yes, therapy helps!
The physical and psychological benefits of laughter

The physical and psychological benefits of laughter

March 1, 2021

Several studies and researches have tried to find the influence that laughter has on our mental and physical health . In fact, we are all aware that laughing is something healthy and that it makes certain muscles work that we rarely use in our daily life. In addition, laughter also generates in our body certain hormones that provide us with happiness and good humor.

Laughter is a historically recognized medicine

The ability to improve our mood that laughter has is not something that humans have recently discovered. The benefits of laughter have been known for centuries, proof of this are the writings of Plato or Socrates, who they already conceived the human laughter as a source of pleasure .


Sigmund Freud himself, more recently, declared that laughter is an essential key to release tensions and negative energies . In many cultures, laughter has been an important element to achieve body-spirit harmony, as for example in Hindu philosophy.

From psychology, laughter has also been considered as a resource to promote the psychological well-being and health of individuals. Its best known form is the Laughter therapy , a therapy based on good humor and positive effects for our mind that has a healthy habit of laughing.

What exactly are the benefits of laughter?

Laughing is important in our lives. It is a healthy way to keep our body and mind in good shape.


Physical benefits of laughter

  • Activates muscles that we do not use regularly . When we laugh out loud our body is activated and more than 400 muscles move. This contraction and muscle relaxation is what makes the laughter itself. Laughter causes a level of physical activity similar to when we do running moderate. Have you noticed that when you laugh for a long time, your abdominals hurt?
  • Strengthens our immune system . Laughter makes our body generate more Inmonuglobulin A and T lymphocytes, antibodies that are responsible for fighting viruses and bacteria. This means that our defenses are reinforced and, therefore, that our health is more resistant.
  • Burns body fat . When laughing, our abdomen and diaphragm contract, so that they facilitate the digestive process, eliminating fat and toxins from our body, and improving intestinal regulation.
  • Our body receives more oxygen . Between laughter and laughter, we receive more than twice the oxygen we breathe in a resting situation. The effort that our muscles make requires higher levels of oxygen in the blood. If you know someone who has fits of laughter, you will have noticed that there may come a time when you feel something choked. This may be because your muscles are exercising a lot, or because you have inhaled too much oxygen, producing the same symptom of suffocation.

Psychological benefits of laughter

  • We release endorphins . When we laugh, we secrete a hormone called endorphin, which is very associated with the feeling of happiness. The greater the intensity of the laughter, the more endorphin segregation our nervous system generates, and with it the more sensation of pleasure and well-being we feel. In addition, laughter also makes us segregate dopamine Y serotonin, substances that fight some mood disorders such as depression or anxiety.
  • A powerful anti-stress . In addition to the hormones and their beneficial effect on our mood, laughter also has the ability to activate many muscles that, once we have stopped laughing, return to relax. This increases a state of physical distension and also psychological. A good way to combat negative thoughts and emotional ballast.
  • Improve the performance of our brain or . Another hormone (neurotransmitter) that we segregate when we laugh is the catecholamine, which is involved in the proper functioning of our brain. This neurotransmitter also has the ability to improve our memory, academic performance and mental agility.
  • It makes us more sociable . When we share good times with friends or colleagues and laugh in this social context, we are sharing unique and positive experiences, which improves our socialization. Laughter in common can improve our interpersonal relationships.
  • Increase self-esteem . Laughter allows us to put aside the sense of ridicule and take our lives with good humor and with more relaxation, which can lead to an improvement in our self-esteem.
  • Encourage our optimism . Laughter gives us a positive mood. When we are in a good mood, it is usual that we generate more positive thoughts.laughter can serve to relativize the difficulties and start creating a good mental state that leads to optimism.

Several conclusions about laughter

It is clear that laughter is one of the best natural therapies that exist . For all the explained, philosophy and science are increasing year after year our knowledge about good humor and its ability to positively influence our health and our mood.


So, let's leave out for a few moments the worries of everyday life and learn to enjoy everything that is capable of provoking a laugh.


Improve your health with laughter and humor (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les bienfaits physiques et psychologiques du rire

Les bienfaits physiques et psychologiques du rire

Avril 22, 2019

Plusieurs études et recherches ont tenté de trouver l'influence du rire sur notre santé physique et mentale . En fait, nous sommes tous conscients que le rire est une chose saine et fait fonctionner certains muscles que nous utilisons rarement dans notre vie quotidienne. De plus, le rire génère également dans notre corps certaines hormones qui nous procurent bonheur et bonne humeur.

Le rire est un médicament historiquement reconnu

La capacité d'améliorer l'état d'esprit du rire n'est pas quelque chose que les humains ont récemment découvert. Les bienfaits du rire sont connus depuis des siècles, comme en témoignent les écrits de Platon ou de Socrate, qui ils ont déjà conçu le rire humain comme une source de plaisir .


Sigmund Freud lui-même, plus récemment, a déclaré que le rire est une clé essentielle pour libérer les tensions et les énergies négatives . Dans de nombreuses cultures, le rire a été un élément important pour parvenir à une harmonie corps-esprit, comme par exemple dans la philosophie hindoue.

De la psychologie, le rire a également été considéré comme une ressource pour promouvoir le bien-être psychologique et la santé des individus. Sa forme la plus connue est la Thérapie par le rire , une thérapie basée sur la bonne humeur et des effets positifs pour notre esprit qui a l'habitude de rire.

Quels sont exactement les avantages du rire?

Le rire est important dans nos vies. C'est un moyen sain de garder notre corps et notre esprit en bonne forme.


Bienfaits physiques du rire

  • Active les muscles que nous n'utilisons pas régulièrement . Lorsque nous rions à haute voix, notre corps est activé et plus de 400 muscles sont en mouvement. Cette contraction et cette relaxation musculaire font le rire lui-même. Le rire provoque un niveau d'activité physique similaire à celui que nous faisons courir modéré Avez-vous remarqué que lorsque vous riez longtemps, vos abdominaux vous font mal?
  • Renforce notre système immunitaire . Le rire fait en sorte que notre corps génère davantage de lymphocytes Inmonuglobuline A et T, des anticorps responsables de la lutte contre les virus et les bactéries. Cela signifie que nos défenses sont renforcées et que, par conséquent, notre santé est plus résistante.
  • Brûle la graisse corporelle . En riant, notre abdomen et notre diaphragme se contractent pour faciliter le processus de digestion, éliminer les graisses et les toxines de notre corps et améliorer la régulation intestinale.
  • Notre corps reçoit plus d'oxygène . Entre les rires et les rires, nous recevons plus de deux fois l'oxygène que nous respirons au repos. L'effort que font nos muscles nécessite des niveaux plus élevés d'oxygène dans le sang. Si vous connaissez quelqu'un qui a des éclats de rire, vous aurez sûrement remarqué qu'il peut arriver que vous ressentiez un étouffement. Cela peut être dû au fait que vos muscles font beaucoup d’exercice ou parce que vous avez inhalé trop d’oxygène, produisant le même symptôme de suffocation.

Avantages psychologiques du rire

  • Nous libérons des endorphines . Quand on rit, on sécrète une hormone appelée endorphine, qui est très associé au sentiment de bonheur. Plus le rire est intense, plus le système nerveux produit une ségrégation d'endorphines et, avec lui, plus nous ressentons de plaisir et de bien-être. De plus, le rire nous rend également séparés dopamine et sérotoninesubstances qui combattent certains troubles de l’humeur tels que la dépression ou l’anxiété.
  • Un anti-stress puissant . En plus des hormones et de leurs effets bénéfiques sur notre humeur, le rire a également la capacité d'activer de nombreux muscles qui, une fois que nous avons cessé de rire, retournent se détendre. Cela augmente l'état de distension physique et psychologique. Un bon moyen de lutter contre les pensées négatives et le ballast émotionnel.
  • Améliorer les performances de notre cerveau o . Une autre hormone (neurotransmetteur) que nous séparons lorsque nous rions est la catécholamine, qui participe au bon fonctionnement de notre cerveau. Ce neurotransmetteur a également la capacité d'améliorer notre mémoire, nos performances scolaires et notre agilité mentale.
  • Cela nous rend plus sociable . Lorsque nous partageons de bons moments avec des amis ou des collègues et rions dans ce contexte social, nous partageons des expériences uniques et positives, ce qui améliore notre socialisation. Le rire en commun peut améliorer nos relations interpersonnelles.
  • Augmenter l'estime de soi . Le rire nous permet de mettre de côté le sens du ridicule et de mener notre vie de bonne humeur et avec plus de détente, ce qui peut améliorer notre estime de soi.
  • Encouragez notre optimisme . Le rire nous donne une humeur positive. Lorsque nous sommes de bonne humeur, il est habituel de générer des pensées plus positives.le rire peut servir à relativiser les difficultés et à créer un bon état mental menant à l'optimisme.

Plusieurs conclusions sur le rire

C'est clair que le rire est l'une des meilleures thérapies naturelles existantes . Malgré tout, philosophie et science augmentent chaque année notre connaissance de la bonne humeur et de sa capacité à influencer de manière positive notre santé et notre humeur.


Laissons donc quelques instants de côté les soucis de la vie quotidienne et apprenons à aimer tout ce qui est capable de provoquer de rire.


Rigologie : la thérapie par le rire (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes