yes, therapy helps!
The routines and the mentality of creative people

The routines and the mentality of creative people

May 10, 2021

Living involves solving (or, at least, try to solve) a series of daily problems that never cease, of greater or lesser importance depending on the circumstances, luck and personality of each one.

Most problems can be solved routinely , imitating the solutions that have instilled us or that we see applied by the society that surrounds us, or in a different and personal way, seeking originality, trying to find a better alternative.

Creativity: in search of better solutions

All problems, by definition, have at least one solution; since if a situation lacks a solution, it ceases to be a problem and becomes a tragedy, misfortune or bad fortune. Some mathematical problems (exact and pure sciences) present unique solutions; Some mental or philosophical problems present two opposing solutions (they are the dilemmas of "being or not being," for example).


But The most common problems of human life (impure sciences and practical philosophy) present a variety of options to face them , although not all are easy to see if the look with which we approach them is not accompanied by the creative spirit.

Know more: "What is creativity? Are we all" potential geniuses "?"

The routines of creative people

Does this mean that we should reject by all means the routines that life offers us? Not much less. Routines have an unfair fame . It means, only, that in front of any routine solution we must question whether we are able to optimize it or find a better routine, based on other methods and other concepts.


The great progress made by humanity has consisted and will continue to consist, precisely, in to turn into efficient routines the solutions hitherto incapable of being systematically solved or that implied inefficient routines. Converting an operation of appendicitis or cesarean into a simple surgical routine was a great progress. To change the routine of going to wash the clothes to the river by the domestic washing machines, to be able to speak by telephone with any inhabitant of the planet to a blow of finger has turned into lucky routines of our time. Millions of successful routine solutions shape our current well-being.

Routines that improve our well-being

As the great philosopher and mathematician said Alfred North Whitehead : "Civilization advances by extending the number of important operations that can be carried out without having to think about how to do them". Creating a routine to solve a problem where there was not one is one of the greatest potentialities of creativity: antibiotics to cure infections; Internet to expand knowledge, are paradigmatic examples.


Avoiding Alzheimer's, overcoming cancer, avoiding huge economic inequalities or reversing climate change are four of the many pending challenges that we face today.

Tips to be more creative

The first step of the creative is to detect a problem where the rest of humanity does not see it or does not dare to face it. Without making the mistake of confusing the creative nonconformity with the systematic discontent, the rebel without cause, the whiny inoperative. The second step is to define and delimit conveniently the scope and scope of the problem . The third will be to find what solutions exist in other countries or environments different from our usual. The Internet and its search engines are, at this point, invaluable help.

If we find what we were looking for, we will substitute the routine of our peers for the one learned in the network. We will be innovators and we may have followers and we believe trend. Otherwise, we will enter the fourth stage of the process: creative reflection, the active search for alternatives. It is the phase in which we will have to resort to our right hemisphere, our intuition, our unconscious, our sensory stimuli, our dreams, our open and uninhibited mental associations. And at this point is when texts that teach us to trust our sensory stimuli, avoid creative blockages of any kind and use strategies, techniques and mental methods to help produce the essential inspiration are useful for our brain. A lot has rained since Alex F. Osborn In 1957 he invented his famous "brainstorming" and great contributions have been made by many authors in the aid of creativity.

Creative or visionary?

Being creative is not about seeing what nobody has seen or doing what anyone else was capable of doing (these would be, in any case, two superpowers of comic book superheroes). Being creative is "thinking what nobody had thought, associating elements that nobody had associated before" .

All the great steps of progress have been born of an imaginative mind that has associated with freedom things that until then nobody had dared to join. Being creative does not consist in seeing what nobody has seen before or in having a magical power to transform ideas into realities. Being creative is about seeing the same thing that everyone sees, but thinking things about it that nobody had ever thought of before, making a new association brought by the imagination. With the help of the right mental strategies.

It may interest you: "The 14 keys to enhance creativity"

A slow but persistent progress

Everyone knew from prehistoric times that a hollow trunk could sail like a nutshell; and they broke their arms paddling to move it. Everyone had noticed that the wind can push the leaf of a plant and carry it long distances. But It took centuries until someone imagined a leaf tied to the shell of a walnut with a vertical stick . It is very possible that 3,500 years ago it was an Egyptian boy who told his parents: "I want to test if the wind that drags a palm leaf can push a shell over the Nile", and his parents would say: "What a beautiful idea! We will help you prove it. "

The invention of sailing was the main technology of maritime transport until the invention of steam at the end of the 19th century. All the great world empires relied on it to trade and impose their military dominance. But the Egyptian child we have imagined was humanly impossible to foresee the true dimension of his creation. Well - we should not doubt it -, also in our time, a child could open the key to the mental concept we need for our technological progress from the evolved objects that surround us.

Changing the paradigm

We need to be perceptive, attentive to the creativity of our best minds: children and good creatives . The blackness and immensity of the unresolved or poorly resolved problems that haunt us, forces us to resort, no doubt, to it.

If we are allowed a play on words: We must acquire the routine of looking at all the problems that surround us in a creative way. To build the routines that solve us in a systematic and stable way, the problems of humanity that we are not solving in the right way.

Bibliographic references:

  • Demory, B. Creativity Techniques. Granica, 1997.
  • Guilera, L. Anatomy of creativity. FUNDIT- ESDi, 2011.
  • Siqueira, J. Applied Creativity: Tools, techniques and key attitudes to be more creative. CreateSpace, 2013

Habits Of Creative Geniuses | Think Out Loud With Jay Shetty (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les routines et la mentalité des créateurs

Les routines et la mentalité des créateurs

Août 21, 2019

Vivre, c'est résoudre (ou du moins, essayez de résoudre) une série de problèmes quotidiens qui ne cessent jamais, d’une importance plus ou moins grande selon les circonstances, la chance et la personnalité de chacun.

La plupart des problèmes peuvent être résolus régulièrement , imitant les solutions qui nous ont inculquées ou que nous voyons appliquées par la société qui nous entoure, ou d’une manière différente et personnelle, recherchant l’originalité, en essayant de trouver une meilleure alternative.

Créativité: à la recherche de meilleures solutions

Tous les problèmes, par définition, ont au moins une solution; car si une situation manque de solution, elle cesse d'être un problème et devient une tragédie, un malheur ou une malchance. Certains problèmes mathématiques (sciences exactes et pures) présentent des solutions uniques; Certains problèmes mentaux ou philosophiques présentent deux solutions opposées (ce sont les dilemmes «être ou ne pas être», par exemple).


Mais Les problèmes les plus courants de la vie humaine (sciences impures et philosophie pratique) présentent diverses options pour y faire face. , bien que tous ne soient pas faciles à voir si le regard avec lequel nous les abordons n’est pas accompagné de l’esprit créatif.

En savoir plus: "Qu'est-ce que la créativité? Sommes-nous tous des" génies potentiels "?"

Les routines des créatifs

Cela signifie-t-il que nous devrions absolument rejeter les routines que la vie nous offre? Bien au contraire. Les routines ont une renommée injuste . Cela signifie seulement que, devant toute solution de routine, nous devons nous demander si nous sommes en mesure de l'optimiser ou de trouver une meilleure routine, basée sur d'autres méthodes et d'autres concepts.


Les grands progrès réalisés par l’humanité ont consisté et continueront à consister, précisément, à transformer en routines efficaces les solutions jusqu'alors impossibles à résoudre systématiquement ou que cela impliquait des routines inefficaces. La conversion d'une opération d'appendicite ou d'une césarienne en une routine chirurgicale simple a été un grand progrès. Changer la routine d'aller laver les vêtements à la rivière par les machines à laver domestiques, pouvoir parler au téléphone avec n'importe quel habitant de la planète à un coup de doigt est devenu une routine chanceuse de notre temps. Des millions de solutions de routine couronnées de succès façonnent notre bien-être actuel.

Des routines qui améliorent notre bien-être

Comme l'a dit le grand philosophe et mathématicien Alfred North Whitehead : "La civilisation avance en augmentant le nombre d'opérations importantes pouvant être effectuées sans avoir à réfléchir à la manière de les réaliser". L'une des plus grandes potentialités de la créativité est de créer une routine pour résoudre un problème où il n'en existait pas: des antibiotiques pour soigner les infections; Internet pour élargir les connaissances, sont des exemples paradigmatiques.


Éviter la maladie d'Alzheimer, vaincre le cancer, éviter les énormes inégalités économiques ou renverser le changement climatique sont quatre des nombreux défis à relever auxquels nous sommes confrontés aujourd'hui.

Conseils pour être plus créatif

La première étape de la création consiste à détecter un problème où le reste de l'humanité ne le voit pas ou n'ose pas y faire face. Sans commettre l'erreur de confondre la non-conformité créatrice avec le mécontentement systématique, le rebelle sans cause, le siffleur inopérant. La deuxième étape consiste à définir et à délimiter commodément la portée du problème. . La troisième consistera à trouver des solutions dans d'autres pays ou environnements différents de ceux que nous connaissons. Internet et ses moteurs de recherche sont, à ce stade, une aide précieuse.

Si nous trouvons ce que nous recherchions, nous substituerons la routine de nos pairs à celle apprise dans le réseau. Nous serons des innovateurs et nous pourrions avoir des adeptes et nous croyons en la tendance. Sinon, nous entrerons dans la quatrième étape du processus: réflexion créative, recherche active d’alternatives. C'est la phase dans laquelle nous devrons recourir à notre hémisphère droit, à notre intuition, à notre inconscient, à nos stimuli sensoriels, à nos rêves, à nos associations mentales ouvertes et non inhibées. Et à ce stade, les textes qui nous apprennent à faire confiance à nos stimuli sensoriels, à éviter les blocages créatifs de toutes sortes et à utiliser des stratégies, des techniques et des méthodes mentales pour aider à produire l'inspiration essentielle sont utiles à notre cerveau. Beaucoup a plu depuis Alex F. Osborn En 1957, il a inventé son fameux "brainstorming" et de nombreux auteurs ont apporté de grandes contributions en faveur de la créativité.

Créatif ou visionnaire?

Être créatif ne consiste pas à voir ce que personne n'a vu ou à faire ce que quelqu'un d'autre était capable de faire (il s'agirait, en tout cas, de deux superpuissances de super-héros de bandes dessinées). Etre créatif, c'est "penser à ce que personne n'a pensé, associer des éléments que personne n'avait associés auparavant" .

Toutes les grandes étapes du progrès sont nées d’un esprit imaginatif qui a associé à la liberté des choses que jusqu’alors personne n’avait osé rejoindre. Être créatif ne consiste pas à voir ce que personne n’a jamais vu auparavant ni à avoir le pouvoir magique de transformer des idées en réalités. Être créatif, c'est voir la même chose que tout le monde, mais penser à des choses auxquelles personne n'avait pensé auparavant, en faisant une nouvelle association apportée par l'imagination. Avec l'aide des bonnes stratégies mentales.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Les 14 clés pour améliorer la créativité"

Un progrès lent mais persistant

Tout le monde savait depuis la préhistoire qu’un tronc creux pouvait naviguer comme un mot; et ils se sont cassé les bras en pagayant pour le déplacer. Tout le monde avait remarqué que le vent pouvait pousser la feuille d'une plante et la transporter sur de longues distances. Mais Il a fallu des siècles avant que quelqu'un imagine une feuille attachée à la coquille d'une noix avec un bâton vertical . Il est fort possible qu'il y a 3 500 ans, un garçon égyptien ait dit à ses parents: "Je veux vérifier si le vent qui traîne une palme peut pousser une coquille sur le Nil", et ses parents diraient: "Quelle belle idée! Nous vous aiderons à le prouver. "

L'invention de la navigation à la voile était la principale technologie du transport maritime jusqu'à l'invention de la vapeur à la fin du XIXe siècle. Tous les grands empires du monde y ont fait confiance pour commercer et imposer leur domination militaire. Mais l'enfant égyptien que nous avons imaginé était humainement impossible à prévoir la véritable dimension de sa création. Eh bien - nous ne devrions pas en douter -, également à notre époque, un enfant pourrait ouvrir la voie au concept mental dont nous avons besoin pour notre progrès technologique des objets évolués qui nous entourent.

Changer le paradigme

Nous devons être perspicaces, attentifs à la créativité de nos meilleurs esprits: enfants et bons créatifs. . La noirceur et l’immensité des problèmes non résolus ou mal résolus qui nous hantent nous obligent à y recourir sans aucun doute.

Si nous sommes autorisés à jouer avec les mots: nous devons acquérir la routine de regarder tous les problèmes qui nous entourent de manière créative. Construire les routines qui nous résolvent de manière systématique et stable, les problèmes de l’humanité que nous ne résolvons pas correctement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Demory, B. Techniques de créativité. Granica, 1997.
  • Guilera, L. Anatomie de la créativité. FUNDIT- ESDi, 2011.
  • Siqueira, J. Créativité appliquée: outils, techniques et attitudes clés pour être plus créatif. CreateSpace, 2013

Loi de l'attraction: Sortir de la mentalité de victime (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes