yes, therapy helps!
The personality theory of Abraham Maslow

The personality theory of Abraham Maslow

November 17, 2022

Throughout the history of psychology, many psychologists have formulated theories of personality. One of the acquaintances is Abraham Maslow, along with Carl Rogers, for being maximum exponents of what is known as the third force of psychology, humanism. This current emerged in opposition to Psychoanalysis and Behaviorism.

Unlike these schools, humanism sees the person from a holistic and positive vision, where the focus is on the subject's subjective experience. People are active beings that have the capacity to develop, and their basic instinct and dignity reside in the confidence they have in themselves.

  • Related article: "60 phrases of Abraham Maslow (and human needs)"

Who was Abraham Maslow

Abraham Maslow was an American psychologist who was born in Brooklyn (New York) on April 1, 1908. His parents were non-Orthodox Jews from Russia who came to the land of opportunity in the hope of achieving a better future for their children. Abraham Maslow was never a very sociable guy, and as a child, took refuge in books.


Before becoming interested in psychology, he first studied law at the City College of New York (CCNY). After marrying Berta Goodman, her older cousin, she moved to Wisconsin to attend the university in that city. It was here that he began to study psychology. He worked with Harry Harlow, famous for his experiments with monkey pups and attachment behavior. After graduating and a doctorate in this discipline, he returned to New York to work with E.L. Thorndike at Columbia University, where he became interested in the investigation of human sexuality. In this period of his life, he began teaching at Brooklyn College and came into contact with many European psychologists who came to the United States, for example, Adler or Fromm.


The humanist theory of Rogers

Humanistic psychology is, without a doubt, one of the most important currents of thought in psychology. But to know what it is about, it is necessary to know the work of another great figure of this school. It is difficult to understand humanism without Rogers and Maslow. For that reason, before delving into Maslow's theoretical proposals, we are going to delve into Rogers' theory.

If Freudian psychoanalysis saw the person from their problematic behaviors and behaviorism visualized people as passive beings, that is, they did not have too many options to influence the environment. The vision of Carl Rogers and humanism, on the other hand, was totally different, because the human being is seen as an active individual and owner of his own realization. For Rogers, a person who pays attention to the process of organic valuation is a fully functional or self-realized person.


Rogers emphasizes the freedom of individuals when taking the course of their lives . According to this, the personality of people can be analyzed according to how they approach or move away from what they consider a highly functional individual.

The person who is fully functional, that is, more healthy, when he has a series of characteristics. They are the following:

  • Existential life : People with an openness to experience are more likely to live fully.
  • Organic trust : These people rely on their inner experience to guide the behavior.
  • Experience of freedom : The person has freedom to choose.
  • Creativity : The person is creative and always finds new alternatives to live. They are mentally inflexible.
You can go deeper into Rogers' ideas in this article: "The Theory of Personality proposed by Carl Rogers"

Maslow's personality theory

Maslow adds to Rogers' theory his concept of needs. This psychologist's theory revolves around two fundamental aspects: our needs and our experiences . In other words, what motivates us and what we seek throughout life and what is happening to us on this path, what we are experiencing. This is where our personality is formed. In fact, Maslow is considered one of the great theorists of motivation.

Maslow's personality theory has two levels. One biological, the needs we all have and another more personal, which are those needs that they have that are the result of our desires and the experiences we are living.

Definitely, Maslow is associated with the concept of self-realization , because in his theory he talks about the needs that people have to develop, to seek our maximum potential.And, according to this one, people have an innate desire to self-fulfill, to be what they want to be, and they have the ability to pursue their goals autonomously and freely.

In a certain way, the way in which an individual focuses his self-realization will correspond to the type of personality he manifests in his day-to-day life. That implies that for Maslow the personality is related to the motivational aspects that have to do with the objectives and situations that each human being lives; it is not something static that remains inside the heads of people and manifests unidirectionally, from the inside out, as it could be criticized by some reductionist and deterministic conceptions of this psychological phenomenon.

The implications of this are clear: to study personality we must also know the context in which people live and the way in which it responds to the motivational needs of individuals. Focus simply on administering several tests to obtain a score does not give us an accurate view on this, since it is based on a bias when considering that personality is what can be captured by these data collection tests. This is a view similar to that applied to the field of mental abilities psychologists such as Howard Gardner and Robert J. Sternberg, critics of the psychometric conception of intelligence.

The self-realized personality

Maslow thinks that reaching the needs of self-realization is in the hands of everyone, however, there are few who achieve it. The people who manage to satisfy their needs of self-realization are self-realized people . However, Maslow states that less than 1% of the population belong to this class of individuals.

Self-realized people are characterized by:

  • They show a high level of acceptance of themselves
  • They perceive reality more clearly and objectively
  • They are more spontaneous
  • They think that the causes of the problems are external
  • Enjoy the loneliness
  • They have a curious and creative mentality
  • Enjoy summit experiences
  • Generate genuine ideas
  • They have a great sense of humor
  • They have a great critical spirit and are governed by ethical values
  • They are respectful and humble
  • They are tolerant, have no prejudices and enjoy the presence of others

If you want to know more about this type of people, you can read our article:

  • "13 characteristics of the self-realized people according to Abraham Maslow"

The theory of the pyramid of human needs

Maslow is famous for his theory of the Needs Pyramid because, according to him, needs follow a hierarchy, from more basic to more complex, and its pyramid is built on five levels .

In the base of this figure are the first and in the highest part the second. From bottom to top these are the different levels of needs:

  • Physiological needs : eat, breathe, drink ...
  • Security needs : physical security, employment, income ...
  • Need of affiliation : get married, be a member of a community ...
  • Recognition needs : respect for others, status, reputation ...
  • Self-realization needs : moral, spiritual development, search for a goal in life ...

The needs have to be covered to be able to aspire to the higher level. For example, if we do not have the physiological needs covered we can not aspire to the needs of affiliation. At the higher level are the needs for self-realization. It is this hierarchy that according to Maslow marked the way in which the personality adapts to the circumstances, depending on each lived situation. It is, in short, a conception of personality that encompasses very extensive psychological aspects and that goes beyond the psychometric approach that dominated in his time.

  • You can learn more about the theory of human needs in our post: "Maslow's Pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs | Episode 21 (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité d'Abraham Maslow

La théorie de la personnalité d'Abraham Maslow

Mars 4, 2021

Tout au long de l'histoire de la psychologie, de nombreux psychologues ont formulé des théories de la personnalité. Abraham Maslow est, avec Carl Rogers, l'une des connaissances les plus représentatives de ce que l'on appelle la troisième force de la psychologie, l'humanisme. Ce courant est apparu en opposition à la psychanalyse et au comportementalisme.

À la différence de ces écoles, l'humanisme considère la personne sous l'angle d'une vision holistique et positive, l'accent étant mis sur l'expérience subjective du sujet. Les gens sont des êtres actifs qui ont la capacité de se développer, et leur instinct de base et leur dignité résident dans la confiance qu'ils ont en eux-mêmes.

  • Article connexe: "60 phrases d'Abraham Maslow (et des besoins humains)"

Qui était Abraham Maslow

Abraham Maslow était un psychologue américain né à Brooklyn (New York) le 1 er avril 1908. Ses parents étaient des Juifs non orthodoxes de Russie venus au pays des chances dans l'espoir d'assurer un meilleur avenir à leurs enfants. Abraham Maslow n'a jamais été un homme très sociable et, enfant, il s'est réfugié dans des livres.


Avant de s'intéresser à la psychologie, il a d'abord étudié le droit au City College de New York (CCNY). Après avoir épousé Berta Goodman, sa cousine plus âgée, elle s'est installée dans le Wisconsin pour fréquenter l'université de cette ville. C'est ici qu'il a commencé à étudier la psychologie. Il a travaillé avec Harry Harlow, célèbre pour ses expériences sur les bébés singes et le comportement d'attachement. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme et un doctorat dans cette discipline, il est retourné à New York pour travailler avec E.L. Thorndike à l’Université Columbia, où il s’intéresse à l’enquête sur la sexualité humaine. Durant cette période de sa vie, il commence à enseigner au Brooklyn College et entre en contact avec de nombreux psychologues européens venus aux États-Unis, tels que Adler ou Fromm.


La théorie humaniste de Rogers

La psychologie humaniste est sans aucun doute l’un des principaux courants de pensée en psychologie. Mais pour savoir de quoi il s'agit, il est nécessaire de connaître le travail d'une autre grande figure de cette école. Il est difficile de comprendre l'humanisme sans Rogers et Maslow. Pour cette raison, avant d'examiner les propositions théoriques de Maslow, nous allons approfondir la théorie de Rogers.

Si la psychanalyse freudienne voyait la personne de par ses comportements problématiques et son behaviorisme visualisée en personnes passives, c'est-à-dire qu'elle n'avait pas trop d'options pour influencer l'environnement. La vision de Carl Rogers et de l'humanisme, en revanche, était totalement différente, car l'être humain est perçu comme un individu actif et propriétaire de sa propre réalisation. Pour Rogers, une personne qui porte une attention particulière au processus d’évaluation biologique est une personne pleinement fonctionnelle ou qui se réalise elle-même.


Rogers met l'accent sur la liberté des individus lorsqu'ils suivent le cours de leur vie . Selon cela, la personnalité des personnes peut être analysée en fonction de la manière dont elles abordent ou s’éloignent de ce qu’elles considèrent comme un individu hautement fonctionnel.

La personne qui est pleinement fonctionnelle, c'est-à-dire plus saine, lorsqu'elle présente une série de caractéristiques. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Vie existentielle : Les personnes ouvertes à l’expérience ont plus de chances de vivre pleinement.
  • Confiance organique : Ces personnes s'appuient sur leur expérience intérieure pour guider le comportement.
  • Expérience de la liberté : La personne a la liberté de choisir.
  • La créativité : La personne est créative et trouve toujours de nouvelles alternatives à vivre. Ils sont mentalement inflexibles.
Vous pouvez approfondir les idées de Rogers dans cet article: "La théorie de la personnalité proposée par Carl Rogers"

La théorie de la personnalité de Maslow

Maslow ajoute à la théorie de Rogers sa conception des besoins. La théorie de cette psychologue s'articule autour de deux aspects fondamentaux: nos besoins et nos expériences . En d'autres termes, ce qui nous motive et que nous cherchons tout au long de la vie et ce qui nous arrive sur ce chemin, ce que nous vivons. C'est ici que se forme notre personnalité. En fait, Maslow est considéré comme l'un des grands théoriciens de la motivation.

La théorie de la personnalité de Maslow comporte deux niveaux. Un biologique, les besoins que nous avons tous et un autre plus personnel, qui sont ces besoins qui résultent de nos désirs et des expériences que nous vivons.

Sans doute, Maslow est associé au concept de réalisation de soi , parce que dans sa théorie, il parle des besoins que les gens doivent développer, pour rechercher notre potentiel maximum.Et, selon celui-ci, les gens ont un désir inné de s'épanouir, d'être ce qu'ils veulent être, et ils ont la capacité de poursuivre leurs objectifs de manière autonome et libre.

D'une certaine manière, la manière dont un individu concentre sa réalisation de soi correspondra au type de personnalité qu'il manifeste dans sa vie quotidienne. Cela implique que pour Maslow la personnalité est liée aux aspects motivationnels cela a à voir avec les objectifs et les situations que vit chaque être humain; ce n'est pas quelque chose de statique qui reste dans la tête des gens et se manifeste de manière unidirectionnelle, car il pourrait être critiqué par certaines conceptions réductionnistes et déterministes de ce phénomène psychologique.

Les implications de ceci sont claires: pour étudier la personnalité, nous devons également connaître le contexte dans lequel les gens vivent et la manière dont il répond aux besoins de motivation des individus. Concentrez-vous simplement sur l'administration de plusieurs tests obtenir un score ne nous donne pas une vue précise à ce sujet, car il est basé sur un biais lorsque l’on considère que la personnalité est ce qui peut être capturé par ces tests de collecte de données. C’est une vision similaire à celle appliquée au domaine des psychologues des capacités mentales tels que Howard Gardner et Robert J. Sternberg, critiques de la conception psychométrique de l’intelligence.

La personnalité réalisée

Maslow pense qu'atteindre les besoins de réalisation de soi est entre les mains de tout le monde, cependant, rares sont ceux qui y parviennent. Les personnes qui parviennent à satisfaire leurs besoins de réalisation de soi sont des personnes auto-réalisées . Cependant, Maslow déclare que moins de 1% de la population appartient à cette classe d'individus.

Les personnes qui se réalisent sont caractérisées par:

  • Ils montrent un haut niveau d'acceptation d'eux-mêmes
  • Ils perçoivent la réalité plus clairement et plus objectivement
  • Ils sont plus spontanés
  • Ils pensent que les causes des problèmes sont externes
  • Profiter de la solitude
  • Ils ont une mentalité curieuse et créative
  • Profitez des expériences au sommet
  • Générer des idées authentiques
  • Ils ont un grand sens de l'humour
  • Ils ont un grand esprit critique et sont régis par des valeurs éthiques
  • Ils sont respectueux et humble
  • Ils sont tolérants, n'ont pas de préjugés et apprécient la présence des autres

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur ce type de personnes, vous pouvez lire notre article:

  • "13 caractéristiques du peuple réalisé par Abraham Maslow"

La théorie de la pyramide des besoins humains

Maslow est célèbre pour sa théorie de la pyramide des besoins parce que, selon lui, les besoins suivent une hiérarchie, du plus simple au plus complexe, et sa pyramide est construite à cinq niveaux .

Dans la base de cette figure se trouvent la première et dans la partie la plus haute la seconde. De bas en haut, ce sont les différents niveaux de besoins:

  • Besoins physiologiques : manger, respirer, boire ...
  • Besoins de sécurité : sécurité physique, emploi, revenu ...
  • Besoin d'affiliation : se marier, être membre d'une communauté ...
  • Besoins de reconnaissance : respect des autres, statut, réputation ...
  • Besoin de réalisation de soi : développement moral, spirituel, recherche d'un but dans la vie ...

Les besoins doivent être couverts pour pouvoir aspirer au niveau supérieur. Par exemple, si nous ne couvrons pas les besoins physiologiques, nous ne pouvons pas aspirer aux besoins d’affiliation. Au niveau supérieur se trouvent les besoins de réalisation de soi. C’est cette hiérarchie qui, selon Maslow, marque la manière dont la personnalité s’adapte aux circonstances, en fonction de chaque situation vécue. En bref, il s’agit d’une conception de la personnalité qui englobe des aspects psychologiques très étendus et dépasse l’approche psychométrique qui a dominé à son époque.

  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur la théorie des besoins humains dans notre article: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

La pyramide de Maslow [Les Jeudi d’Emilie] (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes