yes, therapy helps!
The recruitment and selection process: its social and organizational repercussions

The recruitment and selection process: its social and organizational repercussions

May 2, 2024

The recruitment and selection process is basic for any company or organization However, the fact that it is a basic process does not mean that it is simple and that it can be carried out lightly, since the results can be counterproductive.

  • Related article: "Selection of personnel: 10 keys to choose the best employee"

Recruitment: why is it a basic process?

The selection task is fundamental firstly because without proper recruitment of personnel there can be no organization , which is a dynamic entity exposed to both internal and external changes over time (Steele, Solowiej, Bicknell & Sands, 2014). Therefore, any company that intends to maintain itself and achieve success should have its own recruitment and selection process.


This process involves more than identifying and attracting candidates through job fairs, a post on Linkedin or in job portals. it implies develop job evaluation, interview design, expectations management and goals, feedback, training design and induction, hiring and negotiation, among others.

Companies that lack human resources, either because they seek to economize on this basic process, are more likely to suffer monetary losses than those with their own human resources team. One of the reasons for this extra expense is due to the cost of external hiring just to find candidates.

It is worth noting that the human resources department must carry out the tasks mentioned above since he knows better than anyone the culture and organizational values.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of tests and personnel selection questionnaires"

The organizational repercussions

This process encompasses a series of elements that They reflect the identity of the company, its image, values ​​and organizational culture . By not having a clear, defined, fair and professional recruitment process the company or organization will be highly affected in the medium and long term; for this same reason, many employers underestimate this process, because the consequences of a bad selection process and all that it entails are not easily perceived in the short term.

The new employees will be barely adapting during the first months , avoiding at all costs some misunderstanding that may affect your trial period. Consequently, organizational values ​​play a fundamental role in the recruitment and selection process, for the simple reason that they are the ones that will dictate the guidelines for the design of the latter.


The organizational identity must be coherent and stable, so when recruiting and selecting candidates that identity is revealed, let's say that this process is the letter of presentation for candidates and new employees. When recruiting, it is important to ask what impression we want to make on candidates and what kind of candidates we want to attract.

Unfortunately, It is very common to find companies or organizations that underestimate this process , thus causing organizational and even social repercussions in the medium and long term. Which involves a double expenditure of time and money in finding the root of the problem, which has been compromising different organizational areas, including the most important: effectiveness.

  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

When the recruitment fails ...

A clear example of an impact of staff selection errors is the unnecessary monetary loss due to a poorly carried out process due to a poor evaluation of the position, without clear expectations of it. Already here the training will be affected, prone to not cover the areas of learning necessary for the new employee.

Further, the risk of overloading the employee appears , putting him in a situation where he can fail and be fired; thus affecting the team's productivity due to poor management of human capital. Starting this way again the cycle, ignoring that the real flaws are at the base of the process, denoting this also a low quality management and leadership, unable to retain talent, promote a healthy work environment and ensure optimal performance.

Well, what about the social repercussions?

Companies and organizations they have a high impact on the labor market , either because they generate employment and at the same time because they set the tone in the job profiles, shaping the requirements for the different roles, thus affecting the demand for specific profiles of the candidates.

It is for this reason that social responsibility is a topic of interest for companies and the community, where a bad recruitment process affects not only the productivity of the company, but the welfare of the employee and the unsuccessful candidates. With respect to the latter, we must take into account both the time they invest in preparing for the interview as the impact of being rejected, which can be more bearable receiving an appropriate feedback, which leaves a good organizational impression and even wanting to try again.

Understanding the latter as social feedback that can positively or negatively influence the community. Having a fair and professional recruitment and selection process avoids discrimination, deception, exploitation and even offers an opportunity for education and learning for employees.

Bibliographic references:

  • Steele, C., Solowiej, K., Bicknell, A. and Sands, H. (2014). Occupational Psychology London, Pearson.
  • Torrington, D., Hall., Taylor, S. and Atkinson, C. (2014). Human Resources Management. London, Pearson.

Learn the Recruitment and Selection Process of an Organization (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le processus de recrutement et de sélection: ses répercussions sociales et organisationnelles

Le processus de recrutement et de sélection: ses répercussions sociales et organisationnelles

Novembre 13, 2022

Le processus de recrutement et de sélection est fondamental pour toute entreprise ou organisation Cependant, le fait qu’il s’agisse d’un processus élémentaire ne signifie pas qu’il soit simple et qu’il peut être effectué à la légère, car les résultats peuvent être contre-productifs.

  • Article connexe: "Sélection du personnel: 10 touches pour choisir le meilleur employé"

Recrutement: pourquoi est-ce un processus de base?

La tâche de sélection est fondamentale d’abord parce que sans recrutement approprié du personnel, il ne peut y avoir aucune organisation , qui est une entité dynamique exposée aux changements internes et externes dans le temps (Steele, Solowiej, Bicknell & Sands, 2014). Par conséquent, toute entreprise qui souhaite se maintenir et réussir doit avoir son propre processus de recrutement et de sélection.


Ce processus implique davantage que d’identifier et d’attirer des candidats par le biais de salons de l’emploi, d’un poste sur Linkedin ou de portails d’emploi. Implique développer l'évaluation des emplois, la conception des entretiens, la gestion des attentes et les objectifs, les commentaires, la conception et l’initiation de la formation, l’embauche et la négociation, entre autres.

Les entreprises qui manquent de ressources humaines, soit parce qu'elles cherchent à économiser sur ce processus fondamental, risquent davantage de subir des pertes monétaires que celles qui disposent de leur propre équipe de ressources humaines. Une des raisons de cette dépense supplémentaire est due au coût de l’embauche externe uniquement pour trouver des candidats.

Il est à noter que le service des ressources humaines doit effectuer les tâches mentionnées ci-dessus puisqu'il connaît mieux que quiconque la culture et les valeurs organisationnelles.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de tests et questionnaires de sélection du personnel"

Les répercussions organisationnelles

Ce processus englobe une série d’éléments qui Ils reflètent l'identité de l'entreprise, son image, ses valeurs et sa culture organisationnelle . En l'absence d'un processus de recrutement clair, défini, juste et professionnel, l'entreprise ou l'organisation sera fortement affectée à moyen et long terme; pour cette même raison, de nombreux employeurs sous-estiment ce processus, car les conséquences d'un mauvais processus de sélection et de tout ce qu'il implique ne sont pas facilement perçues à court terme.

Les nouveaux employés vont à peine s'adapter au cours des premiers mois , en évitant à tout prix certains malentendus pouvant affecter votre période d’essai. Par conséquent, les valeurs organisationnelles jouent un rôle fondamental dans le processus de recrutement et de sélection, pour la simple raison que ce sont elles qui dicteront les lignes directrices pour la conception de ce dernier.


L'identité organisationnelle doit être cohérente et stable. Ainsi, lors du recrutement et de la sélection des candidats, cette identité est révélée. Supposons que ce processus soit la lettre de présentation des candidats et des nouveaux employés. Lors du recrutement, il est important de demander quelle impression nous voulons faire sur les candidats et quel type de candidats nous voulons attirer.

Malheureusement Il est très courant de trouver des entreprises ou des organisations qui sous-estiment ce processus. , provoquant ainsi des répercussions organisationnelles et même sociales à moyen et long terme. Ce qui implique une double dépense de temps et d’argent pour trouver la racine du problème, qui compromet différents domaines de l’organisation, dont le plus important: l’efficacité.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Quand le recrutement échoue ...

Les pertes d’argent inutiles dues à un processus mal exécuté dû à une mauvaise évaluation du poste, sans attentes claires, sont un exemple clair de l’impact des erreurs de sélection du personnel. Déjà ici, la formation sera affectée, susceptible de ne pas couvrir les domaines d’apprentissage nécessaires au nouvel employé.

En outre, le risque de surcharge de l'employé apparaît en le mettant dans une situation où il peut échouer et être renvoyé; affectant ainsi la productivité de l'équipe en raison d'une mauvaise gestion du capital humain. En reprenant ce cycle, en ignorant que les véritables défauts sont à la base du processus, cela dénote également une gestion et un leadership de qualité médiocre, incapables de retenir les talents, de promouvoir un environnement de travail sain et d’assurer des performances optimales.

Eh bien, qu'en est-il des répercussions sociales?

Entreprises et organisations ils ont un impact important sur le marché du travail , soit parce qu’ils génèrent de l’emploi, mais aussi parce qu’ils donnent le ton dans les profils d’emploi, définissant les exigences des différents rôles, affectant ainsi la demande de profils spécifiques des candidats.

C’est pour cette raison que la responsabilité sociale est un sujet d’intérêt pour les entreprises et la communauté, où un processus de recrutement peu efficace affecte non seulement la productivité de l’entreprise, mais également le bien-être de l’employé et des candidats non retenus. En ce qui concerne ces derniers, nous devons prendre en compte à la fois le temps qu'ils investissent dans la préparation de l'entrevue l’impact d’un refus, ce qui peut être plus supportable de recevoir un retour d’information approprié, ce qui laisse une bonne impression organisationnelle et même une envie de réessayer.

Comprendre ces derniers comme des retours sociaux pouvant influencer positivement ou négativement la communauté. Avoir un processus de recrutement et de sélection juste et professionnel évite la discrimination, la tromperie, l'exploitation et offre même une opportunité d'éducation et d'apprentissage aux employés.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Steele, C., K. Solowiej, A. Bicknell et H. Sands (2014). Psychologie du travail Londres, Pearson.
  • Torrington, D., Hall., Taylor, S. et Atkinson, C. (2014). Gestion des ressources humaines. Londres, Pearson.

7 piliers pour choisir la vie que vous MÉRITEZ (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes