yes, therapy helps!
The psychology behind emigration

The psychology behind emigration

November 27, 2021

Emigrating has become an increasingly common action due to the ease that there is currently to travel and the fact that communication channels are more advanced every day, facilitating information. However, emigration is not a decision that should be taken lightly for several compelling reasons.

Unfortunately, there are misconceptions about emigration that have encouraged the normalization of this action. Little echo has been made about the emotional and psychological risks that can cause a bad or sudden emigration decision.

But how can migrating affect us psychologically and emotionally if we are in search of a better life?


  • Related article: "3 important aspects to adapt to a new country"

The psychological impact of emigrating

Simply because of the false expectations that the normalization of emigration cause , the lack of information can affect us to the point of triggering depression, anxiety and adaptation problems, where the stress of the simple fact of emigrating is the protagonist. The purpose of this article is to create awareness about the psychological risks of emigrating because we want to or not.

Our mind, no matter how strong, is going to run into turbid waters before a change as great as it is to emigrate to another country. Of course there are different types of emigration and not all go through the same circumstances, but depression, anxiety and other stressors can affect us more than we think if they catch us off guard.


What can be the psychological risks?

When migrating, many changes in the life of any person are involved , whether it is going to study for a few months or be determined to seek better opportunities abroad for an indefinite time. Unfortunately, emigrating is not synonymous with better quality of life as many believe, since you have to go through periods of adaptation before you can recover part of the lifestyle you had, and not just the money as many believe. Emigrate it also involves other types of losses , and as any loss sooner or later a grieving process develops.

The life of every individual is made up of multiple areas that make up their full development and therefore it is very likely that they will be affected when they emigrate: (Ziglar, 7 areas of life):

  • Career and work
  • Social: friends and environment
  • Family: support and healthy interpersonal relationships (as in the previous one)
  • Economic: independence and stability
  • Physical Health
  • Mental health
  • Spirituality

Grief and emigration stress

As it was previously mentioned, when you emigrate you will suffer grief due to the change. All change generates stress, and all this can affect our emotional world , thus triggering possible psychopathologies (Lavieri, 2015).


Cultural change, nostalgia, loneliness , the lack of social identification, anxiety and acute stress can also affect the immune system. Many immigrants do not seem to suffer any type of alteration or anxiety during the first months of moving, either because they only went to study for a short period of time, the excitement of being in a new environment or because they have family and friends in the new country that help them adapt a little faster.

However, eventually social and cultural factors will affect the cognitive maps creating the famous cultural clashes, differences in the way of working and even studying.

For example, educational systems vary from country to country , just as work styles can also vary (eg new technologies).

Considerations when emigrating

To avoid as far as possible the possible adverse psychological effects of emigration, it may be useful to follow these guidelines:

  • Draw a map of objectives and goals in the short, medium and long term.
  • Managing false expectations of immediate successes (eg The American Dream).
  • Avoid migrating suddenly if you have a psychological disorder or if you suspect one. If the person suffers from depressive episodes, migrating without precautions can be very risky for their mental health.
  • Understand that self-esteem and identity can be very affected. The lifestyle will suffer changes.
  • Investigate the culture, social situation, climate and language of the country to which you want to emigrate. Be prepared to suffer any kind of discrimination and rejection. Like it or not, it is a reality to which any immigrant is exposed, regardless of social class, race, age or sex.
  • Prepare papers, preferably avoid leaving undocumented . Going under illegalities will increase the stress and risk of having legal problems, such as being deported, not being able to open bank accounts or simply not being able to be treated in hospitals.(Opening the way to fall in jobs where there is abuse and labor exploitation).
  • Understand that this step will affect career and work identity . It is unlikely to get work in your area immediately, unless you are going with a job offer and yet there are risks to consider: importance of the position, contract, trial period, training and time granted by the company to accommodate.
  • Understand that there are going to be emotional and labor ups and downs. This also applies to those who emigrate with children.
  • Take advantage of support networks. Do you have close acquaintances in the country?
  • Understand that you should ask for professional help and family support if you suspect any symptoms of depression or anxiety that make you want to isolate, lose your way and affect performance in school or work.

And the relatives of those who leave?

For families of emigrants, it may be useful for the person who follows these guidelines to follow:

  • Avoid at all costs comparative comments with the immediate successes of acquaintances who emigrated.
  • Offer support and remind them of the advantages of the decision , encourage them to reach the proposed goal. And always remind them where their home is if they decide to return.
  • Avoid judging if you decide to return. Family support is essential in the face of these radical and risky changes to mental health.

conclusion

Emigrating is not a simple decision, and like any decision requires a lot of maturity so that the change is as bearable as possible. It is necessary to understand the risks of emigration and the false expectations generated by seeing it as something popular to go to another country.

If the necessary measures and precautions are taken, emigrating can be less risky and even take us where we want to go with the best tools, making the most of new experiences.

Bibliographic references:

  • Lavieri, E. (2015). Psychiatric disorders more frequent in the immigrant: Anxiety, Mood Disorders and Addictions. Available at //ecoterapias.com.es
  • Ziglar, T. (2016). The Wheel of Life. Available at //www.ziglar.com/articles/the-wheel-of-life/

What If You Were An Immigrant? | Ben Huh | TEDxPortland (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La psychologie de l'émigration

La psychologie de l'émigration

Mai 11, 2021

Émigrer est devenu une action de plus en plus courante en raison de la facilité actuelle pour voyager et du fait que les canaux de communication sont chaque jour plus avancés, facilitant l’information. Toutefois, l’émigration n’est pas une décision à prendre à la légère pour plusieurs raisons impérieuses.

Malheureusement, il existe des idées fausses sur l'émigration qui ont favorisé la normalisation de cette action. Peu d'écho a été fait sur les risques émotionnels et psychologiques qui peut entraîner une décision d’émigration mauvaise ou soudaine.

Mais comment la migration peut-elle nous affecter psychologiquement et émotionnellement si nous sommes à la recherche d’une vie meilleure?


  • Article connexe: "3 aspects importants à adapter à un nouveau pays"

L'impact psychologique de l'émigration

Simplement en raison des fausses attentes que la normalisation de l'émigration cause , le manque d’informations peut nous affecter au point de déclencher des problèmes de dépression, d’anxiété et d’adaptation, où le stress du simple fait d’émigrer est le protagoniste. Le but de cet article est de sensibiliser le public aux risques psychologiques d'émigrer, que nous le voulions ou non.

Notre esprit, aussi puissant soit-il, va sombrer dans des eaux troubles avant un changement aussi important que celui d'émigrer dans un autre pays. Bien sûr, il existe différents types d'émigration et toutes ne traversent pas les mêmes circonstances, mais la dépression, l'anxiété et d'autres facteurs de stress peuvent nous affecter plus que nous le pensons s'ils nous prennent au dépourvu.


Quels peuvent être les risques psychologiques?

Lors de la migration, de nombreux changements dans la vie de toute personne sont impliqués , qu’il s’agisse d’étudier pendant quelques mois ou d’être déterminé à rechercher de meilleures opportunités à l’étranger pour une durée indéterminée. Malheureusement, émigrer n’est pas synonyme d’amélioration de la qualité de vie, comme beaucoup le croient, car il faut passer par des périodes d’adaptation avant de pouvoir récupérer une partie de votre style de vie, et pas seulement l’argent, comme beaucoup le pensent. Émigrer cela implique aussi d'autres types de pertes , et comme toute perte, tôt ou tard, un processus de deuil se développe.

La vie de chaque individu est composée de multiples zones qui constituent son plein développement et il est donc très probable qu’elles soient touchées lors de leur émigration: (Ziglar, 7 domaines de la vie):

  • Carrière et travail
  • Social: amis et environnement
  • Famille: soutien et relations interpersonnelles saines (comme dans la précédente)
  • Economique: indépendance et stabilité
  • Santé physique
  • Santé mentale
  • La spiritualité

Chagrin et stress de l'émigration

Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, lorsque vous émigrerez, vous souffrirez du fait du changement. Tout changement génère du stress et tout cela peut affecter notre monde émotionnel , déclenchant ainsi d'éventuelles psychopathologies (Lavieri, 2015).


Changement culturel, nostalgie, solitude , l’absence d’identification sociale, l’anxiété et le stress aigu peuvent également affecter le système immunitaire. Beaucoup d'immigrés ne semblent souffrir d'aucune sorte d'altération ou d'anxiété pendant les premiers mois du déménagement, soit parce qu'ils ne sont allés étudier que pour une courte période, excités d'être dans un nouvel environnement ou parce qu'ils ont de la famille et des amis dans le nouvel établissement. pays qui les aident à s’adapter un peu plus vite.

Cependant, des facteurs sociaux et culturels affecteront éventuellement les cartes cognitives, créant les fameux affrontements culturels, les différences dans la manière de travailler et même d’étudier.

Par exemple, les systèmes éducatifs varient d'un pays à l'autre , tout comme les styles de travail peuvent également varier (par exemple, les nouvelles technologies).

Considérations lors de l'émigration

Pour éviter autant que possible les éventuels effets psychologiques néfastes de l’émigration, il peut être utile de suivre les indications suivantes:

  • Dessinez une carte des objectifs et des buts à court, moyen et long terme.
  • Gérer les fausses attentes des succès immédiats (par exemple, le rêve américain).
  • Évitez de migrer soudainement si vous avez un trouble psychologique ou si vous en soupçonnez un. Si la personne souffre d'épisodes dépressifs, migrer sans précautions peut être très risqué pour sa santé mentale.
  • Comprenez que l’estime de soi et l’identité peuvent être très affectées. Le mode de vie va subir des changements.
  • Étudiez la culture, la situation sociale, le climat et la langue du pays dans lequel vous souhaitez émigrer. Soyez prêt à subir toute forme de discrimination et de rejet. Qu'on le veuille ou non, c'est une réalité à laquelle tout immigrant est exposé, sans distinction de classe sociale, de race, d'âge ou de sexe.
  • Préparez des papiers, évitez de préférence de laisser des sans-papiers . Le fait d’être illégaux augmentera le stress et le risque d’avoir des problèmes juridiques, tels que l’expulsion, l’impossibilité d’ouvrir des comptes bancaires ou tout simplement de ne pas pouvoir être traités dans les hôpitaux.(Ouvrir la voie pour tomber dans les emplois où il y a abus et exploitation du travail).
  • Comprenez que cette étape aura une incidence sur la carrière et l'identité de travail . Il est peu probable que vous trouviez immédiatement du travail dans votre région, à moins que vous ne choisissiez une offre d’emploi. Cependant, il existe des risques à prendre en compte: importance du poste, contrat, période d’essai, formation et temps alloué par l’entreprise.
  • Comprenez qu'il y aura des hauts et des bas émotionnels et liés au travail. Ceci s'applique également à ceux qui émigrent avec des enfants.
  • Profitez des réseaux de soutien. Avez-vous des connaissances proches dans le pays?
  • Comprenez que vous devriez demander l'aide d'un professionnel et le soutien de votre famille si vous suspectez des symptômes de dépression ou d'anxiété qui vous donnent envie d'isoler, de vous perdre et d'avoir une incidence sur vos performances à l'école ou au travail.

Et les parents de ceux qui partent?

Pour les familles d’émigrants, il peut être utile que la personne qui suit ces directives:

  • Évitez à tout prix les commentaires comparatifs avec les succès immédiats des connaissances qui ont émigré.
  • Offrez du soutien et rappelez-leur les avantages de la décision , encouragez-les à atteindre l'objectif proposé. Et rappelez-leur toujours où se trouve leur maison s’ils décident de revenir.
  • Évitez de juger si vous décidez de revenir. Le soutien familial est essentiel face à ces changements radicaux et risqués en matière de santé mentale.

conclusion

Émigrer n’est pas une décision simple, et comme toute décision nécessite beaucoup de maturité afin que le changement soit aussi supportable que possible. Il est nécessaire de comprendre les risques de l'émigration et les fausses attentes générées en le voyant comme une chose populaire pour aller dans un autre pays.

Si les mesures et les précautions nécessaires sont prises, émigrer peut être moins risqué et même nous mener là où nous voulons aller avec les meilleurs outils, en tirant le meilleur parti des nouvelles expériences.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Lavieri, E. (2015). Troubles psychiatriques plus fréquents chez les immigrants: anxiété, troubles de l'humeur et toxicomanies. Disponible à //ecoterapias.com.es
  • Ziglar, T. (2016). La roue de la vie. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.ziglar.com/articles/the-wheel-of-life/

L'expérience de l'immigration (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes