yes, therapy helps!
The role of parents in the sports development of their children

The role of parents in the sports development of their children

January 22, 2021

The importance of physical exercise is remarkable in all ages in which it is practiced: from the decrease in the effects of aging to the development of social skills in childhood. And it is at this stage that he emphasizes more strongly.

But, of course, in childhood you are not completely self-sufficient, so adult support is necessary. What is the role of fathers and mothers in the sports development of their children? Let's see it, reviewing those aspects of day-to-day training in those that intervene directly or indirectly.

  • Related article: "My son is an athlete: what can I do to help him?"

The fathers and mothers before the sports development of their children

From a few decades ago to the present, the sport has been gaining more relevance in every home. The multitude of extracurricular activities offered by the different organizations have made sport an alternative leisure.


Gone is the lack of involvement of fathers and mothers in the sports practice of their sons and daughters who went out to play in the park without any danger and avoided "getting into trouble".

Nowadays the interest of the parents has been growing little by little, considering the sport as a beneficial practice for the corporal, social, health and leisure development of their sons and daughters s, thus taking the sporting practice of each member of the family a much greater importance and helping to create and strengthen family synergy.

This practice is in many cases the commitment and dedication of parents who they become the main means of transport to attend training and competitions , help physical and psychological recovery in injuries and encourage healthy lifestyle habits. The realization of one or several sports in each member of the family generates an economic expense and a family organization that goes beyond sports.


The benefits of sport

That fathers and mothers invest so much time and effort in the physical exercise of their sons and daughters is not nonsense, and is that It is proven that sports practice has innumerable benefits : takes care of our physical health (improves circulation, strengthens the heart, oxygenates the brain better ...) and mentally through the improvement of cognitive processes such as attention, memory or language and psychological well-being through variables such as self-esteem or self-concept, helps in academic performance thanks to its "de-stressing" and motivating power that serves as positive reinforcement, promotes values ​​such as respect, cooperation, equality or tolerance and supposes a social learning base among others.

Ways to participate in your workouts

The role that fathers and mothers decide to take in sport of their sons and daughters will be fundamental for their later development in it, hence the importance of evaluating and assessing the involvement of young people with their sport . Depending on the needs that the child demands, parents should adapt their stimulation to a greater or lesser extent and to one or the other direction to avoid situations of risk such as Burnout (or "burned athlete"), injuries or paying the sport practice.



In the same way, the role of the father or mother should not be mixed with the role of coach or trainer, since this would cause an intercontextual conflict that would affect in different aspects to the sporting life of the boy or girl. Coherence and cooperation should be the cornerstone of the relationship between the two for the good of the athlete.

Enjoy the sport, learn from it and improve thanks to it, are the three premises based on basic sports that should not be mixed with those of high competition or performance. Terms that unfortunately, today are diffuse at very early ages.

The implication that fathers and mothers can dedicate their sons and daughters to sports It should promote the practice of the same and contribute to the good psychological and mental functioning of the athlete by making the sport a common bond that proposes new goals and joint hobbies, that respects the autonomy of the boy or girl and that progressively achieves the integral development of the athlete. through a paternal union to be stable and lasting.



Sport Parenting #20: The Key Role of Every Sporting Parent. (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le rôle des parents dans le développement sportif de leurs enfants

Le rôle des parents dans le développement sportif de leurs enfants

Septembre 2, 2022

L'importance de l'exercice physique est remarquable à tous les âges dans lequel il est pratiqué: de la diminution des effets du vieillissement au développement des compétences sociales dans l’enfance. Et c'est à ce stade qu'il insiste plus fortement.

Mais, bien sûr, dans votre enfance, vous n'êtes pas complètement autonome, un soutien d'un adulte est donc nécessaire. Quel est le rôle des pères et des mères dans le développement sportif de leurs enfants? Voyons-le en examinant les aspects de la formation quotidienne chez ceux qui interviennent directement ou indirectement.

  • Article connexe: "Mon fils est un athlète: que puis-je faire pour l'aider?"

Les pères et les mères avant le développement sportif de leurs enfants

Depuis quelques décennies à nos jours, ce sport gagne en pertinence dans tous les foyers. La multitude d'activités parascolaires proposées par les différentes organisations a fait du sport un loisir alternatif.


Fini le manque d'implication des pères et des mères dans la pratique sportive de leurs fils et filles qui sont allés jouer dans le parc sans aucun danger et qui ont évité de "s'attirer des ennuis".

De nos jours, l’intérêt des parents s’est peu à peu développé, considérant le sport comme une pratique bénéfique pour le développement corporel, social, de la santé et des loisirs de leurs fils et filles s, donnant ainsi une importance beaucoup plus grande à la pratique sportive de chaque membre de la famille et contribuant à créer et à renforcer la synergie familiale.

Cette pratique est souvent l’engagement et le dévouement des parents qui ont ils deviennent le principal moyen de transport pour assister aux entraînements et aux compétitions , favorisent la guérison physique et psychologique des blessures et encouragent de saines habitudes de vie. La réalisation d'un ou plusieurs sports dans chaque membre de la famille génère une dépense économique et une organisation familiale allant au-delà du sport.


Les bienfaits du sport

Que les pères et les mères investissent tant de temps et d’efforts dans l’exercice physique de leurs fils et de leurs filles n’est pas un non-sens, et c’est que Il est prouvé que la pratique sportive présente d’innombrables avantages : prend soin de notre santé physique (améliore la circulation, renforce le cœur, oxygène mieux le cerveau ...) et mentalement en améliorant les processus cognitifs tels que l'attention, la mémoire ou le langage et le bien-être psychologique au moyen de variables telles que L’estime de soi ou le concept de soi, contribue à la performance académique grâce à son pouvoir "dé-stressant" et motivant qui sert de renforcement positif, promeut des valeurs telles que le respect, la coopération, l’égalité ou la tolérance et suppose une base d’apprentissage social entre autres.

Façons de participer à vos séances d'entraînement

Le rôle que les pères et les mères décident de pratiquer dans le sport de leurs fils et filles sera fondamental pour leur développement ultérieur, d'où l'importance d'évaluer et d'évaluer l'implication des jeunes dans leur sport . En fonction des besoins de l’enfant, les parents doivent adapter leur stimulation de manière plus ou moins grande et à l’une ou l’autre des directions pour éviter les situations à risque telles que le surmenage (ou "sportif brûlé"), des blessures ou le paiement des frais. pratique sportive



De la même manière, le rôle du père ou de la mère ne devrait pas être mélangé avec le rôle d’entraîneur ou de formateur, cela provoquerait un conflit intercontextuel cela influerait sur différents aspects de la vie sportive du garçon ou de la fille. La cohérence et la coopération devraient être la pierre angulaire de la relation entre les deux pour le bien de l'athlète.

Profiter du sport, en tirer des leçons et s’améliorer grâce à elle, sont les trois prémisses basées sur des sports de base qui ne doivent pas être mélangés avec ceux de haute compétition ou de performance. Des termes qui malheureusement, aujourd'hui, sont diffus à un âge très précoce.

L'implication que les pères et les mères peuvent dédier leurs fils et leurs filles au sport Il devrait en promouvoir la pratique et contribuer au bon fonctionnement psychologique et mental de l'athlète en faisant de ce sport un lien commun qui propose de nouveaux objectifs et de nouveaux passe-temps communs, qui respecte l'autonomie du garçon ou de la fille et assure progressivement le développement intégral de l'athlète. par une union paternelle stable et durable.



Conférence sur l’impact des parents sur les performances sportives de leur enfant (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes