yes, therapy helps!
The sentimental shock: definition, causes, symptoms and phases

The sentimental shock: definition, causes, symptoms and phases

January 17, 2023

It is said that Queen Victoria of England spent months sobbing continuously and mourning the death of her husband, Prince Albert . Such was the dismay of the queen that the palace ended up becoming her prison and she dressed in mourning for the rest of her days.

Although in the Victorian era they were not aware of it, the queen suffered what is now called sentimental shock. A state of despair and anguish that the person suffers after a love break, or after the loss of the loved one. This state consists of different phases, with a beginning and an end, and that serve the person to recover from this sentimental break.

  • Related article: "The 14 types of couple: how is your relationship?"

What is sentimental shock?

The sentimental shock occurs after a love break, and is defined because the person experiences a state of dullness or psychological paralysis which can be accompanied by a feeling of psychological disorientation and emptiness .


It is necessary to clarify that sentimental shock is not considered a disorder by itself, but a natural phenomenon, with a predictable course of symptoms, and with well-defined phases and stages for which there is a beginning and an end.

Even though each person experiences emotional shock in a different way, it is usual that the first crisis or the first break is lived in a much more traumatic way , since the person does not yet have the necessary tools or mechanisms to face this situation.

Likewise, another tendency that is repeated in most people is that the degree of force of the sentimental shock is directly proportional to the intensity of the commitment that the relationship possessed. The longer you have been with a person and the deeper the commitment, the more time it will take to overcome the break.


Can you overcome emotional trauma?

Usually, most people manage to overcome the effects of emotional shock during the first year after the break. However, it is natural to find people to whom this recovery takes a little more time, depending on the good personal functioning.

Emotional shock is a normal, and even healthy process, which does not become pathological unless the person tries to repress it or compensate for it through denial or excess behavior. such as drug use or alcohol abuse.

For a successful overcoming of the break it is necessary to face the pain and move forward with it, experience the experience of emotional shock, going through its different phases and understanding each of its peculiarities.

Failure to recognize and manifest emotional distress can severely damage a person's psychological health. It has been shown that the effects of a badly resolved emotional shock, in addition to harming emotional health, have multiple consequences on the organism.


A feeling of constant grief, depression or depression and disappointment can weaken the person's immune system, making him more susceptible to physical illness.

Therefore, although unpleasant and painful, sentimental shock is a sign of health and the only way to overcome a love break .

symptom

Although, as mentioned above, emotional shock can not be considered a disorder or a psychiatric illness, it does present a common symptomatology in most people who suffer from it. Among the symptoms that can be found are:

  • Sickness
  • Loss of appetite
  • Crying attacks
  • Deep feeling of sadness or depression
  • Insomnia or problems falling asleep
  • Memory losses
  • Lack of energy
  • Need to be secluded
  • Feeling of lack of control over life
  • Promiscuity
  • Vacuum sensation
  • Intensification of feelings
  • Sensation of anguish at the idea of ​​staying alone

As the person begins to understand the dynamics of the emotional shock experience, progressively acquire the skills that will help control their feelings and fears.

Likewise, the fact of knowing the different stages of the process and that they have both a beginning and an end, exerts a reassuring effect on the person .

The six stages of sentimental shock

As discussed above, the symptoms of emotional shock develop according to a pre-established pattern of six stages: shock, grief, blame adjudication, resignation, reconstruction and resolution .

The rhythm according to which a person slips from one stage to another is called the time of affective change, and varies greatly from one person to another. Some people experience the different stages in a very fast way while others do it very slowly.

Also, the intensity of the symptoms will decrease as the person goes through the different stages. Usually, greater distress is experienced in the stages of shock, grief and adjudication of guilt.

Finally, and before going on to explain the different stages, it is necessary to point out that, although there are common patterns, the experimentation of sentimental shock does not have to be linear . The person can go forward and backward in the different stages according to the coping mechanisms that he has.

1. Shock

In the first stage, called shock, the person experiences an imminent sensation of psychological paralysis, accompanied by disorientation and disbelief .

In very extreme cases the person may feel unable to perform basic actions such as eating or sleeping, and may even forget what happened during this phase.

The shock stage serves as an insulator of the impact that causes a loss or rupture, and its duration is usually between a day and a month, but rarely extends more in time.

2. Penalty

During this stage of grief, the person not only regrets the loss of a person, also regrets for all the time they shared and all the experiences lived .

This grief can turn into feelings of anger and irritation. The person may feel moody or angry, due to frustration and the perception that no person is able to understand what they feel.

It is usual that when the person is in this stage feels the need to communicate with the other, to maintain some kind of contact, however unreal it may be. Attempts that, as a rule, are more harmful than beneficial.

3. Adjudication of the fault

When the feeling of grief is reduced, the person feels the need to know what happened to the relationship . Therefore emerges urgency to analyze everything that has happened throughout the relationship, looking for guilty both in oneself and in others.

In addition, it is usual to analyze the different situations that the couple has lived to know what they would have done to avoid it, or else analyze it to blame the other.

4. Resignation

Also known as the goodbye stage This is the moment in which the person is able to accept that the other is no longer in his life. It is time to accept that the relationship is over, separate completely from the other person and recover the energy.

It is the stage in which people usually spend more time, since on the one hand they feel relieved to be able to overcome the rupture, however they also experience feelings of sorrow for having to leave the relationship completely.

5. Reconstruction

At this moment the person notices that he has more happy moments than sad moments , he manages to recover his concentration and feels that his life belongs to him again.

Likewise, he feels ready to go out and meet other people and begins to focus more on his own needs than on thoughts about the past.

To complete this stage satisfactorily they will need to rebuild their strength, develop their self-esteem and self-confidence.

6. Resolution

With the resolution begins the beginning of a new life cycle. The person has managed to resolve the conflict since the beginning of the shock and his life is once again on track with a new direction. At this moment the person has the confidence necessary to create their own well-being .


Multiple sclerosis - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le choc sentimental: définition, causes, symptômes et phases

Le choc sentimental: définition, causes, symptômes et phases

Septembre 18, 2019

On dit que la reine Victoria d'Angleterre a passé des mois à sangloter sans cesse et à pleurer la mort de son mari, le prince Albert . Telle était la consternation de la reine que le palais finit par devenir sa prison et qu'elle s'habilla en deuil pour le reste de ses jours.

Bien qu'à l'époque victorienne, ils n'en aient pas conscience, la reine subit ce qu'on appelle maintenant le choc sentimental. Un état de désespoir et d'angoisse que la personne souffre après une rupture amoureuse ou après la perte de son proche. Cet état se compose de différentes phases, avec un début et une fin, et qui permettent à la personne de se remettre de cette rupture sentimentale.

  • Article connexe: "Les 14 types de couple: comment va votre relation?"

Quel est le choc sentimental?

Le choc sentimental survient après une rupture amoureuse et se définit parce que la personne éprouve un état de matité ou de paralysie psychologique qui peut s'accompagner d'un sentiment de désorientation psychologique et de vide .


Il est nécessaire de préciser que le choc sentimental n'est pas considéré comme un trouble en soi, mais comme un phénomène naturel, avec une évolution prévisible des symptômes et des phases bien définies pour lesquelles il existe un début et une fin.

Même si chaque personne subit un choc émotionnel différent, il est habituel que la première crise ou la première pause se vivent de manière beaucoup plus traumatisante , puisque la personne ne dispose pas encore des outils ni des mécanismes nécessaires pour faire face à cette situation.

De même, une autre tendance qui se répète chez la plupart des gens est que le degré de force du choc sentimental est directement proportionnel à l'intensité de l'engagement que possédait la relation. Plus vous avez passé du temps avec une personne et plus son engagement est profond, plus il faudra de temps pour surmonter la rupture.


Pouvez-vous surmonter un traumatisme émotionnel?

Habituellement, la plupart des gens parviennent à surmonter les effets du choc émotionnel au cours de la première année après la pause. Cependant, il est naturel de trouver des personnes à qui cette récupération prend un peu plus de temps, en fonction du bon fonctionnement personnel.

Le choc émotionnel est un processus normal, voire sain, qui ne devient pathologique que si la personne tente de le réprimer. ou compenser par le déni ou un comportement excessif. comme la consommation de drogue ou l’abus d’alcool.

Pour réussir à surmonter la rupture, il est nécessaire de faire face à la douleur et d'avancer avec elle, de vivre l'expérience du choc émotionnel, de traverser ses différentes phases et de comprendre chacune de ses particularités.

L'omission de reconnaître et de manifester une détresse émotionnelle peut nuire gravement à la santé psychologique d'une personne. Il a été démontré que les effets d'un choc émotionnel mal résolu, outre le fait de nuire à la santé émotionnelle, ont de multiples conséquences sur l'organisme.


Un sentiment constant de chagrin, de dépression ou de dépression et de déception peut affaiblir le système immunitaire de la personne et la rendre plus susceptible aux maladies physiques.

Par conséquent, bien que désagréable et douloureux, le choc sentimental est un signe de santé et le seul moyen de surmonter une rupture amoureuse .

Les symptômes

Bien que, comme mentionné ci-dessus, le choc émotionnel ne puisse être considéré comme un trouble ou une maladie psychiatrique, il présente une symptomatologie commune chez la plupart des personnes qui en souffrent. Parmi les symptômes qui peuvent être trouvés sont les suivants:

  • La nausée
  • Perte d'appétit
  • Attaques pleurantes
  • Sentiment profond de tristesse ou de dépression
  • Insomnie ou problèmes d'endormissement
  • Pertes de mémoire
  • Manque d'énergie
  • Besoin d'être isolé
  • Sentiment de manque de contrôle sur la vie
  • Promiscuité
  • Sensation de vide
  • Intensification des sentiments
  • Sensation d'angoisse à l'idée de rester seul

Au fur et à mesure que la personne commence à comprendre la dynamique du choc émotionnel, acquérez progressivement les compétences nécessaires pour maîtriser ses sentiments et ses peurs.

De même le fait de connaître les différentes étapes du processus et qu’elles ont à la fois un début et une fin exerce un effet rassurant sur la personne .

Les six étapes du choc sentimental

Comme discuté ci-dessus, les symptômes de choc émotionnel se développent selon un schéma préétabli de six étapes: choc, chagrin, décision de blâme, démission, reconstruction et résolution .

Le rythme selon lequel une personne passe d'un stade à un autre s'appelle le moment du changement affectif et varie considérablement d'une personne à l'autre. Certaines personnes expérimentent les différentes étapes très rapidement, d’autres très lentement.

En outre, l'intensité des symptômes diminuera à mesure que la personne passe par les différentes étapes. On assiste généralement à une plus grande détresse lors des phases de choc, de chagrin et de détermination de la culpabilité.

Enfin, avant d’expliquer les différentes étapes, il est nécessaire de souligner que, même s'il existe des modèles communs, l'expérimentation du choc sentimental ne doit pas nécessairement être linéaire . La personne peut avancer et reculer aux différentes étapes en fonction des mécanismes d’adaptation dont elle dispose.

1. choc

Dans la première étape, appelée choc, la personne éprouve une sensation imminente de paralysie psychologique, accompagnée de désorientation et d'incrédulité .

Dans des cas très extrêmes, la personne peut se sentir incapable d'accomplir des tâches de base, comme manger ou dormir, et peut même oublier ce qui s'est passé pendant cette phase.

La phase de choc sert d’isolant de l’impact qui provoque une perte ou une rupture et sa durée est généralement comprise entre un jour et un mois, mais elle s’étend rarement plus longtemps.

2. pénalité

Au cours de cette phase de chagrin, la personne regrette non seulement la perte d'une personne, mais regrette également tout le temps qu'elle a partagé et toutes les expériences vécues .

Ce chagrin peut se transformer en sentiments de colère et d’irritation. La personne peut être de mauvaise humeur ou en colère, en raison de la frustration et de la perception que personne ne peut comprendre ce qu’il ressent.

Il est habituel que, lorsque la personne se trouve à ce stade, elle ressent le besoin de communiquer avec l’autre, de maintenir un type de contact, même irréel. Les tentatives qui, en règle générale, sont plus néfastes que bénéfiques.

3. Jugement de la faute

Quand le sentiment de chagrin est réduit, la personne ressent le besoin de savoir ce qui est arrivé à la relation . Il apparaît donc urgent d’analyser tout ce qui s’est passé tout au long de la relation, en recherchant la culpabilité en soi et chez les autres.

De plus, il est habituel d’analyser les différentes situations vécues par le couple pour savoir ce qu’ils auraient fait pour l’éviter, ou bien l’analyser pour blâmer l’autre.

4. Démission

Aussi connu comme l'étape d'adieu C’est le moment où la personne peut accepter que l’autre n’est plus dans sa vie. Il est temps d'accepter que la relation est terminée, se séparer complètement de l'autre personne et récupérer de l'énergie.

C'est à ce stade que les gens passent généralement plus de temps, puisqu'ils se sentent soulagés de pouvoir surmonter la rupture, mais éprouvent également un sentiment de tristesse d'avoir à quitter complètement la relation.

5. Reconstruction

En ce moment, la personne s'aperçoit qu'il a plus de moments heureux que de moments tristes , il parvient à retrouver sa concentration et sent que sa vie lui appartient à nouveau.

De même, il se sent prêt à sortir et à rencontrer d'autres personnes et commence à se concentrer davantage sur ses propres besoins que sur les pensées du passé.

Pour mener à bien cette étape, ils devront reconstruire leurs forces, développer leur estime de soi et leur confiance en eux.

6. Résolution

Avec la résolution commence le début d'un nouveau cycle de vie. La personne a réussi à résoudre le conflit depuis le début du choc et sa vie est de nouveau sur la voie d'une nouvelle direction. En ce moment, la personne a la confiance nécessaire pour créer son propre bien-être .


Multiple sclerosis - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes