yes, therapy helps!
The phenomenological theory of Carl Rogers

The phenomenological theory of Carl Rogers

November 27, 2021

Each person has their own unique way of capturing reality , to think and process what happens to us and to act according to our perceptions, previous experiences, beliefs and values. In other words, every human being has his own personality.

This construct has been studied from very different theories and points of view, as well as those problems and disorders that derive from a lack of coordination and adaptation between personality characteristics and the events of everyday life. One of them is the phenomenological theory of Carl Rogers, centered in the formation of the I and the personality and the adaptation of these, oriented towards the clinical practice.


  • Related article: "The Theory of Personality proposed by Carl Rogers"

The phenomenological theory of Rogers

Carl Rogers was a psychologist of great importance in the history of psychology, being recognized as one of the greatest exponents of humanistic psychology and for his contribution to the practice of psychotherapy with innovations such as client-centered therapy. Much of his contributions are due to his vision of how human beings integrate reality to form their own Self. And this aspect is especially worked on in the so-called phenomenological theory of Rogers.

This theory establishes that each person perceives the world and reality in a particular way based on the experience and the interpretation he makes of it, so that he constructs his own reality from these elements. This interpretation of reality is what Rogers calls a phenomenological field. For Rogers, the reality is the perception that each person has of it , since it is not possible to observe it in any other way than through the filter of our own mind.


Thus, the professional who seeks to understand and treat another human being must start from the idea that to understand him he will have to take into account not only what he does objectively, but the subjective vision of the world that he possesses and that has led to it, working with both elements at the same time from the link between professional and patient.

The phenomenological theory of Rogers is based on the idea that the behavior is mediated by internal elements , as the tendency to update and evaluate experiences. The human being tries to find his place in the world, feeling self-realization with it and basing his conception on personal growth.

The human being as an organism that is updated

Throughout life, the human being is continually exposed to a flow of situations that will force him to adapt to survive. The goal of this is to find your own place in the world. To this end, we have as a body the tendency to constantly update ourselves: we are motivated to grow and expand continuously as this allows us, on the one hand, to survive and, on the other, to develop and achieve achieve autonomy and meet objectives .


Also, we learn to evaluate situations positively or negatively depending on whether they allow us to update them, approaching the elements that allow us to satisfy ourselves and moving away from those that make it difficult for us. We are learning to visualize reality in a certain way and this vision will mark our interaction with the environment.

This trend is present from birth , trying to coordinate this development with our being to form a more or less stable I over time, which will mark our identity and our personality.

Self-concept and the need for acceptance and self-esteem

Phenomenological theory focuses mainly on the processes of behavior and personality change throughout life. An important concept is the self-concept, which is understood as the consciousness of oneself and which serves as a model or frame of reference from which reality is perceived and to which the perceived experience is linked to grant it, while at the same time same, a value.

This self-concept is based on the organism, the totality of the person, both physically and mentally, and which serves as a basis for conscious and non-conscious experiences.

The self-concept is generated throughout the evolution and growth of the person, as they internalize and self-assign traits that they perceive from the actions of others and their effects. Based on these self-assigned traits an image of the self is formed , gradually acquiring awareness of their individuality

The minor's own actions provoke a reaction on the part of others, reactions that will become relevant throughout the development as the need for feel affection from others and be valued positively.According to the behavior is approved or otherwise punished, the person will learn to value themselves in a way that will end up building self-esteem.

The mental disorder

This self-esteem or emotional assessment of the person will make an ideal Yo sketch , what the subject would like to be, and try to achieve it. But our ideal ego can be more or less close to our real self, which can trigger frustrations and diminished self-esteem if an approach to the first is not achieved. In the same way, if the situations that are experienced contradict our development, they are seen as a threat.

When the self-concept and reality contradict each other, the human being tries to react through different reactions that reduce the contradiction. It is at this moment where pathological reactions may arise as the negation or dissociation, according to the defensive reaction is not enough or is disorganized, which can lead to the appearance of mental disorders to disintegrate the personality of the individual.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

In therapy

In therapy, Rogers considers that the professional must act from empathy and making use of the intuition and the connection with the patient to get to understand its phenomenological field, so that it can contribute to guide him in his acquisition of autonomy and development.

It is important to bear in mind that for Rogers each person is responsible for himself, being the subject himself who is going to elaborate his development and to carry out the change process. The therapist is a guide or help , but he can not make the change for him but help the person to find ways to update himself in the best possible way.

The role of the professional is therefore to guide and help to see the subject that motivates or in what direction develops from the relationship with the patient, which should allow and help to express themselves. It is based on complete acceptance of the patient , without conditions, to achieve that it opens its phenomenological field and can make aware and accept those experiences that contradict its self-concept. This seeks to make the person able to reintegrate his personality and develop positively.

  • Related article: "Self-acceptance: 5 psychological tips to achieve it"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychology of the Personality. Theory and research (Vols. I and II). Didactic Unit of the UNED. Madrid.
  • Evans, R.I. (1987). The Artificers of Psychology and Psychoanalysis. Conversations with the Great Contemporary Psychologists. Mexico: FCE, pp. 267 and 254.
  • Hernangómez, L. and Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of personality and differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Martínez, J.C. (1998). The Theory of Personality of Carl Rogers. School of Psychology of the University of Colima.

Carl Rogers theory on self (PSY) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie phénoménologique de Carl Rogers

La théorie phénoménologique de Carl Rogers

Janvier 12, 2023

Chaque personne a sa propre manière de capturer la réalité , penser et traiter ce qui nous arrive et agir en fonction de nos perceptions, expériences précédentes, croyances et valeurs. En d'autres termes, chaque être humain a sa propre personnalité.

Cette construction a été étudiée à partir de théories et de points de vue très différents, ainsi que de problèmes et de troubles résultant d'un manque de coordination et d'adaptation entre les caractéristiques de la personnalité et les événements de la vie quotidienne. L'un d'eux est la théorie phénoménologique de Carl Rogers, centrée sur la formation du je et de la personnalité et leur adaptation, orientée vers la pratique clinique.


  • Article connexe: "La théorie de la personnalité proposée par Carl Rogers"

La théorie phénoménologique de Rogers

Carl Rogers était un psychologue de grande importance dans l’histoire de la psychologie, il est reconnu comme l’un des plus grands représentants de la psychologie humaniste et pour sa contribution à la pratique de la psychothérapie avec des innovations telles que la thérapie centrée sur le client. Une grande partie de ses contributions est due à sa vision de la façon dont les êtres humains intègrent la réalité pour former leur propre Soi. Et cet aspect est particulièrement traité dans la théorie dite phénoménologique de Rogers.

Cette théorie établit que chaque personne perçoit le monde et la réalité d'une manière particulière en fonction de l'expérience et de l'interprétation qu'elle en fait, de sorte qu'il construit sa propre réalité à partir de ces éléments. Cette interprétation de la réalité est ce que Rogers appelle un champ phénoménologique. Pour Rogers, la réalité est la perception que chaque personne en a , puisqu'il n'est pas possible de l'observer autrement que par le filtre de notre propre esprit.


Ainsi, le professionnel qui cherche à comprendre et à traiter un autre être humain doit partir de l’idée que pour le comprendre, il devra prendre en compte non seulement ce qu’il fait objectivement, mais aussi la vision subjective du monde qu’il possède et que y a conduit, en travaillant simultanément sur les deux éléments, du lien entre le professionnel et le patient.

La théorie phénoménologique de Rogers repose sur l’idée que le comportement est médiatisé par des éléments internes , comme la tendance à mettre à jour et à évaluer les expériences. L'être humain essaie de trouver sa place dans le monde, en se réalisant et en se basant sur sa croissance personnelle.

L'être humain en tant qu'organisme mis à jour

Tout au long de sa vie, l’être humain est continuellement exposé à un flot de situations qui l’obligeront à s’adapter pour survivre. Le but de ceci est de trouver votre propre place dans le monde. À cette fin, nous avons comme corps la tendance à nous actualiser constamment: nous sommes motivés à grandir et à nous développer continuellement, ce qui nous permet, d’une part, de survivre et, d’autre part, de nous développer et d’atteindre atteindre l'autonomie et atteindre les objectifs .


Nous apprenons également à évaluer les situations de manière positive ou négative, selon qu’elles nous permettent ou non de les mettre à jour, en abordant les éléments nous permettant de nous satisfaire et en nous éloignant de celles qui nous rendent la tâche difficile. Nous apprenons à visualiser la réalité d’une certaine manière et cette vision marquera notre interaction avec l’environnement.

Cette tendance est présente dès la naissance en essayant de coordonner ce développement avec notre être pour former un je plus ou moins stable dans le temps, qui marquera notre identité et notre personnalité.

Concept de soi et besoin d'acceptation et d'estime de soi

La théorie phénoménologique se concentre principalement sur processus de comportement et changement de personnalité au long de la vie. Un concept important est le concept de soi, qui est compris comme la conscience de soi et qui sert de modèle ou de cadre de référence à partir duquel la réalité est perçue et auquel l'expérience perçue est liée pour la donner, tout en idem, une valeur.

Ce concept de soi est basé sur l'organisme, la totalité de la personne, à la fois physiquement et mentalement, et sert de base à des expériences conscientes et non conscientes.

Le concept de soi est généré tout au long de l'évolution et de la croissance de la personne, à mesure qu'elle intériorise et attribue elle-même des traits qu'elle perçoit des actions des autres et de leurs effets. Sur la base de ces traits auto-assignés une image de soi est formée , prenant progressivement conscience de leur individualité

Les propres actions du mineur provoquent une réaction chez les autres, réactions qui deviendront pertinentes tout au long du développement, à mesure que le besoin de ressentir l'affection des autres et être évalué positivement.Selon que le comportement est approuvé ou puni d'une autre manière, la personne apprendra à se valoriser de manière à renforcer son estime de soi.

Le désordre mental

Cette estime de soi ou évaluation émotionnelle de la personne fera un croquis idéal Yo , ce que le sujet voudrait être et essayer de le réaliser. Mais notre ego idéal peut être plus ou moins proche de notre moi réel, ce qui peut provoquer des frustrations et une perte d'estime de soi si une approche du premier n'est pas atteinte. De même, si les situations vécues contredisent notre développement, elles sont perçues comme une menace.

Lorsque le concept de soi et la réalité se contredisent, l’être humain tente de réagir à travers différentes réactions qui réduisent la contradiction. C'est à ce moment où des réactions pathologiques peuvent survenir comme la négation ou la dissociation, selon la réaction défensive ne suffit pas ou est désorganisé, ce qui peut conduire à l'apparition de troubles mentaux pour désintégrer la personnalité de l'individu.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

En thérapie

En thérapie, Rogers considère que le professionnel doit agir d'empathie et en utilisant l'intuition et la connexion avec le patient pour comprendre son domaine phénoménologique, afin que celui-ci puisse contribuer à le guider dans son acquisition de l'autonomie et de son développement.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que pour Rogers chaque personne est responsable de soi, en tant que sujet lui-même qui va élaborer son développement et mener à bien le processus de changement. Le thérapeute est un guide ou une aide , mais il ne peut pas faire le changement pour lui mais aider la personne à trouver des moyens de se mettre à jour de la meilleure façon possible.

Le rôle du professionnel est donc de guider et d'aider à voir le sujet qui motive ou dans quelle direction se développe à partir de la relation avec le patient, ce qui devrait permettre et aider à s'exprimer. Il est basé sur l'acceptation complète du patient , sans conditions, pour y parvenir, il ouvre son champ phénoménologique et peut faire prendre conscience et accepter les expériences qui contredisent son concept de soi. Cela vise à rendre la personne capable de réintégrer sa personnalité et de se développer de manière positive.

  • Article connexe: "Acceptation de soi: 5 astuces psychologiques pour y parvenir"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychologie de la personnalité. Théorie et recherche (Vols I et II). Unité didactique de l'UNED. Madrid
  • Evans, R.I. (1987). Les artificiers de la psychologie et de la psychanalyse. Conversations avec les grands psychologues contemporains. Mexique: FCE, pp. 267 et 254.
  • Hernangómez, L. et Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Martínez, J.C. (1998). La théorie de la personnalité de Carl Rogers. École de psychologie de l'Université de Colima.

2017 Personality 10: Humanism & Phenomenology: Carl Rogers (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes