yes, therapy helps!
The sleeping position with your partner talks about the quality of the relationship

The sleeping position with your partner talks about the quality of the relationship

January 19, 2023

The position in which couples sleep in bed and the separation distance between them can be an indicator of the level of happiness and fulfillment that the relationship experiences.

At least that is what emerges from a study led by the American psychologist Richard Wiseman , of the Hertfordshire University (United Kingdom), and whose results were published in the International Science Festival of Edinburgh.

Sleeping posture indicates the quality of your relationship

It seems that our sleeping position could predict a series of factors related to our way of being , as we saw in the previous article "The posture in which you sleep says a lot about your personality". It is also important to remember the 8 serious health consequences of sleeping a few hours: sleep is a basic function for our brain and our body to rest.


Data revealed by the study

Now, this research has managed to get interesting conclusions after examining the habits of more than a thousand people in regard to the quality of the affective relationship and its correlation with certain rest habits:

  • 42% of couples studied tend to sleep with their backs to each other.
  • 31% sleep side by side to the same side.
  • Only 4% of the total rests face to face.
  • 34% sleep while maintaining physical contact.
  • 12% sleep at a distance of less than 2.5 centimeters.
  • 2% sleep with a separation of 75 centimeters or more.

Some curious conclusions

The investigation picks up the legacy of the psychiatrist Samuel Dunkell , who already developed certain concepts and studied the way in which couples develop at the time of sleep and compared it with the degree of happiness of the relationship. He established that Couples who live a more sweet moment and who live the relationship in fullness are those who sleep face to face and maintaining physical contact .


In case they do not touch while resting, a good indicator of the quality of the relationship is that they sleep facing the same side. "93% of couples who sleep in contact reported feeling very happy in the relationship, while the percentage fell to 68% among couples who do not sleep while maintaining physical contact," says Wiseman, who argues that couples who sleep at a distance greater than 75 centimeters expressed their unhappiness in the relationship.

The research also managed to gather interesting conclusions: the people with the highest score in extraversion are those who prefer to sleep close to their partner, while the more creative participants tend to lie on their left side. Dunkell discovered years ago that sleeping on his back was an indicator of self-confidence and extraversion, or that sleeping face-down was a sign of perfectionists. Sleeping cross-legged may indicate that it is a person with a tendency to compromise, and the fetal position is related to indecision, a self-esteem below average and with a certain predisposition to suffer anxiety.



11 Things Happy Couples Do Before They Go to Sleep (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La position de sommeil avec votre partenaire parle de la qualité de la relation

La position de sommeil avec votre partenaire parle de la qualité de la relation

Juin 13, 2021

La position dans laquelle les couples dorment au lit et la distance de séparation qui les sépare peut être un indicateur du niveau de bonheur et d'épanouissement vécu par la relation.

Du moins c'est ce qui ressort d'une étude menée par le psychologue américain Richard Wiseman , de l’Université de Hertfordshire (Royaume-Uni), et dont les résultats ont été publiés au Festival international des sciences d’Édimbourg.

La posture de sommeil indique la qualité de votre relation

Il semble que notre position de sommeil pourrait prédire une série de facteurs liés à notre façon d'être , comme nous l’avons vu dans l’article précédent "La posture dans laquelle vous dormez en dit long sur votre personnalité". Il est également important de garder à l’esprit les 8 graves conséquences pour la santé de dormir quelques heures: le sommeil est une fonction essentielle du repos de notre cerveau et de notre corps.


Données révélées par l'étude

Maintenant, cette recherche a réussi à tirer des conclusions intéressantes après avoir examiné les habitudes de plus de mille personnes en ce qui concerne la qualité de la relation affective et sa corrélation avec certaines habitudes de repos:

  • 42% des couples étudiés ont tendance à dormir le dos l'un à l'autre.
  • 31% dorment côte à côte du même côté.
  • Seulement 4% du total repose face à face.
  • 34% dorment tout en maintenant un contact physique.
  • 12% dorment à une distance inférieure à 2,5 centimètres.
  • 2% dorment avec une séparation de 75 centimètres ou plus.

Quelques conclusions curieuses

L'enquête reprend l'héritage du psychiatre Samuel Dunkell , qui a déjà développé certains concepts et étudié la façon dont les couples se développent au moment du sommeil et l’a comparé au degré de bonheur de la relation. Il a établi que Les couples qui vivent un moment plus doux et qui vivent la relation en plénitude sont ceux qui dorment face à face et qui maintiennent le contact physique .


Au cas où ils ne se toucheraient pas au repos, un bon indicateur de la qualité de la relation serait qu'ils dorment face au même côté. "93% des couples qui dorment en contact ont déclaré se sentir très heureux dans leur relation, alors que ce pourcentage est tombé à 68% chez les couples qui ne dorment pas tout en maintenant un contact physique", a déclaré Wiseman, qui affirme que les couples qui dorment à une distance supérieure à 75 centimètres ont exprimé leur malheur dans la relation.

La recherche a également permis de tirer des conclusions intéressantes: les personnes ayant le score le plus élevé en extraversion sont celles qui préfèrent dormir près de leur partenaire, tandis que les participants les plus créatifs ont tendance à se coucher à gauche. Dunkell a découvert il y a des années que dormir sur le dos était un indicateur de la confiance en soi et l'extraversion, ou que dormir à plat ventre était un signe de perfectionnisme. Dormir les jambes croisées peut indiquer qu'il s'agit d'une personne ayant tendance à faire des compromis, et la position du fœtus est liée à l'indécision, à une estime de soi inférieure à la moyenne et à une certaine prédisposition à souffrir d'anxiété.



7 signes que votre partenaire couche avec quelqu’un d’autre (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes