yes, therapy helps!
The psychological and cerebral differences between left-handed and right-handed

The psychological and cerebral differences between left-handed and right-handed

June 12, 2024

Great historical figures such as Napoleon, Albert Einstein, Leonardo Da Vinci, Charlot or Mozart had a common characteristic (obviously, of course, their popularity): they were all left-handed .

At present, we also coincide with several celebrities and illustrious people who used the left hand to write, such as the late Hugo Chávez, or four of the last seven presidents of the United States, including Barack Obama.

Science investigates the peculiarities of left-handed and right-handed

They were all left-handed . Judging by this introduction, one might think that history has left us great left-handed personalities. Maybe more able to govern countries? With better artistic and creative gifts? Science, for decades, investigates about the incidence of this particularity.


Approximately, it is often said that 90% of the population is right-handed , that is, use the right hand and the right foot first. A much smaller percentage, 10%, are left-handed. The research on this issue is somewhat confusing, but in this article I will try to explain what are the main differences in the health, brain and psyche of individuals according to whether they are left-handed or right-handed.

Left-handed or right-handed: what is the cause of this characteristic?

According to experts in neurosciences, there is no definitive evidence or any contrasted neurobiological marker that causes a person to be left-handed or right-handed. But nevertheless, yes they coincide in pointing out that, in the fetal stage, humans have already begun to develop a preference over one hand or the other . Other theories point out that, during the ultrasounds performed on pregnant women, it can be distinguished if a baby will be right-handed or left-handed observing which hand is closest to the mouth most of the time.


10% of the world population preferably uses the left hand

Although science still does not know exactly many questions about left-handed and right-handed people, it has been able to shed several interesting data. As I said before, it is estimated that the percentage of left-handed people in the world is around 10%, although it is also true that there are individuals who would not be "natural right-handers", but would have been born left-handed but would have been corrected to use their right hand .

And it is that, in fact, Until a few decades ago many people were forced, with all kinds of methods, to use the right hand instead of the left to write . It was a habitual practice during the beginning of the Spanish Francoism.

The historical disgrace of left-handed people

It is not the only historical abuse suffered by left-handers. People with this peculiarity they have been especially repudiated at different times, under the stigma of being possessed by the devil , or by false stereotypes that labeled them as criminals and thugs.


It is not surprising, then, that this persecution of left-handers culminated in certain methods - say - "pedagogical" to correct this supposed deviation. Many left-handed elderly in Spain remember with regret how they were pressured and forced to write with their right hand in their school years, converted right-handed even against their nature.

Scientific studies

Several investigations have tried to explain why some people are left-handed and others are right-handed , and their brain, biological and psychological differences.

The right-handers are "more skilful"

Going into the scientific field, it should be noted that, according to a study conducted at the University of Ontario, "right-handers are more skilled compared to left-handed people, who tend more to be ambidextrous; to execute with more skill both hands ". In other words, the researchers say that people who use the left hand are much more skilled with the right than right-handed people with respect to the left hand.

This could be explained because left-handed people have been forced, from a young age, to handle utensils and tools designed for right-handers , with which they end up developing a greater capacity to control their "bad hand".

Lefties live less years, on average

One of the aspects on which more science has deepened is about the longevity of left-handed and right-handed people. And, as has been shown, left-handers tend to live about nine years less than average right-handers . But why does this happen? There are several hypotheses that try to explain this difference.

One of the most widespread says that it is possible that lefties are more likely to suffer some minor alterations during their development, which would make them more prone to suffer certain diseases.

Genetics come into play

Yes, it seems that there are already data that suggest that the preference for one or the other hand could have a genetic origin. Specifically, this is what a group of researchers from the University of Oxford discovered, when they isolated a genetic variable that is related to the fact that they prefer to use the left hand. This variant, named LRRTM1, is also a predictor of schizophrenia. That is, people who have this genetic variable are more at risk of suffering from this neurological disease.

In any case, the relationship between possessing this genetic variation and having schizophrenia has only been correlated in a slight way; Exactly what role this gene plays in the multitude of characteristics and propensities that the individual will develop during his life is unknown. In fact, the degree of correlation between the left and the possession of this gene is still being studied.

Crossed laterality and brain differences

The differences between the brain of left-handed and right-handed contribute to deepen the few answers and many unknowns about the laterality of human beings. As we have already explained in previous articles of Psychology and Mind, our brain consists of two hemispheres, right and left, and although the brain operates globally, each of these hemispheres is specialized in certain functions.

It is often said, although it is a somewhat unscientific simplification, that the left side of the brain is responsible for processing the numerical and logical information, while the right hemisphere is more linked to creativity and the way we feel and get excited. And to all this, what happens with writing? In more than 80% of the population, writing is more linked to activity in the left hemisphere , which in turn governs our right side (yes, although it sounds counterintuitive). These people, therefore, are right-handed. In the case of lefties, things get a little more complicated, since the activity related to writing is more evenly distributed between both hemispheres.

It will be necessary to continue investigating around this question to continue contributing interesting data about the causes of laterality and the differences between left-handed and right-handed. For now, we are left with more questions than certainties .


Why Are Some People Left-Handed? (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différences psychologiques et cérébrales entre gaucher et droitier

Les différences psychologiques et cérébrales entre gaucher et droitier

Septembre 2, 2022

De grandes figures historiques telles que Napoléon, Albert Einstein, Léonard de Vinci, Charlot ou Mozart avaient une caractéristique commune (évidemment, leur popularité): ils étaient tous gauchers .

À l'heure actuelle, nous rencontrons également plusieurs célébrités et personnalités illustres qui utilisaient la main gauche pour écrire, comme le regretté Hugo Chávez, ou quatre des sept derniers présidents des États-Unis, dont Barack Obama.

La science étudie les particularités des gauchers et des droitiers

Ils étaient tous gauchers . À en juger par cette introduction, on pourrait penser que l’histoire nous a laissé de grandes personnalités gauchères. Peut-être plus capable de gouverner des pays? Avec de meilleurs cadeaux artistiques et créatifs? La science étudie depuis des décennies l'incidence de cette particularité.


En gros, on dit souvent que 90% de la population est droitière c’est-à-dire, utilisez d’abord la main droite et le pied droit. Un pourcentage beaucoup plus faible, 10%, est gaucher. La recherche sur cette question est quelque peu déroutante, mais dans cet article, je vais essayer d'expliquer quelles sont les principales différences en matière de santé, de cerveau et de psychisme d'individus selon qu'ils sont gauchers ou droitiers.

Gaucher ou droitier: quelle est la cause de cette caractéristique?

Selon les experts en neurosciences, il n’existe aucune preuve définitive ni aucun marqueur neurobiologique contrasté qui pousse une personne à être gaucher ou droitier. Cependant, oui, ils coïncident en signalant que, au stade fœtal, les humains ont déjà commencé à développer une préférence par rapport à une main ou à une autre . D'autres théories soulignent que, lors des échographies pratiquées sur les femmes enceintes, on peut distinguer si un bébé sera droitier ou gaucher en observant quelle main est la plus proche de la bouche la plupart du temps.


10% de la population mondiale utilise de préférence la main gauche

Bien que la science ne connaisse toujours pas exactement beaucoup de questions sur les gauchers et les droitiers, elle a pu écarter plusieurs données intéressantes. Comme je l'ai déjà dit, on estime que le pourcentage de gauchers dans le monde avoisine les 10%, mais il est également vrai qu'il existe des individus qui ne seraient pas des "droitiers naturels", mais seraient nés de gauche mais auraient été corrigés pour utiliser leur main droite. .

Et c'est que, en fait, Jusqu'à il y a quelques décennies, beaucoup de gens étaient obligés, avec toutes sortes de méthodes, d'utiliser la main droite au lieu de la gauche pour écrire . C'était une pratique habituelle au début du franquisme espagnol.

La honte historique des gauchers

Ce n'est pas le seul abus historique subi par les gauchers. Les gens avec cette particularité ils ont été particulièrement répudiés à différents moments, sous le prétexte d'être possédés par le diable , ou par de faux stéréotypes les qualifiant de criminels et de voyous.


Il n'est donc pas surprenant que cette persécution des gauchers ait abouti à certaines méthodes - dites - "pédagogiques" pour corriger cette supposée déviation. Beaucoup de personnes âgées gauchers en Espagne se souviennent avec regret de la pression exercée sur eux et les ont forcés à écrire de la main droite pendant leurs années d’école, convertis droitiers même contre nature.

Études scientifiques

Plusieurs enquêtes ont tenté d'expliquer pourquoi certaines personnes sont gauchers et d'autres droitiers et leurs différences cérébrales, biologiques et psychologiques.

Les droitiers sont "plus habiles"

Dans le domaine scientifique, il convient de noter que, selon une étude menée à l’Université de l’Ontario, "les droitiers sont plus compétents que les gauchers, qui ont tendance à être plus ambidextre; exécuter avec plus de talent les deux mains ". En d'autres termes, les chercheurs disent que les personnes qui utilisent la main gauche sont beaucoup plus habiles avec la droite que les droitiers par rapport à la main gauche.

Cela pourrait être expliqué parce que les gauchers sont obligés, dès leur plus jeune âge, de manipuler des ustensiles et des outils conçus pour les droitiers , avec lesquels ils finissent par développer une plus grande capacité à contrôler leur "mauvaise main".

Les gauchers vivent moins d'années en moyenne

Un des aspects sur lesquels la science a approfondi concerne la longévité des gauchers et des droitiers. Et, comme on l'a montré, les gauchers ont tendance à vivre environ neuf ans de moins que les gauchers moyens . Mais pourquoi cela se produit-il? Plusieurs hypothèses tentent d’expliquer cette différence.

L'un des plus répandus affirme qu'il est possible que les gauchers souffrent davantage de légères modifications au cours de leur développement, ce qui les rendrait plus susceptibles de souffrir de certaines maladies.

La génétique entre en jeu

Oui, il semble qu’il existe déjà des données suggérant que la préférence pour l’une ou l’autre main pourrait avoir une origine génétique. C’est précisément ce qu’un groupe de chercheurs de l’Université d’Oxford a découvert en isolant une variable génétique liée au fait qu’ils préféraient utiliser la main gauche. Cette variante, appelée LRRTM1, est également un facteur prédictif de la schizophrénie. Autrement dit, les personnes qui possèdent cette variable génétique sont plus à risque de souffrir de cette maladie neurologique.

Dans tous les cas, la relation entre la possession de cette variation génétique et la schizophrénie n’a été que faiblement corrélée; On ignore quel rôle ce gène joue dans la multitude de caractéristiques et de tendances que l’individu développera au cours de sa vie. En fait, le degré de corrélation entre la gauche et la possession de ce gène est toujours à l’étude.

Latéralité croisée et différences cérébrales

Les différences entre le cerveau des gauchers et des droitiers contribuent à approfondir les quelques réponses et les nombreuses inconnues concernant la latéralité des êtres humains. Comme nous l'avons déjà expliqué dans des articles précédents de Psychologie et esprit, notre cerveau se compose de deux hémisphères, droit et gauche, et bien que le cerveau fonctionne globalement, chacun de ces hémisphères est spécialisé dans certaines fonctions.

On dit souvent, bien qu’il s’agisse d’une simplification quelque peu non scientifique, que le côté gauche du cerveau est responsable du traitement des informations numériques et logiques, tandis que l’hémisphère droit est davantage lié à la créativité et à la façon dont nous nous sentons et nous passionnons. Et à tout cela, que se passe-t-il avec l'écriture? Dans plus de 80% de la population, l'écriture est davantage liée à l'activité dans l'hémisphère gauche , qui à son tour régit notre côté droit (oui, bien que cela semble contre-intuitif). Ces personnes sont donc droitières. Dans le cas des gauchers, les choses se compliquent un peu, l'activité liée à l'écriture étant mieux répartie entre les deux hémisphères.

Il sera nécessaire de poursuivre les recherches autour de cette question pour continuer à fournir des données intéressantes sur les causes de la latéralité et les différences entre gaucher et droitier. Pour le moment, il nous reste plus de questions que de certitudes .


Cerveau droit cerveau gauche faites ce test de 5 seconde pour savoir lequel vous utilisez (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes