yes, therapy helps!
The psychological effects of incarceration: what happens in the minds of inmates?

The psychological effects of incarceration: what happens in the minds of inmates?

November 4, 2022

The fact of being imprisoned and deprived of liberty It brings with it important psychological consequences. These can develop a chain of reactions and affective, cognitive, emotional and perceptual distortions, all this caused by the emotional tension within the penitentiary environment. In addition, a capacity for adaptation and resilience is required to support the dispossession of family and own exterior symbols.

In this article we will see what are the psychological effects of incarceration , and the way in which this situation affects the minds of the inmates.

  • Related article: "The 13 types of prisons (and their psychic effects)"

The prisonalization

There is a variable called prisionalization that intervenes in the behavior of the inmates. It is the process by which a person unconsciously assumes the code of conduct and values ​​of the prison subculture as an effect of being in direct contact with it.


A differentiation can be made between a superficial prisionalization, which is the minimum necessary for a person to adapt to the prison environment, and a deep one, which would be an institutionalization. This occurs when the acquired behaviors and ideas exceed the individuality of the inmate.

On the other hand, there are factors that determine the degree of prisionalization in individuals:

  • Personality : talking about maturity, emotional intelligence, intellectual capacity, stability, etc.
  • Set of external circumstances around the person: frequency of re-entry, length of stay, type of crime and both family and personal expectations.
  • Age and cultural level : understood as personal experiences and knowledge and skills, respectively. The more experiences, knowledge and abilities you have, the more easily you adapt.

The types of criminals

Another classification about the degree to which prisonalization affects has to do with the type of offender to which it belongs:


1. Primary offender

It's your first time in prison , maintains prosocial conducts so it refuses to adhere to the prison code. Imprisonment is a great impact.

2. Occasional offender

He is an individual who does not have problems to live under the norms of the society , but in the moment that the opportunity is given, he commits some crime. Usually try to minimize the act and justify it.

3. habitual offender

Crime is like your lifestyle ; They consider that illegal activities give them greater satisfaction than legal activities. They are already completely familiar with the rules of the jail.

It could be said that the longer the time in prison, the greater the degree of prisionalization. While this may be true, it also influences the fact that the inmate knows that he will soon be released from prison and will return to society. So you can start to recover values ​​and attitudes forgotten or not applied inside the jail, to prepare for a reinsertion and recover his life .


The psychological effects of the stay in prison

Now, going to the psychological effects of the inmates, these are the following:

1. Anxiety

The level at which it appears depends on the circumstances in which the imprisonment occurs and the personality of the subject itself. They face the unknown.

2. Depersonalization

Loss of your individuality . The fact that when entering prison, you are assigned to a number, to that your person is reduced. It also becomes part of a collective rejected by society.

  • Related article: "Depersonalization and derealization: when everything seems like a dream"

3. Loss of privacy

It arises from forced coexistence with other inmates. They have little or no time to concentrate on themselves. This is aggravated when the environment is violent and your safety is at stake.

4. Low self-esteem

It is given by not fulfilling own expectations or defrauding the image that one had of itself, and by the fact of being imprisoned. But nevertheless, there are many others whose self-esteem is not adversely affected , since they feel satisfied leading a criminal life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 keys to increase your self-esteem in 30 days"

5. Lack of control over your own life

It occurs because of a certain inability to make personal, family or social decisions; yes there may be a margin of decision, but the range of options is not great. What is most limited is the control of the inmate before the evolution of external events. This situation causes frustration .

6. Absence of expectations

There is few expectations in the life of the inmate beyond his desire for freedom . People are conditioned by a recurring idea: all the time that was lost and the fastest way to recover it.

7. Changes in sexuality

There may be frustrations for not having the usual sexual routines , dysfunctions can appear and the normal development of an adequate practice can be blocked.

The need to understand the inmate

An analysis of personal history and vital circumstances that have led the person to commit a crime is required in order to provide an optimal therapeutic approach that takes into account all aspects of his personality. This is how the objective of the prison can be met directly: a reeducation of the lacks or lost values and a subsequent positive reintegration into society.

It is essential that there be quality intervention by professionals, specifically psychologists, to promote their social reintegration. The prison environment can affect inmates in a great way and it is important that, before they are released, they recover their positive essence, rebuild values ​​and re-encounter with themselves.

It is not enough that general proposals are made to address the issue, you have to have an individualized plan with each one since they have different personalities and needs. Even if they are criminals, they are still human beings.


PTSD, The Effects After A Lengthy Incarceration (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les effets psychologiques de l'incarcération: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit des détenus?

Les effets psychologiques de l'incarcération: que se passe-t-il dans l'esprit des détenus?

Février 21, 2019

Le fait d'être emprisonné et privé de liberté Cela entraîne des conséquences psychologiques importantes. Celles-ci peuvent développer une chaîne de réactions et de distorsions affectives, cognitives, émotionnelles et perceptuelles, le tout provoqué par la tension émotionnelle dans l'environnement pénitentiaire. De plus, une capacité d'adaptation et de résilience est nécessaire pour soutenir la dépossession de la famille et de ses propres symboles extérieurs.

Dans cet article, nous verrons Quels sont les effets psychologiques de l'incarcération et la manière dont cette situation affecte l’esprit des détenus.

  • Article connexe: "Les 13 types de prisons (et leurs effets psychiques)"

La prisonalisation

Il y a une variable appelée prisionalisation qui intervient dans le comportement des détenus. C'est le processus par lequel une personne assume inconsciemment le code de conduite et les valeurs de la sous-culture pénitentiaire comme un effet de contact direct avec elle.


Une différenciation peut être faite entre une mise en prison superficielle, qui est le minimum nécessaire pour qu'une personne puisse s'adapter au milieu carcéral, et une approche profonde, qui serait une institutionnalisation. Cela se produit lorsque les comportements et les idées acquis dépassent l'individualité du détenu.

D'autre part, certains facteurs déterminent le degré de mise en prison chez les individus:

  • Personnalité : parler de maturité, d’intelligence émotionnelle, de capacité intellectuelle, de stabilité, etc.
  • Ensemble de circonstances externes autour de la personne: fréquence de réintégration, durée du séjour, type de crime et attentes familiales et personnelles.
  • Age et niveau culturel : compris comme expériences personnelles et connaissances et compétences, respectivement. Plus vous avez d'expériences, de connaissances et de capacités, plus vous vous adaptez facilement.

Les types de criminels

Une autre classification relative au degré d'incidence de la prison concerne le type de délinquant auquel elle appartient:


1. Premier délinquant

C'est ta première fois en prison , maintient des comportements prosociaux et refuse de se conformer au code pénitentiaire. L'emprisonnement a un impact considérable.

2. Délinquant occasionnel

C'est un individu qui n'a pas de problèmes à vivre sous les normes de la société , mais au moment où l'occasion se présente, il commet un crime. Essayez habituellement de minimiser l'acte et de le justifier.

3. délinquant habituel

Le crime est comme votre style de vie ; Ils considèrent que les activités illégales leur procurent une plus grande satisfaction que les activités légales. Ils connaissent déjà parfaitement les règles de la prison.

On pourrait dire que plus le temps passé en prison est long, plus le degré de mise en prison est élevé. Bien que cela puisse être vrai, cela influence également le fait que le détenu sait qu'il sera bientôt libéré de prison et retournera dans la société. Pour que vous puissiez commencer à récupérer des valeurs et des attitudes oubliées ou non appliquées dans la prison, se préparer à une réinsertion et récupérer sa vie .


Les effets psychologiques du séjour en prison

Passons maintenant aux effets psychologiques des détenus:

1. anxiété

Le niveau auquel il apparaît dépend des circonstances dans lesquelles l'emprisonnement a eu lieu et de la personnalité du sujet lui-même. Ils font face à l'inconnu.

2. Dépersonnalisation

Perte de votre individualité . Le fait que lors de votre entrée en prison, vous êtes affecté à un numéro, votre personne est réduite. Cela fait aussi partie d'un collectif rejeté par la société.

  • Article connexe: "Dépersonnalisation et déréalisation: quand tout semble être un rêve"

3. Perte de la vie privée

Il découle de la coexistence forcée avec d'autres détenus. Ils ont peu ou pas de temps pour se concentrer. Ceci est aggravé lorsque l'environnement est violent et votre sécurité est en jeu.

4. Faible estime de soi

Cela se produit en ne satisfaisant pas ses propres attentes ou en fraudant l'image qu'on se faisait d'elle-même et par le fait d'être emprisonné. Cependant, il y en a beaucoup d'autres dont l'estime de soi n'est pas altérée , puisqu'ils se sentent satisfaits de mener une vie criminelle.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "10 clés pour augmenter votre estime de soi en 30 jours"

5. Manque de contrôle sur votre propre vie

Cela est dû à une certaine incapacité à prendre des décisions personnelles, familiales ou sociales; Oui, il peut y avoir une marge de décision, mais la gamme d'options n'est pas grande. Ce qui est le plus limité, c’est le contrôle du détenu avant l’évolution des événements extérieurs. Cette situation cause de la frustration .

6. Absence d'attentes

Il y a peu d'attentes dans la vie du détenu au-delà de son désir de liberté . Les gens sont conditionnés par une idée récurrente: tout le temps perdu et le moyen le plus rapide de le récupérer.

7. Changements dans la sexualité

Il peut y avoir frustrations de ne pas avoir les routines sexuelles habituelles , des dysfonctionnements peuvent apparaître et le développement normal d’une pratique adéquate peut être bloqué.

La nécessité de comprendre le détenu

Une analyse des antécédents personnels et des circonstances vitales ayant conduit la personne à commettre un crime est nécessaire afin de fournir une approche thérapeutique optimale prenant en compte tous les aspects de sa personnalité. Voici comment atteindre l'objectif de la prison: une rééducation des manques ou des valeurs perdues et une réintégration positive ultérieure dans la société.

Il est essentiel que les professionnels, en particulier les psychologues, interviennent dans la qualité pour favoriser leur réinsertion sociale. L'environnement pénitentiaire peut affecter grandement les détenus et il est important que, avant leur libération, ils retrouvent leur essence positive, reconstruisent leurs valeurs et renouent avec eux-mêmes.

Il ne suffit pas que des propositions générales soient faites pour résoudre le problème, vous devez avoir un plan individualisé avec chacun car ils ont des personnalités et des besoins différents. Même s’ils sont des criminels, ce sont toujours des êtres humains.


DANS LA GUEULE DU LOUP #4 : LA JUSTICE ET SES RÉFORMES (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes