yes, therapy helps!
The 'place cells', something like our brain GPS

The 'place cells', something like our brain GPS

January 25, 2022

Orientation and exploration in new or unknown spaces is one of the cognitive faculties that we use most often. We use it to guide us in our house, our neighborhood, to go to work.

We also depend on it when we travel to a new and unknown city for us. We use it even when we drive and, possibly, the reader will have been the victim of a carelessness in his orientation or in that of a companion, which will have condemned him to be lost, being forced to turn around with the car until he with the appropriate route.

It's not the orientation's fault, it's the hippocampus's fault

All these are situations that often frustrate us and that lead us to curse our orientation or that of others with insults, shouts and various behaviors. All right, because today I will give a brushstroke in the neurophysiological mechanisms of orientation , in our Brain GPS to understand us.


We will start by being specific: we should not curse the orientation since it is only a product of our neural activity in specific regions. Therefore, we will begin by cursing our hippocampus.

The hippocampus as a brain structure

Evolutively, the hippocampus is an ancient structure, it is part of the arquiculture, that is, those structures that are phylogenetically older in our species. Anatomically, it is part of the limbic system, in which other structures such as the amygdala are also found. The Limbic System is considered the morphological substrate of memory, emotions, learning and motivation.

The reader possibly if he is accustomed with psychology will know that the hippocampus is a necessary structure for the consolidation of declarative memories, that is, with those memories with episodic content about our experiences or else, semantic (Nadel and O'Keefe, 1972) .


Proof of this are the abundant studies that exist about the popular case of the "patient HM", a patient whose temporal hemispheres had been removed, producing a devastating anterograde amnesia, that is, he could not memorize new facts although he retained most of the of your memories from before the operation. For those who want to deepen in this case I recommend the studies of Scoville and Millner (1957) who studied the HM patient exhaustively.

The Place Cells: what are they?

So far we do not say anything new, or anything surprising. But it was in 1971 when by chance a fact that generated the beginning of the study of navigation systems in the brain was discovered. O'keefe and John Dostrovski, using intracranial electrodes, could record the activity of hippocampal-specific neurons in rats . This offered the possibility that while performing different behavioral tests, the animal was awake, conscious and moving freely.


What they did not expect to discover was that there were neurons that responded selectively depending on the area in which the rat was. It is not that there were specific neurons to each position (there is no neuron for your bathroom, for example), but that they were observed in the CA1 (a specific region of the hippocampus) cells that marked reference points that could be adapted to different spaces .

These cells were called place cells. Therefore, it is not that there is a neuron of place for each specific space that you frequent, but rather they are points of reference that relate you to your environment; This is how egocentric navigation systems are formed. Place neurons will also form allocentric navigation systems that will relate elements of the space between them.

Innate programming vs. experience

This discovery perplexed many neuroscientists who considered the hippocampus as a declarative learning structure and now saw how it was able to encode spatial information. This gave rise to the hypothesis of the "cognitive map" that would postulate that a representation of our environment would be generated in the hippocampus.

Just as the brain is an excellent generator of maps for other sensory modalities such as the coding of visual, auditory and somatosensory signals; it is not unreasonable to think of the hippocampus as a structure that generates maps of our environment and that guarantees our orientation in them .

The research has gone further and has put this paradigm to the test in very different situations. It has been seen, for example, that the cells of place in the maze tasks shoot when the animal makes mistakes or when it is in a position in which the neuron would usually shoot (O'keefe and Speakman, 1987).In tasks in which the animal must move through different spaces it has been seen that place neurons shoot depending on where the animal comes from and where it is going (Frank et al., 2000).

How spatial maps are formed

Another of the main focuses of research interest in this field has been on how these spatial maps are formed. On the one hand we could think that place cells establish their function based on the experience we receive when we explore an environment, or, we might think that it is an underlying component of our brain circuits, that is, innate. The question is not yet clear and we can find empirical evidence that supports both hypotheses.

On the one hand, the experiments of Monaco and Abbott (2014), which recorded the activity of a large number of cells, have seen that when an animal is placed in a new environment several minutes pass until these cells start to shoot with normal. So that, place maps would be expressed, in some way, from the moment an animal enters a new environment , but the experience would modify these maps in the future.

Therefore, we might think that brain plasticity is playing a role in the formation of spatial maps. Then, if plasticity really played a role, we would expect that knockout mice to the NMDA receptor of the neurotransmitter glutamate - that is, mice which do not express this receptor - would not generate spatial maps because this receptor plays a fundamental role in brain plasticity and learning.

Plasticity plays an important role in the maintenance of spatial maps

However, this is not the case, and it has been seen that knockout mice to the NMDA receptor or mice that have been treated pharmacologically to block this receptor, express similar patterns of response of the cells in new or familiar environments. This suggests that the expression of spatial maps is independent of brain plasticity (Kentrol et al., 1998). These results would support the hypothesis that navigation systems are independent of learning.

In spite of everything, using logic, the mechanisms of cerebral plasticity must be clearly necessary for the stability in the memory of recently formed maps. And, if it were not so, what would be the use of the experience that one forms by walking the streets of his city? Would not we always have the feeling that it is the first time we entered our house? I believe that, as on so many other occasions, the hypotheses are more complementary than they seem and, in some way, despite an innate functioning of these functions, plasticity has a role to play in maintaining these spatial maps in memory .

Network, address and edge cells

It is quite abstract to talk about place cells and possibly more than one reader has been surprised that the same brain area that generates memories serves us, so to speak, GPS. But we are not finished and the best is yet to come. Now let's curl the curl really. Initially, it was thought that space navigation would depend exclusively on the hippocampus when it was seen that adjacent structures such as the entorhinal cortex showed very weak activation as a function of space (Frank et al., 2000).

However, in these studies the activity in ventral areas of the entorhinal cortex was recorded and in later studies, dorsal areas were recorded, which have a greater number of connections to the hippocampus (Fyhn et al., 2004). So that it was observed that many cells of this region fired depending on the position, similar to the hippocampus . So far they are expected to find results but when they decided to increase the area they would register in the entorhinal cortex they had a surprise: among the groups of neurons that were activated depending on the space occupied by the animal there were apparently silent zones - that is, they were not activated-. When regions that showed activation were virtually joined, patterns were observed in the form of hexagons or triangles. They called these neurons of the entorhinal cortex "red cells".

When red cells were discovered, it was possible to solve the question of how cells are formed. Having the cells place numerous connections of the network cells, it is not unreasonable to think that they are formed from them. However, once again, things are not so simple and experimental evidence has not confirmed this hypothesis. The geometric patterns that form the network cells have not been able to be interpreted yet.

Navigation systems are not reduced to the hippocampus

The complexity does not end here. Even less when it has been seen that navigation systems are not reduced to the hippocampus. This has made it possible to expand the limits of research to other brain areas, thus discovering other cell types related to the cells of place: Steering cells and edge cells .

Steering cells would code the direction in which the subject moves and would be located in the dorsal tegmental nucleus of the brainstem. On the other hand, edge cells are cells that increase their firing rate as the subject approaches the limits of a given space and can be found in the subiculum-specific region of the hippocampus. We are going to offer a simplified example in which we will try to summarize the function of each type of cell:

Imagine that you are in the dining room of your house and that you want to go to the kitchen. Since you are in the dining room of your house, you will have a room cell that will fire while you stay in the dining room, but since you want to go to the kitchen you will also have another activated room cell that represents the kitchen. The activation will be clear because your house is a space that you know perfectly and the activation can be detected both in the cells of place and in the cells network.

Now, start walking towards the kitchen. There will be a group of specific address cells that will now be firing and will not change as long as you maintain a specific direction. Now, imagine that to go to the kitchen you must turn right and cross a narrow corridor. The moment you turn, your address cells will know it and another set of address cells will register the direction that it has now taken to activate, and the previous ones will be deactivated.

Imagine also that the corridor is narrow and any false movement can cause you to hit the wall, so your edge cells will increase your firing rate. The closer you get to the corridor wall, the higher the firing ratio would show your edge cells. Think of the edge cells as the sensors that some new cars have and that make an audible signal when you are maneuvering to park. The edge cells They work in a similar way to these sensors, the closer they are to colliding the more noise they make . When you arrive at the kitchen, your place cells will have told you that it has arrived satisfactorily and as it is a wider environment, your edge cells will relax.

Let's just complicate everything

It is curious to think that our brain has ways to know our position. But there is still a question: How do we reconcile declarative memory with space navigation in the hippocampus ?, that is, how do our memories influence these maps? Or could it be that our memories were formed from these maps? To try to answer this question we must think a little further. Other studies have pointed out that the same cells that code space, of which we have already spoken, also code the time . Thus, there has been talk of time cells (Eichenbaum, 2014) which would code the perception of time.

The surprising thing about the case is that more and more evidence supporting the idea that place cells are the same as time cells . Then, the same neuron using the same electrical impulses is able to code space and time. The relationship between the coding of time and space in the same action potentials and their importance in memory remain a mystery.

In conclusion: my personal opinion

My opinion about it? Taking off my scientist's robe, I can say that the human being is accustomed to thinking about the easy option and we like to think that the brain speaks the same language that we . The problem is that the brain offers us a simplified version of the reality that he himself processes. In a way similar to the shadows of Plato's cave. So, just as in quantum physics barriers of what we understand as reality are broken, in neuroscience we discover that in the brain things are different from the world that we consciously perceive and we must have a very open mind that things do not have why be as we really perceive them.

The only thing that I have clear is something that Antonio Damasio is used to repeating a lot in his books: the brain is a great map generator . Maybe the brain interprets time and space in the same way to map our memories. And if it seems chimerical to you think that Einsten in his theory of relativity one of the theories he postulated was that time could not be understood without space, and vice versa. Undoubtedly unraveling these mysteries is a challenge, even more so when they are difficult aspects to study in animals.

However, no effort should be spared on these issues. First of curiosity. If we study the expansion of the universe or the recently recorded gravitational waves, why would not we study how our brain interprets time and space? And, secondly, many of the neurodegenerative pathologies such as Alzheimer's disease have space-time disorientation as first symptoms.Knowing the neurophysiological mechanisms of this coding, we could discover new aspects that will help to better understand the pathological course of these diseases and, who knows, discover new pharmacological or non-pharmacological targets.

Bibliographic references:

  • Eichenbaum H. 2014. Time cells in the hippocampus: a new dimension for mapping memories. Nature 15: 732-742
  • Frank LM, Brown EN, Wilson M. 2000. Trajectory encoding in the hippocampus and entorhinal cortex. Neuron 27: 169-178.
  • Fyhn M, Molden S, Witter MP, Moser EI, Moser M-B. 2004. Spatial representation in the entorhinal cortex. Science 305: 1258-1264
  • Kentros C, Hargreaves E, Hawkins RD, Kandel ER, Shapiro M, Muller RV. 1998. Abolition of long-term stability of new hippocampal place cell maps by NMDA receptor blockade. Science 280: 2121-2126.
  • Monaco JD, Abbott LF. 2011. Modular realignment of grid cell activity as a basis for hippocampal remapping. J Neurosci 31: 9414-9425.
  • O'Keefe J, Speakman A. 1987. Single unit activity in the mouse hippocampus during a spatial memory task. Exp Brain Res 68: 1-27.
  • Scoville WB, Milner B (1957). Loss of recent memory after bilateral hippocampallesion. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry 20: 11-21.

John O'Keefe: "The GPS of the Brain" | Talks at Google (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les

Les "cellules de lieu", quelque chose comme notre cerveau GPS

Juin 13, 2021

L’orientation et l’exploration dans des espaces nouveaux ou inconnus est l’une des facultés cognitives que nous utilisons le plus souvent. Nous l'utilisons pour nous guider dans notre maison, notre quartier, pour aller au travail.

Nous en dépendons également lorsque nous nous rendons dans une ville nouvelle et inconnue. Nous l'utilisons même lorsque nous conduisons et, éventuellement, le lecteur aura été victime d'une imprudence dans son orientation ou dans celle d'un compagnon, qui l'aura condamné à la perte, obligé de faire demi-tour avec la voiture jusqu'à ce qu'il avec l'itinéraire approprié.

Ce n'est pas la faute de l'orientation, c'est la faute de l'hippocampe

Toutes ces situations sont souvent frustrantes et nous amènent à maudire notre orientation ou celle des autres par des insultes, des cris et des comportements divers. Bien, parce qu'aujourd'hui je vais donner un coup de pinceau dans les mécanismes d'orientation neurophysiologiques , dans notre Cerveau GPS nous comprendre


Nous commencerons par être spécifiques: nous ne devrions pas maudire l’orientation car c’est seulement un produit de notre activité neuronale dans des régions spécifiques. Par conséquent, nous commencerons par maudire notre hippocampe.

L'hippocampe en tant que structure cérébrale

Évolutivement, l'hippocampe est une structure ancienne, il fait partie de l'arquiculture, c'est-à-dire des structures phylogénétiquement plus anciennes chez notre espèce. Anatomiquement, il fait partie du système limbique, dans lequel se trouvent également d'autres structures telles que l'amygdale. Le système limbique est considéré comme le substrat morphologique de la mémoire, des émotions, de l'apprentissage et de la motivation.

Le lecteur, s'il est habitué à la psychologie, saura que l'hippocampe est une structure nécessaire à la consolidation des mémoires déclaratives, c'est-à-dire avec ces mémoires à contenu épisodique sur nos expériences ou encore, sémantiques (Nadel et O'Keefe, 1972). .


Les nombreuses études sur le cas populaire du «patient HM», un patient dont les hémisphères temporaux ont été enlevés, en sont la preuve, produisant une amnésie antérograde dévastatrice, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne pouvait pas mémoriser de faits nouveaux bien de vos souvenirs d'avant l'opération. Pour ceux qui veulent approfondir dans ce cas, je recommande les études de Scoville et Millner (1957) qui ont étudié le patient HM de manière exhaustive.

The Place Cells: de quoi s'agit-il?

Jusqu'à présent, nous ne disons rien de nouveau ni d'étonnant. Mais c’est en 1971 que, par hasard, un fait qui a généré le début de l’étude des systèmes de navigation dans le cerveau a été découvert. O'keefe et John Dostrovski, utilisant des électrodes intracrâniennes, pourrait enregistrer l'activité de neurones spécifiques de l'hippocampe chez le rat . Cela offrait la possibilité que, lors de différents tests comportementaux, l'animal soit éveillé, conscient et se déplace librement.


Ce qu'ils ne s'attendaient pas à découvrir, c'est qu'il y avait des neurones qui répondaient de manière sélective en fonction de la région où se trouvait le rat. Ce n'est pas qu'il y ait des neurones spécifiques à chaque position (il n'y a pas de neurone dans votre salle de bain, par exemple), mais qu'ils ont été observés dans les cellules CA1 (une région spécifique de l'hippocampe) qui ont marqué des points de référence pouvant être adaptés à différents espaces. .

Ces cellules ont été appelées placer des cellules. Par conséquent, ce n’est pas qu’il existe un neurone de lieu pour chaque espace spécifique que vous fréquentez, mais plutôt des points de référence vous rapportant à votre environnement; C’est ainsi que se forment les systèmes de navigation égocentriques. Les neurones en place formeront également des systèmes de navigation allocentriques qui relieront des éléments de l’espace entre eux.

Programmation innée vs expérience

Cette découverte a laissé perplexe de nombreux neuroscientifiques qui considéraient l'hippocampe comme une structure d'apprentissage déclarative et qui voyaient maintenant comment il était capable de coder des informations spatiales. Cela a donné lieu à l'hypothèse de la "carte cognitive" qui postulerait qu'une représentation de notre environnement serait générée dans l'hippocampe.

De même que le cerveau est un excellent générateur de cartes pour d’autres modalités sensorielles telles que le codage des signaux visuels, auditifs et somatosensoriels; il n'est pas déraisonnable de penser à l'hippocampe comme une structure générant des cartes de notre environnement et garantissant notre orientation à cet égard .

La recherche est allée plus loin et a mis ce paradigme à l’épreuve dans des situations très différentes. On a vu, par exemple, que les cellules de la place dans les tâches du labyrinthe tirent lorsque l'animal commet des erreurs ou lorsqu'il se trouve dans une position dans laquelle le neurone tirerait habituellement (O'keefe et Speakman, 1987).Dans les tâches dans lesquelles l'animal doit se déplacer dans des espaces différents, il a été constaté que les neurones localisés tirent en fonction de l'origine et de la destination de l'animal (Frank et al., 2000).

Comment les cartes spatiales sont formées

Un des principaux domaines d’intérêt de la recherche dans ce domaine a été la formation de ces cartes spatiales. D'une part, nous pourrions penser que les cellules de localisation établissent leur fonction en fonction de l'expérience que nous recevons lorsque nous explorons un environnement, ou nous pourrions penser qu'il s'agit d'un composant sous-jacent de nos circuits cérébraux, c'est-à-dire inné. La question n'est pas encore claire et nous pouvons trouver des preuves empiriques à l'appui des deux hypothèses.

D'une part, les expériences de Monaco et d'Abbott (2014), qui ont enregistré l'activité d'un grand nombre de cellules, ont montré que lorsqu'un animal est placé dans un nouvel environnement, plusieurs minutes s'écoulent jusqu'à ce que ces cellules commencent à tirer avec La normalité Donc, les cartes géographiques s’exprimeraient d’une certaine manière à partir du moment où un animal entre dans un nouvel environnement , mais l’expérience modifierait ces cartes à l’avenir.

On pourrait donc penser que la plasticité cérébrale joue un rôle dans la formation de cartes spatiales. Ensuite, si la plasticité joue réellement un rôle, on s’attendrait à ce que les souris knock-out au récepteur NMDA du neurotransmetteur glutamate - c’est-à-dire aux souris n’exprimant pas ce récepteur - ne génèrent pas de cartes spatiales car ce récepteur joue un rôle fondamental dans la plasticité cérébrale et l'apprentissage

La plasticité joue un rôle important dans la maintenance des cartes spatiales

Cependant, ce n'est pas le cas et il a été constaté que les souris knock-out au récepteur NMDA ou les souris traitées pharmacologiquement pour bloquer ce récepteur expriment des schémas de réponse similaires des cellules dans des environnements nouveaux ou familiers. Cela suggère que l'expression des cartes spatiales est indépendante de la plasticité cérébrale (Kentrol et al., 1998). Ces résultats conforteraient l'hypothèse selon laquelle les systèmes de navigation sont indépendants de l'apprentissage.

Malgré tout, en utilisant la logique, les mécanismes de la plasticité cérébrale doivent être clairement nécessaires à la stabilité dans la mémoire des cartes récemment formées. Et, s'il n'en était pas ainsi, à quoi servirait l'expérience que l'on forme en se promenant dans les rues de sa ville? N'aurions-nous pas toujours le sentiment que c'est la première fois que nous entrons dans notre maison? Je crois que, comme dans tant d'autres occasions, les hypothèses sont plus complémentaires qu'il n'y paraît et, d'une certaine manière, malgré le fonctionnement inné de ces fonctions, la plasticité a un rôle à jouer dans le maintien de ces cartes spatiales en mémoire .

Réseaux, adresses et cellules périphériques

Il est assez abstrait de parler de cellules du lieu et probablement plus d’un lecteur a été surpris que la même région du cerveau qui génère des souvenirs nous serve, pour ainsi dire, le GPS. Mais nous n’avons pas fini et le meilleur reste à venir. Maintenant, bouclons vraiment la boucle. Initialement, on pensait que la navigation dans l’espace dépendrait exclusivement de l’hippocampe quand il a été constaté que les structures adjacentes telles que le cortex entorhinal présentaient une très faible activation en fonction de l’espace (Frank et al., 2000).

Cependant, dans ces études, l'activité dans les zones ventrales du cortex entorhinal a été enregistrée et dans les études ultérieures, les zones dorsales ont été enregistrées, lesquelles ont un plus grand nombre de connexions à l'hippocampe (Fyhn et al., 2004). Donc il a été observé que de nombreuses cellules de cette région ont tiré en fonction de la position, semblable à l'hippocampe . Jusqu'à présent, on s'attend à ce qu'ils obtiennent des résultats, mais lorsqu'ils ont décidé d'augmenter la surface à enregistrer dans le cortex entorhinal, ils ont eu une surprise: parmi les groupes de neurones activés en fonction de l'espace occupé par l'animal, il y avait des zones apparemment silencieuses, c'est-à-dire non activé Lorsque les régions qui présentaient une activation étaient pratiquement jointes, des motifs se présentaient sous forme d’hexagones ou de triangles. Ils ont appelé ces neurones du cortex entorhinal "globules rouges".

Lorsque les globules rouges ont été découverts, il était possible de résoudre le problème de la formation des cellules. Si les cellules placent de nombreuses connexions des cellules du réseau, il n’est pas déraisonnable de penser qu’elles sont formées à partir d’elles. Cependant, encore une fois, les choses ne sont pas si simples et les preuves expérimentales n’ont pas confirmé cette hypothèse. Les motifs géométriques qui forment les cellules du réseau n'ont pas encore été interprétés.

Les systèmes de navigation ne sont pas réduits à l'hippocampe

La complexité ne s'arrête pas là. Encore moins quand on a vu que les systèmes de navigation ne sont pas réduits à l'hippocampe. Cela a permis d'élargir les limites de la recherche à d'autres régions du cerveau, découvrant ainsi d'autres types de cellules liées aux cellules du lieu: Cellules de pilotage et cellules de bord .

Les cellules directrices coderaient la direction dans laquelle le sujet se déplace et se situait dans le noyau tegmental dorsal du tronc cérébral. D'autre part, les cellules périphériques sont des cellules qui augmentent leur cadence de tir lorsque le sujet s'approche des limites d'un espace donné et peuvent être trouvées dans la région de l'hippocampe spécifique au subiculum. Nous allons offrir un exemple simplifié dans lequel nous allons essayer de résumer la fonction de chaque type de cellule:

Imaginez que vous êtes dans la salle à manger de votre maison et que vous voulez aller à la cuisine. Puisque vous êtes dans la salle à manger de votre maison, vous aurez une cellule de pièce qui tirera pendant que vous resterez dans la salle à manger, mais puisque vous voulez aller à la cuisine, vous aurez également une autre cellule de pièce activée qui représente la cuisine. L'activation sera claire car votre maison est un espace que vous connaissez parfaitement et l'activation peut être détectée à la fois dans les cellules du lieu et dans le réseau de cellules.

Maintenant, commencez à marcher vers la cuisine. Il y aura un groupe de cellules d'adresse spécifiques qui seront maintenant activées et ne changeront pas tant que vous maintiendrez une direction spécifique. Maintenant, imaginez que pour aller à la cuisine, vous devez tourner à droite et traverser un étroit couloir. Au moment où vous vous tournez, vos cellules d’adresse le sauront et un autre ensemble de cellules d’adresse enregistrera la direction dans laquelle il a maintenant été activé, et les précédentes seront désactivées.

Imaginez également que le couloir est étroit et que tout faux mouvement peut vous faire heurter le mur, de sorte que vos cellules latérales augmentent votre cadence de tir. Plus vous vous rapprochez du mur du couloir, plus le ratio de mise à feu montre vos cellules de bord. Pensez aux cellules latérales comme aux capteurs de certaines nouvelles voitures et émettant un signal sonore lorsque vous vous garez pour vous garer. Les cellules de bord Ils fonctionnent de la même manière que ces capteurs: plus ils se rapprochent, plus ils font de bruit. . Lorsque vous arrivez à la cuisine, vos cellules de lieu vous auront dit qu'il est arrivé de manière satisfaisante et, comme il s'agit d'un environnement plus large, vos cellules périphériques se détendront.

Simplons tout compliquer

Il est curieux de penser que notre cerveau a des moyens de connaître notre position. Mais il reste une question: comment concilier mémoire déclarative et navigation spatiale dans l'hippocampe? En d'autres termes, comment nos souvenirs influencent-ils ces cartes? Ou pourrait-il être que nos souvenirs ont été formés à partir de ces cartes? Pour essayer de répondre à cette question, nous devons réfléchir un peu plus loin. D’autres études ont montré que les mêmes cellules qui codent l’espace, dont nous avons déjà parlé, codent également le temps. . Ainsi, il a été question de cellules temporelles (Eichenbaum, 2014) qui codifierait la perception du temps.

La chose surprenante à propos de l'affaire est que de plus en plus de preuves soutenant l'idée que les cellules de lieu sont les mêmes que les cellules de temps . Ensuite, le même neurone utilisant les mêmes impulsions électriques est capable de coder l’espace et le temps. La relation entre le codage du temps et de l’espace dans les mêmes potentiels d’action et leur importance dans la mémoire reste un mystère.

En conclusion: mon opinion personnelle

Mon avis à ce sujet? En enlevant ma robe de scientifique, je peux dire que l'être humain a l'habitude de penser à l'option facile et nous aimons penser que le cerveau parle le même langage que nous . Le problème est que le cerveau nous offre une version simplifiée de la réalité qu'il traite lui-même. D'une manière similaire aux ombres de la grotte de Platon. Ainsi, tout comme dans la physique quantique, les barrières de ce que nous comprenons comme la réalité sont brisées, dans les neurosciences, nous découvrons que dans le cerveau, les choses sont différentes du monde que nous percevons consciemment et nous devons avoir un esprit très ouvert. pourquoi être comme nous les percevons vraiment.

Antonio Damasio a l'habitude de répéter beaucoup dans ses livres: le cerveau est un excellent générateur de carte . Peut-être que le cerveau interprète le temps et l'espace de la même manière pour cartographier nos souvenirs. Et si cela vous semble chimérique de penser qu'Einsten, dans sa théorie de la relativité, l’une des théories qu’il a postulées était que le temps ne pouvait être compris sans espace, et inversement. Résoudre ces mystères est sans aucun doute un défi, encore plus lorsqu'il s'agit d'un aspect difficile à étudier chez les animaux.

Cependant, aucun effort ne doit être épargné sur ces questions. D'abord par curiosité. Si nous étudions l'expansion de l'univers ou les ondes gravitationnelles récemment enregistrées, pourquoi ne pas étudier comment notre cerveau interprète le temps et l'espace? Et, deuxièmement, de nombreuses pathologies neurodégénératives telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer présentent une désorientation espace-temps comme premiers symptômes.Connaissant les mécanismes neurophysiologiques de ce codage, nous pourrions découvrir de nouveaux aspects qui contribueront à mieux comprendre l'évolution pathologique de ces maladies et, qui sait, à découvrir de nouvelles cibles pharmacologiques ou non pharmacologiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Eichenbaum H. 2014. Cellules temporelles dans l'hippocampe: une nouvelle dimension pour la cartographie des mémoires. Nature 15: 732-742
  • Frank LM, Brown EN, Wilson M. 2000. Codage de trajectoire dans l'hippocampe et le cortex entoral. Neuron 27: 169-178.
  • Fyhn M, Molden S, député Witter, Moser EI, Moser M-B. 2004. Représentation spatiale dans le cortex entorhinal. Science 305: 1258-1264
  • Kentros C, E. Hargreaves, Hawkins RD, Kandel ER, Shapiro M, Muller RV. 1998. Suppression de la stabilité à long terme des nouvelles cartes de cellules de localisation hippocampiques par blocage des récepteurs NMDA. Science 280: 2121-2126.
  • Monaco JD, Abbott LF. 2011. Réalignement modulaire de l'activité des cellules de la grille comme base du remappage de l'hippocampe. J Neurosci 31: 9414-9425.
  • O'Keefe J, Speakman A. 1987. Activité individuelle dans l'hippocampe de souris au cours d'une tâche de mémoire spatiale. Exp Brain Res 68: 1-27.
  • Scoville WB, Milner B (1957). Perte de mémoire récente après l'hippocampe bilatérale. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry 20: 11-21.

7 histoires incroyables mais vraies - 28 - e-penser (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes