yes, therapy helps!
The Significant Learning Theory of David Ausubel

The Significant Learning Theory of David Ausubel

July 19, 2022

The educational system is often criticized for placing a lot of emphasis on matters that are considered to be of little relevance and at the same time omitting essential content. For example, you can think that novels that are compulsory reading in the institutes fail to connect well with young students, being old and not be set in the present.

This type of criticism connects with one of the most important theories of constructivist psychology: David Ausubel's Theory of Meaningful Learning .

Who was David Ausubel?

David Paul Ausubel was a psychologist and pedagogue born in 1918 who became one of the great references of constructivist psychology. As such, He put a lot of emphasis on elaborating the teaching based on the knowledge that the student has .


That is, the first step in the task of teaching should be to find out what the student knows in order to know the logic behind their way of thinking and act accordingly.

In this way, for Ausuel, teaching was a process by which The student is helped to continue increasing and perfecting the knowledge that he already has , instead of imposing a agenda that must be memorized. Education could not be a unilateral data transmission.

Meaningful learning

The idea of ​​meaningful learning with which Ausubel worked is the following: true knowledge can only be born when the new contents have a meaning in the light of the knowledge that they already have.


That is to say, learning means that the new learnings connect with the previous ones; not because they are the same, but because they have to do with them in a way that creates a new meaning.

Because new knowledge fits into the old knowledge, but the latter, at the same time, is reconfigured by the first . That is to say, that neither the new learning is assimilated from the literal way in which it appears in the curricula, nor the old knowledge remains unaltered. In turn, the new information assimilated makes previous knowledge more stable and complete.

The Theory of Assimilation

The Theory of Assimilation allows us to understand the fundamental pillar of meaningful learning: how new knowledge is integrated into the old .

Assimilation occurs when a new information is integrated into a more general cognitive structure, so that there is a continuity between them and the one serves as an expansion of the other.


For example, if you know Lamarck's Theory, so that you already understand a model of evolution, then it is easier to understand the Theory of Biological Evolution heir of Darwinism.

The obliterating assimilation

But the process of meaningful learning does not end there. At the beginning, whenever you want to remember the new information, it can be done as if it were an entity separated from the more general cognitive framework in which it is integrated. But nevertheless, with the passage of time both contents merge into one , so that one can not evoke only one understood as an entity separate from the other.

In a way, the new knowledge that was learned at the beginning is forgotten as such, and in its place appears a set of information that is qualitatively different. This process of oblivion is called by Ausubel "obliterating assimilation" .

What is not meaningful learning?

To better understand the meaningful learning concept of David Ausubel, it may help to know what the opposite version consists of: mechanical learning, also called rote learning by this same researcher.

It is a very concept linked to passive learning , which often occurs even unintentionally because of the simple exposure to repeated concepts that leave their mark on our brain.

The rote learning

In the rote learning, the new contents are accumulated in the memory without being linked to old knowledge through meaning.

This kind of learning differs from meaningful learning not only because it does not help to expand real knowledge, but because the new information is also more volatile and easier to forget.

For example, learning the names of the Autonomous Communities of Spain by memorizing the words on a list is an example of rote learning.

But nevertheless, mechanical learning is not useless the whole , but it has some sense in certain stages of development to learn certain data. However, it is insufficient to generate complex and elaborated knowledge.

The types of meaningful learning

Meaningful learning is opposed to the previous type, fundamentally, because in order to occur it is necessary to actively seek a personal link between the contents we learn and those we have already learned. Now, in this process there is room to find different nuances. David Ausubel distinguishes between three kinds of meaningful learning:

Learning representations

It is the most basic form of learning. In her, the person gives meaning to symbols by associating them with that concrete and objective part of reality to which they refer, using easily available concepts.

Learning concepts

This type of meaningful learning is similar to the previous one and relies on it to exist, so that both complement and "fit" with each other. However, there is a difference between the two.

In learning concepts, instead of associating a symbol with a concrete and objective object, it is related to an abstract idea , something that in most cases has a very personal meaning, accessible only from our own personal experiences, something that we have lived and nobody else.

For example, to get to internalize the idea of ​​what a hyena is, it is necessary to develop an idea of ​​"hyena" that allows differentiating these animals from dogs, lions, etc. If we have previously seen a hyena in a documentary but could not differentiate it from a large dog, that concept will not exist, while a person familiar with dogs will probably be aware of those significant anatomical and behavioral differences and will be able to create that concept as a category apart from that of dogs.

Propositions learning

In this learning knowledge arises from the logical combination of concepts . Therefore, it is the most elaborate form of meaningful learning, and from it one is able to make very complex scientific, mathematical and philosophical appraisals. As it is a type of learning that requires more effort, it is done voluntarily and consciously. Of course, it uses the two previous types of meaningful learning.


Ausubel’s Learning Theory in Music Education (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'apprentissage significative de David Ausubel

La théorie de l'apprentissage significative de David Ausubel

Octobre 13, 2019

On reproche souvent au système éducatif d’accorder beaucoup d’importance aux questions jugées peu pertinentes et en même temps d’omettre les contenus essentiels. Par exemple, vous pouvez penser que les romans qui sont une lecture obligatoire dans les instituts ne parviennent pas à établir de bonnes relations avec les jeunes étudiants, car ils sont vieux et ne sont pas dans le présent.

Ce type de critique est lié à une des théories les plus importantes de la psychologie constructiviste: la théorie de l'apprentissage significatif de David Ausubel .

Qui était David Ausubel?

David Paul Ausubel était un psychologue et pédagogue né en 1918 qui est devenu l'une des grandes références de la psychologie constructiviste. En tant que tel, Il a beaucoup insisté sur l’élaboration de l’enseignement à partir des connaissances acquises par l’élève. .


En d’autres termes, la première étape de la tâche d’enseignement devrait être de découvrir ce que l’élève sait pour connaître la logique de sa façon de penser et agir en conséquence.

Ainsi, pour Ausuel, l’enseignement était un processus par lequel On aide l’élève à continuer d’augmenter et de perfectionner les connaissances qu’il a déjà , au lieu d’imposer un agenda à mémoriser. L’éducation ne saurait être une transmission unilatérale de données.

Apprentissage significatif

L'idée d'apprentissage significatif avec laquelle Ausubel a travaillé est la suivante: la vraie connaissance ne peut naître que lorsque les nouveaux contenus ont une signification à la lumière de la connaissance qu'ils possèdent déjà.


Autrement dit, apprendre signifie que les nouveaux apprentissages se connectent aux précédents; non pas parce qu'ils sont identiques, mais parce qu'ils ont à faire avec eux d'une manière qui crée un nouveau sens.

Pour cela les nouvelles connaissances s’intègrent dans les anciennes connaissances, mais ces dernières sont en même temps reconfigurées par le premier. . C'est-à-dire que ni le nouvel apprentissage n'est assimilé à la façon dont il apparaît littéralement dans les programmes, ni l'ancien savoir reste inchangé. En retour, les nouvelles informations assimilées rendent les connaissances antérieures plus stables et complètes.

La théorie de l'assimilation

La théorie de l'assimilation nous permet de comprendre le pilier fondamental de l'apprentissage significatif: comment les nouvelles connaissances sont intégrées dans l'ancien .

L'assimilation se produit lorsqu'une nouvelle information est intégrée dans une structure cognitive plus générale, de sorte qu'il existe une continuité entre elles et que l'une sert d'élargissement à l'autre.


Par exemple, si vous connaissez la théorie de Lamarck et que vous comprenez déjà un modèle d'évolution, il est alors plus facile de comprendre la théorie de l'évolution biologique, héritière du darwinisme.

L'assimilation oblitérante

Mais le processus d'apprentissage significatif ne s'arrête pas là. Au début, chaque fois que vous souhaitez vous souvenir de la nouvelle information, vous pouvez le faire comme s'il s'agissait d'une entité séparée du cadre cognitif plus général dans lequel elle est intégrée. Cependant, avec le temps, les deux contenus se confondent en un seul , de sorte que l’on ne peut évoquer que l’un compris comme une entité séparée de l’autre.

D'une certaine manière, les nouvelles connaissances acquises au début sont oubliées en tant que telles et apparaissent à la place d'un ensemble d'informations qualitativement différentes. Ce processus d’oubli est appelé par Ausubel "assimilation oblitérante" .

Qu'est-ce que l'apprentissage non significatif?

Pour mieux comprendre le concept d'apprentissage significatif de David Ausubel, il peut être utile de savoir en quoi consiste la version opposée: apprentissage mécanique, également appelé apprentissage par cœur par ce même chercheur.

C'est un concept très lié à l'apprentissage passif , ce qui arrive souvent même involontairement à cause de la simple exposition à des concepts répétés qui laissent leur marque sur notre cerveau.

L'apprentissage par cœur

Dans l'apprentissage par cœur, les nouveaux contenus sont accumulés dans la mémoire sans être liés à l'ancienne connaissance par le sens.

Ce type d'apprentissage diffère de l'apprentissage significatif non seulement parce qu'il ne permet pas d'élargir les connaissances réelles, mais parce que les nouvelles informations sont également plus volatiles et plus faciles à oublier.

Par exemple, apprendre les noms des communautés autonomes d’Espagne en mémorisant les mots d’une liste est un exemple d’apprentissage par cœur.

Cependant, l'apprentissage mécanique n'est pas inutile le tout , mais il est logique, à certains stades de développement, d’apprendre certaines données. Cependant, il est insuffisant pour générer des connaissances complexes et élaborées.

Les types d'apprentissage significatif

L'apprentissage significatif s'oppose au type précédent, fondamentalement, car pour se produire, il est nécessaire de rechercher activement un lien personnel entre les contenus que nous apprenons et ceux que nous avons déjà appris. Maintenant, dans ce processus, il est possible de trouver différentes nuances. David Ausubel distingue trois types d'apprentissage significatif:

Représentations d'apprentissage

C'est la forme d'apprentissage la plus élémentaire. En elle, la personne donne un sens aux symboles en les associant à cette partie concrète et objective de la réalité auxquels ils se réfèrent, en utilisant des concepts facilement disponibles.

Concepts d'apprentissage

Ce type d’apprentissage significatif est semblable au précédent et repose sur son existence, de sorte que les deux se complètent et s’adaptent. Cependant, il y a une différence entre les deux.

Dans les concepts d'apprentissage, au lieu d'associer un symbole à un objet concret et objectif, il est lié à une idée abstraite , quelque chose qui dans la plupart des cas a une signification très personnelle, accessible uniquement à partir de nos expériences personnelles, quelque chose que nous avons vécu et personne d’autre.

Par exemple, pour arriver à intérioriser l'idée de ce qu'est une hyène, il est nécessaire de développer une idée de "hyène" permettant de différencier ces animaux des chiens, des lions, etc. Si nous avons déjà vu une hyène dans un documentaire sans pouvoir la différencier d’un grand chien, ce concept n’existera pas, même si une personne familière avec le chien sera probablement au courant de ces différences anatomiques et comportementales importantes et ce concept en tant que catégorie distincte de celle des chiens.

Propositions d'apprentissage

Dans cette connaissance d'apprentissage découle de la combinaison logique des concepts . Par conséquent, il s’agit de la forme la plus élaborée d’apprentissage utile, qui permet d’en faire des évaluations scientifiques, mathématiques et philosophiques très complexes. Comme il s’agit d’un type d’apprentissage qui nécessite plus d’efforts, il est fait volontairement et consciemment. Bien sûr, il utilise les deux types précédents d’apprentissage significatif.


Cognitivisme Ausubel (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes