yes, therapy helps!
The relativistic theory of Protagoras

The relativistic theory of Protagoras

December 4, 2020

Plato may be one of the most famous Greek philosophers in history, but his way of thinking he did not represent all the Athenian intellectuals that populated that Mediterranean power during the 5th century BC C. Protagoras, the best known of the Sophist philosophers, embodies a way of understanding reality diametrically opposed to the one defended by the disciple of Socrates.

In this article we will see what it was that characterized the philosophy of Protagoras and how was his way of thinking based on relativism .

  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Who was Protagoras?

This well-known philosopher was born in Abdera, in the north of Greece, although he lived traveling a lot, something typical of the men with an intellectual profile who lived during the era of Hellenic splendor. At the time when Pericles directed the city-state of Athens, Protagoras was his adviser and adviser, and even, at the governor's request, drafted the constitution of a Greek colony.


Having lived so long ago, not much is known about the personal details of his life. Yes, their intellectual positions are known, given that Plato devoted a lot of effort to refute his arguments in his books , as we will see.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The myth of Plato's cave"

The relativistic theory of Protagoras

The fundamental and basic aspects of the theory of Protagoras, based on an explicitly relativistic way of thinking , are the following.

1. The function of philosophy is not to access absolute truths

Protagoras believed that every affirmation is conditioned by the context in which it is issued. This means that it can not translate universal truths into words, given that it is always limited by the time and place in which it has been generated, either due to the lack of information about something or the lack of objectivity of the person who supports the affirmation, who is often involved personally and emotionally in the debate.


In the same way, the context also affects the way in which the statement is interpreted, and can have totally opposite meanings depending on where it is used.

2. There are as many points of view as people

Every human being sees things in their own way, given that our past and our life trajectories are unique and clearly distinguishable from the rest. In the same subject of discussion, it is always possible to find many people who think differently from everyone else. Although we resemble each other, we tend to differ in many aspects.

3. What is true is decided by each one

From the above it follows that there are many truths , valid for certain people and not so much for others, and that that can not be avoided, whatever we do.

4. Philosophy must convince

Since we can not agree on absolute truths, the philosopher's task is to make the ideas he defends sound convincing, not that they are (since we can not imagine something that is universally valid, which for Protagoras would imply is valid for all.


So, the intellectual must think more about the effects of launching an affirmation than in the veracity of that statement. This will make the speech that is defended seductive and attract the sympathy of many people.

The role of the Sophist philosophers

The former point is something shared by a type of philosophers called sophists. The sophists were advisers and advisers who trained the most influential men in Greece in the art of rhetoric , which made a lot of sense in Athens. In this city-state, democracy consisted mainly in knowing how to defend certain ideas in assembly, for which a large part of intellectual life was oriented towards politics.

Thus, Protagoras and many other sophists benefited from this form of government to teach the most useful speech and prosody techniques, capable of making a bad argument seem good in the eyes of others.

This was much criticized by both Socrates and his disciple, Plato, as both believed in the existence of universal truths. The implications of Protagoras' work came to say that behind reality there is no universal structuring truth of everything that exists, only certain ways of ordering ideas and words to make them sound good and fit with the way of thinking of oneself. Hence, this intellectual position is called relativism: everything is relative and only opinions matter (or, more accurately, both opinions and who holds them).

Currently relativism continues to exist , although the sophists disappeared with Ancient Greece.The defenders of this current in the XX and XXI century are fundamentally defenders of the postmodern conception of reality, according to which we must recognize that there are different stories about what exists and these must live together.


Sophistry and Political Philosophy: Protagoras' Challenge to Socrates (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie relativiste de Protagoras

La théorie relativiste de Protagoras

Mai 20, 2022

Platon est peut-être l’un des philosophes grecs les plus célèbres de l’histoire, mais sa façon de penser il ne représentait pas tous les intellectuels athéniens qui a peuplé cette puissance méditerranéenne au 5ème siècle avant JC C. Protagoras, le plus connu des philosophes sophistes, incarne une manière de comprendre la réalité diamétralement opposée à celle défendue par le disciple de Socrate.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce que c'était que caractérisé la philosophie de Protagoras et comment était sa façon de penser basée sur le relativisme .

  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Qui était Protagoras?

Ce philosophe de renom est né à Abdera, dans le nord de la Grèce, bien qu'il ait beaucoup voyagé, typique des hommes au profil intellectuel ayant vécu à l'époque de la splendeur hellénique. Au moment où Périclès dirigeait la cité-État d'Athènes, Protagoras était son conseiller et son conseiller, et même, à la demande du gouverneur, il rédigea la constitution d'une colonie grecque.


Ayant vécu il y a si longtemps, on ne sait pas grand chose des détails personnels de sa vie. Oui, leurs positions intellectuelles sont connues, étant donné que Platon a consacré beaucoup d'efforts pour réfuter ses arguments dans ses livres , comme nous le verrons.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le mythe de la caverne de Platon"

La théorie relativiste de Protagoras

Les aspects fondamentaux et fondamentaux de la théorie de Protagoras, basée sur une pensée explicitement relativiste , Ils sont les suivants.

1. La philosophie n'a pas pour fonction d'accéder à des vérités absolues

Protagoras a estimé que chaque affirmation est conditionnée par le contexte dans lequel elle est publiée. Cela signifie qu’il ne peut pas traduire les vérités universelles en mots, étant donné qu’elles sont toujours limitées par le moment et le lieu où elles ont été générées, en raison soit du manque d’informations sur quelque chose, soit de la manque d'objectivité de la personne qui soutient l'affirmation, qui est souvent impliqué personnellement et émotionnellement dans le débat.


De la même manière, le contexte affecte également la manière dont l'énoncé est interprété et peut avoir des significations totalement opposées selon son utilisation.

2. Il y a autant de points de vue que de personnes

Chaque être humain voit les choses à sa manière, étant donné que notre passé et nos trajectoires de vie sont uniques et se distinguent clairement des autres. Dans le même sujet de discussion, il est toujours possible de trouver beaucoup de gens qui pensent différemment de tous les autres. Bien que nous nous ressemblions, nous avons tendance à différer sous de nombreux aspects.

3. Ce qui est vrai est décidé par chacun

De ce qui précède, il s'ensuit que il y a beaucoup de vérités , valable pour certaines personnes et pas tellement pour d’autres, et que cela ne peut être évité, quoi que nous fassions.

4. La philosophie doit convaincre

Puisque nous ne pouvons pas nous mettre d’accord sur des vérités absolues, la tâche du philosophe est de convaincre les idées qu’il défend, et non de les convaincre (car nous ne pouvons pas imaginer quelque chose qui soit universellement valable et qui, selon Protagoras, est valable pour tous.


Donc, l'intellectuel doit réfléchir plus sur les effets du lancement d'une affirmation que dans la véracité de cette déclaration. Cela rendra le discours défendu séduisant et attirera la sympathie de nombreuses personnes.

Le rôle des philosophes sophistes

Le premier point est quelque chose que partagent un type de philosophes appelés sophistes. Les sophistes étaient des conseillers et des conseillers qui formé les hommes les plus influents en Grèce à l'art de la rhétorique , ce qui a beaucoup de sens à Athènes. Dans cette cité-État, la démocratie consistait principalement à savoir défendre certaines idées en assemblée, pour lesquelles une grande partie de la vie intellectuelle était orientée vers la politique.

Ainsi, Protagoras et de nombreux autres sophistes ont profité de cette forme de gouvernement pour enseigner les techniques de la parole et de la prosodie les plus utiles, capables de faire passer un mauvais argument aux yeux des autres.

Socrate et son disciple Platon ont beaucoup critiqué cette idée, car ils croyaient tous deux en l'existence de vérités universelles. Les implications du travail de Protagoras sont venues à dire que derrière la réalité il n'y a pas de vérité de structuration universelle de tout ce qui existe, seules certaines manières d’ordonner des idées et des mots pour les faire sonner bien et s’adapter à la façon de penser de soi-même. Par conséquent, cette position intellectuelle s'appelle le relativisme: tout est relatif et seules les opinions importent (ou, plus exactement, à la fois les opinions et qui les détient).

Actuellement, le relativisme continue d'exister , bien que les sophistes aient disparu avec la Grèce antique.Les défenseurs de ce courant aux XX et XXIe siècles sont fondamentalement des défenseurs de la conception postmoderne de la réalité, selon laquelle il faut reconnaître qu'il existe différentes histoires sur ce qui existe et qu'elles doivent vivre ensemble.


LES SOPHISTES - Raconte nous #2 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes