yes, therapy helps!
The performative gender theory of Judith Butler

The performative gender theory of Judith Butler

January 2, 2023

The theory of gender performativity of the American philosopher Judith Butler was proposed in the 1990s under the context of contemporary feminist theories and movements.

Through this theory, he questions in an important way the apparent naturalness of the binary gender / gender system and analyzes its effects in terms of power. Broadly suggests that, in the dominant binary system, the genre is created through a series of acts deployed through categories such as "man" or "woman".

This has represented one of the most relevant and controversial works of the end of the century in social sciences as well as in philosophy, politics and activism. We will see below what is Butler's theory of gender performativity and what are some of its repercussions at a theoretical and political level.


  • Related article: "Margaret Mead's gender theory"

The contemporary context of feminist theories

In the framework of "postmodernity" it becomes relevant the break with traditional ways of understanding identity , who used to present it as something fixed and stable. In this same framework, the "universal truths" of Western society are strongly questioned; among them the binary logic of understanding bodies and sexual difference: woman / man; and its cultural correlate: male / female.

These were "universal truths" because these sex-gender dimorphisms have historically established reference models to define us in one way or another (and in a way that is apparently stable, unquestionable and unique).


At this time, a part of feminism begins to focus on the analysis of the "mechanisms of power" , which are the coercive forms that are presented to us during socialization, and that allow us to cling defensively to a specific identity (Velasco, 2009). The question is not so much about the type of identities prescribed by patriarchy, but through what power mechanisms we end up clinging to these identities, and how this is a way to keep us safe from exclusion, rejection or marginalization ( ibid).

Among these questions emerge the proposals of Judith Butler, who has been one of the central theorists of contemporary feminism . In his studies he returns from the works of Simone de Beauvoir, Witting and Rubin, to the critical theories of Michel Foucault, Lacan and Derrida, going through different philosophers and feminists.


At the same time it establishes important critiques to the theories of feminism that had settled in binary and heterosexual gender models. And, finally, it defines gender not as an attribution of man or woman, but as a mise-en-scène (a performance) that can be as diverse as identities are.

  • You may be interested: "The feminist theory of Simone de Beauvoir: what is woman?"

Performativity in the theory of speech acts of Austin

To develop the theory of performativity and explain how it is that the staging of the genre ends up giving shape to the same genre, Butler retakes the theory of speech acts of the philosopher and linguist John Austin .

For the latter there is an important distinction between the different types of statements we use when communicating. On the one hand there are declarative statements, and on the other hand there are realizing or performative statements.

Austin argues that, far from the only task of issuing a statement is to make known the truth or falsity of a fact (note); There are statements that can have another function: Beyond describing things, these statements do things .

One of the classic examples is that of pronouncing affirmatively before a marriage: saying 'yes I want' in the setting of a wedding implies an act beyond a verification, insofar as it has effects at the individual, relational, political, etc. level. Another example is the commitment that entails those statements formulated as a promise, a bet or an apology. According to the context in which they are stated, all of them can change the situation, attitudes, emotions, and even identity and / or the behavior of the subjects.

Butler's gender performativity theory

Returning to the above, Judith Butler says that with sex and gender the same thing happens: by naming a person "man" or "woman", even before birth, what happens is not a verification but an accomplishment (in this gender case).

This is so because said enunciation displays a series of rules on relationships, identifications, desires, interests, tastes, ways of speaking, dressing, of links with "the opposite sex", and so on.This translates into a construction of the body itself based on the dominant gender norms.

In the words of Butler (2018), although we live as if "woman" and "man" were made with internal reality, and therefore unquestionable; it is the behavior itself that creates the gender: we act, we talk, we dress in ways that can consolidate an impression of being a man or being a woman .

Gender then is not an unquestionable and internal truth. It is rather a phenomenon that occurs and reproduces constantly. Thus, to say that gender is performative implies that no one has a given gender from the beginning, but that this occurs during a constant implementation (that is, in the daily repetition of gender norms that tell us how to be or not be men, or how to be or not be women).

In the same sense Judith Butler makes a distinction between "gender is a performance" (the staging, an act), and "gender is performative". The first case refers to what we do to introduce ourselves to the world under the label of a genre, commonly binary (woman or man), while the second term refers to the effects that such performance produces in normative terms (of becoming a norm).

The institutional power

All the above is monitored, legitimated and protected especially by the action of political and institutional powers of different types.

One of them is the traditional family , fundamentally based on a model of hierarchical and heterosexual gender.

Another is psychiatric instruction, which since its inception has pathologized gender expressions that do not conform to dichotomous and heterosexual regulations. And there are also other practices, informal and daily, that constantly pressure us not to get out of gender norms. An example of this is verbal bullying due to gender diversity , which is a way to insist on compliance with the normative values ​​associated with men / women and masculine / feminine.

So, the problem is that the former produces different forms of daily violence and even ends by conditioning opportunities and access to rights .

Negotiation of power and resistances

This leads Judith Butler to question: how is it that these norms are established, even at the institutional and political level? And, on the other hand, given that not all people feel comfortable in the gender that has been assigned to them and the identity is diverse and continuous, what types of violence generate these norms? What is the best way to subvert or overcome the political power related to this?

From the above, Butler defends that the gender is formed or built culturally , but not only that. Agency and personal freedom are fundamental elements to understand the identification, subversion and forms of resistance to violence imposed by gender ideals.

In short, gender is seen as a device of power, insofar as it is a crucial mechanism for socialization, that is, to become competent members of a society and assign specific desires and functions within it. But, for this device to exist, it has to be acted by a body, whose will and identity are built in constant tension and negotiation with the dominant gender norms.

In these tensions and negotiations opens the possibility for its deconstruction ; issue that has been fundamental in the development of contemporary feminist movements and in different struggles to counteract the violence and vulnerabilities legitimized by the hegemonic sex / gender system.

Bibliographic references:

  • Amigot, P. & Pujal i Llombart, M. (2009). A reading of the genre as a device of power. Sociological, 24 (70), pp. 115-152.
  • Butler, J. (1996). Sex and Gender in Simone de Beauvoir's second sex. Yale University Press, no. 72, pp. 35-49.
  • Butler, J. (2009). Performativity, precariousness and sexual policies. AIBR. Magazine of Latin American Anthropology. (4) 3, pp. 321-336.
  • De Mauro, M. (2015). Bodies on scene: Materiality and sexed body in Judith Butler and Paul B. Preciado. Egal: Barcelona.
  • Jones, J. (2018). Theorist Judith Butler Explains How Behavior Creates Gender: A Short Introduction to "Gender Performativity". Open Culture. Retrieved October 1, 2018. Available at //www.openculture.com/2018/02/judith-butler-on-gender-performativity.html.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexes, gender and health. Theory and methods for clinical practice and health programs. Minerva: Madrid.

Judith Butler's Theory of Gender Performativity (Final) (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de genre performative de Judith Butler

La théorie de genre performative de Judith Butler

Juillet 24, 2022

La théorie de la performativité sexuelle de la philosophe américaine Judith Butler a été proposé dans les années 1990 dans le contexte des théories et des mouvements féministes contemporains.

À travers cette théorie, il questionne de manière importante l'apparence naturelle du système binaire genre / genre et analyse ses effets en termes de pouvoir. Suggère globalement que, dans le système binaire dominant, le genre est créé à travers une série d'actes déployés à travers des catégories telles que "homme" ou "femme".

Cela a représenté l'un des travaux les plus pertinents et les plus controversés de la fin du siècle en sciences sociales ainsi qu'en philosophie, en politique et en activisme. Nous verrons ci-dessous quelle est la théorie de la performativité de genre de Butler et quelles en sont certaines des répercussions aux niveaux théorique et politique.


  • Article connexe: "La théorie de genre de Margaret Mead"

Le contexte contemporain des théories féministes

Dans le cadre de la "postmodernité", cela devient pertinent la rupture avec les manières traditionnelles de comprendre l'identité , qui le présentait comme quelque chose de fixe et stable. Dans ce même cadre, les "vérités universelles" de la société occidentale sont fortement remises en question; parmi eux, la logique binaire de compréhension des corps et de différence sexuelle: femme / homme; et son corrélat culturel: homme / femme.

C'étaient des "vérités universelles" parce que ces dimorphismes de genre en genre ont historiquement établi des modèles de référence pour nous définir d'une manière ou d'une autre (et d'une manière apparemment stable, incontestable et unique).


En ce moment, une partie du féminisme commence à se concentrer sur l'analyse des "mécanismes du pouvoir" , qui sont les formes coercitives qui nous sont présentées lors de la socialisation et qui nous permettent de nous accrocher de manière défensive à une identité spécifique (Velasco, 2009). La question ne porte pas tant sur le type d'identités prescrites par le patriarcat, mais sur les mécanismes de pouvoir qui finissent par s'accrocher à ces identités et sur la manière dont cela nous protège de l'exclusion, du rejet et de la marginalisation ( ibid.)

Parmi ces questions émergent les propositions de Judith Butler, qui a été l'un des théoriciens centraux du féminisme contemporain . Dans ses études, il revient des travaux de Simone de Beauvoir, Witting et Rubin, aux théories critiques de Michel Foucault, Lacan et Derrida, passant par différents philosophes et féministes.


En même temps, il établit d'importantes critiques aux théories du féminisme qui se sont installées dans les modèles de genre binaires et hétérosexuels. Enfin, le genre ne définit pas le genre comme une attribution d’un homme ou d’une femme, mais comme une mise en scène (une performance) qui peut être aussi diverse que les identités.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "La théorie féministe de Simone de Beauvoir: qu'est-ce que la femme?"

Performativité dans la théorie des actes de langage d'Austin

Développer la théorie de la performativité et expliquer comment la mise en scène du genre finit par donner forme au même genre, Butler reprend la théorie des actes de langage du philosophe et linguiste John Austin .

Pour ces derniers, il existe une distinction importante entre les différents types d’énoncés que nous utilisons lors de la communication. Il y a d'une part les déclarations déclaratives et, d'autre part, les déclarations réalisatrices ou performatives.

Austin fait valoir que, loin d'être la seule tâche de faire une déclaration est de faire connaître la vérité ou la fausseté d'un fait (note); Certaines déclarations peuvent avoir une autre fonction: Au-delà de la description de choses, ces déclarations font des choses .

Un des exemples classiques est celui de la déclaration affirmative devant un mariage: dire «oui je veux» dans le cadre d’un mariage implique un acte au-delà de la vérification, dans la mesure où il produit des effets au niveau individuel, relationnel, politique, etc. Un autre exemple est l'engagement qui implique ces déclarations formulées comme une promesse, un pari ou des excuses. Selon le contexte dans lequel elles sont énoncées, toutes peut changer la situation, les attitudes, les émotions et même l'identité et / ou le comportement des sujets.

La théorie de la performativité de genre de Butler

Pour en revenir à ce qui précède, Judith Butler déclare qu’en ce qui concerne le sexe et le sexe, il en va de même: en nommant une personne "homme" ou "femme", même avant la naissance, il ne s’agit pas d’une vérification cas de genre).

En effet, ladite énonciation comporte une série de règles sur les relations, les identifications, les désirs, les intérêts, les goûts, les façons de parler, l’habillage, les liens avec "le sexe opposé", etc.Cela se traduit par une construction du corps lui-même basée sur les normes de genre dominantes.

Comme le dit Butler (2018), même si nous vivons comme si "la femme" et "l'homme" étaient faits avec la réalité interne, et donc indiscutables; c'est le comportement lui-même qui crée le genre: on agit, on parle, on s'habille de manière à pouvoir se consolider une impression d'être un homme ou d'être une femme .

Le sexe n'est donc pas une vérité incontestable et interne. C'est plutôt un phénomène qui se produit et se reproduit constamment. Ainsi, dire que le genre est performatif implique que personne n’a un genre donné dès le début, mais que cela se produit au cours d’une mise en œuvre constante (c’est-à-dire dans la répétition quotidienne des normes de genre qui nous disent comment être ou non). être des hommes, ou comment être ou ne pas être une femme).

Dans le même sens, Judith Butler fait une distinction entre "le genre est une performance" (la mise en scène, un acte) et "le genre est performatif". Le premier cas concerne ce que nous faisons pour se présenter au monde sous l'étiquette d'un genre, généralement binaire (femme ou homme), tandis que le second terme fait référence aux effets que cette performance produit en termes normatifs (de devenir une norme).

Le pouvoir institutionnel

Tout ce qui précède est surveillé, légitimé et protégé en particulier par l'action de pouvoirs politiques et institutionnels de différents types.

L'un d'eux est la famille traditionnelle , fondamentalement basé sur un modèle de genre hiérarchique et hétérosexuel.

Un autre exemple est l’enseignement psychiatrique, qui depuis sa création a pathologisé les expressions de genre qui ne sont pas conformes aux réglementations dichotomiques et hétérosexuelles. Et il y a aussi d'autres pratiques, informelles et quotidiennes, qui nous forcent constamment à ne pas sortir des normes de genre. L'intimidation verbale due à la diversité des sexes en est un exemple. , qui est un moyen d’insister sur le respect des valeurs normatives associées aux hommes / femmes et au masculin / féminin.

Le problème est donc que le premier produit différentes formes de violence quotidienne et même se termine en conditionnant les opportunités et l'accès aux droits .

Négociation du pouvoir et des résistances

Cela amène Judith Butler à se demander: comment se fait-il que ces normes soient établies, même au niveau institutionnel et politique? D'autre part, étant donné que toutes les personnes ne se sentent pas à l'aise dans le genre qui leur a été attribué et que l'identité est diverse et continue, quels types de violence génèrent ces normes? Quel est le meilleur moyen de subvertir ou de surmonter le pouvoir politique lié à cela?

De ce qui précède, Butler défend que le genre est formé ou construit culturellement , mais pas seulement ça. La liberté d'action et la liberté personnelle sont des éléments fondamentaux pour comprendre l'identification, la subversion et les formes de résistance à la violence imposées par les idéaux de genre.

En bref, le genre est considéré comme un outil de pouvoir, dans la mesure où il s’agit d’un mécanisme essentiel de socialisation, c’est-à-dire de devenir des membres compétents d’une société et d’y assigner des désirs et des fonctions spécifiques. Mais, pour que ce dispositif existe, il doit être agi par un organe dont la volonté et l'identité sont construites dans une tension constante et une négociation avec les normes de genre dominantes.

Dans ces tensions et négociations ouvre la possibilité de sa déconstruction ; Ce problème a été fondamental dans le développement des mouvements féministes contemporains et dans différentes luttes pour contrer la violence et les vulnérabilités légitimées par le système hégémonique sexe / genre.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Amigot, P. et Pujal i Llombart, M. (2009). Une lecture du genre en tant que dispositif de pouvoir. Sociological, 24 (70), pp. 115-152.
  • Butler, J. (1996). Sexe et genre dans le deuxième sexe de Simone de Beauvoir. Yale University Press, no. 72, pp. 35-49.
  • Butler, J. (2009). Performativité, précarité et politique sexuelle. AIBR. Magazine d'anthropologie latino-américaine. (4) 3, pp. 321-336.
  • De Mauro, M. (2015). Corps sur scène: Matérialité et corps sexué dans Judith Butler et Paul B. Preciado. Egal: Barcelone.
  • Jones, J. (2018). La théoricienne Judith Butler explique comment le comportement crée le genre: une brève introduction à la «performativité du genre». Culture ouverte. Récupéré le 1 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.openculture.com/2018/02/judith-butler-on-gender-performativity.html.
  • Velasco, S. (2009). Sexe, genre et santé. Théorie et méthodes pour la pratique clinique et les programmes de santé. Minerva: Madrid.

Butler - Trouble dans le genre - De Dicto #18 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes