yes, therapy helps!
The power of the game: why is it necessary for children?

The power of the game: why is it necessary for children?

June 24, 2021

Recently, an article in the popular magazine "Muy Interesante" spoke about the secret of toys and emphasized the importance of play in the maturation process of the individual.

This week, from the Mensalus Psychological and Psychological Assistance Institute, we talked about the importance of play in the development of the child and in the well-being of the adult.

Why is it important for children to play?

What is the power of the game?

The playful activities strengthen two areas of the gray mass (matter that is part of the Central Nervous System): the cerebellum, which coordinates the movements, and the frontal lobe, associated with decision making and impulse control. The toy plays a key role in these maturation processes since it collaborates in the learning of the cause-effect relationship ("if I push the truck, it moves") and in the calculation of probabilities through trial and error ("if I want the truck reaches the table, I must push harder ").


The power of the game is incalculable. Playing is learning by starting the imagination, discovering through interaction and, above all, having fun. For this reason, playing is a key element for the healthy growth of the individual and the development of his intelligence.

Children change their way of playing over the years ...

Of course. If we observe them we can see very interesting elements that differentiate one stage from another. Jean Piaget (1896-1980) made a detailed description of the main types of games that appear throughout childhood. This pedagogue observed that from 0 to 2 years the functional or exercise game predominates, from 2 to 6 years the symbolic game is made explicit and, from 6 to 12 years, the game of rules does.


In addition, Piaget noticed how, in parallel with these types of games, the so-called construction game appears, a type of game that evolves in the hand of everyone else (depending on the stage the child is in).

What characterizes exercise games?

The exercise games typical of the first years of life consist of repeating an action again and again for the sheer pleasure of obtaining an immediate result. These actions can be performed both with objects (bite, suck, throw, shake) and without them (crawling, swaying, crawling). In this stage the child develops the coordination of movements and displacements, the static and dynamic balance, as well as the understanding of the world that surrounds him, among others.

The toy industry offers many options that ensure the implementation of the skills described. As in the rest of the stages, the toys function as "useful materials" for the psycho-sensory-motor development of the child.


What toys favor the development of 2 to 6 years?

In this second stage in which the symbolic game predominates (that which consists of simulating situations, objects and characters), toys that promote the child's imagination and motivate him to create are interesting. For this reason, it is often better to build a scenario than to have it done in the first place.

The symbolic game facilitates the understanding of the environment, puts into practice knowledge about the established roles in adult life and favors the development of language among others. In short, in this type of game children reproduce the knowledge of the reality that surrounds them. The more varied the reality they know, the richer the arguments they use (families, doctors, teachers, dancers, shops, etc.). In fact, the selection and development of the game's theme / argument shows that the child increasingly understands vital aspects.

And what characterizes the game of rules (from 6 to 12 years)?

Rules are socializing elements that teach children to win and lose, to respect shifts and rules, to consider the actions and opinions of other colleagues, etc. The rules are fundamental for the learning of different types of knowledge and favor the development of language, memory, reasoning and attention.

To better illustrate the learning of the rules, Piaget took as an example the game of marbles: If you give marbles to children of 2 years, the activity they carry out is of an individual type: they suck, throw, push, etc.

If the deliveries to children between 2 and 5 years, although they receive the rule of how to play, they do it individually (parallel game), that is, they do not try to compete, win, exchange points of view, etc. Finally, if you share them with children over 6-7 years old and explain what the game is like, they understand the rules as obligatory elements and carry out the activity according to the bases.

Accompanying children in this sense is a fundamental task for their maturation.

Why?

For many parents, play is a distraction activity but, in reality, it is a task of more commitment. Playing contributes, as we have seen, in the integral growth of the infant, and participating in it makes us a key element for this maturational process.

Our figure within the game feeds all the mentioned capacities. For example, in the case of the symbolic game, it offers a source of information that the child will have to deal with and interact with (vocabulary, gestures, procedures, ideas about society, etc.). In the case of the game of rules, there are limits that, later, will develop transferable skills to the rest of the vital scenarios (for example: the wait).

We all need to play

Do seniors also need to play?

According to the psychiatrist Adam Blatner the need to play in humans is permanent. Blatner points out that the basis of a man's life is the relationship between four skills: love, work, play and think. Specifically, this psychiatrist enhances the playful activity as a compensating element of the emotional tension generated by the rest of activities.

The truth is that not all actions can become games. In fact, we would open an interesting debate if we reflect on what would happen if that were the case.

However. We can integrate the playful activity in a natural way in our daily life in order to counteract the tension / fatigue that the obligation generates, thus offering a place to the creative capacity. Therefore, introducing the game as a complementary element (whether at the time of playing sports, in a team dynamic, in the practice of a hobby, etc.) regardless of the existence of a game with the children, is a emotionally intelligent choice.

Are adults allowed to play?

Many times no. This is where the problem lies. The issue of permissiveness and beliefs related to "duty" diminish the space for spontaneity, the liberation of thought and joy. Therefore, today we do not want to dismiss this article without launching a final message: the game is part of our way of exploring and understanding the world ...

Playing is not just about children.

  • Maybe you're interested: "9 games and strategies to exercise the mind"

8 Japanese Parenting Rules All Kids Need (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le pouvoir du jeu: pourquoi est-ce nécessaire pour les enfants?

Le pouvoir du jeu: pourquoi est-ce nécessaire pour les enfants?

Janvier 8, 2023

Récemment, un article du magazine populaire "Muy Interesante" a parlé du secret des jouets et a souligné l’importance du jeu dans le processus de maturation de l’individu.

Cette semaine, de l'Institut d'assistance psychologique et psychologique Mensalus, nous avons parlé de l'importance du jeu dans le développement de l'enfant et dans le bien-être de l'adulte.

Pourquoi est-il important que les enfants jouent?

Quelle est la puissance du jeu?

Les activités ludiques renforcent deux zones de la masse grise (matière faisant partie du système nerveux central): le cervelet, qui coordonne les mouvements, et le lobe frontal, associé à la prise de décision et au contrôle des pulsions. Le jouet joue un rôle clé dans ces processus de maturation puisqu'il collabore à l'apprentissage de la relation de cause à effet ("si je pousse le camion, il bouge") et au calcul des probabilités par essais et erreurs ("si je veux le camion arrive à la table, je dois pousser plus fort ").


Le pouvoir du jeu est incalculable. Jouer, c'est apprendre en commençant à imaginer, en découvrant par l'interaction et, surtout, en s'amusant. Pour cette raison, le jeu est un élément clé pour la croissance saine de l’individu et le développement de son intelligence.

Les enfants changent leur façon de jouer au fil des ans ...

Bien sûr. Si nous les observons, nous pouvons voir des éléments très intéressants qui différencient une étape d’une autre. Jean Piaget (1896-1980) a décrit en détail les principaux types de jeux qui apparaissent tout au long de l'enfance. Ce pédagogue a observé que de 0 à 2 ans prédominait le jeu fonctionnel ou d’exercice, de 2 à 6 ans le jeu symbolique est explicité et de 6 à 12 ans le jeu de règles.


En outre, Piaget a remarqué comment, parallèlement à ces types de jeux, apparait ce que l'on appelle le jeu de construction, un type de jeu qui évolue dans les mains de tous les autres (en fonction du stade où se trouve l'enfant).

Qu'est-ce qui caractérise les jeux d'exercice?

Les jeux d’exercice typiques des premières années de la vie consistent à répéter une action encore et encore pour le plus grand plaisir d’obtenir un résultat immédiat. Ces actions peuvent être effectuées à la fois avec des objets (mordre, sucer, jeter, secouer) et sans eux (ramper, balancer, ramper). Au cours de cette étape, l'enfant développe, entre autres, la coordination des mouvements et des déplacements, l'équilibre statique et dynamique, ainsi que la compréhension du monde qui l'entoure.

L’industrie du jouet offre de nombreuses options pour assurer la mise en œuvre des compétences décrites. Comme dans le reste des étapes, les jouets fonctionnent comme des "matériaux utiles" pour le développement psycho-sensori-moteur de l'enfant.


Quels jouets favorisent le développement de 2 à 6 ans?

Dans cette seconde étape où prédomine le jeu symbolique (celui qui consiste à simuler des situations, des objets et des personnages), les jouets qui stimulent l'imagination de l'enfant et le motivent à créer sont intéressants. Pour cette raison, il est souvent préférable de créer un scénario plutôt que de le faire en premier lieu.

Le jeu symbolique facilite la compréhension de l'environnement, met en pratique des connaissances sur les rôles établis dans la vie adulte et favorise le développement du langage, entre autres. En bref, dans ce type de jeu, les enfants reproduisent la connaissance de la réalité qui les entoure. Plus la réalité qu’ils connaissent est variée, plus les arguments qu’ils utilisent sont riches (familles, médecins, enseignants, danseurs, magasins, etc.). En fait, le choix et le développement du thème / argument du jeu montre que l'enfant comprend de plus en plus d'aspects essentiels.

Et qu'est-ce qui caractérise le jeu de règles (de 6 à 12 ans)?

Les règles sont des éléments de socialisation qui enseignent aux enfants à gagner et à perdre, à respecter les règles et les changements, à prendre en compte les actions et opinions des autres collègues, etc. Les règles sont fondamentales pour l'apprentissage de différents types de connaissances et favorisent le développement du langage, de la mémoire, du raisonnement et de l'attention.

Pour mieux illustrer l'apprentissage des règles, Piaget a pris comme exemple le jeu de billes: Si vous donnez des billes à des enfants de 2 ans, l'activité qu'ils réalisent est d'un type individuel: ils sucent, jettent, poussent, etc.

Si les livraisons aux enfants de 2 à 5 ans, bien qu’elles soient régies par la règle du jeu, elles le font individuellement (jeu parallèle), c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne tentent pas de rivaliser, de gagner, d’échanger des points de vue, etc. Enfin, si vous les partagez avec des enfants de plus de 6 ou 7 ans et leur expliquez le jeu, ils comprennent les règles comme des éléments obligatoires et exécutent l'activité en fonction des bases.

Accompagner les enfants dans ce sens est une tâche fondamentale pour leur maturation.

Parce que?

Pour de nombreux parents, le jeu est une activité de distraction mais, en réalité, il s’agit d’une tâche plus engageante. Comme nous l’avons vu, jouer contribue à la croissance intégrale du nourrisson et y participer fait de nous un élément clé de ce processus de maturation.

Notre figure dans le jeu alimente toutes les capacités mentionnées. Par exemple, dans le cas du jeu symbolique, il offre une source d’informations avec laquelle l’enfant devra faire face et avec lequel il pourra interagir (vocabulaire, gestes, procédures, idées sur la société, etc.). Dans le cas du jeu de règles, il existe des limites qui, plus tard, développeront des compétences transférables au reste des scénarios vitaux (par exemple: l'attente).

Nous avons tous besoin de jouer

Les aînés doivent-ils aussi jouer?

Selon le psychiatre Adam Blatner, le besoin de jouer chez l'homme est permanent. Blatner souligne que la base de la vie d'un homme est la relation entre quatre compétences: aimer, travailler, jouer et penser. Plus précisément, ce psychiatre améliore l’activité ludique en tant qu’élément compensateur de la tension émotionnelle générée par le reste des activités.

La vérité est que toutes les actions ne peuvent pas devenir des jeux. En fait, nous engagerions un débat intéressant si nous réfléchissions à ce qui arriverait si tel était le cas.

Maintenant bien. Nous pouvons intégrer l'activité ludique de manière naturelle dans notre vie quotidienne afin de contrer la tension / fatigue générée par l'obligation, offrant ainsi une place à la capacité créatrice. Par conséquent, introduire le jeu en tant qu'élément complémentaire (que ce soit au moment de faire du sport, dans une dynamique d'équipe, dans la pratique d'un passe-temps, etc.) indépendamment de l'existence d'un jeu avec les enfants, est un choix émotionnellement intelligent.

Les adultes sont-ils autorisés à jouer?

Plusieurs fois non. C'est là que réside le problème. La question de la permissivité et des croyances liées au "devoir" réduit l'espace pour la spontanéité, la libération de la pensée et la joie. Par conséquent, nous ne voulons pas aujourd'hui écarter cet article sans lancer un dernier message: le jeu fait partie de notre façon d'explorer et de comprendre le monde ...

Jouer ne concerne pas que les enfants.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "9 jeux et stratégies pour exercer l'esprit"

KIDS UNITED - On Ecrit Sur Les Murs (Clip Officiel) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes