yes, therapy helps!
The personality of Donald Trump, in 15 traits

The personality of Donald Trump, in 15 traits

January 25, 2022

The world is surprised that Donald Trump is the new president of the United States , but the truth is that the people have voted, in part, for the personality traits that are expressed in their rallies.

It is clear that many factors have influenced here, even so, it is still curious the kind of emotions that this character awakens among the population. The world is in shock and few understand the results of these elections outside the borders of the considered country of opportunities.

I have seen on television that when they asked the American citizens their opinion about Trump, some responded, full of euphoria, that it is to admire the strength and honesty that the candidate showed. However, this feeling typical of the passions that charismatic leaders arouse, is totally opposed to that of a large part of the population, those who accuse him of being a mean and horrible person.


Psychological profile of the future president of the USA

It may seem at first glance that Donald Trump has come out of a Batman film and that no president of the United States has provoked such a sense of repulsion, but the same characteristics that some detest and that have made the policy of the United States has become so polarized (at the cost of the hidden vote) have made many others have given support .

After all, in sociology and psychology there is evidence that the personality of the candidates and their aesthetics have a great weight in the support they reap among the voters, sometimes being more important than their proposals.


And, what leaders with a personality as marked as Trump transmit, can eclipse the rational proposals of his political program. Let's analyze, then, what are the main personality traits of Donald Trump that have catapulted him to the presidency .

The personality of Donald Trump

Since the new personality president of the United States generates a great interest, in this article you will be able to find a list with 15 characteristics of the personality of Donald Trump.

1. Trump's narcissistic facet

Donald Trump presents some narcissistic traits very marked. What characterizes narcissistic people needs to be admired and they need to have power. In this sense, they often surround themselves with aesthetic forms that, by broad consensus, are considered desirable or admirable: someone who is narcissistic will not show an aesthetic that they do not know will be seen favorably by the "relevant" majority. In the personality of Donald Trump this tendency toward narcissism is reflected in his ostentation of wealth and his desire to seek admiration.


Both the golden tower that bears his surname and his book How to get rich, for example, They show this willingness to position themselves as a figure to admire . In addition, the idea that this is part of a strategy of branding Trump's pursuit of socio-economic growth is hardly defensible, since with its acquisition power, selling books or making his person something memorable through the aspect of his possessions are not resources with significant value. Donald Trump is where he wanted to be: dominating the world.

  • If you want to know what are the characteristics of a narcissistic person, you can visit our article: "10 characteristics in common of narcissistic people"

2. Megalomania trumpiana

Narcissism is closely related to another aspect of Trump's personality : its megalomania, the belief that oneself is very important about what happens in their environment and that one has the power and the right to change the life of others as one wants.

In the case of the new president of the United States, this part of his personality based on ideas of greatness it is revealed in the lack of humility with which he has treated his political rivals, despite the fact that they have more experience in politics and, therefore, have a greater capacity to create effective political action guidelines (regardless of the ethical nature of these policies). plans).

3. Tendency to manipulation

Trump is where he is because he is a great manipulator . The American tycoon has collected many votes thanks to his vague speech and based on poorly defined ideas, ideals to make their meaning change over time according to an opportunistic logic. This strategy of discourse (which some call populism), is perfect to win votes of people who historically felt ignored by professional politicians and who was waiting for someone to present a strident and disruptive speech to place their trust in that emerging force; people who were fed up with the model that Clinton represents, dealing a heavy blow to the establishment.

Definitely, Trump's speech is indicated to manipulate people appealing to great passions and ideas that are easy to understand because of their cultural roots in Western society: the fear of invading other populations, the need to regroup and defend themselves, the rejection of the radical feminist discourse that attempts against "the natural", etc. Trump has benefited from the capitalist crisis because he has managed to pass his defense of vague and blurred ideals by a defense of consistent pillars of security and well-being.

3. Think that the world revolves around him

Narcissistic people think that the world revolves around them . The new president of the United States says he is worried about people's problems, but his lack of sensitivity to minorities reveals that he does not worry too much about what is a little different from himself.

There may be times in his speeches where he seems to be warm, but Donald Trump is still a "showman", and shows an image that can be disturbing simply to be where the media focuses, whatever it may be. the result.

4. It is racist

What really stuns public opinion is that Donald Trump is president after having made racist statements. One of his proposals is to build a wall that separates Mexico from the United States, which reveals his segregated and exclusive way of thinking.

In his speeches, racist and xenophobic statements have not stopped ringing , not only against Mexicans but also against the Muslim community. This indicates that Trump tends to categorize people according to very rigid concepts that mark what is the border between "theirs" and "others". In this case, your reference group is related to the idea of ​​a white and Christian American citizen.

5. It is authoritarian

References to Mexico have been a constant in Trump's electoral discourse, as we have already mentioned. But Vicente Fox, a former Mexican president, explained in an interview that "he was more concerned about Trump's authoritarianism than about the insults and disdain toward Mexico."

In fact, In a clear manifestation of authoritarianism, Trump expelled from a press conference the Mexican journalist Jorge Ramos , very critical of its anti-immigration policy. In the same way, it has defended the idea that it would make the neighboring country pay the barrier that would separate them along the border, a position far removed from the conciliatory and negotiating spirit that is usually expected in a president.

  • Related article: "Autocratic (or authoritarian) leadership: advantages and disadvantages"

6. He is arrogant and arrogant

The previous case shows his arrogance and arrogance. Trump believes himself superior to others and treats people as if they were inferior. On many occasions he has treated people with contempt not because of his ideas, but because of his "innate condition". His displays of machismo are an example of this, since they show how much he thinks he is right about them simply because he is a man.

7. It is misogynistic

We have seen in his election campaign how he made sexist comments . There has been much talk in recent months about how the president treated Alicia Machado, the elected Miss World in 1996, of Venezuelan origin. According to her, "I experienced very humiliating moments. He is a despotic, cold and calculating man. He has very little regard for the people he thinks are inferior. "Although the accusations of several women against Trump do not stand up in evidence, we have been able to see how the tycoon has been" caught "making sexist comments.

On the other hand, Trumop is known for his attempts to use Hillary Clinton's status as a woman for adopt a dominant and even paternalistic role before her when she was her political rival.

  • Recommended article: "Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists"

8. Despise others

And of course, Trump despises those he considers to be inferior . He believes himself unique and criticizes constantly, so he wants to show that he is powerful and that he is better than others. This is another characteristic feature of narcissistic people: their ability to pigeonhole others into submission roles.

9. Needs to be admired

Something that also characterizes narcissistic people is their constant need for admiration. In the case of Trump, this is revealed in several of his public appearances in which he seeks to capture the limelight with an expansive non-verbal language and even out of place, and even his tweets in which he speaks for free about his achievements. He always wants others to admire . This makes him feel special and unique.

10. Lacks empathy

Empathic people know how to put themselves in the shoes of others and understand their emotions and needs. You only need to listen to Trump's speech for 10 minutes to realize that he is not exactly an empathic person. In fact, bases its ideas on prejudices and stereotypes, which is why it attacks in the way that it attacks different groups and minorities .

  • Recommended article: "Are you empathic? 10 typical features of empathic people"

11. It's extravert

Trump is clearly an extraverted person, enjoys when he is surrounded by other people and likes to express himself at public events. For the psychologist Dan P.McAdams, Trump presents two very strong personality traits. Extraversion high and low kindness , and therefore, tends to be insensitive, rude, arrogant and lacking in empathy.

12. Feel cravings for power

Trump, as has already been said, is anxious for greatness. But not only this, but it has cravings for power. Being president of the United States means having the world practically under your control, marking the agenda of geopolitics and being able to destabilize other countries (which, incidentally, have done much of their predecessors in the office of the presidency). The unpredictability of Donald Trump has the world population in suspense .

13. Is intolerant

Intolerant people are full of prejudices, discriminate, do not listen, are authoritarian , etc. All these characteristics are presented by Donald Trump, who has already manifested, on many occasions, what he has planned to do with a good part of the immigrants.

  • Related article: "The intolerant people share these 12 defects"

14. It is aggressive

Trump is an aggressive person and has sometimes been attacked by many people. In fact, intolerant people see other people as threats. They do not accept the criticism and when they receive it they usually act in a hostile way. Being discriminatory and fanatical of their ideas, they tend to be aggressive towards other individuals or groups. In fact, we have seen him use rather a forward and aggressive discourse of "them against us".

On the other hand, this aggressive attitude fits with his political discourse , based on "trading" with the military force of the United States and not offering free protection, so that it is clear that the use of force is something that only responds to the interests of the country ... that are expressed through his own will as president.

15. He's a fan

Trump is a fan of his ideas, which is why he defends them with an exaggerated and sometimes excessive passion. This fanaticism is a breeding ground for conflict between groups but also between people, who they can experience a contagious effect of Trump's essentialism. In fact, just after his triumph, episodes of racial confrontation were registered in the United States.

The idea that English is the language of the United States, for example, has been expressed by himself and has permeated part of the electorate, even though the US does not have an official language.


Genetic Traits & Political Personalities of Trump, Clinton, Sanders & Cruz (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La personnalité de Donald Trump, en 15 traits

La personnalité de Donald Trump, en 15 traits

Mars 4, 2021

Le monde est surpris que Donald Trump soit le nouveau président des États-Unis , mais la vérité est que les gens ont voté, en partie, pour les traits de personnalité qui sont exprimés dans leurs rassemblements.

Il est clair que de nombreux facteurs ont influencé ici, même si, il est toujours curieux de voir le type d’émotions que ce personnage suscite chez la population. Le monde est en choc et peu de gens comprennent les résultats de ces élections hors des frontières du pays considéré des opportunités.

J'ai vu à la télévision que lorsqu'ils ont demandé aux citoyens américains leur opinion sur Trump, certains ont répondu, pleins d'euphorie, que c'était pour admirer la force et l'honnêteté manifestées par le candidat. Cependant, ce sentiment typique des passions que suscitent les dirigeants charismatiques s’oppose totalement à celui d’une grande partie de la population, ceux qui l’accusent d’être une personne méchante et horrible.


Profil psychologique du futur président des États-Unis

À première vue, il peut sembler que Donald Trump soit sorti d’un film de Batman et qu’aucun président des États-Unis n’ait provoqué un tel sentiment de répulsion, mais les mêmes caractéristiques que certains détestent et qui ont fait la politique des États-Unis est devenu tellement polarisé (au prix du vote caché) ont fait beaucoup d'autres ont donné un soutien .

Après tout, en sociologie et en psychologie, il est prouvé que la personnalité des candidats et leur esthétique ont beaucoup de poids dans le soutien qu’ils recueillent auprès des électeurs, parfois plus que leurs propositions.


Et ce que les dirigeants avec une personnalité aussi marquée que Trump transmettent peuvent éclipser les propositions rationnelles de son programme politique. Analysons alors quels sont les principaux traits de personnalité de Donald Trump qui l'ont catapulté à la présidence .

La personnalité de Donald Trump

Comme la nouvelle personnalité des États-Unis suscite beaucoup d’intérêt, vous trouverez dans cet article une liste des 15 caractéristiques de la personnalité de Donald Trump.

1. La facette narcissique de Trump

Donald Trump en présente traits narcissiques très marqué. Ce qui caractérise les narcissiques doit être admiré et leur pouvoir. En ce sens, ils s’entourent souvent de formes esthétiques qui, par consensus, sont considérées comme souhaitables ou admirables: un narcissique ne montrera pas une esthétique qu’il ne sait pas qui sera perçue favorablement par la majorité "pertinente". Dans la personnalité de Donald Trump, cette tendance au narcissisme se reflète dans son ostentation de la richesse et son désir de rechercher l'admiration.


La tour dorée qui porte son nom de famille et son livre Comment devenir riche, par exemple, Ils montrent cette volonté de se positionner comme une figure à admirer . En outre, l’idée que cela fait partie d’une stratégie de marque La poursuite de la croissance socio-économique par Trump est difficilement défendable, car avec son pouvoir d’acquisition, vendre des livres ou faire de sa personne quelque chose de mémorable par le biais de ses biens ne sont pas des ressources ayant une valeur significative. Donald Trump est ce qu'il voulait être: dominer le monde.

  • Si vous voulez savoir quelles sont les caractéristiques d’une personne narcissique, vous pouvez consulter notre article: "10 caractéristiques communes des narcissiques"

2. Mégalomanie Trumpiana

Le narcissisme est étroitement lié à un autre aspect de la personnalité de Trump : sa mégalomanie, la conviction que soi-même est très important à propos de ce qui se passe dans son environnement et que chacun a le pouvoir et le droit de changer la vie des autres à sa guise.

Dans le cas du nouveau président des États-Unis, cette partie de sa personnalité basée sur idées de grandeur cela se manifeste dans le manque d'humilité avec lequel il a traité ses rivaux politiques, malgré le fait qu'ils ont plus d'expérience en politique et ont donc une plus grande capacité à créer des directives d'action politique efficaces (indépendamment de la nature éthique de ces politiques). plans).

3. Tendance à la manipulation

Trump est où il est parce qu'il est un grand manipulateur . Le magnat américain a recueilli de nombreux votes grâce à son discours vague et basé sur des idées mal définies, des idéaux pour que leur signification change avec le temps selon une logique opportuniste. Cette stratégie de discours (que certains appellent populisme) est parfaite pour gagner les votes de personnes qui se sont toujours senties ignorées par les politiciens professionnels et qui attendaient que quelqu'un présente un discours strident et perturbateur pour faire confiance à cette force émergente; les gens qui en avaient marre du modèle que représente Clinton, portant un coup dur à la établissement.

Finalement, Le discours de Trump est indiqué pour manipuler les gens faire appel à de grandes passions et des idées faciles à comprendre du fait de leurs racines culturelles dans la société occidentale: la peur d'envahir d'autres populations, la nécessité de se regrouper et de se défendre, le rejet du discours féministe radical qui s'attaque au "naturel", etc. Trump a profité de la crise capitaliste parce qu'il a réussi à faire valoir sa défense d'idéaux vagues et flous en défendant des piliers cohérents de la sécurité et du bien-être.

3. Pense que le monde tourne autour de lui

Les narcissiques pensent que le monde tourne autour d'eux . Le nouveau président des États-Unis se dit préoccupé par les problèmes de la population, mais son manque de sensibilité envers les minorités révèle qu'il ne s'inquiète pas trop de ce qui est un peu différent de lui.

Il y a peut-être des moments dans ses discours où il semble être chaleureux, mais Donald Trump est toujours un "homme de spectacle" et montre une image qui peut être dérangeante simplement d'être l'endroit où les médias se concentrent, peu importe ce que cela peut être. le résultat.

4. C'est raciste

Ce qui étonne vraiment l’opinion publique, c’est que Donald Trump soit président après avoir fait des déclarations racistes. Une de ses propositions est de construire un mur qui sépare le Mexique des États-Unis, révélant ainsi sa façon de penser ségréguée et exclusive.

Dans ses discours, les déclarations racistes et xénophobes n'ont pas cessé de sonner , non seulement contre les Mexicains mais aussi contre la communauté musulmane. Cela indique que Trump a tendance à catégoriser les gens en fonction de concepts très rigides qui définissent la frontière entre "le leur" et "les autres". Dans ce cas, votre groupe de référence est lié à l’idée d’un citoyen américain blanc et chrétien.

5. C'est autoritaire

Les références au Mexique ont été une constante dans le discours électoral de Trump, comme nous l'avons déjà mentionné. Dans une interview, Vicente Fox, ancien président mexicain, a expliqué qu'il "était plus préoccupé par l'autoritarisme de Trump que par les insultes et le dédain envers le Mexique".

En fait Dans une manifestation manifeste d'autoritarisme, Trump expulsé d'une conférence de presse le journaliste mexicain Jorge Ramos , très critique de sa politique anti-immigration. De la même manière, il a défendu l'idée de faire payer au pays voisin la barrière qui les séparerait le long de la frontière, position très éloignée de l'esprit de conciliation et de négociation généralement attendu d'un président.

  • Article connexe: "Leadership autocratique (ou autoritaire): avantages et inconvénients"

6. Il est arrogant et arrogant

L'affaire précédente montre son arrogance et son arrogance. Trump se croit supérieur aux autres et traite les gens comme s'ils étaient inférieurs. À maintes reprises, il a traité les gens avec mépris non pas à cause de ses idées, mais à cause de sa "condition innée". Ses démonstrations de machisme en sont un exemple, car elles montrent à quel point il pense avoir raison à leur sujet simplement parce qu’il est un homme.

7. C'est misogyne

Nous avons vu dans sa campagne électorale comment il a fait des commentaires sexistes . On a beaucoup parlé ces derniers mois de la façon dont le président a traité Alicia Machado, élue Miss Monde en 1996, d’origine vénézuélienne. Selon elle, "j’ai vécu des moments très humiliants. C'est un homme despotique, froid et calculateur. Il a très peu d'estime pour les personnes qu'il pense inférieures. "Bien que les accusations de plusieurs femmes contre Trump ne soient pas éloquentes, nous avons pu voir comment le magnat a été" attrapé "en train de faire des commentaires sexistes.

De son côté, Trumop est connu pour ses tentatives d'utiliser le statut de femme d'Hillary Clinton pour adopter un rôle dominant et même paternaliste devant elle quand elle était sa rivale politique.

  • Article recommandé: "Misogynie: 9 attitudes qui représentent des misogynes"

8. Mépriser les autres

Et clair, Trump méprise ceux qu'il considère inférieurs . Il se croit unique et critique constamment. Il veut donc montrer qu'il est puissant et qu'il est meilleur que les autres. Ceci est une autre caractéristique des narcissiques: leur capacité à classer les autres dans des rôles de soumission.

9. Doit être admiré

Ce qui caractérise également les narcissiques, c'est leur besoin constant d'admiration. Dans le cas de Trump, cela est révélé dans plusieurs de ses apparitions publiques dans lesquelles il cherche à capturer l'attention avec un langage non verbal expansif et même déplacé, et même dans ses tweets dans lesquels il parle gratuitement de ses réalisations. Il veut toujours que les autres admirent . Cela le fait se sentir spécial et unique.

10. manque d'empathie

Les personnes empathiques savent se mettre à la place des autres et comprendre leurs émotions et leurs besoins. Vous n'avez qu'à écouter le discours de Trump pendant 10 minutes pour vous rendre compte qu'il n'est pas exactement une personne empathique. En fait fonde ses idées sur des préjugés et des stéréotypes, raison pour laquelle il attaque de la même façon qu'il attaque différents groupes et minorités .

  • Article recommandé: "Êtes-vous empathique? 10 caractéristiques typiques d'un peuple empathique"

11. c'est extraverti

Trump est clairement une personne extravertie, qui aime être entouré par d’autres personnes et qui aime s’exprimer lors d’événements publics. Pour le psychologue Dan P.McAdams, Trump présente deux traits de personnalité très forts. Extraversion haute et basse gentillesse et a donc tendance à être insensible, grossier, arrogant et dépourvu d'empathie.

12. ressentir les envies de pouvoir

Trump, comme on l'a déjà dit, est soucieux de la grandeur. Mais pas seulement cela, mais il a des envies de pouvoir. Etre président des États-Unis, c’est contrôler le monde de façon pratique, marquer l’ordre du jour de la géopolitique et pouvoir déstabiliser d’autres pays (qui, soit dit en passant, ont fait beaucoup à leurs prédécesseurs dans les fonctions de président). L'imprévisibilité de Donald Trump laisse la population mondiale en suspens .

13. est intolérant

Les personnes intolérantes sont pleines de préjugés, discriminent, n'écoutent pas, sont autoritaires etc. Toutes ces caractéristiques sont présentées par Donald Trump, qui a déjà manifesté, à maintes reprises, ce qu’il avait prévu de faire avec une bonne partie des immigrants.

  • Article connexe: "Les intolérants partagent ces 12 défauts"

14. c'est agressif

Trump est une personne agressive et a parfois été attaqué par de nombreuses personnes. En fait, les personnes intolérantes voient les autres personnes comme des menaces. Ils n'acceptent pas les critiques et lorsqu'ils les reçoivent, ils agissent généralement de manière hostile. Discriminatoires et fanatiques de leurs idées, ils ont tendance à être agressifs envers d’autres individus ou groupes. En fait, nous l’avons vu utiliser plutôt un discours avant-gardiste et agressif de «eux contre nous».

D'un autre côté, cette attitude agressive correspond à son discours politique , basé sur le "commerce" avec la force militaire des États-Unis et n'offrant pas de protection gratuite, il est donc clair que le recours à la force ne fait que répondre aux intérêts du pays ... qui s'expriment à travers sa propre volonté en tant que président.

15. il est fan

Trump est un fan de ses idées, c'est pourquoi il les défend avec une passion exagérée et parfois excessive. Ce fanatisme est un terreau propice aux conflits entre groupes mais aussi entre peuples, qui ils peuvent ressentir un effet contagieux de l'essentialisme de Trump. En fait, juste après son triomphe, des épisodes de confrontation raciale ont été enregistrés aux États-Unis.

L'idée que l'anglais soit la langue des États-Unis, par exemple, a été exprimée par lui-même et a pénétré une partie de l'électorat, même si les États-Unis n'ont pas de langue officielle.


10 PREUVES que DONALD TRUMP MALTRAITE sa FEMME MELANIA ! (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes