yes, therapy helps!
The price of getting a job for having contacts

The price of getting a job for having contacts

January 25, 2022

Own merits do not always guarantee access to a job, and too often what really matters is whether or not to know someone related to the organization or project in question . When jobs are scarce and unemployment soars, as has happened in many countries during the last global financial crisis, there is even more reason to consider the repercussions that the practice of nepotism You can have it in the workplace.

Because what is clear is that someone who accesses a job because they know someone is getting some benefits: it happens that they do not have a job they may not be qualified to have without going through too many personnel selection filters. But it is possible that the practice of "plugging" also has a negative effect on the beneficiary. A kind of consideration more difficult to detect than the positive of earning a job without hardly trying.


Stigmatization through the plugs

A group of psychologists from Butler University have published an article in the Journal of Business and Psychology in which evidence about the fort is presented social stigma who carry the people who have been selected for a position because of nepotism. Specifically, people who access a job because they are relatives of someone are not only judged negatively for having taken advantage of their special contacts, but also are perceived as less able to do their job .

Investigation

The researchers focused on analyzing the responses given by 191 business administration students. The members of this group of volunteers had to imagine being workers in a bank in which their boss had not yet been selected and then reading information about three candidates for that position. Two of these candidates were always the same: a well-qualified profile that fulfilled the requirements for the vacancy and another clearly inframed. The third application, which was the one corresponding to the person who was finally hired, varied between three levels of qualification.


In some cases, this candidate had better qualification than the other two candidates, but in others it was of the same level as the "strong" candidacy of the previous two or was a little below. In any of these three possibilities, the third candidate met the minimum requirements to access the position. But nevertheless, half of the volunteers were informed that this candidacy, the chosen one, was that of a close relative of the vice president .

Having gone through this phase, the volunteers had to fill in some questionnaires in which they evaluated the person chosen to be their superior in factors such as their level of competence, luck, ability and political ability.

Karma things

The results show how the people chosen are significantly worse valued when there are signs of nepotism . In fact, in the three degrees of qualification that the third candidacy could present, it was always worse valued than the candidacy that had been chosen on merit. The students assumed that this person had been chosen primarily for their family ties, regardless of their level of ability reflected in their curriculum vitae. In this way, the selected people were evaluated as if they lacked all the typical characteristics that are usually associated with good managers , regardless of whether the person chosen based on "plug" was male or female.


In this way, even people who, because of the professional and academic information that was available, seemed well prepared for the position, were perceived as not very capable. Paradoxically, the type of stigmatization seen in the study could make people chosen by their connections more difficult to develop their work because of the type of work environment they inoculate in the organization. It could also cost them to rise beyond the influences of the one who has selected them.

Bibliographic references:

  • Padgett, M.Y., Padgett, R.J., and Morris, K.A. (2014). Perceptions of Nepotism Beneficiaries: The Hidden Price of Using a Family Connection to Obtain a Job. Journal of Business and Psychology, 30 (2), pp. 283-298.

I Tried Colored Contacts For The First Time! ~ Guava Juice (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le prix à trouver un emploi pour avoir des contacts

Le prix à trouver un emploi pour avoir des contacts

Février 28, 2021

Les mérites propres ne garantissent pas toujours l'accès à un emploi, et trop souvent ce qui compte vraiment, c'est de savoir ou non de connaître une personne liée à l'organisation ou au projet en question . Lorsque les emplois sont rares et que le chômage augmente, comme ce fut le cas dans de nombreux pays au cours de la dernière crise financière mondiale, il y a encore plus de raisons de considérer les répercussions de la pratique de népotisme Vous pouvez l'avoir sur votre lieu de travail.

Parce que ce qui est clair, c’est que les personnes qui accèdent à un emploi parce qu’elles connaissent des avantages: il leur arrive de ne pas occuper un emploi pour lequel elles ne sont pas qualifiées sans passer par un trop grand nombre de filtres de sélection du personnel. Mais il est possible que la pratique du "branchement" ait également un effet négatif sur le bénéficiaire. Une sorte de considération plus difficile à détecter que le positif de gagner un emploi sans trop essayer.


Stigmatisation à travers les bouchons

Un groupe de psychologues de l’Université de Butler a publié un article dans le Journal de commerce et de psychologie dans lequel des preuves sur le fort sont présentées stigmatisation sociale qui portent les personnes qui ont été sélectionnées pour un poste en raison du népotisme. Plus précisément, les personnes qui accèdent à un emploi parce qu’elles sont des parents sont non seulement jugées négativement pour avoir profité de leurs contacts privilégiés, mais aussi sont perçus comme moins capables de faire leur travail .

Enquête

Les chercheurs ont analysé les réponses de 191 étudiants en administration des affaires. Les membres de ce groupe de volontaires ont dû imaginer être des travailleurs dans une banque dans laquelle leur patron n'avait pas encore été sélectionné, puis lire des informations sur trois candidats à ce poste. Deux de ces candidats étaient toujours les mêmes: un profil qualifié remplissant les conditions requises pour le poste vacant et un autre clairement encadré. La troisième candidature, correspondant à la personne finalement embauchée, variait entre trois niveaux de qualification.


Dans certains cas, ce candidat avait une meilleure qualification que les deux autres candidats, mais dans d'autres cas, il était du même niveau que la candidature "forte" des deux précédents ou était un peu en dessous. Dans l'une ou l'autre de ces trois possibilités, le troisième candidat remplissait les conditions minimales requises pour accéder au poste. Cependant, la moitié des volontaires ont été informés que cette candidature, celle choisie, était celle d'un proche du vice-président .

Après avoir traversé cette phase, les volontaires ont dû remplir des questionnaires dans lesquels ils évaluaient la personne choisie comme étant leur supérieur en fonction de facteurs tels que leur niveau de compétence, leur chance, leurs capacités et leurs capacités politiques.

Choses de karma

Les résultats montrent comment les personnes choisies sont nettement moins valorisées lorsqu'il y a des signes de népotisme . En fait, dans les trois degrés de qualification que la troisième candidature pouvait présenter, il était toujours moins valorisé que la candidature qui avait été choisie au mérite. Les élèves ont supposé que cette personne avait été choisie principalement pour leurs liens familiaux, quel que soit leur niveau d'aptitude reflété dans leur curriculum vitae. De cette manière, les personnes sélectionnées ont été évaluées comme s’il leur manquait toutes les caractéristiques typiques généralement associées aux bons gestionnaires , que la personne choisie sur la base de "plug" soit un homme ou une femme.


De cette manière, même les personnes qui semblaient bien préparées pour le poste en raison des informations professionnelles et académiques disponibles étaient perçues comme peu capables. Paradoxalement, le type de stigmatisation observé dans l’étude pourrait compliquer la tâche des personnes choisies en raison de leurs relations en raison du type d’environnement de travail qu’elles inoculent dans l’organisation. Cela pourrait aussi leur coûter de s'élever au-delà des influences de celui qui les a choisis.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Padgett, M.Y., Padgett, R.J. et Morris, K.A. (2014). Perceptions des bénéficiaires du népotisme: le prix caché de l’utilisation d’un lien familial pour obtenir un emploi. Journal of Business and Psychology, 30 (2), pp. 283-298.

Comment TROUVER des CASTINGS ? (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes