yes, therapy helps!
The political theory of Mary Wollstonecraft

The political theory of Mary Wollstonecraft

June 24, 2021

In the mid-eighteenth century, something was changing in Europe. After the Renaissance banished religion from the center of intellectual and political life and the Enlightenment promoted the idea that education is key to forming extraordinary human beings beyond their origins and physical appearance, the following question appeared: Why were women confined to the domestic sphere?

The English writer and philosopher Mary Wollstonecraft He devoted a good part of his time to dealing with this issue of inequality and clear domination of man over woman. His works were very influential in the development of the first wave of feminism, which emerged several decades after his death.


Next, we will see how these first questions of masculine domination were formulated by Mary Wollstonecraft and how she opposed the dominant ideology of her time.

  • Related article: "Types of feminism and its different currents of thought"

Who was Mary Wollstonecraft? Short biography

Mary Wollstonecraft was born in April 1759 in London. Soon she began to experience the malaise caused by poverty when her father spent all the family's money, so that both she and her parents had to move from one place to another without achieving economic stability.

During his adulthood, soon began to be frustrated by the difficulties that women had to go through when it comes to earning a living. Western society was designed to push women towards marriage, and it was assumed that the creation of the family was the vital goal of the entire female gender in general. However, Wollstonecraft did not give up: he created a school with his sisters and his friend Fanny Blood.


However, soon after, Blood got engaged with a man and went to live with him out of the country. This complication, together with the fact that Wollstonecraft went to Lisbon to take care of her friend when her health worsened, caused the school's project to fail. From this point Mary Wollstonecraft concentrated on writing, both essays and novels . He died in 1797 because of a complication in childbirth.

The theory and thought of Mary Wollstonecraft

Here you can see the theoretical foundations on which the philosophy of Mary Wollstonecraft was based and which made it one of the earliest references of feminism.

1. The importance of education

Mary Wollstonecraft was totally influenced by the Enlightenment, and therefore he believed in the progress achieved through rationality and learning . This idea so normal to our eyes at that time was radical if applied to the differences between men and women. It was assumed that all differences in interests and behavior patterns were biological, and that traditional roles were a true reflection of the "nature" of both sexes.


2. The principle of equality

So, Mary Wollstonecraft argued that the default option was to presuppose equality between the sexes , and that in any case they were the defenders of the innate differences between men and women who had to provide very powerful proofs in favor of their intellectual position.

This point, together with the previous one, led Mary Wollstonecraft to totally reject Rousseau's pedagogical approach, which from its point of view based on romanticism proposed segregation between boys and girls in schools in order to offer adapted to "natural-differentiated" characteristics.

3. Break with tradition

This philosopher explained the strong differences between the expected roles of men and women were mainly due to the physical domain of man over the woman chronified over the generations. Thus, the woman is educated so that she accepts without questioning a passive and helpful attitude that, naturally, moves away from the complete intellectual development enjoyed by many men through academia.

This point led Mary Wollstonecraft to question a good part of the traditions , since he understood that these can be a form of oppression and that therefore they must be revised and adapted to human well-being.

This position, by the way, was developed several centuries later by Simone de Beauvoir and other strictly feminist theorists of the time, although Mary Wollstonecraft did not enjoy access to large amounts of information extracted through anthropology, due, of course, to the time in which she lived.

  • You may be interested: "The feminist theory of Simone de Beauvoir: what is woman?"

In conclusion

The ideas of Mary Wollstonecraft fit very well with the liberal conception of egalitarianism.It did not go much beyond the denunciation of clear impositions of man over women, such as the impossibility of having economic independence and the lack of rights in the political sphere. But nevertheless, served to cast doubt on the idea that women should remain submissive by its own biology and by pointing out that traditional traditions and roles can be very harmful if they are not questioned.


Who Was Mary Wollstonecraft? (Famous Philosophers) (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie politique de Mary Wollstonecraft

La théorie politique de Mary Wollstonecraft

Mai 27, 2022

Au milieu du dix-huitième siècle, quelque chose était en train de changer en Europe. Après que la Renaissance eut banni la religion du centre de la vie intellectuelle et politique et que les Lumières aient défendu l'idée que l'éducation était essentielle pour former des êtres humains extraordinaires au-delà de leurs origines et de son apparence physique, la question suivante est apparue: Pourquoi les femmes sont-elles confinées à la sphère domestique?

L'écrivaine et philosophe anglaise Mary Wollstonecraft Il a consacré une bonne partie de son temps à s'attaquer à ce problème d'inégalité et de domination claire de l'homme sur la femme. Ses œuvres ont beaucoup influencé le développement de la première vague de féminisme, apparue plusieurs décennies après sa mort.


Nous verrons ensuite comment Mary Wollstonecraft a formulé ces premières questions de domination masculine et comment elle s’est opposée à l’idéologie dominante de son époque.

  • Article connexe: "Les types de féminisme et ses différents courants de pensée"

Qui était Mary Wollstonecraft? Brève biographie

Mary Wollstonecraft est née en avril 1759 à Londres. Bientôt, elle a commencé à ressentir le malaise causé par la pauvreté lorsque son père a dépensé tout l'argent de la famille, de sorte que ses parents et elle ont dû déménager d'un endroit à un autre sans parvenir à la stabilité économique.

À l'âge adulte, bientôt a commencé à être frustré par les difficultés que les femmes devaient traverser quand il s'agit de gagner sa vie. La société occidentale a été conçue pour pousser les femmes vers le mariage et il a été supposé que la création de la famille était l'objectif essentiel de tout le genre féminin en général. Cependant, Wollstonecraft n'a pas abandonné: il a créé une école avec ses sœurs et son amie Fanny Blood.


Cependant, peu de temps après, Blood se fiancea avec un homme et alla vivre avec lui à l'étranger. Cette complication, ainsi que le fait que Wollstonecraft soit allée à Lisbonne pour prendre soin de son amie lorsque sa santé s'est détériorée, ont entraîné l'échec du projet de l'école. De ce point Mary Wollstonecraft s'est concentrée sur l'écriture, essais et romans . Il est mort en 1797 à cause d'une complication dans l'accouchement.

La théorie et la pensée de Mary Wollstonecraft

Vous pouvez voir ici les fondements théoriques sur lesquels la philosophie de Mary Wollstonecraft était fondée et qui en ont fait l’une des premières références du féminisme.

1. L'importance de l'éducation

Mary Wollstonecraft a été totalement influencée par les Lumières, et par conséquent il croyait aux progrès réalisés par la rationalité et l'apprentissage . Cette idée si normale à nos yeux à cette époque était radicale si elle s'appliquait aux différences entre hommes et femmes. Il a été supposé que toutes les différences d’intérêts et de comportements étaient biologiques et que les rôles traditionnels reflétaient fidèlement la «nature» des deux sexes.


2. Le principe d'égalité

Ainsi, Mary Wollstonecraft a fait valoir que l'option par défaut était de présupposer l'égalité entre les sexes et qu’en tout état de cause, ils étaient les défenseurs des différences innées entre hommes et femmes, qui devaient fournir des preuves très convaincantes en faveur de leur position intellectuelle.

Ce point, ainsi que le précédent, ont amené Mary Wollstonecraft à rejeter totalement l'approche pédagogique de Rousseau qui, de son point de vue fondé sur le romantisme, proposait la ségrégation entre garçons et filles dans les écoles afin de proposer des caractéristiques adaptées aux caractéristiques "naturelles".

3. rompre avec la tradition

Ce philosophe a expliqué que les fortes différences entre les rôles attendus des hommes et des femmes étaient principalement dues au domaine physique de l'homme sur la femme, chronifié au fil des générations. Ainsi, la femme est éduquée de sorte qu’elle accepte sans remettre en question une attitude passive et serviable qui s’éloigne naturellement du développement intellectuel complet dont jouissent de nombreux hommes dans le monde universitaire.

Ce point a amené Mary Wollstonecraft à remettre en question une bonne partie des traditions , car il a compris que celles-ci peuvent constituer une forme d’oppression et qu’elles doivent donc être révisées et adaptées au bien-être humain.

Cette position, au fait, fut développé plusieurs siècles plus tard par Simone de Beauvoir et d'autres théoriciens strictement féministes de l'époque, bien que Mary Wollstonecraft n'ait pas eu accès à de grandes quantités d'informations extraites de l'anthropologie, en raison, bien sûr, de son époque.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "La théorie féministe de Simone de Beauvoir: qu'est-ce que la femme?"

En conclusion

Les idées de Mary Wollstonecraft cadrent très bien avec la conception libérale de l'égalitarisme.Cela ne va guère au-delà de la dénonciation d'impositions claires de l'homme sur les femmes, telles que l'impossibilité d'avoir l'indépendance économique et le manque de droits dans la sphère politique. Cependant, servi à jeter le doute sur l'idée que les femmes doivent rester soumises par sa propre biologie et en soulignant que les traditions et les rôles traditionnels peuvent être très dommageables s’ils ne sont pas remis en question.


"France is changing, but not as fast as we wish", Anne-Cécile Mailfert - #F24Debate (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes