registry and the Central Register of Psychiatric Research in Denmark found that women infected with toxoplasma were 54% more likely to attempt suicide, and were twice as likely to succeed.

In fact, these women were more likely to attempt violent suicides. But even more worrisome is that the risk of suicide attempt correlated positively with the level of infection. Those women with the highest levels of antibodies were 91% more likely to attempt suicide than uninfected women. The connection between the parasite and suicide was maintained even for women who had no history of mental illness.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arling TA1, Yolken RH, Lapidus M, Langenberg P, Dickerson FB, Zimmerman SA, Balis T, Cabassa JA, Scrandis DA, Tonelli LH, Postolache TT. (2009) .Toxoplasma gondii antibody titers and history of suicide attempts in patients with recurrent mood disorders. Journal of Nervous Mental Disease; 197 (12): 905-8. doi: 10.1097 / NMD.0b013e3181c29a23.
  • Flegr, J. (2013) Influence of latent Toxoplasma infection on human personality, physiology and morphology: pros and cons of the Toxoplasma-human model in studying the manipulation hypothesis. Journal of Experimental Biology 216: 127-133; doi: 10.1242 / jeb.073635.
  • Flegr, J. (2007) Effects of Toxoplasma on Human Behavior. Schizophrenia Bulletin.33 (3): 757-760. doi: 10.1093 / schbul / sbl074
  • National Geograpfic: "Toxoplasmosis, new discoveries".

Toxoplasma - The mind controlling parasite (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le parasite responsable de la toxoplasmose contrôle l'esprit et provoque des troubles psychologiques et des suicides

Le parasite responsable de la toxoplasmose contrôle l'esprit et provoque des troubles psychologiques et des suicides

Juin 5, 2022

J'ai lu beaucoup de nouvelles choquantes au cours de ma vie, mais peu comme celui que j'ai lu l'autre jour dans le magazine National Geographic . L'article faisait référence à un parasite appelé "Toxoplasma Gondii", responsable de la toxoplasmose.

Jaroslav Flegr, biologiste de l'évolution d'origine tchèque, a effectué de nombreuses recherches pour en savoir plus sur les effets de ce protozoaire sur l'homme. Ce chercheur a conclu que toxoplasma gondii peut contrôler notre cerveau, augmenter le suicide et causer des troubles mentaux comme la schizophrénie ou le trouble bipolaire.

Toxoplasma gondii: le parasite intelligent

La toxoplasmose est l’un des parasites les plus intéressants de la planète et peut toucher tous les animaux à sang chaud, y compris les humains. De plus, les oiseaux et les insectes (mouches, cafards) peuvent être porteurs du parasite et le développer largement. Les chats sont les seuls animaux où le parasite produit des œufs, raison pour laquelle ils sont connus comme hôtes définitifs; dans le reste des animaux, ils sont appelés hôtes intermédiaires car le parasite ne produit pas d'œufs.


Les chats sont généralement infectés lorsqu'ils mangent de la viande insuffisamment cuite et infectée, par exemple une proie chassée dans leur habitat. . Pour que le parasite suive son cycle de vie et devienne un parasite adulte, il doit être logé dans les intestins des félins. Par conséquent, le moyen d'y parvenir est d'être ingéré. Et comment obtenez-vous cela? Des études suggèrent que le parasite a évolué pour pouvoir "pirater" les circuits neuronaux afin de modifier le comportement des rongeurs avec une précision telle qu'ils leur font perdre leur peur des chats (et même être excités par leur odeur). pour les rendre proie facile pour les chats. Nous savons tous que les souris et les rats sont la proie préférée des chats.


Toxoplasmose chez l'homme

Maintenant, et chez les humains ... que se passe-t-il exactement? Des analyses de sang montrent que la toxoplasmose, dans 40% et 60% des cas, le parasite est entré dans le corps de ces personnes et a entraîné la formation d'anticorps. Mais comment les gens sont-ils infectés? Bien de différentes manières:

  • Manger de la viande insuffisamment cuite ou crue.
  • Manipuler de la viande crue sans gants.
  • Ingérer du lait de chèvre cru.
  • Manger des légumes frais contaminés et mal lavés.
  • Pendant le jardinage ou les aires de jeux pour les enfants, si les sables sont contaminés.
  • Eau potable contaminée par des oocystes sporulés.
  • L'infection ne touche pas le chat ni ne le caresse, mais touche le sol où les chats ont déposé leurs selles, car après 24 heures, le risque d'infection existe (tant qu'ils mettent ensuite leurs mains dans la bouche sans les nettoyer). .

Cependant, très peu d'individus présentent des symptômes de la maladie , car avec un système immunitaire normal, tout le monde peut lutter contre le parasite ou simplement avoir des symptômes fébriles ou une inflammation des ganglions lymphatiques. Bien que les experts disent que le problème important se pose pendant la grossesse. Le risque le plus important survient lorsque l’infection est contractée au cours des premiers mois de la grossesse, entraînant des avortements et des malformations fœtales.


La toxoplasmose provoque des changements de comportement chez l'homme

Bien qu'il semble que le parasite ne provoque pas de symptômes visibles dans la plupart des cas, certaines enquêtes n’affirment pas la même chose. Jaroslav Flegr, l'un des premiers scientifiques à s'intéresser à la toxoplasmose et à ses effets sur l'homme, a découvert que des changements dans le comportement que provoque la toxoplasmose chez les rongeurs, tels que des changements dans les temps de réaction, la léthargie ou une diminution de la peur, apparaissent également chez les humains infectés .

En outre, des scientifiques suédois ont récemment découvert que pour se déplacer dans tout le corps et atteindre le cerveau, Toxoplasma gondii séquestrait les mêmes cellules qui sont responsables de l'expulsion des corps étrangers, les globules blancs. Apparemment, les globules blancs produisent un neurotransmetteur responsable de la réduction de la peur et de l'anxiété chez les rongeurs et les humains.

Flegr lui-même, après avoir analysé la base de données de différents hôpitaux, a découvert qu'un individu infecté avait plus de deux fois plus de risques de subir un accident de voiture. Selon Flegr, cela est lié à la réduction du temps de réaction.

La relation entre la toxoplasmose et les troubles mentaux

En 2003, Fuller Torrey, chercheur au Stanley Medical Research Institute de Bethesda (États-Unis), observé une relation entre la schizophrénie et Toxoplasma gondii . Plus précisément, les femmes présentant des niveaux élevés de parasite étaient plus susceptibles de donner naissance à des bébés pouvant développer une schizophrénie.

L’hypothèse suggère que si le toxoplasme a des effets mineurs pour la plupart des personnes infectées, les changements sont beaucoup plus exagérés. Cette idée a été renforcée par des études ultérieures, car d'autres travaux ont montré que les antipsychotiques agissaient tout aussi bien que les autres médicaments utilisés pour traiter cette pathologie, affirmant ainsi que Il existe une relation entre les troubles psychologiques et l’infection à Toxoplasma gondii .

L'une des causes de la relation entre la toxoplasmose et la schizophrénie a été expliquée par un groupe de scientifiques du Royaume-Uni, qui a découvert en 2009 que le parasite avait deux gènes pour la fabrication de L-DOPA, la molécule précurseur de la dopamine. . Des niveaux élevés de ce neurotransmetteur sont associés à la schizophrénie

Une autre étude réalisée par des scientifiques américains a révélé que, parmi 7 440 patients souffrant de maladie mentale, il existait une relation significative entre l’infection à toxoplasme et un type de trouble bipolaire dans lequel les patients présentaient une plus grande prévalence de symptômes dépressifs.

Toxoplasmose et suicide

Les études sur la relation entre la toxoplasmose et les problèmes psychologiques se sont poursuivies et ont donné des résultats surprenants. Une étude publiée en 2009 par le Journal des maladies nerveuses et mentales affirme qu'il existe un lien entre le suicide et l'infection par ce parasite. Mais, bien sûr, cela s'est produit chez des personnes ayant déjà une maladie mentale. De même, une autre étude a révélé que les pays présentant des taux élevés d’infection par la toxoplasmose avaient également des taux de suicide élevés

Au Danemark, une relation entre suicide et toxoplasmose a également été trouvée . Une enquête menée conjointement par le registre national des hôpitaux danois et le registre central des recherches psychiatriques au Danemark a révélé que les femmes infectées par le toxoplasme avaient 54% plus de chances de tenter de se suicider et deux fois plus de chances de réussir.

En fait, ces femmes étaient plus susceptibles de tenter de se suicider avec violence. Mais ce qui est encore plus inquiétant, c’est que le risque de tentative de suicide est en corrélation positive avec le niveau d’infection. Les femmes présentant les taux d'anticorps les plus élevés étaient 91% plus susceptibles de tenter de se suicider que les femmes non infectées. Le lien entre le parasite et le suicide a été maintenu même chez les femmes qui n’avaient aucun antécédent de maladie mentale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arling TA1, RH Yolken, M Lapidus, P Langenberg, FB Dickerson, SA Zimmerman, T Balis, JA Cabassa, DA Scrandis, Tonelli LH, Postolache TT. (2009). Titres d'anticorps .Toxoplasma gondii et antécédents de tentatives de suicide chez des patients présentant des troubles de l'humeur récurrents. Journal of Nervous Mental Disease; 197 (12): 905-8. doi: 10.1097 / NMD.0b013e3181c29a23.
  • Flegr, J. (2013) Influence de l'infection latente à Toxoplasma sur la personnalité, la physiologie et la morphologie humaines: avantages et inconvénients du modèle Toxoplasma-humain dans l'étude de l'hypothèse de manipulation. Journal of Experimental Biology 216: 127-133; doi: 10.1242 / jeb.073635.
  • Flegr, J. (2007) Effets de Toxoplasma sur le comportement humain. Schizophrenia Bulletin.33 (3): 757-760. doi: 10.1093 / schbul / sbl074
  • National Geograpfic: "Toxoplasmose, nouvelles découvertes".

Le plasma marin de René Quinton - video - La source de la vie (La Fuente de la Vida VOSTF) (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes