yes, therapy helps!
The role of Psychology in irreversible processes: 5 attitudes towards death

The role of Psychology in irreversible processes: 5 attitudes towards death

June 20, 2022

Undeniably, in many of the fields where the professional of psychology participates, phenomena related to loss processes . When the loss becomes irreversible, as in cases of death, the psychologist aims to respond to the consequent emotional demands of the environment. There are many areas where this type of phenomenon occurs.

For example, a psychologist specialized in gerontological care will be exposed to the death of elderly people continuously and their duty is to be able to respond to the demands of family members as well as having the resources to face their own death. Even more evident in units of hospital oncology, attention in grief processes or psychological intervention in emergencies and disasters, among others. However, what are the most frequent attitudes towards death and dying?


Five attitudes towards death

According to Concepció Poch, in his book The Mort (Editorial UOC, 2008), there are five "classic" ways of facing the phenomenon of death .

1. Denial

First, Denial or indifference , which consists in avoiding the presence of death to the maximum, including reflection on it, living as if it did not exist. This widespread attitude of treating death as a taboo subject is a common practice in Western culture.

2. Challenging attitude

Second, there are people who they approach death omnipotently and defiantly , what colloquially would mean "gambling life." We live as if we were never to die and we expose ourselves to the phenomenon consciously. The common thinking in this type of people is usually "it will not happen to me".


3. Anguish

Third, fear and anguish. People who connect from this attitude acquire a pessimistic and hopeless cognitive style before life and tend to repeat questions related to the uncertain character of the grim reaper: "What is the meaning of life and death?" "How and when will I die? "

As Concepció Poch (2008) expresses, some psychologists specify the fear of death in very human experiences: regret not ending projects, not accepting the end of one's temporary existence, fear of illness or dying with suffering and physical pain. It is also true that death is scary because it does not respond to any of the uncertainties it raises, What will be next? Is there life beyond death?

4. Release

A fourth approach to death would be from a liberation or relief point of view . Freeing the body and mind of a painful, dependent or routine existence is the horizon that some people want to achieve. In that sense, controversies of opinion on the debates of the euthanasia or the suicide are generated, for example.


5. Acceptance

Perhaps, the approach or the healthiest attitude is that of realism and acceptance . The resigned and realistic attitude has a pragmatic character that accepts death as a radical and authentic reality. In this sense, being aware of the finite nature of the human being, not from a tragic point of view, educates us to value life and, above all, the negative avatars and the twists of fate that death holds. Death is educating us as the main agent of change in our lives. According to Raffaele Mantegazza (2006), in order to speak seriously about death, it is necessary to learn to die.

How many people do we know who have changed their lifestyle when they have had a near-death experience? Why do we usually wait for death to realize the important things in life? As a faculty member said, "we prepare ourselves for everything but the most important". If, for example, the death of loved ones breaks down frequently in the life trajectory ...

Why do not we learn to understand those processes? Why do not we put the will to accept death? Why do we keep denying it and "dodging"? The professional of psychology has an interesting plot where to continue developing his skills to help people ... What are we waiting for?

Bibliographic references:

  • Mantegazza, R., (2006). Death without a mask Barcelona. Herder Editorial
  • Poch, C., (2008). The mort. Barcelona. Editorial UOC

Is There Life after Death? Fifty Years of Research at UVA (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le rôle de la psychologie dans les processus irréversibles: 5 attitudes envers la mort

Le rôle de la psychologie dans les processus irréversibles: 5 attitudes envers la mort

Août 4, 2022

Indéniablement, dans de nombreux domaines où le professionnel de la psychologie participe, les phénomènes liés à processus de perte . Lorsque la perte devient irréversible, comme dans les cas de décès, le psychologue cherche à répondre aux exigences émotionnelles de l'environnement. Ce type de phénomène se produit dans de nombreux domaines.

Par exemple, un psychologue spécialisé dans les soins gérontologiques sera exposé continuellement à la mort de personnes âgées et leur devoir est de pouvoir répondre aux demandes des membres de la famille et de disposer des ressources nécessaires pour faire face à leur propre mort. Encore plus évident dans les unités d'oncologie hospitalière, d'attention dans les processus de deuil ou d'intervention psychologique dans les situations d'urgence et les catastrophes, entre autres. Cependant, quelles sont les attitudes les plus fréquentes vis-à-vis de la mort et de la mort?


Cinq attitudes envers la mort

Selon Concepció Poch, dans son livre Le mort (Editorial UOC, 2008), il y a cinq façons "classiques" de faire face au phénomène de la mort .

1. Déni

En premier lieu, Déni ou indifférence , qui consiste à éviter au maximum la présence de la mort, y compris par réflexion, en vivant comme si elle n’existait pas. Cette attitude répandue de traiter la mort comme un sujet tabou est une pratique courante dans la culture occidentale.

2. Attitude provocante

Deuxièmement, il y a des gens qui ils s'approchent de la mort avec omnipotence et défi , ce qui signifierait familièrement "la vie de jeu". Nous vivons comme si nous ne devions jamais mourir et nous nous exposions consciemment au phénomène. La pensée commune chez ce type de personnes est généralement "cela ne m'arrivera pas".


3. l'angoisse

Troisièmement, la peur et l'angoisse. Les personnes qui se connectent à partir de cette attitude acquièrent un style cognitif pessimiste et sans espoir avant la vie et ont tendance à répéter les questions liées au caractère incertain de la faucheuse: "Quel est le sens de la vie et de la mort?" "Comment et quand mourrai-je? "

Comme le dit Concepció Poch (2008), certains psychologues précisent la peur de la mort dans des expériences très humaines: regretter de ne pas mettre fin à des projets, de ne pas accepter la fin de son existence temporaire, de craindre d'être malade ou de mourir de souffrance et de douleur physique. Il est également vrai que la mort fait peur, car elle ne répond à aucune des incertitudes qu’elle soulève. Quelle sera la prochaine? Y a-t-il une vie après la mort?

4. Libération

Une quatrième approche de la mort serait du point de vue de la libération ou du soulagement . Libérer le corps et l’esprit d’une existence douloureuse, dépendante ou courante est l’horizon que certaines personnes souhaitent réaliser. En ce sens, des controverses d'opinion sur les débats de l'euthanasie ou du suicide sont générés, par exemple.


5. Acceptation

Peut-être, l'approche ou l'attitude la plus saine est celle du réalisme et de l'acceptation . L'attitude réaliste et résignée a un caractère pragmatique qui accepte la mort comme une réalité radicale et authentique. En ce sens, être conscient de la nature finie de l'être humain, et non d'un point de vue tragique, nous éduque à valoriser la vie et, surtout, les avatars négatifs et les aléas du destin de la mort. La mort nous éduque en tant que principal agent de changement dans nos vies. Selon Raffaele Mantegazza (2006), pour parler sérieusement de la mort, il faut apprendre à mourir.

Combien de personnes connaissons-nous qui ont changé leur mode de vie après avoir vécu une expérience de mort imminente? Pourquoi attendons-nous habituellement la mort pour réaliser les choses importantes de la vie? Comme l'a dit un membre du corps enseignant, "nous nous préparons à tout sauf au plus important". Si, par exemple, la mort d'un être cher tombe fréquemment en panne dans la vie ...

Pourquoi ne pas apprendre à comprendre ces processus? Pourquoi ne mettons-nous pas la volonté d'accepter la mort? Pourquoi continuons-nous à le nier et à "esquiver"? Le professionnel de la psychologie a une intrigue intéressante pour continuer à développer ses compétences pour aider les autres ... Qu'attendons-nous?

Références bibliographiques:

  • Mantegazza, R. (2006). Mort sans masque Barcelone Herder Editorial
  • Poch, C. (2008). Le mort. Barcelone UOC éditorial

V.M. Kwen Khan Khu: La Verdadera Vivencia del Camino Secreto // Entrevista N10 (con Subtítulos) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes