yes, therapy helps!
The Psychology of the Liberation of Ignacio Martín-Baró

The Psychology of the Liberation of Ignacio Martín-Baró

January 22, 2021

Psychology aspires to be a science and, as such, should be based on objective data. However, it is also true that in order to reach relevant conclusions on certain topics, it is necessary to take into account the interpretations and subjective points of view of the people who make up the collectives studied. For example, if you work with aborigines of the Amazon, it is necessary to connect authentically with these cultures so different from the Western one, much more accustomed to the rigors of the scientific method.

The Spanish psychologist Ignacio Martín-Baró he believed that under that apparent objectivity of psychology most concerned with obtaining generalizable results for the entire human species there is an inability to recognize the problems of cultures other than one's own.


From this idea, he developed a project that is known as Psychology of Liberation . Let's see what it consists of; but entities, a brief review of the biography of this researcher to contextualize.

  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

Who was Ignacio Martín-Baró?

Martín-Baró was born in Valladolid in 1942 and after entering as a novice in the Society of Jesus, he left for Central America to complete his formation in the religious institution there. Around 1961 he was sent to the Catholic University of Quito to study Humanities and, later, to the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana in Bogotá.

Once he was appointed priest in 1966, went to live in El Salvador and obtained there his degree in Psychology in 1975 through the Central American University (UCA), after which he received his doctorate in Social Psychology at the University of Chicago.


On his return to the UCA, where he began working in a psychology department. His criticisms open against the government of the country they placed it in the objective of the paramilitary forces directed by the dominant political class, who murdered him in 1989 along with several other people.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

What is the Psychology of Liberation?

Ignacio Martín-Baró denied that psychology is a science destined to know timeless and universal behavior patterns, shared by all the human species. Instead, he pointed out that the mission of this field of knowledge is understand the way in which context and individuals influence each other .

However, the context is not simply a space shared by several individuals at the same time, since in that case we would all live in the same context. For this psychologist, the context also includes the historical moment in which one lives, as well as the culture to which one belongs at a given moment. Conceived Psychology as a discipline close to History.


And what is the use of knowing the historical process that has generated the cultural contexts in which we live? Among other things, according to Martín-Baró, to know how to recognize the "traumas" of each society. Knowing the specific context in which each social group lives makes it easier to know Distinctive problems of oppressed collectives, such as peoples with indigenous origins whose lands have been conquered or nomadic societies without the possibility of owning or inheriting lands.

Against reductionism

In short, the Psychology of Liberation states that to cover all the problems of human beings we must look beyond the universal evils that individually affect people , like schizophrenia or bipolarity, and we must also examine the social environment in which we live, with its symbols, rituals, customs, etc.

In this way, both Ignacio Martín-Baró and the followers of his ideas reject reductionism, a philosophical current applied to psychology is based on the belief that someone's behavior can be understood by analyzing only that person or, even better, the cells and the DNA of your organism (biological determinism).

Therefore, it is necessary to stop investigating aspects of human behavior in artificial contexts belonging to rich countries and to address the problem where it occurs. In this way the need to address social problems can be met and not individual, as for example the conflicts and stress environments created by the confrontation between nationalisms.

The trauma in society

Normally, the trauma in psychology is understood as an emotional trace charged with sensations and deeply painful ideas for the person, since they refer to experiences lived in the past by herself and that caused a lot of discomfort or acute stress.

However, for Martín-Baró and the Psychology of Liberation, trauma can also be a collective phenomenon, something whose cause is not an experience lived individually but collectively and inherited through the generations. In fact, Martín-Baró points out, conventional psychology is often used to nurture these collective traumas discreetly for propaganda purposes; it seeks to channel that pain towards goals that suit an elite.

Thus, for the Psychology of Liberation, knowing the frequent mental problems in an area speaks to us about the history of that region and, therefore, points in the direction of a source of the conflict that must be approached from a psychosocial perspective, not acting on individuals


Liberation Psychology and Social Change: An Introduction to Ignacio Martín-Baró (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La psychologie de la libération d'Ignacio Martín-Baró

La psychologie de la libération d'Ignacio Martín-Baró

Janvier 17, 2022

La psychologie aspire à être une science et, en tant que tels, devraient être basés sur des données objectives. Cependant, il est également vrai que pour parvenir à des conclusions pertinentes sur certains sujets, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte les interprétations et les points de vue subjectifs des personnes qui constituent les collectifs étudiés. Par exemple, si vous travaillez avec des aborigènes d'Amazonie, il est nécessaire de vous connecter authentiquement à ces cultures si différentes de la culture occidentale, beaucoup plus habituées aux rigueurs de la méthode scientifique.

Le psychologue espagnol Ignacio Martín-Baró Il croyait que sous cette objectivité apparente de la psychologie, soucieuse d'obtenir des résultats généralisables pour toute l'espèce humaine, il était impossible de reconnaître les problèmes de cultures autres que la sienne.


A partir de cette idée, il développa un projet qui s'appelle la psychologie de la libération . Voyons en quoi cela consiste; mais entités, un bref examen de la biographie de ce chercheur à contextualiser.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Qui était Ignacio Martín-Baró?

Martín-Baró est né à Valladolid en 1942 et, après être entré comme novice dans la Compagnie de Jésus, il partit pour l'Amérique centrale afin de terminer sa formation dans l'institution religieuse. Vers 1961, il fut envoyé à l'Université catholique de Quito pour étudier les sciences humaines et, plus tard, à la Pontificia Universidad Javeriana de Bogotá.

Une fois nommé prêtre en 1966, est allé vivre au Salvador et y a obtenu son diplôme de psychologie en 1975 auprès de la Central American University (UCA), après quoi il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie sociale à l'Université de Chicago.


De retour à l'UCA, il commence à travailler dans un département de psychologie. Ses critiques ouvertes contre le gouvernement du pays ils l'ont placé dans l'objectif des forces paramilitaires dirigé par la classe politique dominante, qui l’a assassiné en 1989 avec plusieurs autres personnes.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Quelle est la psychologie de la libération?

Ignacio Martín-Baró a nié que la psychologie soit une science destinée à connaître des comportements intemporels et universels, partagés par toutes les espèces humaines. Au lieu de cela, il a souligné que la mission de ce domaine de la connaissance est comprendre la manière dont le contexte et les individus s'influencent mutuellement .

Cependant, le contexte n'est pas simplement un espace partagé par plusieurs individus à la fois, car dans ce cas, nous vivrions tous dans le même contexte. Pour ce psychologue, le contexte inclut également le moment historique dans lequel on vit, ainsi que la culture à laquelle on appartient à un moment donné. La psychologie conçue comme une discipline proche de l'histoire.


Et à quoi sert-il de connaître le processus historique qui a généré les contextes culturels dans lesquels nous vivons? Entre autres choses, selon Martín-Baró, savoir reconnaître les "traumas" de chaque société. Connaître le contexte spécifique dans lequel vit chaque groupe social facilite la connaissance Problèmes distinctifs des groupes opprimés, tels que les peuples d'origine autochtone dont les terres ont été conquises ou des sociétés nomades sans la possibilité de posséder ou d’hériter des terres.

Contre le réductionnisme

En bref, la psychologie de la libération affirme que pour couvrir tous les problèmes de l'être humain nous devons regarder au-delà des maux universels qui affectent individuellement les personnes comme la schizophrénie ou la bipolarité et nous devons également examiner le milieu social dans lequel nous vivons, avec ses symboles, ses rituels, ses coutumes, etc.

Ainsi, Ignacio Martín-Baró et ses partisans rejettent le réductionnisme, un courant philosophique appliqué à la psychologie est basé sur la conviction que le comportement d'une personne peut être compris en analysant uniquement cette personne ou, mieux encore, le les cellules et l'ADN de votre organisme (déterminisme biologique).

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire d'arrêter d'enquêter sur les aspects du comportement humain dans des contextes artificiels appartenant aux pays riches et de s'attaquer au problème là où il se produit. De cette façon la nécessité de résoudre les problèmes sociaux peut être satisfaite et non individuelle, comme par exemple les conflits et les environnements de stress créés par la confrontation entre les nationalismes.

Le traumatisme en société

Normalement, le traumatisme en psychologie est compris comme une trace émotionnelle chargée de sensations et d'idées profondément douloureuses pour la personne, puisqu'elles font référence à des expériences vécues dans le passé par elle-même et qui ont provoqué beaucoup de gêne ou de stress aigu.

Cependant, pour Martín-Baró et la psychologie de la libération, le traumatisme peut aussi être un phénomène collectif, dont la cause n'est pas une expérience vécue individuellement mais collectivement et héritée de génération en génération. En réalité, souligne Martín-Baró, la psychologie conventionnelle est souvent utilisée pour nourrir ces traumas collectifs de manière discrète à des fins de propagande; il cherche à canaliser cette douleur vers des objectifs qui conviennent à une élite.

Ainsi, pour la psychologie de la libération, connaître les problèmes mentaux fréquents dans une région nous parle de l’histoire de cette région et, par conséquent, indique une source du conflit qui doit être abordée dans une perspective psychosociale, sans agir en conséquence. les individus


Liberation Psychology and Social Change: An Introduction to Ignacio Martín-Baró (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes