yes, therapy helps!
The personality of a footballer according to his position in the field

The personality of a footballer according to his position in the field

May 6, 2021

The king of all games is without a doubt, football.

It is as human and significant a practice in our time as few sociological phenomena can be because it covers the different fields of human nature and is capable of summoning the globality of the human being in its different levels of consciousness and expression. His practice knows no borders since it is practiced in the five continents making the whole world turn around the ball.

Soccer: a social phenomenon ... and psychological

Both the success and failure of a player come from a combination of physical, psychological and technical conditional abilities . For this reason and the global relevance of this sport it is necessary to study these factors that affect the performance of the athlete, positioning the study of the personality of the player as one of the most determining factors for sporting success, being very useful because it is a territory in which the behaviors will depend more on the personality traits of the players than on their environment.


The personality of the players

The knowledge of the personality of the soccer player, according to the position he plays could help to improve the performance of the team in general, and the player could be selected for each specific position taking into account not only his physical abilities but also his traits of personality that will allow a certain player to work better in one position and not in another.

Defining concepts

But to be able to talk about personality in sport and in football in particular, It is necessary to make a general description of what this construct is that we call personality .

What is personality?

  • Personality is a hypothetical construct , inferred from the observation of behavior, not being an entity in itself that does not imply connotations of value on the person characterized.
  • The personality includes a series of elements (traits or internal dispositions), more or less stable over time, which make a person's behavior consistent on different occasions and different from the behavior that other people would show in comparable situations. These characteristics of the personality of stable and consistent nature, allow us to predict the behavior of individuals.
  • The personality also includes other elements (cognitions, motivations, affective states) that influence the determination of behavior and that can explain the lack of consistency and stability of the same in certain circumstances.
  • The behavior will be the result of the most stable elements (whether psychological or biological) as the aspects most determined by personal influences (perception of the situation, previous experiences), social or cultural. These individual and general traits arise from a complicated combination of both biological determinants and the product of learning, and ultimately comprise the idiosyncratic pattern of perceiving, feeling, thinking, coping and behaving of an individual (Millon, 1990).

Position in the field (demarcation) and personality: is there correlation?

One of the fundamental characteristics of this sport is that each player plays a tactical position within the field of play , which identifies four main categories: goalkeepers, whose function is to avoid getting goals; the front, to score goals; the defenses to defend the danger zone and the midfielders which are those who strategically handle the ball in the center of the field generating the plays aimed at the development of goals.


These four categories They are also characterized by having their specific personality styles according to a series of stable dispositions of response that are the traits and that are defined as the global tendencies that each particular player has to emit one or another kind of response that determines his behavior and his characteristic thoughts. That is, each player, depending on their personality traits, would be predisposed to respond equally or similarly to different types of stimuli.

For this reason, the concern arises not only to know the general profile of the soccer player, but also the individual differences in personality according to the position that each player plays within the field of play as this would help the coach to his best location within the field; take into account the tolerance to the frustration of their scorers, the goalkeeper's resistance to the pressure of penalties, the aggressiveness of the defenses and the emotional stability to see how they influence each other within the same team, etc.


General personality traits of a soccer player

There are individual differences where sports practice is related to a certain number of personality traits, especially in traits such as extraversion, emotional stability and responsibility, these being the features most associated with sports such as football, although not the only ones, as we will see below .

  • Extraversion, which refers to an active, optimistic, impulsive subject capable of easily establishing social contacts.
  • Emotional stability, which refers to a serene and carefree individual.
  • Responsibility, which indicates a tendency to be ordered and oriented towards achievement.

Therefore, the players at a general level are balanced, extroverted, emotionally stable, dominant, aggressive, competitive and ambitious. They are oriented to achievement and to the cohesion of teams, active and with few depressive manifestations (Pascual, 1989).

Different investigations also show that the soccer player presents these traits: Affability, Abstraction, Dominance, Animation, Attention of norms, Daring, Sensibility, Surveillance, Apprehension, Opening to change, Perfectionism and Teson. (Guillen-García, 2007).

More attributes and traits of the players

The players also have defensive and adaptive strategies in behavioral terms, which defines them as players who are characterized by a great ability to perceive situations in a favorable way and with a high capacity for attention, according to Apitzsch (1994).

The image they give to others are of highly narcissistic and self-centered people (Elman and McKelvie, 2003).

They have high scores on the factors of radicalism, intelligence and control. (O'Connor and Webb, 1976)

Footballers present themselves as self-sufficient as they tend to seek to build their own future and that this only depends on them, individualistic and supportive, as well as tense, energetic, impatient, restless and reactive. (Marrero, Martin-Albo and Núñez, 2000).

Footballers define themselves as self-realized people, with confidence and self-confidence, seeking the satisfaction of their own goals, optimistic, with good humor, socially friendly and have a humanitarian spirit. (Bara, Scipiao and Guillen, 2004).

Soccer players in general belong to the Conformism scale, which indicates that they are in agreement with the authority, respect it and abide by its rules. (García-Naveira, 2008, Aparicio and Sánchez-López, 2000).

Soccer players in general are dominant, manipulative, aggressive, competitive and ambitious in their social relations (Apitzsch, 1994, García, 2004 and García-Naveira, 2008).

These players move and act in front of individual interests as the motivation to improve a personal skill, to be recognized as the best in their position, to be a starter, among others; and group motivations such as winning a cup or championship (Díaz-Morales and García-Naveira, 2001). They are demanding with themselves and bright, and keep their self-esteem high so that the environment comforts them.

This indicates that soccer players tend to meet their own needs but taking others into account to make decisions about group goals.

Although the players being group athletes are more dependent on their own teammates, they need to turn to others to seek external stimulation , constant search for attention from other team members, have confidence in the other, self-control and social responsibility in a higher level than individual athletes Bara et al. (2004).

As we have seen, soccer players have a characteristic personality style, but also differences are established according to the location and the role that each player plays on the field (Goalkeeper, Defense, Midfielder and Forward) according to the tactical position they play within the team (Millon 2001).

Personality differences of the footballers according to the position they occupy within the field of play

1. Goalkeepers

They are characterized by their intuition and because their knowledge derives from the concrete, relying more on direct or observable experience than in the players who occupy the other positions.

They are players who trust in themselves, believe they are talented, competent and very egocentric.

The goalkeepers they are the players most capable of taking risks and are highly dissatisfied with predictable situations .

They are very creative, communicative, dominant and aggressive and are always in constant search for stimulation and attention. They are nice and bright but also demanding and prefer to meet their personal needs first to those of others.

2. Midfielders

They are characterized they are reflective, they tend to process knowledge to a greater extent by means of logic and analytical and they are able to make decisions based on their judgment and on their direct and observable experience (intuition). (García Narváez, 2010).

They are the most sympathetic of the team (concordance) and those who establish the strongest emotional ties with other players and tend to hide their negative feelings.

They are intuitive, they look for the abstract and the speculative and make decisions based on their own affective reactions and guided by their personal values.

3. Defenses

They are characterized by being the most intuitive players. They trust in themselves and are very competent and talented .

They are players who seek their stimulation in others and are motivated to first meet the needs of others and not their own.

They are located on the submission scale, which indicates that they relate in a submissive manner to others and conform to the norms held by others .

4. Forwards

They are characterized by being the most systematic players. They are predictable, organized, perfectionist and efficient , able to adapt new knowledge to existing ones, looking for sure ways and that give the results of generating productive plays and sticking to them without leaving too much of that proven pattern. (Pérez, M, Navarro, R, Navarro, R, Ruiz, J, Brito, E, Navarro, M. 2004).

They are receptive, dominant and socially aggressive, ambitious and obstinate (polarity of control) . These are the players who act more independently and less conforming to the predictable, in addition to not obeying common or traditional norms, assuming the risks (discrepancy).

Although they are socially friendly and establish good links with other players and strong loyalties, they are the least motivated to first meet the demands of others.

They are inclined towards the scale of Affectivity, which describes them as players who make decisions based on their own affective reactions and guided by their personal values.

In conclusion

For all the above, it is necessary an integrative model that takes into account stable variables over time such as personality traits or styles and other more changing variables such as goals, motivations and cognitive styles.

Bibliographic references:

  • Apitzsch, E. (1994). The personality of the elite soccer player. Journal of Sports Psychology, 6, 89-98.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2004). Individual differences in football players over time: Personality Style and motivation. Degree memory. Department of Differential Psychology. Faculty of Psychology. University of Complutense of Madrid.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2007). Study of personality in athletes from the models of Cattell, Eysenk and Costa and McCrae. Notebooks of psychology of sport, 8 (2), 43-51.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2008). The personality style in soccer players of competition and differences depending on the demarcation. Notebooks of psychology of sport, 8 (2), 19-38.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2010a). Individual differences in personality styles and performance in athletes. Memory to qualify for the doctor degree. Department of Personality, Evaluation and Psychological Treatments II. Faculty of Psychology. Complutense University of Madrid.
  • Millon, T. (2001). Inventory of Millon Personality Styles. Madrid: TEA Editions.

Football players|| and position name|| because sure 11|| Going to predict|| football biggest league| (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La personnalité du footballeur selon sa position sur le terrain

La personnalité du footballeur selon sa position sur le terrain

Février 21, 2019

Le roi de tous les jeux est sans aucun doute le football.

De nos jours, il s'agit d'une pratique aussi humaine et significative que peu de phénomènes sociologiques peuvent l'être, car elle couvre les différents domaines de la nature humaine et est capable d'appeler la globalité de l'être humain à ses différents niveaux de conscience et d'expression. Sa pratique ne connaît pas de frontières car elle est pratiquée sur les cinq continents et fait tourner le monde entier autour de la balle.

Le football: un phénomène social ... et psychologique

Le succès et l’échec d’un joueur proviennent d’une combinaison de capacités conditionnelles physiques, psychologiques et techniques. . Pour cette raison et pour la pertinence globale de ce sport, il est nécessaire d'étudier ces facteurs qui affectent la performance de l'athlète, en faisant de l'étude de la personnalité du joueur l'un des facteurs les plus déterminants du succès sportif, ce qui est très utile car c'est un territoire où les comportements dépendent davantage des traits de personnalité des joueurs que de leur environnement.


La personnalité des joueurs

La connaissance de la personnalité du joueur de football, en fonction de la position qu’il occupe, pourrait aider à améliorer les performances de l’équipe en général, et le joueur pourrait être sélectionné pour chaque position spécifique en tenant compte non seulement de ses capacités physiques, mais également de ses caractéristiques. personnalité qui permettra à un certain joueur de mieux travailler dans une position et non dans une autre.

Définir les concepts

Mais pour pouvoir parler de personnalité dans le sport et dans le football en particulier, Il est nécessaire de faire une description générale de ce que cette construction est ce que nous appelons la personnalité .

Quelle est la personnalité?

  • La personnalité est une construction hypothétique , déduit de l'observation du comportement, n'étant pas une entité en soi n'impliquant pas de connotations de valeur sur la personne caractérisée.
  • La personnalité comprend une série d'éléments (traits ou dispositions internes), plus ou moins stables dans le temps, qui rendent le comportement d’une personne cohérent à différentes occasions et différent de celui que d’autres personnes manifesteraient dans des situations comparables. Ces caractéristiques de la personnalité de nature stable et cohérente permettent de prédire le comportement des individus.
  • La personnalité comprend également d'autres éléments (cognitions, motivations, états affectifs) qui influencent la détermination du comportement et qui peuvent expliquer le manque de cohérence et de stabilité du même dans certaines circonstances.
  • Le comportement sera le résultat des éléments les plus stables (qu’ils soient psychologiques ou biologiques) en tant qu’aspect les plus déterminés par des influences personnelles (perception de la situation, expériences antérieures), sociales ou culturelles. Ces traits individuels et généraux résultent d’une combinaison complexe de déterminants biologiques et du produit de l’apprentissage; ils constituent en définitive le schéma idiosyncratique de perception, de sentiment, de pensée, d’adaptation et de comportement d’un individu (Millon, 1990).

Position sur le terrain (démarcation) et personnalité: existe-t-il une corrélation?

Une des caractéristiques fondamentales de ce sport est que chaque joueur joue une position tactique dans le champ de jeu , qui identifie quatre catégories principales: gardiens de but, dont la fonction est d’éviter les objectifs; le devant, marquer des buts; le les défenses pour défendre la zone de danger et la milieux de terrain qui sont ceux qui gèrent le ballon de manière stratégique au centre du terrain en générant les jeux destinés au développement des buts.


Ces quatre catégories Ils se caractérisent également par leurs styles de personnalité spécifiques selon une série de dispositions de réponse stables qui sont les traits et qui sont définies comme les tendances globales que chaque joueur doit émettre l’un ou l’autre type de réponse qui détermine son comportement et ses pensées caractéristiques. Autrement dit, chaque joueur, en fonction de ses traits de personnalité, serait prédisposé à répondre de manière égale ou similaire aux différents types de stimuli.

C’est pour cette raison que le souci de connaître non seulement le profil général du joueur de football, mais aussi les différences individuelles de personnalité en fonction de la position occupée par chaque joueur sur le terrain de jeu, ce qui aiderait le coach à se meilleur emplacement sur le terrain; Tenez compte de la tolérance à la frustration de leurs buteurs, de la résistance du gardien de but à la pression des pénalités, de l'agressivité des défenses et de la stabilité émotionnelle pour voir comment ils s'influencent au sein d'une même équipe, etc.


Traits de personnalité généraux d'un joueur de football

Il existe des différences individuelles lorsque la pratique sportive est liée à un certain nombre de traits de personnalité, en particulier d'extraversion, de stabilité émotionnelle et de responsabilité, ces caractéristiques étant les plus associées aux sports tels que le football, mais pas les seuls, comme nous le verrons plus loin. .

  • Extraversion, qui fait référence à un sujet actif, optimiste et impulsif, capable d’établir facilement des contacts sociaux.
  • Stabilité émotionnelle, qui fait référence à un individu serein et insouciant.
  • Responsabilité, ce qui indique une tendance à être ordonné et orienté vers la réalisation.

Par conséquent, les joueurs au niveau général sont équilibrés, extravertis, émotionnellement stables, dominants, agressifs, compétitifs et ambitieux. Ils sont orientés vers la réussite et la cohésion d'équipes actives et présentant peu de manifestations dépressives (Pascual, 1989).

Différentes enquêtes montrent également que le joueur de football présente ces caractéristiques: affabilité, abstraction, domination, animation, attention aux normes, audace, sensibilité, surveillance, appréhension, ouverture au changement, perfectionnisme et Teson. (Guillen-García, 2007).

Plus d'attributs et traits des joueurs

Les joueurs ont également des stratégies défensives et adaptatives en termes de comportement, ce qui les définit comme des joueurs caractérisés par une grande capacité à percevoir les situations de manière favorable et avec une grande capacité d'attention, selon Apitzsch (1994).

L'image qu'ils donnent aux autres est celle de personnes hautement narcissiques et égocentriques (Elman et McKelvie, 2003).

Ils ont des scores élevés sur les facteurs de radicalisme, d'intelligence et de contrôle. (O'Connor et Webb, 1976)

Les footballeurs se présentent comme autosuffisants, car ils ont tendance à chercher à construire leur propre avenir et que cela ne dépend que d'eux, individualistes et solidaires, ainsi que tendus, énergiques, impatients, inquiets et réactifs. (Marrero, Martin-Albo et Núñez, 2000).

Les footballeurs se définissent comme des personnes épanouies, avec confiance et confiance en elles-mêmes, qui cherchent la satisfaction de leurs objectifs, optimistes, avec bonne humeur, socialement amicales et qui ont un esprit humanitaire. (Bara, Scipiao et Guillen, 2004).

Les joueurs de football en général appartiennent à l'échelle de conformisme, ce qui indique qu'ils sont en accord avec l'autorité, la respectent et respectent ses règles. (García-Naveira, 2008, Aparicio et Sánchez-López, 2000).

Les footballeurs en général sont dominants, manipulateurs, agressifs, compétitifs et ambitieux dans leurs relations sociales (Apitzsch, 1994, García, 2004 et García-Naveira, 2008).

Ces joueurs se déplacent et agissent devant les intérêts individuels comme motivation pour améliorer leurs compétences personnelles, pour être reconnus comme les meilleurs de leur position, pour être un démarreur, entre autres; et des motivations de groupe telles que gagner une coupe ou un championnat (Díaz-Morales et García-Naveira, 2001). Ils sont exigeants avec eux-mêmes et brillants, et gardent une haute estime de soi pour que l'environnement les réconforte.

Cela indique que les joueurs de football ont tendance à répondre à leurs propres besoins, mais en prenant en compte les autres pour prendre des décisions concernant les objectifs du groupe.

Bien que les joueurs constituant le groupe d’athlètes dépendent davantage de leurs propres coéquipiers, ils doivent se tourner vers les autres pour rechercher une stimulation externe , recherche constante de l'attention des autres membres de l'équipe, confiance en l'autre, maîtrise de soi et responsabilité sociale à un niveau supérieur à celui des athlètes individuels Bara et al. (2004).

Comme nous l’avons vu, les joueurs de football ont un style de personnalité caractéristique, mais des différences sont également établies en fonction du lieu et du rôle que chaque joueur joue sur le terrain (Gardien, Défenseur, Milieu de terrain et Attaquant) en fonction du type de match. position tactique qu’ils occupent au sein de l’équipe (Millon 2001).

Différences de personnalité des footballeurs en fonction de la position qu'ils occupent sur le terrain

1. Gardiens de but

Ils se caractérisent par leur intuition et parce que leurs connaissances découlent du concret et reposent davantage sur une expérience directe ou observable que dans les joueurs qui occupent les autres positions.

Ce sont des joueurs qui ont confiance en eux-mêmes, qui croient être talentueux, compétents et très égocentriques.

Les gardiens de but ce sont les joueurs les plus capables de prendre des risques et sont très insatisfaits des situations prévisibles .

Ils sont très créatifs, communicatifs, dominants et agressifs et sont constamment à la recherche de stimulation et d’attention. Ils sont gentils et brillants mais aussi exigeants et préfèrent satisfaire leurs besoins personnels d’abord à ceux des autres.

2. les milieux de terrain

Ils sont caractérisés ils sont réfléchissants, ils ont tendance à traiter davantage les connaissances au moyen de la logique et de l’analyse. et ils sont capables de prendre des décisions basées sur leur jugement et sur leur expérience directe et observable (intuition). (García Narváez, 2010).

Ils sont les plus sympathiques de l’équipe (concordance) et sont ceux qui établissent les liens émotionnels les plus forts avec les autres joueurs et ont tendance à cacher leurs sentiments négatifs.

Ils sont intuitifs, ils recherchent l’abstrait et le spéculatif et prennent des décisions en fonction de leurs propres réactions affectives et guidées par leurs valeurs personnelles.

3. Défenses

Ils se caractérisent par être les joueurs les plus intuitifs. Ils ont confiance en eux-mêmes et sont très compétents et talentueux .

Ce sont des joueurs qui cherchent leur stimulation chez les autres et qui sont motivés pour répondre d'abord aux besoins des autres et non aux leurs.

Ils sont situés sur l’échelle de soumission, ce qui indique que ils se rapportent d'une manière soumise aux autres et se conforment aux normes en vigueur .

4. En avant

Ils se caractérisent par être les joueurs les plus systématiques. Ils sont prévisibles, organisés, perfectionnistes et efficaces , capable d’adapter de nouvelles connaissances aux connaissances existantes, de rechercher des solutions sûres et d’obtenir le résultat de générer des jeux productifs et de s’y tenir sans laisser trop de ce modèle prouvé. (Pérez, M, Navarro, R, Navarro, R, Ruiz, J, Brito, E., Navarro, M. 2004).

Ils sont réceptifs, dominante et socialement agressive, ambitieuse et obstinée (polarité du contrôle) . Ce sont des acteurs qui agissent de manière plus indépendante et moins conformes au prévisible, en plus de ne pas obéir aux normes communes ou traditionnelles, en assumant les risques (divergence).

Bien qu’ils soient socialement amicaux et qu’ils établissent de bons liens avec les autres joueurs et une forte loyauté, ils sont les moins motivés pour répondre d’abord aux demandes des autres.

Ils sont enclins à l’ampleur de l’affectivité, qui les décrit comme des acteurs qui prennent des décisions en fonction de leurs propres réactions affectives et guidés par leurs valeurs personnelles.

En guise de conclusion

Pour tout ce qui précède, il est nécessaire de disposer d’un modèle intégratif prenant en compte des variables stables dans le temps, telles que les traits de personnalité ou les styles, et d’autres variables plus changeantes telles que les objectifs, les motivations et les styles cognitifs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Apitzsch, E. (1994). La personnalité du footballeur d’élite. Journal of Sports Psychology, 6, 89-98.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2004). Différences individuelles chez les joueurs de football au fil du temps: personnalité, style et motivation. Degré de mémoire. Département de psychologie différentielle. École de psychologie Université Complutense de Madrid.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2007). Étude de la personnalité chez les athlètes des modèles de Cattell, Eysenk and Costa et McCrae. Cahiers de psychologie du sport, 8 (2), 43-51.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2008). Le style de personnalité chez les joueurs de football de compétition et les différences en fonction de la démarcation. Cahiers de psychologie du sport, 8 (2), 19-38.
  • García-Naveira, A. (2010a). Différences individuelles dans les styles de personnalité et les performances chez les athlètes. Mémoire pour se qualifier pour le doctorat. Département de la personnalité, de l'évaluation et des traitements psychologiques II. École de psychologie Université Complutense de Madrid.
  • Millon, T. (2001). Inventaire des styles de personnalité de Millon. Madrid: éditions TEA.

Cristiano Ronaldo explique pourquoi il a signé à la Juve | Revue de presse (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes