yes, therapy helps!
The resistant personality: are you a strong person?

The resistant personality: are you a strong person?

January 29, 2023

"We are what we do with what they did with us"

-Jean Paul Sartre

We can not choose our life circumstances, but yes we can modulate our thoughts and attitudes before what surrounds us. In this way, indirectly, we can shape our circumstances.

How is your personality?

Once upon a time there was a peasant that he took care of some horses to help him in the agricultural work on his small farm. One day, the foreman gave him bad news: the best of his horses had fallen into a well. The peasant could not believe it and went quickly to the place, where he could see the horse at the bottom of the well. With all his strength, he tried to get the horse out. Seeing that it was impossible and unable to find a solution to get the horse out of the hole, he had no choice but to ask the foreman to dump the well into the well so that the horse would be buried there.


The foreman started throwing sand. The horse, eager to continue living, He did not allow himself to be buried by the earth that was falling and he used it to go up, with a lot of effort, until finally he managed to leave .

What is your attitude in life? Do you let the earth engulf you or use it to climb?

The characteristics of a strong personality

A person resistant is one that despite suffering problems and even disorders that could be destabilized, is able to maintain strength, resist and stay afloat .

This class of subjects are not immune to the events of life that we all live, such as the death of a loved one, a sentimental breakdown, a bad work situation ... but they differ from others in that they are able to accept in a stoical way these setbacks in life and draw strength from weakness to keep going.


What traits define a resistant personality

Suzanne C. Kobasa , psychologist of the University of Chicago , directed several investigations in which he detected that individuals with resistant personality have a series of characteristics in common. They are usually people of great commitment, control and oriented to the challenge (Kobasa, 1979).

These conditions allow them to be more able to fit what life holds and overcome these adversities more quickly and durably than other people.

Components of the resistant personality

  1. The ability to compromise It indicates that the person believes in what he does and is committed to what matters to him. The commitment includes various aspects of life, such as the workplace, interpersonal relationships, responsibility with daily obligations, etc. These people not only confront stressful situations more impassively, but also tend to be skillful when helping other people to face this type of experience.
  2. The control It refers to the ability of the subject to find their intrinsic motivations. That is, they are able to feel motivated by something without having to be compensated directly by a third person. They feel passion for what they do. This attitude helps them to feel themselves, and to enjoy their time. They usually experience more control over their lives and, therefore, know that they can face their problems, because they depend on themselves.
  3. The challenge: People with a taste for challenges consider change as something consubstantial to life. They understand changes not as failures but as beneficial challenges for their individual development, as an opportunity to improve and continue to progress in any area of ​​life.

Resilience: the essence of the resistant personality

Maddi and Kobasa they also discovered that the resistant personality type is an important factor in predicting psychological resilience. Resilience is usually defined as the ability of individuals to overcome periods of emotional pain and adversity.


Recommended text: "The 10 habits of resilient people"

The way in which the resistant personality confers resilience seems to be a combination of cognitive elements, behavioral mechanisms and certain biophysical behaviors. Succinctly, it can be affirmed that as the stressful circumstances increase, so does the physical and mental tension of the person, and if this situation is sufficiently intense and prolonged, imbalances in health and performance are to be expected (Maddi, 2004).

In summary, Maddi (2006) maintains that the resistant personality style has a moderating effect on this process , fostering effective mental and behavioral coping, the construction and use of social support, and participation in effective personal and health care practices.

Bibliographic references:

  • Maddi, S. R., & Kobasa, S.C. (1984). The hardy executive: Health under stress. Homewood, IL :: Dow Jones-Irwin.
  • Maddi, S. R. (2004)."Hardiness: An operationalization of existential courage". Journal of Humanistic Psychology 44 (3): 279-298. doi: 10.1177 / 0022167804266101.
  • Maddi, S. R. (2006). "Hardiness: The courage to grow from stresses". Journal of Positive Psychology 1 (3): 160-168. doi: 10.1080 / 17439760600619609.

This Tree Personality Test Says A Lot About You! (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La personnalité résistante: es-tu une personne forte?

La personnalité résistante: es-tu une personne forte?

Mai 16, 2022

"Nous sommes ce que nous faisons avec ce qu'ils ont fait avec nous"

-Jean Paul Sartre

Nous ne pouvons pas choisir nos circonstances de la vie, mais oui nous pouvons moduler nos pensées et nos attitudes devant ce qui nous entoure. De cette manière, indirectement, nous pouvons façonner notre situation.

Comment est ta personnalité?

Il était une fois un paysan qu'il a pris soin de quelques chevaux pour l'aider dans les travaux agricoles de sa petite ferme. Un jour, le contremaître lui annonça de mauvaises nouvelles: le meilleur de ses chevaux était tombé dans un puits. Le paysan ne pouvait pas y croire et se dirigea rapidement vers l'endroit où il pouvait voir le cheval au fond du puits. De toutes ses forces, il essaya de faire sortir le cheval. Voyant qu'il était impossible et incapable de trouver une solution pour sortir le cheval du trou, il n'avait d'autre choix que de demander au contremaître de vider le puits dans le puits afin que le cheval soit enterré à cet endroit.


Le contremaître a commencé à jeter du sable. Le cheval, désireux de continuer à vivre, Il ne s’est pas laissé enterrer sous l’effondrement de la terre et il l’a utilisé pour monter, avec beaucoup d’efforts, jusqu’à ce qu’il réussisse enfin à partir. .

Quelle est votre attitude dans la vie? Laissez-vous la terre vous engloutir ou l'utilisez-vous pour l'escalader?

Les caractéristiques d'une forte personnalité

Une personne résistant est celui qui malgré des problèmes et même des troubles qui pourraient être déstabilisés, est capable de maintenir sa force, de résister et de rester à flot .

Cette classe de sujets n'est pas à l'abri des événements de la vie que nous vivons tous, tels que la mort d'un être cher, une rupture sentimentale, une mauvaise situation de travail ... mais ils diffèrent des autres en ce sens qu'ils sont capables de les accepter stoïquement reculer dans la vie et tirer la force de la faiblesse pour continuer.


Quels traits définissent une personnalité résistante

Suzanne C. Kobasa , psychologue du Université de Chicago , a dirigé plusieurs enquêtes dans lesquelles il a découvert que les individus ayant une personnalité résistante avaient une série de caractéristiques communes. Ce sont généralement des gens de grand engagement, de contrôle et orientés vers le défi (Kobasa, 1979).

Ces conditions leur permettent de mieux s'adapter à ce que la vie leur réserve et de surmonter ces difficultés plus rapidement et durablement que les autres.

Composants de la personnalité résistante

  1. La capacité de compromis Cela indique que la personne croit en ce qu’elle fait et s’engage pour ce qui compte pour elle. L'engagement inclut divers aspects de la vie, tels que le lieu de travail, les relations interpersonnelles, la responsabilité par rapport aux obligations quotidiennes, etc. Non seulement ces personnes font face à des situations stressantes de manière plus impassible, mais elles ont également tendance à être habiles quand elles aident les autres à faire face à ce type d’expérience.
  2. Le contrôle Il fait référence à la capacité du sujet à trouver ses motivations intrinsèques. C'est-à-dire qu'ils sont capables de se sentir motivés par quelque chose sans avoir à être indemnisés directement par une tierce personne. Ils ressentent de la passion pour ce qu'ils font. Cette attitude les aide à se sentir et à profiter de leur temps. Ils ont généralement plus de contrôle sur leur vie et savent donc qu'ils peuvent faire face à leurs problèmes, car ils dépendent d'eux-mêmes.
  3. Le défi: Les personnes ayant le goût des défis considèrent le changement comme une consubstantielle à la vie. Ils comprennent les changements non pas comme des échecs, mais comme des défis bénéfiques pour leur développement individuel, comme une occasion de s’améliorer et de continuer à progresser dans tous les domaines de la vie.

La résilience: l'essence de la personnalité résistante

Maddi et Kobasa ils ont également découvert que le type de personnalité résistant est un facteur important dans la prédiction de la résilience psychologique. La résilience est généralement définie comme la capacité des individus à surmonter des périodes de douleur émotionnelle et d’adversité.


Texte recommandé: "Les 10 habitudes des personnes résilientes"

La manière dont la personnalité résistante confère la résilience semble être une combinaison d'éléments cognitifs, de mécanismes comportementaux et de certains comportements biophysiques. Succinctement, on peut affirmer que la tension physique et mentale de la personne augmente au fur et à mesure que le stress augmente, et que, si cette situation est suffisamment intense et prolongée, des déséquilibres en matière de santé et de performance sont à prévoir (Maddi, 2004).

En résumé, Maddi (2006) maintient que le style de personnalité résistante a un effet modérateur sur ce processus , favoriser une adaptation mentale et comportementale efficace, la construction et l'utilisation d'un soutien social et la participation à des pratiques efficaces de soins personnels et de santé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Maddi, S. R. et Kobasa, S.C. (1984). L'exécutif hardi: la santé sous le stress. Homewood, IL :: Dow Jones-Irwin.
  • Maddi, S. R. (2004)."Résistance: une opérationnalisation du courage existentiel". Journal de psychologie humaniste 44 (3): 279-298. Doi: 10.1177 / 0022167804266101.
  • Maddi, S. R. (2006). "Résistance: Le courage de grandir du stress". Journal de psychologie positive 1 (3): 160-168. doi: 10.1080 / 17439760600619609.

15 Inventions Accidentelles Sans Lesquelles tu ne Pourrais Vivre (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes