yes, therapy helps!
The personal and social identity

The personal and social identity

May 10, 2021

Who I am? This question is frequent but the answer is so unusual that it could be considered a rhetorical question. It is a question that we usually ask ourselves regularly when we feel insecure or do not know how to take charge of our lives.

However, this article does not pretend to be an existential philosophical essay about being, nor does it pretend to give a transcendental answer that will make you reinvent yourself. Simply I will show what Psychology has to say about identity and how it largely determines our behavior.

Identity: something that defines us

With a simple look at different profiles on social networks we can see the small descriptions we make of ourselves. There are those who define themselves as students, footballers, reporters, cinephiles; while others will define themselves as cheerful, friendly, funny, curious, passionate, etc.


As can be seen, these two types of definitions are the most common and present a fundamental difference between them. Some people are defined by the groups they are part of, while others are defined by their personal traits. The Psychology defines the self-concept, the self or "self" as a same construct formed by two different identities: personal identity and the social identity.

The social identity

The social identity defines the self (the self-concept) in terms of the groups of belonging. We have as many social identities as there are groups that we feel belong to. Therefore, the groups of belonging determine the group an important aspect of self-concept, for some people the most important.


Let's take an example of a famous Latin singer. Ricky Martin is part of many roles, and he could define himself as a man, artist, brunette, singer, homosexual, millionaire, son, Latin American, father, etc. He could define himself with any of them, but he will select to identify himself with those adjectives he feels that differentiate him more and bring a differential value to the rest .

Another representative example we can see in the small biographies that each of us have in the social network Twitter. Defining on the basis of the groups of belonging is as human as judging other people based on their attire and nonverbal behavior.

By forming such a broad part of our self-concept, irremediably, the groups determine our self-esteem. Remember that self-esteem is an emotional-affective assessment that we make of our own self-concept. For this reason, defining oneself on the basis of groups of high social status will suppose a high self-esteem, while those who are part of groups that are not socially valued, will have to use strategies of support in personal identity to deal with the decrease in their assessment.


In this way we see the high impact on our self-esteem and self-concept, the different groups to which we belong.

Effects of social identity

In the article in which we talked about stereotypes, prejudices and discrimination, we mentioned the social identity theory of Tajfel in which the social categorization effects in intergroup relations were revealed in the form of prejudices, stereotypes and discriminatory behavior.

Tajfel showed that the mere fact of identifying a group and considering themselves different from others gave rise to a differentiated treatment since it affects the cognitive process of perception , increasing the magnitude of the similarities with those of the same group and the differences with those that are not part of our group of belonging. This perceptual effect is known in social psychology as the effect of double stress.

As we have pointed out before, Social identity and self-esteem are closely related . Part of our self-esteem depends on the assessment of the groups of belonging. If we like the group of belonging, we like each other. "Shine with the reflection of the glory" of others. We identify with the achievements of the group or one of its individuals and this is reflected in a positive mood and self-esteem. This effect can be seen widely in the hobby for soccer.

When the team that is the winner is ours, we proudly go out to the street identified with the success of our team and we attribute it to ourselves, since they are part of our identity. Did you see someone who was not excited about the fact of feeling Spanish? when Iniesta gave us victory in that wonderful summer of 2010?

The personal identity

Social identity defines self (and self-concept) in terms of social relations and idiosyncratic features (I am different from others). We have as many "I's" as relationships in which we are involved and idiosyncratic characteristics that we believe we possess.

But what is it that differentiates us from others when we are part of the same group? Here our traits, attitudes, abilities and other characteristics come into play that we self-attribute s . Those that are defined by their sympathy, solidarity, tranquility or courage; they have a personal identity of greater dimension than the social one. This may be because their membership groups do not make them feel good because of their low social status, or simply the individuality of these people is reflected better by their attributes and by their social roles.

I am sure that as you read this article, you tried to know with what identity you make yourself known to others when you introduce yourself. You can go further, you know that the basis of the promotion of self-image is to maintain high levels of self-esteem. So take care and cultivate those groups or traits with which you define yourself and with which you want the world to know you , because if you define yourself with them it means that they have a high emotional value for you. There is nothing more rewarding than knowing oneself.


Identity Theory vs. Social Identity Theory (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'identité personnelle et sociale

L'identité personnelle et sociale

Octobre 13, 2019

Qui suis-je? Cette question est fréquente mais la réponse est si inhabituelle qu'elle pourrait être considérée comme une question rhétorique. C’est une question que nous nous posons habituellement régulièrement lorsque nous ne nous sentons pas en sécurité ou ne savons pas nous prendre en charge.

Cependant, cet article ne prétend pas être un essai philosophique existentiel sur l'être, ni prétendre donner une réponse transcendantale qui vous incitera à vous réinventer. Simplement Je vais montrer ce que la psychologie a à dire sur l'identité et comment cela détermine en grande partie notre comportement.

Identité: quelque chose qui nous définit

En regardant simplement différents profils sur les réseaux sociaux, nous pouvons voir les petites descriptions que nous faisons de nous-mêmes. Il y a ceux qui se définissent comme étudiants, footballeurs, reporters, cinéphiles; tandis que d'autres se définiront comme joyeux, amical, drôle, curieux, passionné, etc.


Comme on peut le constater, ces deux types de définitions sont les plus courantes et présentent une différence fondamentale entre elles. Certaines personnes sont définies par les groupes dont elles font partie, alors que d'autres sont définies par leurs traits personnels. La psychologie définit le concept de soi, le soi ou le "soi" comme une même construction formée de deux identités différentes: identité personnelle et la identité sociale.

L'identité sociale

Le identité sociale définit le soi (le concept de soi) en termes de groupes d'appartenance. Nous avons autant d'identités sociales qu'il y a de groupes auxquels nous estimons appartenir. Par conséquent, les groupes d'appartenance déterminent le groupe comme un aspect important de la conception de soi, le plus important pour certaines personnes.


Prenons l'exemple d'un célèbre chanteur latin. Ricky Martin fait partie de nombreux rôles et pourrait se définir comme un homme, un artiste, une brune, une chanteuse, un homosexuel, un millionnaire, un fils, un Américain, un père, etc. Il pourrait se définir avec n'importe lequel d'entre eux, mais il choisira de s'identifier avec les adjectifs qui, à son avis, le différencient davantage et apportent une valeur différentielle au reste .

Un autre exemple représentatif que nous pouvons voir dans les petites biographies que chacun de nous a sur le réseau social Twitter. Définir sur la base des groupes d'appartenance est aussi humain que de juger les autres en fonction de leur tenue vestimentaire et de leur comportement non verbal.

En formant une partie aussi large de notre concept de soi, les groupes déterminent irrémédiablement notre estime de soi. Rappelez-vous que l'estime de soi est une évaluation émotionnelle et affective de notre propre concept de soi. Pour cette raison, se définir sur la base de groupes à statut social élevé suppose une haute estime de soi, tandis que ceux qui appartiennent à des groupes qui ne sont pas socialement valorisés devront recourir à des stratégies de soutien de l'identité personnelle pour faire face à la diminution de leur évaluation.


De cette manière, nous constatons l’impact considérable sur notre estime de soi et notre image de soi, les différents groupes auxquels nous appartenons.

Effets de l'identité sociale

Dans l’article dans lequel nous avons parlé des stéréotypes, des préjugés et de la discrimination, nous avons mentionné la théorie de l'identité sociale de Tajfel dans lequel les effets de catégorisation sociale dans les relations entre groupes ont été révélés sous la forme de préjugés, de stéréotypes et de comportements discriminatoires.

Tajfel a montré que le simple fait d'identifier un groupe et de se considérer comme différent des autres a donné lieu à un traitement différencié puisqu'il affecte le processus cognitif de la perception , augmentant l’ampleur des similitudes avec celles du même groupe et les différences avec celles qui ne font pas partie de notre groupe d’appartenance. Cet effet de perception est connu en psychologie sociale sous le nom d'effet du double stress.

Comme nous l'avons souligné auparavant, L'identité sociale et l'estime de soi sont étroitement liées . Une partie de notre estime de soi dépend de l'évaluation des groupes d'appartenance. Si nous aimons le groupe d'appartenance, nous nous aimons. "Briller avec le reflet de la gloire" des autres. Nous nous identifions aux réalisations du groupe ou de l'un de ses membres, ce qui se traduit par une humeur positive et l'estime de soi. Cet effet peut être vu largement dans le passe-temps pour le football.

Lorsque l’équipe gagnante est la nôtre, nous sortons fièrement dans la rue, elle-même identifiée au succès de notre équipe et nous l’attribuons à nous-mêmes, car ils font partie de notre identité. Avez-vous vu quelqu'un qui n'était pas enthousiasmé par le fait de se sentir espagnol? quand Iniesta nous a donné la victoire en ce bel été 2010?

L'identité personnelle

L'identité sociale définit le soi (et le concept de soi) en termes de relations sociales et de caractéristiques idiosyncratiques (je suis différent des autres). Nous avons autant de "Je" que de relations dans lesquelles nous sommes impliqués et de caractéristiques propres que nous croyons posséder.

Mais qu'est-ce qui nous différencie des autres lorsque nous faisons partie du même groupe? Ici nos traits, attitudes, capacités et autres caractéristiques entrent en jeu que nous nous attribuons nous-mêmes s . Ceux qui se définissent par leur sympathie, leur solidarité, leur tranquillité ou leur courage; ils ont une identité personnelle de plus grande dimension que l'identité sociale. Cela peut être dû au fait que leurs groupes de membres ne leur font pas du bien à cause de leur statut social bas, ou simplement que l’individualité de ces personnes se reflète mieux dans leurs attributs et leurs rôles sociaux.

Je suis sûr que lorsque vous avez lu cet article, vous avez essayé de savoir avec quelle identité vous vous faites connaître lorsque vous vous présentez. Vous pouvez aller plus loin, vous savez que le fondement de la promotion de l'image de soi est de maintenir des niveaux élevés d'estime de soi. Alors prends soin de toi et cultive les groupes ou les traits avec lesquels tu te définis et avec lesquels tu veux que le monde te connaisse parce que si vous vous définissez avec eux, cela signifie qu’ils ont une grande valeur émotionnelle pour vous. Il n'y a rien de plus gratifiant que de se connaître soi-même.


Clément Rosset - Identité sociale et identité personnelle (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes